Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What to look for - second hand bike

• 29-03-2011 9:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭

I know theres a wiki link in the faq section but i cant get onto it on my phone =/
    Im going to check out a second hand bike tomorrow just for commuting and i was wondering what should be the main things i should look at on the bike or questions to ask?
    The ad on gumtree (in cork, aluminium mountain bike if you want a quick look) says that it is unused so hopefully there will be no problems with the tyres or brakes, what else should i be looking for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,223 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

This one?

http://www.gumtree.ie/dublin/95/71373495.html

"3700 series Trek mountain bike. Rarely used. Never used off road. €390 new. One year old."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

I think that guy deals in second hand bikes. Out in Wilton yeah?
    He has a hybrid which might be better for commuting. That Mountain Bike looks very heavy to me.

See this?
    http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/gentsbicycles/2016934

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭magicianz

Nope its one in cork! He may have taken it down actually since i was talking to him.

What i remember from the ad is aluminium framed bike with 21 shimano gears, never used, bought in march last year for around 300 i think.

He said he has other bikes too that may suit me better that hes selling :) just dont want to go looking with absolutely no knowledge and since the people on boards generally give great advice, would trust ye more than any old site :)

Not him, guy im dealing with is out in glasheen! Different name and number on the ads and different pictures.

The ad for the one im looking at on gumtree is in cork under the title aluminium mountain bike. :)

What is a hybrid like? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

It's got the flat handlebars of a mountain bike with skinnier tyres like a road bike with a more upright position. It's the best for commuting

Would it withstand much off road use? I dont plan on using it for much other than getting around so mainly roads but i am partial to the odd shortcut :P

A little yes. I know my mother had one for years when I was younger and we went through woods and all and she never had a problem with it anyway. I would love to be dashing around the woods in the road bike but we must control ourselves:D

Whats the difference price wise between em? :o

Anyone want to answer the question about what i should be watching for on a second hand bike and what i should check? :)

It all depends. If you stick your budget up here one of the other lads will have a good suggestion I'm sure. I know you can pick up a giant rapid for around 350 and giant are a good make but that's the one of many. Type hybrid into done deal,set your price search, and see what you find :D

My own budget is up to id say around 200 for now. Just looking for a second hand bike atm cause i dont like investing more unless i know its something that im able to keep up :P

Ill have a quick look around on done deal and those sites tomorrow when im able to move again after a good nights sleep :P

magicianz wrote: »
    My own budget is up to id say around 200 for now. Just looking for a second hand bike atm cause i dont like investing more unless i know its something that im able to keep up :P

Ill have a quick look around on done deal and those sites tomorrow when im able to move again after a good nights sleep :P

Yeah I know the feeling. I only got my bike last Sunday for 400 and I didn't really fancy spending anymore but so far I've loved it. There's plenty of grand bikes for that price and although most people here spend loads of money on it, you can have almost the exact same experience for 200, the great thing about cycling I suppose