Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why stay up so late

• 30-03-2011 3:25am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭

There is always so many people online at this time.. including myself. I stay up late because I have trouble sleeping and need to stay up until my eyes are practically closing so once I hit the pillow I conk.. Whats everybody elses story?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Working the night shift starting tomorrow, so easing myself into the hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

Peace and quiet.

A rare commodity with 3 kids.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

I have a toothache and the paracetamol are not working :mad: thats why im awake :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭denballs

prefer the night........i download alot of usa tv.....and it,s on at like 9pm there...i get it at about 1 am......also...i dont really need sleep.......only do it if im bored.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

for me?
    im unemployed.
    as time went by it went from 1am .... to 2am ... 3am to 4am ... now its around 5.30am.

Its mental when you think about it. You stay up so late doing nothing constructive and then when you get up the day is basically gone already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

I'm in work. :(

I wish I was in bed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭s3129

I love how everybodys different :) not just all cant sleep cant sleep cant sleep...

i think its that time where i can hit the cot anyway :D

LighterGuy wrote: »
    Its mental when you think about it. You stay up so late doing nothing constructive and then when you get up the day is basically gone already.
    That's why ya do it though... I used to have nothing to do except play Halo and go out drinking so I just changed my sleeping pattern accordingly.

how did you change your sleeping pattern? ... bit by bit? or just get your ass outta bed to toally change it.

Bit by bit getting into the unemployment pattern.. Drastic measures when I needed to get out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

Mine gets later and later every night until every so often it's not worth going to bed at all and I stay up right till the following night.

Bit by bit getting into the unemployment pattern.. Drastic measures when I needed to get out of it.

drastic? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,911 ✭✭✭bradlente

Lack of Fatigue?

LighterGuy wrote: »
    drastic? :P

Yea, I went for a sex change operation.. No real reason, just figured it would shock me into getting up at 8am instead of 4pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭Pedro K

I was woken up about 2 hours ago by my dads car on fire in the front garden, car completely destroyed, front of house quite damaged. ****ing bastards. No respect for any other people. If I hadn't have woken and alerted emergency services etc. the fire could have engulfed the house and killed us all.

Doing a 24hour broadcast on radio for charity myself!

Been awake since 10am Tuesday, on air non-stop since 11am Tues!!! :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭denballs

Doing a 24hour broadcast on radio for charity myself!

Been awake since 10am Tuesday, on air non-stop since 11am Tues!!! :D

lol.....it only counts if you have listeners besides yourself....and sitting in your room with a mic and a fm transmitter...dont really count either...lol

what charity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

Pedro K wrote: »
    I was woken up about 2 hours ago by my dads car on fire in the front garden, car completely destroyed, front of house quite damaged. ****ing bastards. No respect for any other people. If I hadn't have woken and alerted emergency services etc. the fire could have engulfed the house and killed us all.

Feckin hell.

Twats!!!

assholes!! did ye catch who did it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Late?

It's only 11 O'Clock. :confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

Chill out time! don't get much of that during the day :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

I'm on here because I have trouble sleeping, I was knackered about an hour ago now I'm wide awake. I hate that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

Haven't had a decent nights sleep since I was laid off over 2 years ago, still get up at 7.30 every morning but only get around 4 hrs zzzzzzzzzz's any night..

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

BluesBerry wrote: »
    I have a toothache and the paracetamol are not working :mad: thats why im awake :(
    A dentist told me that parcetmol thins your blood and increases the flow to your tooth and makes it hurt more. Take neurofen instead! Get well soon!

If only we had American type law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Can't sleep, nothing better to do

Late?

It's only 11 O'Clock. :confused::confused:

And gone to bed 15 mins later..;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

Wtf? Its only 25 past 11. Its not late yet.

If I were not pregnant, it wouldnt even be time to go out yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭jennytightlips

cause ive turned into a bit of a vampire since the recession hit me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 nanofano

I stay up late to defer the morning for as long as possible, it always comes though and with it comes another work day!
    Always regret it the next morning, but i love it, ha.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 406 ✭✭FesterBeatty

Fap time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭purity

I am insomniac and I also work mostly night shift. I seem to be more of a night person and it suits me too stay awake late rather than go to bed early. Television is much more watchable at night also so yeah that's why I stay up late

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭ihatetractors

Work on the farm milking etc by day at weekends this weather. Up at 6.30 not done til 7.30pm+, then usualy up every few hours to check the moo's are allright during the nyte as this is calving season just done realy. Arive up monday mornin and skip college to sleep all afternoon/nyte. still up at 6.30 all week and can't sleep until 2am+ :(. I find i can go 10 days on 4hrs sleep grand but then just crash.
    Last harvest i did 4 130 hr weeks back to back between drawing our own and on the grave yard shift for a neighbour drying grain. Pay was savage though.. :D.

Ps. living 3 mins from luas is savage, straight into harcourt strt and all for l8 nyte beering

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

im in work until 9 in the morning :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 411 ✭✭MASTER...of the bra

Im waiting untill I see "Currently active users: 0" on the main page and then I'm claiming squatters rights.

Then I'm gonna ban Devore, Darragh, Dav, the mods...all them bitches and see how they like it.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 jimry

work night shifts all the time.
    even on night off there's no point in going to bed before 4a.m.
    just looking at the ceiling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

most people up late are usually working night shifts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭stevejr

Whispered wrote: »
    I'm in work. :(

I wish I was in bed.

I'm in bed wish I was in work....Damn Recession.

What's the reason for being reasonable?

Is that an unreasonable question?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭jamesr123

I'm in bed most of the day so I can't sleep at night :(:o Tried to get up at 11.00 this mornin. Effort was unreal:rolleyes::o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭stevejr

jamesr123 wrote: »
    I'm in bed most of the day so I can't sleep at night :(:oTried to get up at 11.00 this mornin. Effort was unreal:rolleyes::o

Tried Viagra? Friction-burn isn't nice.....

What's the reason for being reasonable?

Is that an unreasonable question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Nuggles

Finished college for a long while. Have nothing to get up for in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

I use the excuse that I'm doing assignments, but in reality I just stay up til I'm too tired to do assignments.

Wtf? Its only 25 past 11. Its not late yet.

If I were not pregnant, it wouldnt even be time to go out yet!

check what time thread was started?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

s3129 wrote: »
    Why stay up so late?

Why so serious?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭CL32

Anyone believe in that 'circadian rhythms' stuff?

I'm beginning to. I have to get up around 7 every morning and I feel hungover and slow till around 9 or 10. The later it gets the more awake I feel.

I'm on shift now and have been getting up around 10am, bringing the dog down the beach for an hour or two, getting loads of stuff at home done and tapdancing into work for 3pm.

If there was one thing I could change about myself it would be to make myself a morning person. There has probably been about 4 saturdays in my thirty odd years on this planet where I have been up early and I remember them all because I felt LIKE A GOD.

Still needed a nap before staying up all night though ha ha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Im off tomorrow so not in a hurry to go to bed. Prefer to lie in til 10 or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭howardmarks

A mix of not being a morning person and working shifts so Im all over the shop most days if I can even remember which day it is

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

i always stay up late, habit really i guess but i do love to take a afternoon nap sometimes ya cant beat it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I stay up late because I can generally survive on very little sleep.
    About 5 hours will do me most nights, so I don't really see the point of sleeping more than that.
    If I'm tired in the evening, I'll just take a nap for an hour.

Tried and tested system.

The insomnia doesn't help matters either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Laisurg

Well my sleeping pattern is just well and truly f*cked :(