Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

To All You Country Folk.....

• 30-03-2011 1:44am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭

What is the most insulting phrase or demeaning slander one could possibly refer to you as...

When I was in Cork city on the weekend, two guys at the bar referred to the country folk as "cowshit". I'm not even from the country but I was appalled at the manner of it.

So, what do you detest most?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Being mistaken for a jackeen / townie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭s3129

I don't really care because most Galway townies are jumped up fools, and the country is way better craic... people are much sounder and laid back in the country :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

They never seem to be impressed with ''6 fingered banjo player''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Whenever I go to da big schmoke and meet a city slicker with a superiority complex, i just laugh it off. Doesnt bother me in the slightest. Its all relative. Dubliners, Corkonians etc are just quirky, drunken leprechauns to Americans, and wasteful, bailout-scrounging slackers to Germans. Everyone has someone looking down on them!

Why would someone say..... 20 miles outside a town like Cork, care what some barfly living in the centre of that non-descript regional backwater thinks of them anyway.

(no offense to Cork now, just saying like)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Someone saying "You sound like you're from Cork" Would be horrendous

I'd have to report them to the authorities

Cowsh*t would do it alright, that'd drive one to give him the "culchie nose" look via non-elective blunt force nose surgery.

"muck savage" is the worst I've seen in person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

s3129 wrote: »
    I don't really care because most Galway townies are jumped up fools, and the country is way better craic... people are much sounder and laid back in the country :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Bogger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

I've never been abused for being from the country, but if i was i would probably just give them a puzzled look and shrug my shoulders. I actually couldn't be offended by whatever a city/town person could call me, because normally the person giving the abuse is the one with the real inferiority complex. Like when i got called a "fenian ba$tard" in England. Just a feeling of genuine bewilderment as to how i could have been a member of a republican society long extinct! And how that term should be deemed offensive in any way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,803 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

With the advent of the popularity of the internet, being from the country as opposed to the 'city' is pointless nowadays. Being a 'culchie' is now meaningless because the old meaning of it was that you were a clueless gombeen and hadn't a clue what was going on outside your local parish.

I can honestly say I've met more thick ****€rs from Dublin than I have from regional towns but it's all relative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

Muck Savage is probably the most offensive but there's very few who would be brave/stupid enough to say it to someones' face.

i have utter disdain for people who regularly refer to others as "culchees". it's a word used to look down on someone who's not from Dublin as if it were a bad thing not to be from their glorious pinnacle of £*^&!ng civilization!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Meh.

If I'm asked where I'm from, I'll often say "Oh, I'm a culchie, I'm from ......"

Most people who use the word mean SFA by it.

And in either case, if we reclaim the word as our own, it loses any tiny sting it might otherwise be perceived to have.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

To be honest no matter where you are from theres always a wise hole with no brain cells who will have something to say.Plus the better you do for yourself the more people in small towns hate it.
    Theres no winning .Just ignore them .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭UsernameInUse

Muck Savage is probably the most offensive but there's very few who would be brave/stupid enough to say it to someones' face.

I don't see how muck savage is in any way offensive?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Just what Boards has been lacking all these years - A Dublin v Rest of Ireland thread.

Well done OP. What an original idea. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭XcupcakeX

Cowsh*t would do it alright, that'd drive one to give him the "culchie nose" look via non-elective blunt force nose surgery...

^
    Lmao

I get called a bogger by my bf all the time. Its such an insult hearing it as I watch his suave, sophisticated dublin self lick kebab sauce from the front of his t-shirt
    *smug culchie face*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

What is the most insulting phrase or demeaning slander one could possibly refer to you as...

When I was in Cork city on the weekend, two guys at the bar referred to the country folk as "cowshit". I'm not even from the country but I was appalled at the manner of it.

Nothing, the misplaced ignorance of **** never gets to me. Most people can't even tell i am from the country. I've noticed the people who will make culchie jokes are normally also people who assume everyone in Limerick is a scumbag, everyone on the dole is a lazy **** and all foreign women are better looking than Irish women....so i tend to just pop them into the retard pile, give them something soft to play with and move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Muck Savage is hilarious, I use it all the time. Bog Warrior is also good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

A Michael Lowry supporter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

i don't really get offended by things :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Dr. Feelgood

i don't really get offended by things :/

your stink brings tears to my eyes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

grenache wrote: »
    I've never been abused for being from the country, but if i was i would probably just give them a puzzled look and shrug my shoulders. I actually couldn't be offended by whatever a city/town person could call me, because normally the person giving the abuse is the one with the real inferiority complex. Like when i got called a "fenian ba$tard" in England. Just a feeling of genuine bewilderment as to how i could have been a member of a republican society long extinct! And how that term should be deemed offensive in any way.

I was called a fenian a few times as well but mainly in good humour, could never understand how it even remotely resembles an insult

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

A jive turkey :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

your stink brings tears to my eyes.

i am so offended! :eek: my stink is erotic! how dare you! pig!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Anyone who doesnt live in Dublin or Belfast thinking they actually live in a real city. Ya dont.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Anyone who doesnt live in Dublin or Belfast thinking they actually live in a real city. Ya dont.

There is no difference really, after a city gets past a certain size of 100,000 people or more nothing is really added to it except more of what is already there. Doesn't really matter if you have 5centras and 30 pubs or 10 centras and 60 pubs, the law of deminishing returns is quite obvious when a city gets much bigger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

keano_afc wrote: »
    A Michael Lowry supporter.

Reported. Kids could be reading this forum you know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

Lapin wrote: »
    Just what Boards has been lacking all these years - A Dublin v Rest of Ireland thread.

Well done OP. What an original idea. :rolleyes:

Is Dublin suddenly th only Urban center through out the country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Tractor trash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭glanman

This most insulting thing that I think is being mistaken for coming from the neighbouring county...

So as a Cork person being asked if you come from kerry is particularly insulting.

Daegerty wrote: »
    There is no difference really, after a city gets past a certain size of 100,000 people or more nothing is really added to it except more of what is already there. Doesn't really matter if you have 5centras and 30 pubs or 10 centras and 60 pubs, the law of deminishing returns is quite obvious when a city gets much bigger
    Nah there definitely is a big difference. Things like railway systems, a good choice of nightclubs and pubs, music venues that attract top acts, museums,ect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭The Mulk

Nah there definitely is a big difference. Things like railway systems, a good choice of nightclubs and pubs, music venues that attract top acts, museums,ect.

Knowing how to spell ETC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Well that's everyone told. And how does your **** hole compare with London, Paris, New York etc?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

I guess I wouldn't like to be called a bogger. But it's never really happened so I dunno.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Hells Belle

Bog maiden :rolleyes:

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    Well that's everyone told. And how does your **** hole compare with London, Paris, New York etc?
    I'm a country man.

The Mulk wrote: »
    Knowing how to spell ETC
    Wheres the spelling mistake Miss.

What constitutes a "real city". I'm pretty sure it's a population thing...and not whatever you think it is.

Its a population thing? Where did you find that out. Any links.

Actually actually actually, tell you what I don't like and find patronising.

People referring to people who live or hail from the country as "country folk".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭The Mulk

See above.:eek: it's et cetera or etc.

This used to be on a van near my sister's house where she used to live, so i'm probably over sensitive to it.
    "We do paving, driveways and patios ect."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

Its a population thing? Where did you find that out. Any links.

according to wikipedia (i know :o ) it seems all a settlement needs to be a city is the government to recognize it as such. hmm. that said, it's wikipedia, so take what you want from it...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_cities_in_the_Republic_of_Ireland#List

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Screaminmidget

I guess I wouldn't like to be called a bogger. But it's never really happened so I dunno.

ha, I know a guy who lives in cork city, but from kerry. He was down for the weekend, and a load of cork lads that didnt know him called him a bogger. the look on their faces when he told them he lived in cork :P

Just the assumption that i'm a farmer in general annoys me.

according to wikipedia (i know :o ) it seems all a settlement needs to be a city is the government to recognize it as such. hmm. that said, it's wikipedia, so take what you want from it...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_cities_in_the_Republic_of_Ireland#List

Yeah, i'm trying to find something from the actual Irish Government that covers it but it's tough going. Pretty sure it's a population density thing but would like to know for sure now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭FlawedGenius

Inbred bastard!:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Donal Og O Baelach

The people from the town used call me a Kunt.
    But I'm not sure it was a geographical thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I don't care what other people think, It's cool to live in the country,or it was until the townies decided to move here and try change everything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭chicken fingers

Dublin is Irelands only real city.
    Sure cork is but a town(120k people). Limerick, Galway,... medium sized towns.

Hell they're calling Waterford a city these days. Something like 45,000 people!
    Ive lived in 5 of the top 15 most populated cities of the world (over a year in each) and I laugh when people try to tell me that Kilkenny is a city.

Yup, it's what's called a primate city:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Primate_city

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭chicken fingers

Sure cork is but a town(120k people). Limerick, Galway,... medium sized towns.

Hell they're calling Waterford a city these days. Something like 45,000 people!
    Ive lived in 5 of the top 15 most populated cities of the world (over a year in each) and I laugh when people try to tell me that Kilkenny is a city.