Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My day revolves around Apple!

• 31-03-2011 10:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭

I have an iPod touch that is used every day and night for podcasts I catch up on. An iPhone i can't give up even though its great at everything cept calls and a new iPad which I haven't put down this week.

Well played Jobs, well played :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

do you carry both the iphone and ipod touch around with you? bit of a waste really i think. that is unless you absolutely must have more than 64gig's of music with you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,902 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I'd of used a harser word than "waste" tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,408 ✭✭✭naasrd

Mellor wrote: »
    I'd of used a harser word than "waste" tbh

Stop jumping to conclusions. He never said he carried both around with him lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭crazyderk

I'm in the same boat OP!

Before I got my IPhone I hated Apple I cursed them all the time!

Then I got my "gateway drug" my IPhone 3g, the 3g turned to a 3gs then I got a Macbook Pro (My "heroin" If you will) and then it turned nasty!

I got an IPhone 4 then I got the IPad
    then I needed somethin to back it all up so I got an Apple time capsule

but I still couldnt get enough I wanted to use Airplay so I wanted an apple TV and then I seen a good deal and got it on adverts

After all this I thought I was done but that Ipad 2 smart cover just keeps calling my name

"Derek, Derek, Look at me I look so cool give up finally on your good ol fashioned PC ways finally emerse yourself in the darkside sell your IPad 1 and get an IPad 2 complete your destiny, you don't really need that money to pay of your mortgage do you?"

I think I need some help!

Hi I'm Derek and I'm an Applecoholic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

BrianJD wrote: »
    I have an iPod touch that is used every day and night for podcasts I catch up on. An iPhone i can't give up even though its great at everything cept calls and a new iPad which I haven't put down this week.

Well played Jobs, well played :p
    underlined the ironic bit, a phone that people consider utterly fantastic, that is shíte at being a phone.

Well done apple indeed.

Maybe they should push the electric car too.
    Takes ages to charge, doesnt go very far, but I bet apple could sell such a thing by the million.

(have an ipod touch and iPad so amnt sniping from the outside, apple is good for what they do, but they do get away with murder at the same time. And I have a cheapo sony ericson phone that has 370 hours standby and as a phone is the biz!! )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Bellu

Aha, cool, just enjoy yourself ;)
    Well played Jobs, exactly!

Derk, maybe you could read this article:
    http://www.theipadfan.com/5-reasons-buy-ipad-2/

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

crazyderk wrote: »
    I'm in the same boat OP!

Before I got my IPhone I hated Apple I cursed them all the time!

Then I got my "gateway drug" my IPhone 3g, the 3g turned to a 3gs then I got a Macbook Pro (My "heroin" If you will) and then it turned nasty!

I got an IPhone 4 then I got the IPad
    then I needed somethin to back it all up so I got an Apple time capsule

but I still couldnt get enough I wanted to use Airplay so I wanted an apple TV and then I seen a good deal and got it on adverts

After all this I thought I was done but that Ipad 2 smart cover just keeps calling my name

"Derek, Derek, Look at me I look so cool give up finally on your good ol fashioned PC ways finally emerse yourself in the darkside sell your IPad 1 and get an IPad 2 complete your destiny, you don't really need that money to pay of your mortgage do you?"

I think I need some help!

Hi I'm Derek and I'm an Applecoholic

Why do people do that? I don't like using Windows, never have, but giving out about it? I don't understand it myself. And my iPhone 4, like the 3G before it works really well as a phone. I never have a problem with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

whiterebel wrote: »
    Why do people do that? I don't like using Windows, never have, but giving out about it? I don't understand it myself. And my iPhone 4, like the 3G before it works really well as a phone. I never have a problem with it.

People don't like winners. Remember everyone used to hate Microsoft but now nobody gives a crap about them. Now the hate has migrated towards Apple and it has started with Google too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭mailforkev

Join the club, I must spend more than half my day using Job's toys.
    My work day goes as follows:
    1. I get woken by the alarm on my iPhone.
    2. Then use iPhone to listen to music/radio or watch tv show on the bus to work.
    3. Spend all day working on an iMac or on iPhone.
    4. Back on iPhone for bus home.
    5. Get home to another iMac and Mrs Me who also has an iPhone.
    6. Do some stuff.
    7. Go to bed, ensure alarm set, fall asleep.
    8. Repeat x 5.
    Even I couldn't be bothered with an iPad though, I can't see what it would do for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

There is a lot to hate about them in fairness,the whole it's our or way or no way attitude and pricing being the main ones,just allow flash ffs,allow me to use a tv out cable that I don't have to budget my wages to buy,itunes(sort it out),the poxiest earphones on the planet as standard(€30 are you for real)and the no third party software thing aswel.I couldn't do without my iPhone at this stage but I still hate apple,they don't listen to what customers want,they tell you what they think you need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,330 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

cambo2008 wrote: »
    There is a lot to hate about them in fairness,the whole it's our or way or no way attitude and pricing being the main ones,just allow flash ffs,allow me to use a tv out cable that I don't have to budget my wages to buy,itunes(sort it out),the poxiest earphones on the planet as standard(€30 are you for real)and the no third party software thing aswel.I couldn't do without my iPhone at this stage but I still hate apple,they don't listen to what customers want,they tell you what they think you need.

Why the hell did you buy a product you hate so much?

Hmmmm did you even read my post"I couldn't do without my iPhone"I love the phone,just hate apple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

mailforkev wrote: »
    Join the club, I must spend more than half my day using Job's toys.
    My work day goes as follows:
    1. I get woken by the alarm on my iPhone.
    2. Then use iPhone to listen to music/radio or watch tv show on the bus to work.
    3. Spend all day working on an iMac or on iPhone.
    4. Back on iPhone for bus home.
    5. Get home to another iMac and Mrs Me who also has an iPhone.
    6. Do some stuff.
    7. Go to bed, ensure alarm set, fall asleep.
    8. Repeat x 5.
    Even I couldn't be bothered with an iPad though, I can't see what it would do for me.

You have a free slot at number 6 for an iPad :pac:

Hmmmm did you even read my post"I couldn't do without my iPhone"I love the phone,just hate apple.

yes I read it. It makes no sense.

You hate the company that makes the phone you love? :confused:

Dodge wrote: »
    yes I read it. It makes no sense.

You hate the company that makes the phone you love? :confused:

Yea what's so hard to understand about that,I hate arsenal but fabregas is one of the players I admire most,apple make a good product then put out restrictions on what you can do with it and charge extortionate prices for accessories

Yea what's so hard to understand about that,
    Everything.
    I hate arsenal but fabregas is one of the players I admire most,
    Arsenal didn't create Fabregas, and you're not going to buy either
    apple make a good product then put out restrictions on what you can do with it and charge extortionate prices for accessories
    Its either a good product or its not. You're not forced to buy it, or the "extortionate" accessories.

The only way Apple will change (and it appears you want them to) is if people like you stop buying their products.

Anyway we're getting a bit off topic here. Apologies to the board

Everything.

Arsenal didn't create Fabregas, and you're not going to buy either

Its either a good product or its not. You're not forced to buy it, or the "extortionate" accessories.

The only way Apple will change (and it appears you want them to) is if people like you stop buying their products.

Anyway we're getting a bit off topic here. Apologies to the board
    Get over yourself man,the fabregas thing is an example and it seems relevant to me,someone was wondering why people hate apple and I gave reasons and they are the reasons.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

Still don't see the reason to "hate".

They won't allow flash because it drains battery life, runs the processors at full tilt etc. Wouldn't it make more sense for Adobe to make a product that actually works properly? One thing is for sure, Apple are never going to implement it the way it is.

Still don't see the reason to "hate".

They won't allow flash because it drains battery life, runs the processors at full tilt etc. Wouldn't it make more sense for Adobe to make a product that actually works properly? One thing is for sure, Apple are never going to implement it the way it is.
    Wouldn't it make more sense to let the customer decide if they want to drain battery life or whatever,in that case why allow streaming radio or sky sports,I just don't like the attitude of apple in general and this is my last post on this as it's no use trying to make a point to people who would still buy and endorse the next iPhone if they downgraded every feature on it.

Because people will point the finger and bitch at Apple, not Adobe. Most people probably don't even know that Adobe are behind flash, so who are they going to blame? Damned if they do, damned if they don't.......
    Notice I didn't disagree with your other points, but apparently still get labelled with the same brush.......:rolleyes:

it's no use trying to make a point to people who would still buy and endorse the next iPhone if they downgraded every feature on it.

Is that worse than people who buy it, even though they don't think its good enough now? Whats the difference?

There are phones that support flash, you have options

Is that worse than people who buy it, even though they don't think its good enough now? Whats the difference?

There are phones that support flash, you have options

I bought it because I liked what I seen,a lot of people will buy it because it's made by apple,just look at the thread title and op.
    Flash isn't the selling point for me,when there's an app store to rival apples I'll consider something else,there's phones out there I would prefer to have if there was a better app selection.I know it might be hard for you to get your head around the fact that I can like the phone without liking apple but that's the way it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭bd250110

I know the feeling! For me, it all went wrong with an iPod about ten years ago, now(it looked so innocent at the time). Before that I considered Apple products to be inferior to PC's. Then I found how easy and logical the iPod was, when I needed a laptop going to University, I got a MacBook and that when the rot really started! After that I had to have the Keyboard, the Magic Mouse, the Cinema Display, the iPhone (of course MobileMe to go with that), iPad, even the fecking rechargeable batteries! "My name is Brian and I am an Appleaholic"

My iOS devices integrate seamlessly into my life, they do what I want them to (I honestly can't remember the last time I visited a site with Flash - but YMMV). They work straight out of the box, they dont need modding, they look nice and perform well. In short - they give me what I want. It's not for everyone, if it's not for you vote with your money. Apple has created a brilliant ecosystem. There is something addictive about everything syncing, looking forward to wireless sync and charging, which can't be far away now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭BrianJD

do you carry both the iphone and ipod touch around with you? bit of a waste really i think. that is unless you absolutely must have more than 64gig's of music with you

I just don't store any music on my iphone as I don't really have an opportunity to charge during the day and I find basic usage gets me just to end of the day so I can charge at night. I'd be banjaxed if I used battery power for music.

I'd prob be happy with a regular MP3 player...........well maybe not :)