Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best Bike Ever!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Thief

That bike looks hideous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

in the eye of the beholder and all that lark :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

That bike looks hideous!

Call it a fixie and they'd be all over it like a rash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

I had one of them. My Ma, fair play to her, paid for it in instalments in a bike shop in Camden Street.

I remember riding regularly with my mates from home by the Grand Canal out to the wilds of south county dublin to push our bikes up Pine Forest Hill. What would follow would be the type of fearless kamikaze descent that can only be performed by someone not old enough to realise that life is precious.

We would have been about 10/11 years old - my daughter is almost 9 and she is barely allowed cross the road on her own. We were free as birds and could go were we liked. The only limit was how far you could go and still be back for your dinner - as a result the Raleigh Roadrunner helped extend my little universe a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭Dutchie

I got my Raleigh Grifter XL from Santy when i was about nine.

Without a shadow of doubt the best bike ever built. Cool mud guards, carrier and 3 speed Sturmey Archer gears that for some reason would slip and send you flying into the handlebars!

I cycled to school, all over the fields and all around my estate.

What a great bike.

Great memories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

Ugh. Only good thing about it is it has some green paint.