Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you call your mother?

• 31-03-2011 11:14am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,475 ✭✭✭corblimey

In honour of the weekend that's in it (not too late to buy some forecourt flowers), what do you call your mother?

What do you call your mother? 268 votes

Mother
    0% 0 votes
    Mam
    2% 6 votes
    Ma
    37% 100 votes
    Mum
    13% 37 votes
    Mom
    20% 55 votes
    Mammy
    10% 27 votes
    Mummy
    6% 18 votes
    Mommy
    1% 3 votes
    Old Lady
    0% 1 vote
    Old Dear
    0% 0 votes
    By Her First Name
    0% 1 vote
    By Her Surname (!)
    7% 19 votes
    Something else
    0% 1 vote

mum mammy or by our second name

We dont do mothers day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Stupid tramp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Mam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Sargent or Captain or Mam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭token56

Its Mothers Day this weekend? Bollocks, must get present

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭Grudle

Sis!

Mam really though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

This is the only day of the year when I'm glad my mom is dead, I hate getting presents for people

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I call her by phone - seeing as I go the frig out decades ago!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

mum,
    and i am looking forward to mothers day cause i am one :D

pressies for me! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

I call her Ann.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Mum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Mom.

If one more person on here tells me that's an American word, I'll scream. It's not, it's a Birmingham word.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Grimebox wrote: »
    This is the only day of the year when I'm glad my mom is dead, I hate getting presents for people

Arent you just a big bundle of joy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Father

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

Mam i call her or mother

Mom is american and what an american would say, Irish people sound stupid using american phrases

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Woman

or

come here woman!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Mam & Mammy = Irish

Mum & Mummy = United Kingdom

Mom & Mommy = America & Canada

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭Dr. Greenthumb

brummytom wrote: »
    Mom.

If one more person on here tells me that's an American word, I'll scream. It's not, it's a Birmingham word.

Birmingham, Alabama? Such a Yank!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Luxie

Mother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭stephendevlin

oUL dOLL :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭DoesNotCompute

usually just "the auld wan" or "ma"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭JimiWonderDoor 92

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Father

Cartman?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

I call her by her first name, my brothers call her "auld one".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Ma

wild_cat wrote: »
    I call her by her first name,

wrong..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Mumsie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭mp3guy

Mom is american and what an american would say, Irish people sound stupid using american phrases

Here we go again :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Oral Slang

Mam, she hates mum.. Hard to get a card with mam on it. Have suceeded once or twice or else just change the U to an A on it. Got a nice one all in irish this year which solved the problem!

mp3guy wrote: »
    Here we go again :rolleyes:

Mom is American, though. nickelodian generation will probably use it though.

RichieC wrote: »
    Mom is American, though. nickelodian generation will probably use it though.
    Do you think Mom is an American word for Mum and that the latter is the correct spelling in England? Think again. The word Mom is widely used in the Midlands.

"Mom and Mommy are old-English words, words that are still used in Birmingham and most parts of the West Midlands, we all use the term Mom and Mommy never Mum or Mummy, as here the correct spelling is Mom and Mommy has been for hundreds and hundreds of years, when people from the West Midlands went to America all those years ago they took our correct spelling with them, hence they use Mom and Mommy and we still do in the West Midlands. Here in the West Midlands the words Mum and Mummy are frowned upon as they look and sound wrong, thankfully our local schools teach our correct spelling of Mom and Mommy and the kids still come home with handmade cards with out correct Mom and Mommy Spelling on.

I believe parts of Scotland use the Mom and Mommy term too, as I have relatives there and whenever I visit them, they and the people I visit or see use the term Mom too, however I'm not sure how widespread its use is.

We in Birmingham and the West Midlands get annoyed when people wrongly think we are using American words, when the word Mom and Mommy aren't American they were British to start with, it's just unlike the West Midlands other areas changed their spelling."

C Parkes
    http://www.woodlands-junior.kent.sch.uk/customs/blog/2006/04/mum-and-mom.html

Just because Americans use it doesn't mean everyone who says it gets it from American tv.

Oh right so it's english. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,564 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

"Herself"

RichieC wrote: »
    Oh right so it's english. :pac:
    Yep, so I'm allowed to use it and anyone on here who does is a West-Brit :pac:

(Sorry, I just hate Americanisms. I don't want people to think I use them!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

Ma, Mother or by her first name.

brummytom wrote: »
    Yep, so I'm allowed to use it and anyone on here who does is a West-Brit :pac:

(Sorry, I just hate Americanisms. I don't want people to think I use them!)

Totally awesome dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Ledger

Depends

If talking to someone about her, its Me muder

If i'm trying to wind her up, its Anne

But generally its just Ma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭LostGirly

Mam - if we call her by her first name we get the look of death and told "you're not allowed call me that, there are only three people in this world that can call me mam, I've earned that right."

In fairness she has a point and I'm too afraid to do wrong by her :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭omen80

Mam. Hate this "Mum" sh!t.

LostGirly wrote: »
    Mam - if we call her by her first name we get the look of death and told "you're not allowed call me that, there are only three people in this world that can call me mam, I've earned that right."

In fairness she has a point and I'm too afraid to do wrong by her :)

Good on her, I wouldn't take that ****e either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

Ma, mam or mammy :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

omen80 wrote: »
    Hate this "Mum" sh!t.

Tell her to close the jacks door then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

omen80 wrote: »
    Mam. Hate this "Mum" sh!t.

Oi!!!!! I call my Mum 'Mum', but then I grew up in England...........

I don't get all this using the word 'Mom' is American. I live in Co Limerick (near the Cork border) and loads of people around here use the word 'Mom', older people, as well as younger. My Dad was brought up to call his mother 'Mom' and he's in his late fifties. Maybe it's a culchie thing?

*oh yeah...... YORE MUM!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭omen80

Oi!!!!! I call my Mum 'Mum', but then I grew up in England...........

I don't get all this using the word 'Mom' is American. I live in Co Limerick (near the Cork border) and loads of people around here use the word 'Mom', older people, as well as younger. My Dad was brought up to call his mother 'Mom' and he's in his late fifties. Maybe it's a culchie thing?

*oh yeah...... YORE MUM!!!!

I've no problem with people from England using Mum, it's only when kids born and bred here use it!
    Could be just the accent though in the Limerick/Cork border, if you got them to spell it would they be using Mom? I live near Limerick city and never heard anyone say Mom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

OH CRAP! I completely forgot it was Mother's day. Thank you OP, you just saved me from getting a guilt trip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

Brendan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

ma, mam, mammy or BAJP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

ma, mam, mammy or BAJP

BAJP:confused:

Bridget Ann Josephine Patricia?:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭RightlyRandom

Ma & Mam Ma mostly though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

Old dear when i'm refering to her, Doris (not her name) when i'm speaking to her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 797 ✭✭✭backthephilup

Mater