Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unified Limerick Zombie Survival Plan.

• 31-03-2011 8:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭

I'm not a Limerick-ian so I've no right to write in this but for fairness you should have one.

GO!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Get out of Limerick....

/plan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

They are all going to die there bar me. :D

The talk on the Limerick forum was to hold up in city centre hotels (that have big glass fronts) or hold up in the biggest shopping centre (which also has big glass fronts to each of the six entrances.

I will be the one that is getting out of the more heavily populated areas whilst the rest are running to them for shelter.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭MyNameIsMethos

Dude, the crescent, the shopping centre with the glass fronts, isn't necessarily as bad as it sounds at first. I mean if the shutters were down and reinforced they would hold on their own and the glass doors in front of them wouldn't matter. Plan ain't for me though, far prefer getting out of city, by river or out towards curraghchase (local coillte forest). Fine number of livestock for hunting out that way and all.

The roller shutters in the Crescent are not designed to withstand the kind of force a large crowd of Zeds would put upon them. Also don't forget some of the units near where Chartbusters used to be have glass front that face onto the main carpark, so a Zed horde would not need to smash through one of the six large entrances, they could get in that way as well. Not to mention if something went wrong with the barriers to the seperate entrance and exit to the underground car park which leads directly into the main mall.

It is simply too big a building with too many potential ways in. I would sooner try to hole up in the Blachchardstown shopping centre than the Crescent shopping centre as although Blanchardstown is a bigger shopping centre, it has less exits to fortify. Not that I want to be anywhere near Dublin or any shopping centre near a large populated area when the outbreak kicks off.

Heading out towards Currachase is a much better idea than going to the Crescent which is smack in the middle of a heavily populated area that will no doubt be gridlocked and swarming with Zeds very quickly.

At least in Currachase you could climb into the ruins of Currachase house as the doors and lower windows are mostly bricked up already.

Or you could keep travelling out the N69 from there and head for somewhere like Mount Trenchard beyond Foynes if you do not want to use Foynes Island, or head for the ground owned by the Knight Of Glin as the old castle tower is still intact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Kess73 wrote: »
    They are all going to die there bar me. :D

Excuse me, I plan on surviving this one too :P

Bring Avril along with ya, and I won't accidently get you with a headshot.:D

Kess73 wrote: »
    Bring Avril along with ya, and I won't accidently get you with a headshot.:D

But she might get shot in the face, right? :P

To be honest, I'd forgotten about the underground carpark, just as well I know better then too try holding out in the city!:D Better off getting far away from the dooradoyle area and all because I could imagine the hospital being a bad place to be so close by.

Only problem I'd say about the ruined mansion in curraghchase would be that, depending on the time of year, the place can be full of wasp nests. I'd sooner try outfitting the stables area at the rear where they sell the christmas trees; high walled enclosure, solid wooden doors and enough room to house a stocked escape vehicle inside.

Mount trenchard would be handy though, old school to hold out in and a rain water reservoir close by. Unless by water, glin would be a bit too far of a trek for me, never heard of the knight of glin. I presume it's a title along the lines of the "earl of dunravan"?

To be honest, I'd forgotten about the underground carpark, just as well I know better then too try holding out in the city!:D Only problem I'd say about the ruined mansion in curraghchase would be that, depending on the time of year, the place can be full of wasp nests. Mount trenchard would be handy though, old school to hold out in and a rain water reservoir close by. Unless by water, glin would be a bit too far of a trek for me, never heard of the knight of glin. I presume it's a title along the lines of the "earl of dunravan"?

wasp nests out in Curragh Chase is the least of your worries. Every skanger and his home made pistol would be there.

I have a great place, Rockstown Castle on the Bruff road, up by Kirby's pub. It's a mile off the road (any road) and is a castle that could be quite easily weather proofed. It is also on a steep hill, they have no chance.

wasp nests out in Curragh Chase is the least of your worries. Every skanger and his home made pistol would be there.

I guess I'll try to be scanger number 1 with my trusty crossbow! :D

To be honest, I'd forgotten about the underground carpark, just as well I know better then too try holding out in the city!:D Better off getting far away from the dooradoyle area and all because I could imagine the hospital being a bad place to be so close by.

Only problem I'd say about the ruined mansion in curraghchase would be that, depending on the time of year, the place can be full of wasp nests. I'd sooner try outfitting the stables area at the rear where they sell the christmas trees; high walled enclosure, solid wooden doors and enough room to house a stocked escape vehicle inside.

Mount trenchard would be handy though, old school to hold out in and a rain water reservoir close by. Unless by water, glin would be a bit too far of a trek for me, never heard of the knight of glin. I presume it's a title along the lines of the "earl of dunravan"?

You would only have to travel about six miles beyond Mount Trenchard to get to the tower near Glin.

And yep it is a title similar to what you mentioned.

Also the house that the Knight of Glin lives in is very solid and is an old school manor. So thick walls on the house, walled grounds etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭RiderOnTheStorm

I live in Kerry, and work in Limerick city. So, if I could not make my home my stronghold, then I would make my work place it.

I pick my office in Limerick not because its the best place in Limerick, but
    (a) I know the environ well
    (b) I have keys to the doors

OK, so its not the best of reasons, but let me expand, and you might agree or see simular advantages to your place.

I dont agree with the fortress idea of post-Z world. The Z's are not an intelligent / organised army. They are mindless animals. Having a big fort in the middle of an empty field may give you a killing zone when attaked by normal enemy, and so it will make them afraid and the empty field then is a deterrant. Not so with Zs. There is no deterrant. You can have a machine gun at the end of an alley, and big painted signs saying 'Shuffle in here and get shot' and they will shuffle in and get shot.....
    You need a defence. You need walls. But not castle thick / height. Normal house walls will do. Windows are a problem. But they can be blocked up or boarded over. So an office block is fine. As long as you secure the usual open lobby / big window front to most places.

The advantage of my office, is that it is part of a block that is as long as the street. Where my 'fortress' and others part ways, is that I dont intend my camp to be permanent and defensable from all Z attacks for long periods.

If the Z's try to get in, and the basic defences break down, I plan to move along the top floor to the next building. I will spend a day or two in the beginning knocking a hole into the next office , and so on to the end of the street, or around the corner. While the Zs are navigating thier way around the ground floor (stairs blocked with chairs & desks from other offices) I will make my way to a safe exit 100's of metres away.
    The key to my survival will be the ability to move away. To this end, most of the streets along Henry St, O'Connell St, William St (and all the side streets around the city centre) are ideal. You can even have a few places pre-prepaired in case you have to leave 1, you have another one ready to move into, while the Zs are still searching the 1st. The use of a ladder bridge to span narrow streets can be very good, as the ladder can be pulled in after you, and the Zs cannot cross.

Keys: Ok, we would all like to move straight into a bank or army barricks, because they are very secure places. But this extra security now makes it hard for us to get in. It will take time to break in, and then reapir the break so that its secure again. The extra is not worth it, imho.
    So, having the keys to a large building like an office is no small advantage. When in my office, I can create exits to other buildings. OK, I dont have keys to these places, but as I am going thru the walls on the top floor, I dont think it matters. I am not making entry for the Zs easier by doing this, as I would be doing if I went in at the ground floor of the required building.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭wavehopper1

That's well thought out, RiderOnTheStorm. But it seems to assume that all the zombies will be wandering around the streets at ground level. Surely you'll have as much of a problem will be the ones stuck in buildings unable to get out because of their mindlessness.

Having said that, there are a load of NAMA empty office blocks that are guaranteed empty, just no food for scavenging.

I live in Kerry, and work in Limerick city. So, if I could not make my home my stronghold, then I would make my work place it.

I pick my office in Limerick not because its the best place in Limerick, but
    (a) I know the environ well
    (b) I have keys to the doors

OK, so its not the best of reasons, but let me expand, and you might agree or see simular advantages to your place.

I dont agree with the fortress idea of post-Z world. The Z's are not an intelligent / organised army. They are mindless animals. Having a big fort in the middle of an empty field may give you a killing zone when attaked by normal enemy, and so it will make them afraid and the empty field then is a deterrant. Not so with Zs. There is no deterrant. You can have a machine gun at the end of an alley, and big painted signs saying 'Shuffle in here and get shot' and they will shuffle in and get shot.....
    You need a defence. You need walls. But not castle thick / height. Normal house walls will do. Windows are a problem. But they can be blocked up or boarded over. So an office block is fine. As long as you secure the usual open lobby / big window front to most places.

The advantage of my office, is that it is part of a block that is as long as the street. Where my 'fortress' and others part ways, is that I dont intend my camp to be permanent and defensable from all Z attacks for long periods.

If the Z's try to get in, and the basic defences break down, I plan to move along the top floor to the next building. I will spend a day or two in the beginning knocking a hole into the next office , and so on to the end of the street, or around the corner. While the Zs are navigating thier way around the ground floor (stairs blocked with chairs & desks from other offices) I will make my way to a safe exit 100's of metres away.
    The key to my survival will be the ability to move away. To this end, most of the streets along Henry St, O'Connell St, William St (and all the side streets around the city centre) are ideal. You can even have a few places pre-prepaired in case you have to leave 1, you have another one ready to move into, while the Zs are still searching the 1st. The use of a ladder bridge to span narrow streets can be very good, as the ladder can be pulled in after you, and the Zs cannot cross.

Keys: Ok, we would all like to move straight into a bank or army barricks, because they are very secure places. But this extra security now makes it hard for us to get in. It will take time to break in, and then reapir the break so that its secure again. The extra is not worth it, imho.
    So, having the keys to a large building like an office is no small advantage. When in my office, I can create exits to other buildings. OK, I dont have keys to these places, but as I am going thru the walls on the top floor, I dont think it matters. I am not making entry for the Zs easier by doing this, as I would be doing if I went in at the ground floor of the required building.

Holding up in an office could only be a very short term solution at best.

Groups will need fortified bases at some point not just because of swarms of Zeds, but because of the likely problem of gangs of armed humans/thugs etc.

There will always be elements that take the law totally into their own hands, and that element will view life cheaply because it already does that now.

William st/Henry st/O'Connell Street are smack in the middle of the city. A terrible place to be when an outbreak takes hold. There would be mass panic, swarms of zeds and probably outbreaks of fire.

Now if you have to part company with your city centre base, there is now the problem of getting through an area that has a high number of Zeds, probably in their thousands coupled with damaged/burning buildings and a hell of a lot of noise which is drawing in more Zeds.

Places like banks would be useless to hold up in. Most have big glass fronts, and if a horde of zeds want to get in, weight of numbers will eventually get through that glass. Hiding in a vault is no good as air supply will quickly become a problem and also you would not be able to hear or see outside the vault, so how would you know the coast is clear?

Also you talk about things like ladder bridges and the like. How many of those things do you have in your work office right now? If an outbreak happened whilst you wee at work, then all you have is what is there now. Also factor in things like how long will things like electricity and running water stay working.

Trying to head to somewhere with a low population density is a must. Less people there to start with means less potential zeds to deal with or avoid. Also having less Zeds in an area gives you more time to think and evaluate, meaning less forced decisions and less chance of a fatal error.

couple of good points there Kess, like the fire & post-apoc raiders.

...ha ha ha ... what makes you think that I am NOT going to be a raider? only joking .... but the fire is a good point. I will have to think about that.

But for the other points ....
    The article is aimed at where in Limerick I would hold up. The city centre & row of houses / offices that will allow travel inside from top-floor to top-floor is my prefered method. Give a choice, I would pick my home town (not Limerick) , but that a different story.
    I think the city centre will not be as bad as folk think. There are far more people in the outlying (outside centre) areas, ie housing estates. After the initial swarm of voilence, i think things will quieten down and most folk (like yourself) will leave for the hills. The zombies will widen their search for food and the centre will become relatively quiet.
    For this, I would leave it a few days before taking up residence in the office in the city centre.
    I am not a farmer or engineer. I dont think I would survive well in the countryside making my own food, clothes, fuel, equip etc. All this stuff is avail to scavange in the city.

So my ideal timeline is:
    Initially - get out of town for a few days , lay low in house / secure area with basic supplies
    Middle term - return to city / large town to scavange all stuff needed, and over time find a rural area and stock it for long term (as well as learning skills). I think this would last a year
    Long term - leave city and live full time in country.

Its this middle time that I think a large town or city would be ideal. Batteries, weapons, medical supplies, clothes, vehicles, fuel, etc are all avail for the taking.

As for the speed of the spread of the disease, I dont think we are going to wake up one day and have the Zs on our door. There will be a bit of time to prepare the large stuff. As discussed on other threads, there will be reports of flu-like outbreaks, wierd news reports, and small riots. Then the army will take to the streets and cerfew will be imposed. That the point I will withdraw and batten down the hatches. A few days later (imho) the Zs will have taken over and it will all be over .... bar the surviving.

By the way, what do folk make of the idea to use the Boating Club Island on he shannon by Sarsfield bridge? Could be a good one. Open the locks an the river runs thru so its like a moat. One problem would be the easy access to island by the bridge itself, but that could be blocked off with a few trucks etc.

In fact, any bridge could be a good site. Secured at both ends, and live in a mobile home or three in the middle. Have a boat waiting below for emergency escape?

couple of good points there Kess, like the fire & post-apoc raiders.

...ha ha ha ... what makes you think that I am NOT going to be a raider? only joking .... but the fire is a good point. I will have to think about that.

But for the other points ....
    The article is aimed at where in Limerick I would hold up. The city centre & row of houses / offices that will allow travel inside from top-floor to top-floor is my prefered method. Give a choice, I would pick my home town (not Limerick) , but that a different story.
    I think the city centre will not be as bad as folk think. There are far more people in the outlying (outside centre) areas, ie housing estates. After the initial swarm of voilence, i think things will quieten down and most folk (like yourself) will leave for the hills. The zombies will widen their search for food and the centre will become relatively quiet.
    For this, I would leave it a few days before taking up residence in the office in the city centre.
    I am not a farmer or engineer. I dont think I would survive well in the countryside making my own food, clothes, fuel, equip etc. All this stuff is avail to scavange in the city.

So my ideal timeline is:
    Initially - get out of town for a few days , lay low in house / secure area with basic supplies
    Middle term - return to city / large town to scavange all stuff needed, and over time find a rural area and stock it for long term (as well as learning skills). I think this would last a year
    Long term - leave city and live full time in country.

Its this middle time that I think a large town or city would be ideal. Batteries, weapons, medical supplies, clothes, vehicles, fuel, etc are all avail for the taking.

As for the speed of the spread of the disease, I dont think we are going to wake up one day and have the Zs on our door. There will be a bit of time to prepare the large stuff. As discussed on other threads, there will be reports of flu-like outbreaks, wierd news reports, and small riots. Then the army will take to the streets and cerfew will be imposed. That the point I will withdraw and batten down the hatches. A few days later (imho) the Zs will have taken over and it will all be over .... bar the surviving.

By the way, what do folk make of the idea to use the Boating Club Island on he shannon by Sarsfield bridge? Could be a good one. Open the locks an the river runs thru so its like a moat. One problem would be the easy access to island by the bridge itself, but that could be blocked off with a few trucks etc.

In fact, any bridge could be a good site. Secured at both ends, and live in a mobile home or three in the middle. Have a boat waiting below for emergency escape?

The boating club (regardless of which building you use) would be a death trap. Blocking off the bridge may not be so easy with thousands of people in a panic, and driving/crashing cars all over the place.

You might be better off heading slightly up from the boat club and taking one of the small boats that are usually in the "marina" and using it to get down river away from the areas of large populations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Problem with that lock is,it is a water damming lock.IOW when the water rises above the gates,it floods over the gates anyway.It is designed to keep the "marina"[ I'll use that term loosely] at a certain level.So if you left it open all the time you would soon find your moat somwhat alarmingly lower in water and possibly your escape boat high and dry.
    In fact the Shannon is tidal up to sarsfield bridge,and can drop so low in some instances that it is possible to walk across the Shannon bed at Curragower falls in the Summer months.
    Other problem is you really want to know what you are doing with a boat under Limerick,as the Shannon becomes a mill race with the outgoing tide,so before you know it you could find your escape boat if underpowerd[like alot of cabin cruisers on the Shannon] out at Loop Head heading for the Atlantic.:eek:
    A boat will need a lot of OOmph to get up stream as well via the Abbey river which is like fighting against a fire hose while wearing roller skates.Seen and been on one boat that should have made it against a 10 knot current not make it up as far as Baals bridge.
    Not to mind where will you go??
    Unless you know how to operate the lifting boat locks at Ardnacrusha to get into the head race to Killaloe,you are going none too far.The old Shannon is blocked at Parteen Weir where the Headrace begins.
    So you would need to plan once you get there as what to do further.

You would have the adavantage on Sarsfield bridge off cutting off one major artery of the city in or egress if the swing bridge part still worked.That hasnt worked or been operated for a hundred plus years I belive.Not a smart idea trying to shack up on one either.They are choke points and a " local strategic asset" in milspeak.IOW somthing everyone is going to be intrested in using or owning or going to.Be they renegades or military or Z 's themselves.
    Best used and get away from ASAP.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Had a look at Limerick today and TBH your best plan would be GTFOOT ASAP.By and large it is a very undefencible city with four major important bridges and one tunnel over and under the Shannon.So depending on which way the Z's are coming from or going to.There is a chance of serious military action/mayhem in the area.
    There are no buildings really worth mentioning that could be fortified easily.Maybe Henry St Garda station,as it has a lot of" intresting" structual features that give it a modern fortress rating.But guess where there will be a lot of action going down in the city centre,when the family gangs finally decide to openly tool up and sort it out before the end??

Too many bad urban areas North and South of the city to try and get through when it happens.The West we have Shannon airport,a vital international strategic asset/target. Very good possibility of it been taken by military force by some foreign power?Or being a major contagion point??
    The East...Well Dublin Ireland..:rolleyes:.More likely they will all be coming towards us to getaway from whatever is happening in Dublin!!!:eek:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Had a look at Limerick today and TBH your best plan would be GTFOOT ASAP.By and large it is a very undefencible city with four major important bridges and one tunnel over and under the Shannon.So depending on which way the Z's are coming from or going to.There is a chance of serious military action/mayhem in the area.
    There are no buildings really worth mentioning that could be fortified easily.Maybe Henry St Garda station,as it has a lot of" intresting" structual features that give it a modern fortress rating.But guess where there will be a lot of action going down in the city centre,when the family gangs finally decide to openly tool up and sort it out before the end??

Too many bad urban areas North and South of the city to try and get through when it happens.The West we have Shannon airport,a vital international strategic asset/target. Very good possibility of it been taken by military force by some foreign power?Or being a major contagion point??
    The East...Well Dublin Ireland..:rolleyes:.More likely they will all be coming towards us to getaway from whatever is happening in Dublin!!!:eek:

King Johns Castle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

King Johns Castle?

Ginormous glass front of building?

Sarsfield barracks looks defendable!
    Has the added bonus point of hopefully armed soldiers inside. Grounds seem to have a 6 foot iron fence all the way around.

phill106 wrote: »
    Ginormous glass front of building?

Sarsfield barracks looks defendable!
    Has the added bonus point of hopefully armed soldiers inside. Grounds seem to have a 6 foot iron fence all the way around.

Thats the visitor centre on the side. The castle is very much a castle still.

as you may know, I am not a fan of the fortress option in post-Z world. But if I were, there is always Limerick Prison. Thats very defensable . OK, you have the issue of prisoners still in there, or maybe cells full of Z's. It might be an option in the weeks after an outbreak. The Z's not in cells will have wandered off (and the guards gone home or dead) and the ones in cells can be easily dispatched.

Thats the visitor centre on the side. The castle is very much a castle still.

Trouble is;Its missing a wall or two!! Where the glass container is that used to be a fortress wall,and where the old recreated town is thre was a wall there as well.So what you have are three towers connected by galleries so to speak and two massive open sides.Nor is it very comfy in there either.I mean,you DO need abit of comfort after a hard day of whacking Zs.
    Sarsfield barracks,is way too big and open to defend properly anymore.Plus considering it is a military target of value [IE a big armoury]
    I figure it will be the first place "Scobes United" will be trying to break into to tool up properly.By the time the Army has shot that bunch of Z's ,I dont think thy will have much ammo to deal with the real walking dead.

Limerick nick...Yeeeuuchhh:eek:.C'mon there must be somplace more comfortable and secure than a nick to turn into a base around here??