Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Airport Security Bins Question

• 29-03-2011 2:44pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭

My mother returned from England this morning and I spoke to her when she got home.
    On the way to England she brought with her in her bag a jar of some food sauce in her bag.
    Naturally enough (due to present security rules) when her bag was scanned, that was as far as it got. It was "binned" by security.

In talking to the staff however (my mother could talk the legs off a donkey) she asked "What happens to the stuff in the bins?"
    One replied "Don't know - we are not allowed have it". Another replied "No idea either but there is hundreds of thousandths of stuff in Euros daily put in the large bins. Perfumes, aftershaves, tools, electric goods etc..."

In she telling me this I was wondering... Does anyone here actually know what the heck happens to this stuff on a daily basis?
    Surely millions of Euro's worth of stuff just don't end up on a skip somewhere?
    Surely charities alone could take advantage of this 'waste' ?

Now I'm not completely nuts - I'm guessing somewhere a long the disposal line, choice items disappear into pockets of various individuals - but where does the bulk of the stuff go daily?
    It probably amasses monthly to some serious, serious revenue of goods that just 'vanish' - where does it go?

Anyone genuinely know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

I imagine someone gets their pick of the best while the ****e goes in the bin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

I know a guy that worked at airport security. You are allowed take things, so he said. I can't imagine there'd be a reason for actually throwing these things away anyway.

State sanctioned theft.. gotta love it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

I have heard some of it gets passed on IIRC to charities and the likes (unopened perfume that kind of thing) to raffle etc. Most gets destroyed, (half used drinks, creams, lotions, gels, etc).

The obvious solution to the problem is for people not to try to bring stuff through security, and it won't end up in a skip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

They weren't going to tell your mother that "oh yeah, we help ourselves when our shift is over".... but you can be sure nothing of value ends up in those large bins.

prinz wrote: »
    The obvious solution to the problem is for people not to try to bring stuff through security, and it won't end up in a skip.

Or our security could use a bit of common fking sense.. I know.. crazy right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

it gets put into a container and is handed over to europe as part payment for our bailout

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Seems a shame that there might be a chance, a lot of good stuff might just get genuinely dumped.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Happened to myself once before around the time it was introduced with a Bottle of Whiskey. I had just dropped off the rental car about half an hour so instead of surrendering the bottle to the security thieves I took the Whiskey over to the girl who had sorted me out with the car, she was thrilled and I was delighted to not have given the security guards it.

RichieC wrote: »
    Or our security could use a bit of common fking sense.. I know.. crazy right?

I'd rather have a safe flight than get miffed about bringing something through security tbh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Used to work in Airport Security, trust me, the good stuff does not go in a bin. I got enough aftershave to last me years when i was doing it.

Well the mam was out a €4.99 jar of some stuff. She was not giving out or not bothered in the least to be honest. Se la vie.
    She asked me though if I heard of what happens to the more expensive stuff. Told her honestly, I didn't know.

well come 2013 we will be allowed bring liquids again :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭the_pits

Few years ago I was in the queue for security check at Knock airport, this guy about five persons ahead of me been stops and bag searched, they took out his new can of Lynx and told him he could not take it aboard the airplane, the guy grabbed it back off them and proceeded to empty it all over himself................ He sat on his own for duration of flight, the smell was overpowering ........:D

I'd rather have a safe flight than get miffed about bringing something through security tbh.

I rather not have to throw my 75 pound bottle of aftershave into a bin liner.

Then put it in checked-in baggage, or leave it at home. We all know what the rules are, I'm sick of being held up at the airport by self-important gimps who try to argue it out, or who spend 10, 15, 20 minutes waiting then when they get to the top of the queue start to search their pockets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I'd drink it before I'd throw it in a bin and let those feckers get their hands on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,953 ✭✭✭granturismo

the_pits wrote: »
    they took out his new can of Lynx ..., the guy grabbed it back off them and proceeded to empty it all over himself................ He sat on his own for duration of flight, the smell was overpowering ........:D

What about the Lynx effect, were all the wimmin on the plane not converging on him.

Then put it in checked-in baggage, or leave it at home. We all know what the rules are, I'm sick of being held up at the airport by self-important gimps who try to argue it out, or who spend 10, 15, 20 minutes waiting then when they get to the top of the queue start to search their pockets.

I bought it on a stags in Liverpool, I only thought it was in dumbfu*kistan that they had these ridiculous rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I bought a lovely homemade lemon curd in England once and it was taken from my bag during a search and put in a bin. As I was walking away from the security gates I looked back and saw that the guard had removed it from the bin and was showing it to a colleague looking well chuffed with himself. It killed me to think of the fat bastard spreading my lemon curd on his bread the next morning. :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Agricola wrote: »
    I bought a lovely homemade lemon curd in England once and it was taken from my bag during a search and put in a bin. As I was walking away from the security gates I looked back and saw that the guard had removed it from the bin and was showing it to a colleague looking well chuffed with himself. It killed me to think of the fat bastard spreading my lemon curd on his bread the next morning. :mad:

An Aunt of mine also had contraband seized at JFK, shes an attorney and quoted some regs, her stuff was put aside and was there for her when she returned a few weeks after her trip home here. Sometimes people can put manners in the gimps.

An old decrepit aunt of mine still bangs on about the English customs guy who confiscated a 30 pound turkey she was trying to carry through Holyhead in the 60s around Christmas-time. I've heard "I hope it choked the fucker" about ten million times now.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Agricola wrote: »

It kills me to think anyone puts that muck on their bread!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Aftershave should be ok as it is rare to get bottles bigger than 100ml.

I got stopped with a cake once, it was wrapped in tin foil and had a nintendo DS on top, so to the xray operator it looked like a bomb.

They opened it up and were happy to let me go when another guard came over and insisted it was confiscated. When I questioned why, I was politely told that it was coming up for their tea break and hadn't confiscated anything nice all afternoon!

He was joking though.

I bought it on a stags in Liverpool, I only thought it was in dumbfu*kistan that they had these ridiculous rules.

Two lessons learned then.

Through nothing but my own absentmindedness and/or stupidity, I've had to hand over small items like scissors, pliers or small screwdrivers that I forgot to take out of pockets as I've gone through security.
    When it happens I'm more mad at myself for forgetting than at the rules but still the rules so sometimes seems daft.

Once I was walking through security drinking seconds before (and in front of a security man) from a small bottle of Club Orange (which I had bought in an airport shop).
    Got to one body check point (put the lid back on) and was told "thats a bin job I'm afraid" - Fair enough, I had a flight to catch and life is too short to argue over Euro bottle - the security chap quickly pointed out as he briefly told me that after I binned the bottle in a bin he pointed to, I could go buy another bottle in a shop just 25 feet in front of me!
    Sometimes, some things just seems like madness!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭alexlyons

What I don't get is why they are stopping people bringing larger bottles on.

They are not limiting the quantity of what you bring as a group of 7 (my family for example) can bring a fair amount of stuff through which could be shared out etc etc

They are not limiting the size of the containers you can have on the plane as you can buy liter bottles etc after security.

they are not limiting what is in the smaller bottles as they don't really check what is in your containers.

What the hell is the point of it all?

Also, you can buy whiskey etc behind security which is highly flammable...

alexlyons wrote: »

Not explosive enough to damage the aircraft to threaten the safety of the entire aircraft.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Jagle

ya weve known this for years, makes no sense, god i hope it changes soon, most BS laws ever, and dont give me the whole it saves lives, it doesnt

alexlyons wrote: »
    What I don't get is why they are stopping people bringing larger bottles on.

They are not limiting the quantity of what you bring as a group of 7 (my family for example) can bring a fair amount of stuff through which could be shared out etc etc

They are not limiting the size of the containers you can have on the plane as you can buy liter bottles etc after security.

they are not limiting what is in the smaller bottles as they don't really check what is in your containers.

What the hell is the point of it all?

well come 2013 we will be allowed bring liquids again :)

A bit daft that we have to wait that long.
    Whats the reason for so long the wait? :confused:

Biggins wrote: »

Not sure, it's an EU thing so I think it has to move at a snails pace by law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭alexlyons

Not explosive enough to damage the aircraft to threaten the safety of the entire aircraft.

fair enough but I stand by my other point

Why haven't all airports got these:

http://www.ceia.net/news.asp?sede=eng

The EMA analyzer is a device designed to inspect bottles and their contents in order to reveal the presence of any combustible, inflammable and/or explosive liquids. The detection procedure is extremely simple, thanks to the automatic recognition of the bottle in the inspection cavity. In just a few seconds, the analyzer provides a positive response (OK) or an alarm message without the need for any interpretation on the part of the operator. The device analyzes the entire volume of the bottle.

If the result of the analysis matches the characteristics of harmless liquids (e.g. water, wine, spirits or soft drinks), the device gives an “OK” message and a green light signal.

If the result does not conform to ‘harmless’ characteristics, the EMA analyzer gives a visual and acoustic alarm signal.

New technology which supposedly can screen for liquid explosive materials is to be rolled out across Europe. They gave the deadline of April 2013 for all the airports to get their act together to install, train staff, rigorous test runs etc.

Aaa... that would sound about right.

After they have sat down in multiple committees, discussed it over steak lunches and drinkies before flying home to confer (must remember to get the duty free!) before returning again to give the legislation another lash! :pac:

Anyway, back to the mutterings I was on about in my first post.
    It does seem indeed like state allowed unofficial stealing if the stuff is 'walking' home in airport staff pockets.
    If good stuff has to be binned for security, I'd genuinely like to see it go to a charity if possible - but thats just my feelings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Melion wrote: »
    Used to work in Airport Security, trust me, the good stuff does not go in a bin. I got enough aftershave to last me years when i was doing it.

Does not compute.
    99% of aftershaves are 100ml or less bottles, so no reason for anyone to have to throw them away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭lost marbles

Anyway, back to the mutterings I was on about in my first post.
    It does seem indeed like state allowed unofficial stealing if the stuff is 'walking' home in airport staff pockets.
    If good stuff has to be binned for security, I'd genuinely like to see it go to a charity if possible - but thats just my feelings.
    ive heard that most of the stuff taken off passengers goes to a charity in northern afghanistan that helps poor people that live in caves .

Bin Laden must smell very nice then. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

I used to know a chap who used to sell "destroyed" cigarettes. A lot of American guys used to go to him because of the Newport brands and general American style cigarettes. Also used to get a lot of Chinese guys there too. He had thousands of Marlboro Lights/Gold, B+H Gold and John Player Blue. He used to sell any alcohol to the off-license. I don't know how much of that he got. But he had people up at his house in the droves for the cigarettes. I'd say he could of easily had about 100 people a day. He got caught in the end though. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭CharlesHaughey

My friends Dad works security at the airport. My friends gets free deoderant, the good stuff i'm talking about. I was in the house onetime and saw many bottles of perfume in the cupboard and the fridge had a full lucozade bottle, coke bottle and Ribena.

Trust me, if they stuff is good they take it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Captain Commie

Seriously dont know why people are still complaining over this. there are rules in place and whilst they may be restrictive, they are very simple to comply with.

Im fed up with people complaining about this all the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭temply

You can be damn sure anything decent is pocketed

Seriously dont know why people are still complaining over this. there are rules in place and whilst they may be restrictive, they are very simple to comply with.

Im fed up with people complaining about this all the time
    Yea, like there is threads here everyday giving out out this!

...................... :confused:

Not many are giving out - calm down, have a drinkie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

The metals we take off you are binned, melted and the proceeds given to charity IIRC. Everything else is binned.

Dublin is getting the liquid scanners mentioned on the last page. The UK are easing restrictions on liquids this year I have heard, with Europe following suit eventually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Captain Commie

Yea, like there is threads here everyday giving out out this!

...................... :confused:

Not many are giving out - calm down, have a drinkie!

its not just on here its complained about. I work at the airport and also fly out on a fairly regular basis and its always the same. People giving out at the ASU for taking stuff off them. They know full well that they shouldnt have that stuff on them or in their cabin bag, but still proceed to carry it and kick up a fuss when its taken off them.

They know the rules, break em and u lose what ever it was u were carrying, simples

(I'll be having more than one drink when i get home tonight)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Why would anyone spend £75 on a product which marginally increaces ones chances of getting laid when they can get a hooker for less :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 AnonoMouse

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Why would anyone spend £75 on a product which marginally increaces ones chances of getting laid when they can get a hooker for less :confused:

To mask the odour of desperation.

The rules are simple enough like, everybody should be aware nowadays of what you can and cannot take on a plane with you, yet some of the stuff you see in the bins is just shocking and a downright shame that they're gonna be binned...I would imagine that definately at least some of the best stuff gets claimed behind closed doors. I'd say even the best of us would struggle to not take that opportunity of taking home something really nice and expensive if you knew it was just going to be disposed of.

On a side note, not too long ago I accidentaly managed to get a pen knife with a 6 inch blade through security in my handluggage at Glasgow airport. Was over for a week with work and needed one everyday, so it just got chucked in my bag everyday and I completely forgot about it. Flew back home, read everything out of my bag, and to my amazement there was this bright green pen knife sitting proud in my bag. They scanned my bag and even looked in it to check something else out, yet somehow completely bypassed the knife... Shocked I tells ya, shocked :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭Pwindedd

Just cos "rules is rules" doesn't mean you shouldn't question or challenge them. It's bad enough being herded through passport control like mad sheep ! Checking in a bag costs more than the cost of a flight these days and sometimes you just forget what you packed. But let's all be nice and not make any trouble - look what a good citizen I am - it's for everyone's benefit ! I'll take off my shoes and let my trousers fall down cos you've got my belt in your silly little scanner that you're not even looking at ! Feck off it's a pain in de hole and you know it.