Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is with Irish people and microphones

• 31-03-2011 8:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭

Why do Irish people feel the need to turn into muck savaging idiots when near a mic ?

I was listening to the news earlier on and they had the postman from Kinsale who won 7m in the lotto. One of his supporters started shouting "Up Cork" and chanting "Rebels Rebels"

What the fcuk has him being from Cork have to do with winning the lotto. And before Cork people start getting insulted I'm from Cork too.

Then last week we had Lowry supporters in Tipp claiming to a reporter on Newstalk that they "love" him and "he is the king of Ireland"

Or my personal favourite of the last week was the people of moneygall and the song "theres no one as Irish as Obama"

Not content with making a mockery of us on a national basis they decide to prepare to do it on a global level.

Hide the cameras and microphones !!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

If it helps people refer to me as a craig david fan because im from southampton and I've never been to scunthorpe :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

The microphones have nothing to do with it. People are idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

The-Rigger wrote: »

Yous should be made King of Ireland for that remark it's so true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

its like they get momentary turettes syndrome, a mic goes near and their brain says "quick say something stupid!....nothing?...ok then just pretend your at a match!....good job nice save :) " :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

CoalBucket wrote: »

Cos they're raping everybody up in here.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Why do Irish people feel the need to turn into muck savaging idiots when near a mic ?

A lot of people don't need a microphone for that. You should see some of the shit people post in here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭van der vart

most irish bands also have a problem with the number 3. when sound checking mics.
    They go 1, 1, 1 - 1,2 - 1,1,1,1,2,2,2.
    i often sit there half pissed just praying to hear a 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

Then theres that idiot who goes..................aaaannnnnnnnd TONIGHT! on the Late Late Show....

useless lanky fcuktard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

"C'MON THE REBELLS!!!!"

"hi ma"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

Did someone really call Lowry the king of Ireland??

Thats really funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭DundalkDuffman

The-Rigger wrote: »

This. X 1,000,000,000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭bitter

I was listening to the news earlier on and they had the postman from Kinsale who won 7m in the lotto. One of his supporters started shouting "Up Cork" and chanting "Rebels Rebels"

What the fcuk has him being from Cork have to do with winning the lotto. And before Cork people start getting insulted I'm from Cork too.

Then last week we had Lowry supporters in Tipp claiming to a reporter on Newstalk that they "love" him and "he is the king of Ireland"

Or my personal favourite of the last week was the people of moneygall and the song "theres no one as Irish as Obama"

Not content with making a mockery of us on a national basis they decide to prepare to do it on a global level.

99% of Irish people have not evolved one bit since the Middle Ages sadly. An Irish person is always more than happy to fulfill the 'stereo-type'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭pmcd22

bitter wrote: »
    99% of Irish people have not evolved one bit since the Middle Ages sadly. An Irish person is always more than happy to fulfill the 'stereo-type'

yawn.. redo that survey.. sounds a bit biased..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭xflyer

You hit the nail on the head, in reality there is no such thing as an Irish person. It's all about the village, the town, the county, the province. No wonder the English had no trouble conquering us. It's still the same. There are no Irish people just locals obsessed with their little part of this Island. If you want proof travel the country and you will find precious little tricolours, it's all local flags, the county or the local football team representing their boring little boggy town.

That's why the likes of Lowry and other crooks and simpletons get elected to the Dail.

I'm Irish, not a Dubliner, not a Galwegian or anything else. I'm Irish!

pmcd22 wrote: »
    yawn.. redo that survey.. sounds a bit biased..

Ok.. 99.5%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

most irish bands also have a problem with the number 3. when sound checking mics.
    They go 1, 1, 1 - 1,2 - 1,1,1,1,2,2,2.
    i often sit there half pissed just praying to hear a 3

Not sure if trolling ... but if you're not the one is to test normal vocals, and the two is to test how the PA responds to a harsher attack with more bass on the voice. The speakers follow two very different patterns when saying one and two and allows the engineer to setup the desk to suit the vocalists voice and volume. Three would have no purpose.

What wrecks my head is people giving speeches, and they hold the Mic down by their bellybutton. Someone'll come along, be it a wedding, muckball tournament or funeral and gently push the Mic back up to their face, and within a few seconds it'll be back down again and no one can hear a word you're mumbling.

I shudder to think what the country was like before the Vikings & the Anglo-Normans came :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

We're a nation of terrible gawkers too, amazing the way a TV camera has such an effect on people, "Look Mammy I'm on d'telly"

You couldn't make that up even if you tried...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

We really are just a country of slack-jawed yokels.

"Durrrrrrr, i want ta be on de telly-box :pac:"

/stands awkwardly beside presenter, staring expressionless into the camera

Worse still is the footage of the Galway races or whatever sporting event when you see utter cretins lurking about in the background on their mobiles trying to get in-shot of the cameras.

"Mary, turn on de telly. Look! It's me! Jaysus, the lads down de pub'll never believe it!"

You'd think the camera had only been introduced to this country a week ago.

Not sure if trolling ... but if you're not the one is to test normal vocals, and the two is to test how the PA responds to a harsher attack with more bass on the voice. The speakers follow two very different patterns when saying one and two and allows the engineer to setup the desk to suit the vocalists voice and volume. Three would have no purpose.

What wrecks my head is people giving speeches, and they hold the Mic down by their bellybutton. Someone'll come along, be it a wedding, muckball tournament or funeral and gently push the Mic back up to their face, and within a few seconds it'll be back down again and no one can hear a word you're mumbling.

just a personal thing, id like to hear a 3, im not green but i like 3s

tonight will be some mic night, all the mammy,s on the lash for their day.
    Tina Turner watch out:D