Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vegas Surprise Wedding- Opinions wanted

• 29-03-2011 5:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭

From an anonymous poster:
    I am planning a surprise Vegas wedding for my gf later this year. She's always hinted at wanting to elope to Vegas so I'm in the middle of planning it at the moment.

The dilemma I'm facing is regarding the location. I have it narrowed down to two- The Grand Canyon and the Valley of Fire. On the one hand the Grand Canyon is awesome and a very iconic spot but on the other hand the Valley of Fire will make for some beautiful wedding pictures.

Ideally I'd like to ask my gf where she'd like to get married but I already suspect she thinks somethings up so I'd rather not push it.

I would like everybody's opinions but especially a female perspective. I know your posts won't necessarily mirror my gf's opinion but if I get an overwhelming response in favour of one or the other it'll put my mind at ease.

Thanks in advance and if you are not familiar with either location, I have included a link to some wedding photos on youtube, created by the same company I will be using.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MqLaxJuVADc (Grand Canyon)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PReyhhbXh-Q (Valley of Fire)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

I've been to Vegas for a wedding but it was in a chapel in a hotel. It's a great idea to get married in Vegas! I haven't been to the Valley of Fire but I have been to the Grand Canyon, and it's lovely there. Good luck! Vegas is an amazing place. Amazing food, tons to do and see, and the shopping!!! Oh the shopping. Your gf is a lucky lady!

Just watched the two videos on youtube - I vote for Grand Canyon! It's a really cool place :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Sorry! Just to throw a spanner in the works.
    How about Little Church of the West??

Fair play! Sounds great!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 homeandaway

tinkerbell wrote: »
    I've been to Vegas for a wedding but it was in a chapel in a hotel. It's a great idea to get married in Vegas! I haven't been to the Valley of Fire but I have been to the Grand Canyon, and it's lovely there. Good luck! Vegas is an amazing place. Amazing food, tons to do and see, and the shopping!!! Oh the shopping. Your gf is a lucky lady!

Just watched the two videos on youtube - I vote for Grand Canyon! It's a really cool place :D

I second the Grand Canyon, both looked good but there was something extra with the Grand Canyon video. My wish is to elope too...Best of luck with everything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭artyeva

we got married in vegas last november and spent just over a week doing some travelling round after the wedding. only you will really know which she'd prefer, but a few things - the grand canyon is at a much much much higher altitude than vegas, so it will be colder there. for example, when we were there in november we left vegas wearing shades sandals shorts and t-shirts, all naiive, only to arrive at the canyon and had to spend a small fortune in a gift shop buying hoodies, with the locals laughing at us :o

the valley of fire is much more accessable in my opinion. what i mean by that is you can clamber around much easier, there'll be less crowds [unless you like crowds?] to me anyway it seemed more 'intimate'. it's absolutely awe inspiring, and i personally don't think i've ever been anywhere as colourful! please do be sure that the company have the right permits to photograph there though. it's a state park, and our photographer had planned to take us out there to get some shots but at the last minute had to cancel as the park wanted $200 for a commercial photography permit, so we went to this really cool dry lake bed instead. they told us of a couple they worked with who paid for a package wedding there, and when they trooped up in the limo and got out to take the photos, were approached by a park ranger who hunted them out as it turned out the company didn't have the permit, despite taking the couple's money and claiming they did.

as for chapels, well i spent a LOOOOOONNNNG time researching these and man alive, when you see some of them in the flesh as opposed to their websites.... well.... i have to say little chapel of the west was one of the most awful looking ones. a close second to the wee kirk o heather, and the little white chapel. the right wide angle lens and photoshopping go a long way to making them look better, put it that way.

if there's anything else you might think i can help you on just fire me a PM, but whichever you do decide on though best of luck to the 2 of ye, you're doing a wonderful thing, organising it all for her, so romantic!!! :)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

Grand canyon for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭XcupcakeX

definitely grand canyon.
    Ps lucky, lucky girl that's the most romantic thing I've ever heard!