Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Some Balls on him - would you?

• 30-03-2011 6:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭ArtyM

So, I was standing at the entrance to a local supermarket recently when a car pulls up. A guy gets out, stands beside his car and yells 'excuse me' in the direction of a Woman entering the building.
    There were about 15-20 people in the vicinity, between those entering and those exiting.
    The Woman he was addressing turned around, as did everyone else, and the the guy shouts 'You have just parked your car in a parent and child space, but you have no child with you. Please move your car immediately so I can park there as I am actually entitled to."
    Thought this took some balls and I was wondering how many of you could do this.
    P.S. Yes, she did move her car for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Bonavox

Am I the only one that read the title wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Sprrratt

Deffo and i'd do it also just to be a cúnt.

Oh and did anyone else think OP meant something else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Thats not balls, its called playing the disability card.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Fuck sake, I was only going in to get bread and milk! :mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

if it was a disabled space i'd say fair play, but parent and child spaces are bollocks. Also it's not illegal to park in them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I probably would not be arsed but fair play OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

ArtyM wrote: »
    So, I was standing at the entrance to a local supermarket recently when a car pulls up. A guy gets out, stands beside his car and yells 'excuse me' in the direction of a Woman entering the building.
    There were about 15-20 people in the vicinity, between those entering and those exiting.
    The Woman he was addressing turned around, as did everyone else, and the the guy shouts 'You have just parked your car in a parent and child space, but you have no child with you. Please move your car immediately so I can park there as I am actually entitled to."

If she was really classy she would have pointed at her VAG and said "ITS NOT COMING OUT TILL NEXT WEEK, THANKS FOR MAKING ME FEEL BETTER ABOUT MY SELF" *thumbs up* walk off.

Bonavox wrote: »
    Am I the only one that read the title wrong?

Blatantly changed your post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Or better still, she could have burst out crying and whailed that she lost her little boy only 2 months ago in a horrible accident with a lawnmower and that this was where she always used to park when they went into town to get some sweets. I'd like to see yerman's face then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭jumpin jaysus

it would have been funny if a kid ran out of the shop after her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭EverEvolving

phasers wrote: »
    if it was a disabled space i'd say fair play, but parent and child spaces are bollocks. Also it's not illegal to park in them.

^^^ This

Just because you have a child doesn't mean you should get parking privileges, most people just pop the child in the trolly and off they go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,775 ✭✭✭Fittle

I'd say the twat had little better to do than follow her to the door, get out of the car and shout abuse at her - he'd have been quicker finding another parking space:rolleyes::rolleyes:

If it was a disabled spot, fair enough - but the parent and kids spots aren't a 'right' - they're just for convenience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

if he done it to me, I'd just turn back smirk roll my eyes and carry on into the supermarket. this guy is a pleb of the highest order

^^^ This

Just because you have a child doesn't mean you should get parking privileges, most people just pop the child in the trolly and off they go.

Makes sense a little, never know when a child could run off after something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

^^^ This

Its probably just an Insurance thing for the shops .. less likely kids will get run over closer to the door

Sprrratt wrote: »
    Makes sense a little, never know when a child could run off after something

That just opens the 'Parent should be looking after their child' debate. I know it can happen and kids do that but it's not a right to have a good parking space just because you have kids.

• What a tit.

Parent and child parking is ridiculous, parents should not be allowed into stores with their kids. Children are fcuking annoying and their parents are worse.

If he wanted a good parking spot he should have wore a condom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

Would he have done it if it was a 6'8" Paul Oconnell lookalike?? I know I wouldn't.

Told a woman politely that she was parked in a disabled parking spot few years ago,and she replied "oh yes, its a new car and the disabled spot is wider so it won't get scratched"

I felt like keying the car but its not in my nature.

That just opens the 'Parent should be looking after their child' debate. I know it can happen and kids do that but it's not a right to have a good parking space just because you have kids.

Id feel better having to walk an extra 10 metres for the sake of a childs life being a risk lowering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

I've always assumed that they were there for safety reasons, i.e. so you don't have knee high kids running around under cars. So while I wouldn't consider those parking spaces a right and if it were the only space available I would probably feel justified in parking in them, that would be the only situation where I would consider it okay to take the space.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭twinQuins

There's a difference between having the balls to do something and being so socially retarded you can't tell when you're making an ass of yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Id feel better having to walk an extra 10 metres for the sake of a childs life being a risk lowering.
    How the hell is the risk lowered? If a parent isn't watching their child there's the same chance of it running out onto the road if it's 5 feet from the shop or 5 miles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Children are not pets.

I dont condone children running about th place, but if you are a parent trying to shop and have to park the far side of a busy car park, its dangerous.

Its not a big deal, so if you dont have a child - fcuk off to some other space

Well, traffic is extremely slow in the majority of car parks and if the worst came to the worst and a child did run in front of a car, it's very unlikely they would suffer much damage anyway (hopefully!). Carparks are hardly a menace to young people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

I would tell him to **** off to be honest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

whiteboy wrote: »
    I say FAIR PLAY to him, tell her where to go!

Women should not be allowed to drive, or let out after certain hours.

but how will our men get home from the pubs and clubs at 3am

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

the f*ck is a parent child space?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

phasers wrote: »

I agree, if it was a disabled space, well then she would have deserved all the mortification he could throw at her. Parent and child (even though I do use the having kids n all) are not such a big deal, fail to see why he'd be bothered doing that, and as you say it's no illegal to park in parent and child!

I too misread the OPs title!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

RichieC wrote: »
    the f*ck is a parent child space?

A parking for parents and children. There's a clue in the name :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Fcuking Wussbag!:mad::mad::mad:

jd007 wrote: »
    A parking for parents and children. There's a clue in the name :pac:

quite..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Hell I don't even agree with disabled parking spaces. So much for treating disabled people 'just like everyone else'.

So no, I wouldn't have done it, nor would I have moved my car. Feck off and get your own parking space you lazy bastard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I park in those parent/child spaces all the time and fvck the begrudgers.

In some shopping center's its madness, example being Tescos Clarehall (Dublin for you boggers).. I'm sure that has more handicapped parking spaces than fvcking Lourdes, and I'm sure more parent/child spaces than Sesame Street ffs.

/rant over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

How on earth my mother managed with 4 kids 20 odd years ago with no parent/child spaces ill never know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭lecker Hendl

I've never heard of a parent and child parking spot. I'm a ballsy person so if he said it to me, I'd have walked into the shop. Probably because I wouldn't have had a clue what he was on about though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

I'd have ignored him, or told him to politely go fuck himself, and that would be for being a dick. If I were asked discretely I'd move. There is no law regarding parent and child spaces, they are a courtesy really.

If it was a disabled space however...

I'd have ignored him, or told him to politely go fuck himself, and that would be for being a dick. If I were asked discretely I'd move. There is no law regarding parent and child spaces, they are a courtesy really.

If it was a disabled space however...

yep, I'd of made a fking show of him in front of his little darling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Ronin247 wrote: »
    Would he have done it if it was a 6'8" Paul Oconnell lookalike?? I know I wouldn't.
    Yeah , ya see that's the thing ,the guy was making his point but could he have done it in a more subtle way ? There will always be somebody who takes it personnel that somebody has made a faux pas and body language and tone of voice can make the difference between somebody getting their way or being told to F... off . It depends on were you are and whom your dealing with at the time .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Donal Og O Baelach

Also, the parent child spaces are wider, so to prevent little Johnny clipping a nice dent into the car beside when he flings open the door.

That said, yer man was just waving his dick (figuratively speaking)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭bizzo

Reminds me of two pretty good scenes from a film a few years back.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X9UCG4HzEsQ&playnext=1&list=PLB4014DB4C7F65D05

Cant find the other one. But if you know the film im sure you know the one im on about

found a facebook group for the self righteous to join:

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=111678168843762&v=wall&ref=share

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Horse_box

Hell I don't even agree with disabled parking spaces. So much for treating disabled people 'just like everyone else'.

Your opinion is sh1t

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭HoneyRyder

What an obnoxious way to conduct yourself. Some people have no decorum. In this case, neither of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭ArtyM

Here is a quote from that facebook page - :eek::eek:

"great group i have the same problem it drives me crazy... a disabled couple drove in to my space once and told me its tuff they have the rite to park any where even mother and baby.... cheek of them..and there is trebble the amount of disabled spaces to our few mother and baby... somthing needs to be done.."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Wow what a tough guy I would have continued into the shop and lurked around the aisles till he caught up with me at which point I would jump him from behind and beat him with a frozen lobster.

Here is a quote from that facebook page - :eek::eek:

"great group i have the same problem it drives me crazy... a disabled couple drove in to my space once and told me its tuff they have the rite to park any where even mother and baby.... cheek of them..and there is trebble the amount of disabled spaces to our few mother and baby... somthing needs to be done.."
    i get that but its life and the government should be taking care of the children that are in their country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭Squirm

I wouldn't do it personally but it does annoy me when people park in those spots and don't have children with them. It isn't so much because of safety for me, rather, it is because they are wider so my buggy fits through the gap between the cars, if I am using a trolley they are closer to the trolley bays so I don't have to go far with the trolley once my baby is in the car OR carry her back, they are wider so I can fully open the car door to access the car seat, if I am carrying her and bags the car is nearer so it is less of a chore and, with regards to safety, if I have her cousins with us, I can ask them to stand in front of the car and still be able to clearly see them while putting the baby in her seat and know they are not standing on the 'road'. If I don't have my baby with me I would never use one, unless there was absolutely nowhere else to park and I was just running in. It is no bother to me otherwise to walk the few extra meters across the car park and I think it is courteous to leave the spaces for people who have a greater need for them. I think it is a bit of a prickish attitude to say "sure it's not illegal so I'm going to park there and f*ck the people with kids". But that's just IMHO.

Re: disability spots. It's not about them being treated "the extact same as us"! It's about providing a spot that caters to people that are in wheelchairs or have wheelchair passangers and to people with limited disability who need to be closer to the entrance. It disgusts me when people take those spaces just because they want to.

Where both are concerned, it comes down to whether you are a courteous and considerate person or not I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Got into a row with some dope for parking in a disabled space before but wouldn't bother over a child/parent space. That said, I don;t see anything wrong with what your man said. The world is full of muppets that take liberties and expect not to be pulled up about it.

Incidentally, there are plenty of things people in this world do that while not illegal still make them inconsiderate cunts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Milfofsix? As in 6 kids?:eek::eek::eek:

I would still do her!:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

Also, the parent child spaces are wider, so to prevent little Johnny clipping a nice dent into the car beside when he flings open the door.

What DOGOB said, plus some day you'll be glad of a little extra space as you try to extract/insert a screaming/a few screaming brats into their car seats. It also means that you can pull a buggy into the space between cars so some blind moron doesn't send it flying 20 feet - luckily, minus the child in my case.