Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Teapot vs. Made in the Cup

• 01-04-2011 5:51pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭

My father is a stickler for tea made from the pot. I think it's absolutely mank. Gets too strong and crucially is just too damn cold. I love tea made in the cup.

He, on the other, hates tea from the cup as he find it too hot. (he's a sick sick bastard)

So is the insistence on teapot tea a generational thing?

How do you like your tea? 141 votes

Made in the teapot
    0%
    Made in the cup
    32%
    bytebanquo[Deleted User]KilOitSlunksparkle_23fred funk }{blubloblu[Deleted User]NforceOutlawPetePaparazzoEvilMonkeyironictoasterConor108wow sierraYakultSplendourepgc3fyqirnbsxbaldbear 46 votes
    Whatever, either one is good
    40%
    Ruu_OldCreatureR0ot[Deleted User]lord lucanDuffScumLordRemmyGillingtonblaze1Antigone05Sea Devilsmarxcoomenoscemo[Deleted User]daingeanrobTPDEve_DublinSir GallagherSavage Tyrant 57 votes
    Neither, tea is swill
    26%
    geniematrimRichieCemeraldstarJesus WeptDr. BaltarNiall09ColumbiaAlicatK-9Pride FighterNewApproachBryan4presidentJimboRonanc1Coriolanusirish_goatCjaysesCMpunkedtonysea 38 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Neither, tea is swill
    Take the teabags out when it's done brewing and steal a hipsters hat and stick it over the pot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭tonysea

Neither, tea is swill
    I really worry at what you consider a "sick bastard".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

RichieC wrote: »
    Take the teabags out when it's done brewing and steal a hipsters hat and stick it over the pot.

Hipsters finally have a purpose! Well, their hats do at least. They themselves are still oxygen thieves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Made in the cup with the bag still in, none of your genteel, civilised teapot stuff. I likes my tay strong.

I find pot tea way stronger!

How many bags you put in?

He usually puts in three with about three mugs worth of water. The first cup is ok (only ok, mind), but if you go back for seconds - bleurgh. But it's not just that, the tea just tends to not be piping hot to begin with and before you know it, you're stuck with tepid tea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

tea in the pot is for the auld ones

Saila wrote: »
    tea in the pot is for the auld ones

Yup. :D

Teapot with breakfast or a civilised lunch, cup the rest of the time! Always take the teabags out of the pot when it's brewed enough.

He usually puts in three with about three mugs worth of water. The first cup is ok (only ok, mind), but if you go back for seconds - bleurgh. But it's not just that, the tea just tends to not be piping hot to begin with and before you know it, you're stuck with tepid tea.

Sounds like my cup of tea

/gets coat.

Always take the teabags out of the pot when it's brewed enough.

He should do that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭FTGFOP

Made in the cup
    He usually puts in three with about three mugs worth of water. The first cup is ok (only ok, mind), but if you go back for seconds - bleurgh.

I wouldn't call that strong tea, I'd call it stewed, four tea bags would be strong. He should just take out the tea bags and stick a tea cosy on the pot. He probably just does it to annoy you.

My pet hate is the weak tea you get in a lot of cafés and restaurants, one tea bag and at least a pint of water. Nobody thinks about this stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Made in the cup
    Tea is always nicer from the pot but only ever have it with an evening fry.
    For best results you need a range in your kitchen whereupon it can rest and stay warm. Teabags, lol, this is a f*ckin teapot folks, let's use tea leaves

FTGFOP wrote: »
    I wouldn't call that strong tea, I'd call it stewed

Well, it starts out grand, but as water is decanted, what remains gets progressively stronger. He should probably take the teabags out at the start, but if I suggested that, he'd probably have a conniption fit! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

Neither, tea is swill
    Definitely from a pot if there's a fry-up involved because all that saltiness will make you go back for a second cup when it's lukewarmish and strong, washes the pigpieces down very nicely.

All other times just a bag in a cup, I'd be running to the jacks all day if I made a pot everytime I wanted a cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

Hipsters finally have a purpose! Well, their hats do at least. They themselves are still oxygen thieves.

Oxegen thieves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

Cup tea is rank. Same for instant coffee. If you are going to make tea or coffee, at least make it properly. You won't beat a french press.

Oxegen thieves.

So many facepalms (unless you're actually joking! :) )

Naikon wrote: »
    You won't beat a french press.

You don't make tea in those yokes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

Neither, tea is swill
    Naikon wrote: »
    Cup tea is rank. Same for instant coffee. If you are going to make tea or coffee, at least make it properly. You won't beat a french press.

La-dee-daa Mr Millionaire :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

Too bad the glass ones break too often. fcukin glass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

D'you know what I'd love now?

AN AULD CUP OF TEA!

The best tea is tea made in the cup with tea leaves. You just need one of those yoke-a-mes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭The Floyd p

Tea is mank. Coffee on the other hand :cool:

Made in the cup
    Well, it starts out grand, but as water is decanted, what remains gets progressively stronger. He should probably take the teabags out at the start, but if I suggested that, he'd probably have a conniption fit! :D

Yeah, but the real problem there is he's extracting all the tannins out of the leaves by leaving it steep so long. Even if you took half a cup and diluted it it would still be very astringent. I draw a distinction between strength and... steepage(?). Most important.

Tea is mank. Coffee on the other hand :cool:

I think coffee is mank, even the "nice" stuff. It's like drinking molten cigarette ash.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

Neither, tea is swill
    If you make it in the cup, you have more control and precision over the strength and temperature of the tea. When it's made in the pot it's generally just a couple of tea bags flung in to water the visitors :pac: and thus less suited to individual tastes.

The last option on the poll offends my eyes :(

If you make it in the cup, you have more control and precision over the strength and temperature of the tea. When it's made in the pot it's generally just a couple of tea bags flung in to water the visitors :pac: and thus less suited to individual tastes.

I concur! I like to make tea to guests' individual tastes, so that's why making it in the cup is better.
    The last option on the poll offends my eyes :(

I'm sorry. There there. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

Neither, tea is swill
    No such thing as too-strong tea! Also, I've never found tea from a pot to be cold. At home we just leave the pot on the stove...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

Teapot!!!

No such thing as too-strong tea! Also, I've never found tea from a pot to be cold. At home we just leave the pot on the stove...

We have a tea-light under ours which isn't very effective at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Tea from the pot reminds me of my Grannys house. They milked their own cows as well, and there always used to be cream mixed in with the milk.

In summary, tea from the pot is sh1te.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I almost always make it in a mug because I'm impatient and lazy. It's quicker than using a teapot and it requires less cleaning up afterwards. I find that it tastes a lot nicer when made in a pot (with loose tea, rather than bags), but then I like it stewed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭The Agogo

How about both? Were you boil the water in a panpot, then pour it into a cup with a teabag.

That's what I do....

Because my Kettle broke last week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

My Dad's the exact same OP....won't drink tea unless it's from the pot.
    Feckin eejit....much nicer in a cup.
    His "pot -tea" is like fookin dishwater.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭gigawatt

Neither, tea is swill
    tea from the pot is the way to go if youre making tea for a few people. its way nicer if you use tea leaves in the pot!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

Neither, tea is swill
    The Agogo wrote: »
    How about both? Were you boil the water in a panpot, then pour it into a cup with a teabag.

That's what I do....

We do this too actually. We've one of those ancient kettles permanently on the range with hot water in to make tea out of. Saves on electricity plus no waiting :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Made in the cup
    I voted for the pot. Purely because you can have 2 or 3 cups. Great being able to go back for seconds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Made in the cup
    You see, these are lifes tough choices, féck the Leaving Cert, too long in the pot, tastes like tar, too short a time in the pot, tastes like water! But always better than the cup! Dunno why:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Splendour

Made in the cup
    My father is a stickler for tea made from the pot. I think it's absolutely mank. Gets too strong and crucially is just too damn cold. I love tea made in the cup.

He, on the other, hates tea from the cup as he find it too hot. (he's a sick sick bastard)

So is the insistence on teapot tea a generational thing?

It's as Slasher says-tea leaves (which obviously have to be brewed in a pot) are far nicer than tea bags-be it in a pot or cup. Tea bags are made from the leftover dregs of tea leaves-it is just dust, rip one open and have a look. Tea leaves now, well they're the real Mac Coy...

Splendour wrote: »
    It's as Slasher says-tea leaves (which obviously have to be brewed in a pot) are far nicer than tea bags-be it in a pot or cup. Tea bags are made from the leftover dregs of tea leaves-it is just dust, rip one open and have a look. Tea leaves now, well they're the real Mac Coy...

Yeah, I know that about teabags, I like tea made with tea leaves too. Though, TBH, does it matter that it's just dust if the dust has flavour?

EDIT: And no, I've made tea with tea leaves in the cup, you just need one of those strainers to place on the cup. One of these: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tea_strainer

It comes out lovely.

Made in the cup
    Yeah, I know that about teabags, I like tea made with tea leaves too. Though, TBH, does it matter that it's just dust if the dust has flavour?

EDIT: And no, I've made tea with tea leaves in the cup, you just need one of those mini-strainers to place on the cup. It comes out lovely.

But dust- AKA teabags- DON''T have the flavour! I could maybe cope with the mini strainers although given a proper cuppa should brew for at least 3 minutes, it may be a tad bit cold for some-not for me though as I don't take milk in my tea :)

Having had both tea leave and teabag tea I do think teabags have flavour personally. :)

But actually, I wouldn't brew tea for that long and there's no proper way. A Chinese girl I worked with would have very light tea and said that was normal in China. Different strokes. Tea preferences vary greatly.

Made in the cup
    Having had both tea leave and teabag tea I do think teabags have flavour personally. :)

But actually, I wouldn't brew tea for that long and there's no proper way. A Chinese girl I worked with would have very light tea and said that was normal in China. Different strokes. Tea preferences vary greatly.

Depends on the tea-some can take over ten minutes to brew :eek: For me personally, I think the want would be gone off me at that stage!!

The want never goes off me. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Neither, tea is swill
    You can put the tea bags in the pot too and "stew" it.

My Dad used to come in from work and pour the tea from the lukewarm pot that was sitting from lunch time. Hard core tea drinker he was.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Aishae

ill drink whatevers going - if theres enough milk. well... i wouldnt drink tea tar! hate very strong tea. most of the time i wave the teabag at the cup(!) or go for a medium cup - leaving the tea bag in for five seconds and stirr it with the spoon and chuck the bag out. if someone forgets the tea bag and i almost swallow it though... therell be Words. been a tea addict since i got my first bottle of milky tea at 6 months

but given the choice id rather a cup. in the shops the pots are too fecking small... one cup in a pot. bah

K-9 wrote: »
    My Dad used to come in from work and pour the tea from the lukewarm pot that was sitting from lunch time. Hard core tea drinker he was.