Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

F**kin junkies

• 30-03-2011 8:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭

So yeh, had to get the bus home this evening like many others, and the bus stop across the road from Connolly was understandably jammered...

I stepped back from the crowd to have a smoke, then some junkie (claiming to be homeless, but obviously not judging by his really clean clothes, lovely pristine Nike runners etc) walks up to me, squares up to me with the usual rubbish "spare change mate, I'm homeless etc (in a mad sturng out voice)"... right in my ****ing face... I nearly lost it with him... when I told him to **** off or die, he turned his attention to everyone else at the bus stop, which was packed with people... going up to mothers with their children with them etc... some were clearly intimidated.... what a gutsy bastard squaring people in the face like that... it won't be for long before he gets a broken nose!

What's your reaction in these circumstances? I was close to just loosing it with him all together :mad:

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

Man if he really was a junkie he would have sold those "prestine nikes" ages ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Tubsandtiles

<snip>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭brianthomas

Scum! Hate brazen vermon like him. Someone will stick the head on him. Then the guards will problem spring to his defence.

Clondalkin in Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

a simple "no" works :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

My reaction? Well I live in the backend of nowhere that doesn't have junkies. I have drive to get around so I don't use public transport.

However when I do go to cities I am genuinely entranced by skangers. It's the typical country gene coming out in me & it's all I can do not to point & stare. I find Dublin the best for it tbh. I could easily spend an afternoon watching skangers in their natural habitat & enjoy it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭CommuterIE

Absurdum wrote: »

Yes, but this guy was brazen... he knows all about trying to intimidate...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭James2693

Why didn't you just give him the change?:) would gave made things a lot easier? Imagine if you heroically did that no mothers or children would have been intimidated. Tell me who is the scumbag here? You! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

Jesus, I never get "confronted" by junkies at all. I've been asked for spare change, smokes, etc.. and told them to piss off but they never got out of hand or "up in my face".

Might be cos I look pissed off all the time - man up OP!

Jesus, I never get "confronted" by junkies at all. I've been asked for spare change, smokes, etc.. and told them to piss off but they never got out of hand or "up in my face".

Might be cos I look pissed off all the time - man up OP!

Well I wasn't a happy camper not being able to get the train.... I was as pissed off as one can imagine... it wasn't just me this guy went up to in that manner, everyone at the bus stop, including women...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

CommuterIE wrote: »
    Yes, but this guy was brazen... he knows all about trying to intimidate...

tell the truth, you sh1t yer pants

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Merch

So yeh, had to get the bus home this evening like many others, and the bus stop across the road from Connolly was understandably jammered...

I stepped back from the crowd to have a smoke, then some junkie (claiming to be homeless, but obviously not judging by his really clean clothes, lovely pristine Nike runners etc) walks up to me, squares up to me with the usual rubbish "spare change mate, I'm homeless etc (in a mad sturng out voice)"... right in my ****ing face... I nearly lost it with him... when I told him to **** off or die, he turned his attention to everyone else at the bus stop, which was packed with people... going up to mothers with their children with them etc... some were clearly intimidated.... what a gutsy bastard squaring people in the face like that... it won't be for long before he gets a broken nose!

What's your reaction in these circumstances? I was close to just loosing it with him all together :mad:

I'd not be one for siding with these people, but I guess that is something that is gonna happen, ie them hassling people, you hardly think a person wants a junkies blood on them??
    I remember having a rant about some local junkie and someone said, (not that Im religious for repeating it) there go I but for the grace of god, in other words, their life is infinitely worse than yours, whether they brought it on themselves or not and that you are fortunate to have come to the place in your life that it hasnt happened to you, you were luckier to have a better upbringing.
    I dont think ahh that poor junkie sod when I see him the odd time, I know he is a parasite on society, I think, internally stay away from me but I dont think it with venom. just accept it and hope to not have to cross their paths too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

Well I wasn't a happy camper not being able to get the train.... I was as pissed off as one can imagine... it wasn't just me this guy went up to in that manner, everyone at the bus stop, including women...

You should hold 50c up in front of his face and pretend to throw it down the road then. When junkie looks away to see where it lands, steal all his spare change and smokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

Last May I was parking in Dublin, can't mind the name of the street but it was near the Grand Canal docks and almost outside a Eurospar. Anyway, I was just about to pay the parking machine when I was confronted by a strung out rattling junkie and his equally grubby greasy haired toothless girlfriend. He pulled a knife on me and demanded my wallet.
    Generally I'd have thought f*ck it and handed him the wallet but I had a few quid on me that day and he was fairly rattly....so I grabbed his wrist with the knife in it and with my other hand grabbed his throat and literally ran him backwards into the wall. Out cold. then as he was slumping down I drove a spiteful knee into his nose. It was a mess.
    His GF tried to run off but thankfully a few people from the Eurospar had witnessed the whole thing and stopped her.
    Gards were there within minutes and unbelievably told me there was a decent chance I'd end up charged with assault. Thankfully nothing ever came of it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,419 ✭✭✭✭jokettle

3 junkies were shooting up on the dart beside me yesterday; first time I'd seen something like that up close. No subtlety either!at least they were keeping to themselves I suppose, but I couldn't get off that dart quick enough.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,971 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

jokettle wrote: »
    3 junkies were shooting up on the dart beside me yesterday; first time I'd seen something like that up close. No subtlety either!at least they were keeping to themselves I suppose, but I couldn't get off that dart quick enough.

I miss dublin:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

There was a clutch of them over at the shops the other day when i decided to treat myself to a pizza, hanging around out side businesses causing a fuss... it was the head on one of them that annoyed me more than anything else, ugliest bastard I've ever seen, eyes about a mile apart and like piss holes in snow..

Normally I'm not one to judge on looks, but this scrotum was just the worst human being I ever seen in every way possible :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭InReality

Last May I was parking in Dublin, can't mind the name of the street but it was near the Grand Canal docks and almost outside a Eurospar. Anyway, I was just about to pay the parking machine when I was confronted by a strung out rattling junkie and his equally grubby greasy haired toothless girlfriend. He pulled a knife on me and demanded my wallet.
    Generally I'd have thought f*ck it and handed him the wallet but I had a few quid on me that day and he was fairly rattly....so I grabbed his wrist with the knife in it and with my other hand grabbed his throat and literally ran him backwards into the wall. Out cold. then as he was slumping down I drove a spiteful knee into his nose. It was a mess.
    His GF tried to run off but thankfully a few people from the Eurospar had witnessed the whole thing and stopped her.
    Gards were there within minutes and unbelievably told me there was a decent chance I'd end up charged with assault. Thankfully nothing ever came of it though.

That seems mad . I was told that no-one was ever charged in cases like that. were they young guards by any chance ?

InReality wrote: »
    That seems mad . I was told that no-one was ever charged in cases like that. were they young guards by any chance ?

The Ban Garda seemed fairly young alright, but the 2 male Gards were I'd assume well into their 30's and it was 1 of them that told me I could likely be charged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

The Ban Garda seemed fairly young alright, but the 2 male Gards were I'd assume well into their 30's and it was 1 of them that told me I could likely be charged.

and what about the guy who attacked you? Did our brave police force say anything about charging him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

If they're nice then I feel bad and usually give them some spare change, I know i shouldn't that its probably just going towards their drugs, but I feel horrible for them.

However, those ones that try intimidate me because Im a girl, usually alone and not two hands higher than a duck?

They can go sh.it is what they can do.

nlgbbbblth wrote: »
    and what about the guy who attacked you? Did our brave police force say anything about charging him?

Ah yeah in fairness, they were both arrested and I assume charged with (attempted? armed?) robbery. The Gard saying I may be charged did seem to be disgusted by the possibility of it.
    I had to go with them to the barracks and make a statement and whatnot and 3 witnesses from the Eurospar also gave their names and contact details in case they were needed also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭Eircom_Sucks

RichieC wrote: »
    There was a clutch of them over at the shops the other day when i decided to treat myself to a pizza, hanging around out side businesses causing a fuss... it was the head on one of them that annoyed me more than anything else, ugliest bastard I've ever seen, eyes about a mile apart and like piss holes in snow..

Normally I'm not one to judge on looks, but this scrotum was just the worst human being I ever seen in every way possible :mad:

best reply to a topic ever

take a bow son :)

op is a mouth i bet , shatt himself and handed over his money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Merch

If they're nice then I feel bad and usually give them some spare change, I know i shouldn't that its probably just going towards their drugs, but I feel horrible for them.

However, those ones that try intimidate me because Im a girl, usually alone and not two hands higher than a duck?

They can go sh.it is what they can do.

Oh I'd never give them any money! anyway if you put your hand in your pocket, you're taking your eyes off whats going on and the wallet might be snatched out of your hand, dont fancy chasing anyone down, but I can see the other side of things, I wont spit venom at them, unless I was attacked and even then Id want to get away from them as much as possible, I certainly wouldnt touch them, let alone hit them, ugghh, maybe I just started watching too much csi, but god knows where those blood spatters would go? outta there

best reply to a topic ever

take a bow son :)

op is a mouth i bet , shatt himself and handed over his money

Haha, square up to me like that junkie sunshine, I'd knock you out mate... :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭bradyle

well i've learnt never talk back...after saying no to giving a lad change he said i had a fat ass... without thinking i replied at least im not homeless (yea i know untactful not there fault blah blah...but i was in a bad mood and it was an automatic come back)
    but anyway got punched in the face by his gf for my troubles...woulda hit back but could see it ending badly...now i just ignore them.

bradyle wrote: »
    woulda hit back but could see it ending badly...now i just ignore them.

Terrible idea, an average mans arm will punch straight through a junkie.

yea but i'm a 5ft nothing girl and ridiculously week...i dont think i could beat any1 even a junkie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

yea but i'm a 5ft nothing girl and ridiculously week...i dont think i could beat any1 even a junkie
    aww your dinky. Ill mind ya

ah hem *weak... sorry, just sorry!!! :pac:

Ah... careful so.. even still, a swift one to the knackers would take down chuck Norris!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭plein de force

Absurdum wrote: »

not with those types it doesn't

the junkie scum population is almost outweighing the normal population in some places

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

when I told him to **** off or die

No you didn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

walks up to me, squares up to me with the usual rubbish "spare change mate, I'm homeless etc (in a mad sturng out voice)"... right in my ****ing face... I nearly lost it with him... when I told him to **** off or die

Yea right, bet you didn't do any such thing.

In fact, and I've a lot of experience with these people and people like you - I bet this is what you, as an after thought, would have liked to have said.

My advice, cop yourself on and have a little manners ffs.

I know i'm sorry i noticed that the minute i posted it...stupid spelling...always will be the death of me...hopefully thats all right :)

oh and thanks seanybiker ill know where to come if i get in any trouble :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭Eircom_Sucks

Haha, square up to me like that junkie sunshine, I'd knock you out mate... :cool:

all mouth on the pc ............ ohh im scared :)

must be insecure with a response like that ;)

Yea right, bet you didn't do any such thing.

In fact, and I've a lot of experience with these people and people like you - I bet this is what you, as an after thought, would have liked to have said.

My advice, cop yourself on and have a little manners ffs.

No I did, and he ****ed off quick...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

nlgbbbblth wrote: »

He would have gotten off the charge, it was the drugs that made him do it.

Oh_Noes wrote: »
    No you didn't.

I'd believe it.. an aggressive stance with these people is the only thing they understand. if you cower they start taking liberties, like pitt bulls only less intelligent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

So why didn't you assault him then? Why didn't you crack his face open with your loaf?

Wouldn't want Junkie blood near me :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭KilOit

are you ****ing kidding me? this poxy country is really backwards, you were well in your right to do what you did.

Wouldn't want Junkie blood near me :eek:

Then how was he gonna "die"?.

Oh that was just a threath :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

Oh, OP. If only you were around during Hitler's times. He would have been rightly fúcked. But you could always give us a "If I'd have been there I would have...." kind of story.

If you're such a junkie-confronting superhero, why didn't you prevent the junkie from harrassing the woman and child he went to after he was finished with you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

Speaking of junkies, and knowing theres soooo many of them in dublin itd be like trying to pinpoint a needle in a haystack.. But does anybody know of that weird old aggressive guy that hangs out around grafton street/dame street? He wears a really long scarf and walks funny. He's got all weird scabs on his face too. Eugh.

I am pretty sure he was about to mug me!

I was walking up from trinity, in the rain, with 5 inch stilettos a massive handbag on my shoulder and pulling a small suitcase behind me. Walked up college green, passing the bottom of grafton street and he seemed to appear right there.

You know that feeling you get when somebody is following you? I was walking pretty slow, so I turn around and hes behind me... I keep walking, and I'm still getting that uneasy feeling... I walk on further, turn back around... Hes still behind me. I keep walking, but slow down, and all of a sudden I stopped dead, turned around and he got so close up in my face I actually put my hands up to push him back. He stammered, and after a couple of seconds he yelled "CHANGE! HAVE YOU GOT ANY CHANGE" in my face. He was rocking while he spoke too. I said no, and he bristled past me, up the street like a rocket, and stood in under that bank shelter/bus stop (?) right next to a girl of a similar age to me, also with a large handbag.

I met him the following day outside the o2 shop on grafton street, and another day he accosted me on wicklow street, just as i had came out of brown thomas, again lookin for spare change.

I used to model for an academy on chatham street and any days Id be up there, Id nearly always see him around grafton street.

He terrifies me.

Oh that was just a threath :)

So in this little figment of your imagination, when he started to intimidate women and children you stood by & watched - planking yourself?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

I always just say 'no I dont,sorry''.

Or if they seem nice/genuine or are polite I give them 20 or 30c.

No point insulting somebody just because you think that you're better then them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

On my LC results night (a couple years ago), some junkie girl came up to me & my friends and asked if we had 50c - none of us actually had any change at all - and when we said "no, really sorry" (politely), she started shouting insults at us, spitting on us, threatening us and just generally being intimidating. I stupidly shouted back at her (because why the hell should people like that get to terrify the rest of us?!:mad:) so I got an extra few spits in my hair. Charming. That's the worst I've ever had though, I'm probably lucky by other people's standards :(

Now I just say "I'm really sorry, have no change at all; but if I see you on my way back..." and just hope to hell that I don't see them again! Either that or give them a handful of small coins if I have any, gets them off my back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

Ah... careful so.. even still, a swift one to the knackers would take down chuck Norris!

A kick, if you're inexperienced, can be a dangerous move. Anyone who has studied martial arts will tell you that a quick in-out jab to the solar-plexus will make even a body-builder gasp for oxygen and possibly fall down if you hit the right spot (that soft spot between the lower reaches of your rib-cage). Every gobsh!te in a scrap expects kicks and punches to the head. Snap punch to the middle torso and the fücker's out of action. You can dance back and out of harm's way in a split second.

So in this little figment of your imagination, when he started to intimidate women and children you stood by & watched - planking yourself?.

No, I looked after myself... I expected all at the bus stop to follow my example, which they did, so stop the snide comments