Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Old Head Kinsale, open days

• 29-03-2011 2:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭

For anyone interested the old head are running some open days I see. Advertised in today's Irish examiner.

Starting Tuesday April 19th for 4 Tuesdays I think. 18 hole singles stableford for €60

Fourballs on the Wednesday starting the 20th

Limited to 40 players per day

I've never played the course so hoping to make one of these days if I can

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

I'd love to play it too,and at that price I will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭murphdogg11

What I find interesting is that they are charging €10 more this year than they charged for the open singles last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭goodgolfer64

wouldnt give them my bottled urine......for years they werent willing to let your joe soap irish golfer out.....HIKED prices to limit only yanks in the goodtimes or anyone MAD enough to fork out 200 plus greenfees....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭bailey99

as a famous golfer who once saw the course said, "this place is a goats track!"

One of the most over-rated courses I've ever played. And at €60. Oh ya, the prizes for the competition will be pathetic, I think last year it was a polo shirt from the shop.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

wouldnt give them my bottled urine......for years they werent willing to let your joe soap irish golfer out.....HIKED prices to limit only yanks in the goodtimes or anyone MAD enough to fork out 200 plus greenfees....

I feel the same way. Not quite saying I will never play it but I can think of a hundred courses I would willingly part with cash to play ahead of there for the same reasons...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 wannapress

hmmmm interesting comments.I'd love to know what Pro made those comments (dont believe its true).last years open days in April the prizes were 4 ball vouchers for winners and runners up got 2 ball vouchers (i know because i played with one of the winners).i'm not sure i'd also agree with Old Head being over-rated as Golf Digest Ireland has it ranked at 40somethinged in the country.

bailey99 wrote: »
    as a famous golfer who once saw the course said, "this place is a goats track!"

One of the most over-rated courses I've ever played. And at €60. Oh ya, the prizes for the competition will be pathetic, I think last year it was a polo shirt from the shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭deko43

Have to agree with most posts here. Old Head was known locally as the
    "American" course due to their inflated prices and lack of concesion for
    locals. A few years back these guys were charging a minimum of €1000
    for a time slot ( 4 max). What goes around comes around and I too would not darken the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭aster99

The reason I want to play is because I'm from cork and over the years heard what a great course it is. So just want to give it a go and see. At €60 it's probably the most reasonable I'll get it price wise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Trampas

the locals hate it. so if staying in kinsale don't mention you played there.

played it once as i tried to play most courses once.

some nice holes but it is a bit overrated imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭CaptainPendulum

Played it too (when it was a grand a line (some voucher!)). Didn't pay too much attention to the course as we were ooing and awhing so much at the stunning scenery. I hit my first into the rough on the left. Think I found about 4 prov1s whilst looking for my ball. Helicoptors landing all the time. Nobs in the bar talking about re-matches in the Hamptons. Defo recommend it once though having said that. Wouldn't play it ever week though.

I played it once (€50) & I won't be rushing back. The scenery is great (on a good day) but the course itself is fairly average with a few nice holes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭ThunderCat

I agree and disagree with a lot of the posts.

Firstly I dont think it's over-rated for the simple fact that it has never been rated amoung the best courses in the country anyway. A lot of the rankings have it way down the list. As for being over-priced, then that I would agree with. Played it once in October 2008 and it cost me 295 euro. Looking back, that was a crazy gree fee to pay but it's the location and scenery that dictated the large green fee rather than the history of the course and its architectural merits. Their relationship with the locals im sure is still sour and the proof i suppose is that i was prob the only Irish person playing when I did. At the half way hut my 4ball stopped for about 20 mins to get a bite to eat and a drink and you'd swear you were in the states with all the americans that were passing through. It's good to see the price has come down significently but it's unfortunate that its only come down because of the strained economy and not because they want to cater to the normal man.
    Im glad I played, as I experienced the spectacular vistas that I had only seen in photos. The run of 2, 3 and 4 are nearly worth the green fee alone. My advice would be to play it, even if it's only once. There arnt many courses on earth like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭johntommy

I played it once (€50) & I won't be rushing back. The scenery is great (on a good day) but the course itself is fairly average with a few nice holes.

Same price here and totally agree on course. Nice to say you've played it but wouldnt be travelling miles to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

Some begrudgery going on here, thats for sure!

I have played it a number of times and I think its astonishing. It has some absolutely incredible holes that I have not seen on any other course and for that reason alone, its worth playing.

The quality of upkeep of the course is remarkable, the greens are as quick as anything you will ever see, the scenery is unrivalled.

I've played 110 courses out of Kevin book 'Hooked', so I'm no newbie. I cant understand some of the comments about the course, who gives a ****e about what they used to do!

Some begrudgery going on here, thats for sure!

I have played it a number of times and I think its astonishing. It has some absolutely incredible holes that I have not seen on any other course and for that reason alone, its worth playing.

The quality of upkeep of the course is remarkable, the greens are as quick as anything you will ever see, the scenery is unrivalled.

I've played 110 courses out of Kevin book 'Hooked', so I'm no newbie. I cant understand some of the comments about the course, who gives a ****e about what they used to do!

you could play all of this guys book recommendations 4 all i care???PS ive never heard of him or his book and will play all of the majors in eire this year.n golfin 20 years..you may be no newbie but his book aint a big seller in the golfers market...if you live in the south ok you might play the old head....but after living in the OZ & the USA and all you ever you hear is the 'old head' BECAUSE they primarily use to market themselves towards overseas $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
    GET OUT OF IT......
    I HOPE IT SINKS AND SHEEP GRAZE ONCE AGAIN - AS JACKLIN ONCE QUOTED

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭ThunderCat

you could play all of this guys book recommendations 4 all i care???PS ive never heard of him or his book and will play all of the majors in eire this year.n golfin 20 years..you may be no newbie but his book aint a big seller in the golfers market...if you live in the south ok you might play the old head....but after living in the OZ & the USA and all you ever you hear is the 'old head' BECAUSE they primarily use to market themselves towards overseas $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
    GET OUT OF IT......
    I HOPE IT SINKS AND SHEEP GRAZE ONCE AGAIN - AS JACKLIN ONCE QUOTED

The book isnt filled with recommendations - the author played every 18 hole course in the country and gave each course a rating over a few different criteria such as value, course design, location etc. based on his experience. It's his own views on each one, nothing more.
    While I would agree that the course in the past alienated a lot of people due to the massive green fees, and targeted only the overseas market, it wasnt alone in that regard. The golf tourists that come to Ireland to play our links courses (at a hefty price also) do so because there are very few of them in the world. They cant play links courses at home. Same goes for the likes of Old Head. There are very few courses with a location as spectacular as it and thats what makes the course unique and it's uniqueness pushes the price up. Kauri Cliffs, Cape Kidnappers, Jacks Point, Pinnacle Point are other similar courses that spring to mind. Beyond them, thats about it, there isnt any others that are similar to Old Head.
    As for it sinking and being given back to the sheep, I wouldnt want to see that because the people that come to play it generate business for local restuarants, B&B's and hotels etc. Plus the vast majority of caddys are locals from what I can tell.
    It's not the best course in the country. There are 15 or more id rather play, but it is an important addition to the Irish golfing landscape and at the end of the day, there isnt another like it in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

That's a fair point thundercat but can't help being a bit pissed that alot of these courses did not cater for the average golfer a little more during the good times, and now it's the average golfers who are going to be asked to stump up the slightly reduced but still quite large green fee's.

It's a touchy subject with me to be honest because I'm not a big fan of exclusivity especially in sport. The best golfer's don't play the best courses, their has to be something wrong with that IMO.

Could be charged according to handicap ;) scratch play for a tenner and every shot after that costs the same. Jesus the range would be fair busy with lads trying to drop few shots so they could afford to play somewhere nice, and would do away with alot of bandits too would see lads winning open days at the old head with 17 points :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭sweetswing

Played it and loved it, some fantastic holes some average . The location is mind blowingly beautiful .
    **** what they used to do, or used to charge, they went the only ones who didn't want Joe public out on their courses.
    Times have changed guys, we can now play almost any course in the country for a reasonable price without being made feel like you were being interviewed when you rang for a tee time !

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 858 ✭✭✭Sean Bateman

I've played The Old Head a number of times. Overall, it's a fantastic experience. The greens have always been top class and the par 3s are superb. Yes it's not overly difficult and the par 5s are a little short but that's obviously because of the restricted space.

As for the begrudgery, we're talking about a premium product. And with such a premium product, there's no place for inbreds playing golf with Munster rugby polo shirts hanging out over their trousers hollering across the fairway. It's a US style country club where style and etiquette are expected. If you don't like that, you've no right to play the game in my view, nevermind darken the door of places such as this.

The clowns protesting at the gates don't seem to realise that the owner of the land offered ii to the State for £300,000 on the basis that it was an important amenity for locals. The State refused to purchase the land and the land was then bought for the golf club which (rightly so) blocked the access off.

In short, €60 is a great deal for this course. Go for it. As for the begrudgers, go and play a dirt track.

Way to put the begrudgers in their place with a dose of bitchiness...

Licksy wrote: »
    Way to put the begrudgers in their place with a dose of bitchiness...

That wasn't bitchiness...the criticism of the course within this thread has been ridiculous. Typical Irish begrudgery. Pathetic.

Re-read your post.
    Either it's a premium product or it isn't. Once it was priced to keep out the riff-raff and now it will take all-comers... That's like the guy who has high standards at the start of the night but as the night goes on and he gets more drunk his standards drop to the point of him ending the night up a side street with fat slag and her friend... a premium operator alright.

I haven't played the course and I like the look of the pictures I've seen but, I'd rather spend my money on playing a premium course that has always had ways and means of looking after Paddy Golfer as well as their 'premium' customers, not just when it became a case of needs-must.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Mat the trasher

I see its not affiliated to the GUI, whats with that?

I see we still have a few golf snobs about the place!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

Re-read your post.
    Either it's a premium product or it isn't. Once it was priced to keep out the riff-raff and now it will take all-comers... That's like the guy who has high standards at the start of the night but as the night goes on and he gets more drunk his standards drop to the point of him ending the night up a side street with fat slag and her friend... a premium operator alright.

I haven't played the course and I like the look of the pictures I've seen but, I'd rather spend my money on playing a premium course that has always had ways and means of looking after Paddy Golfer as well as their 'premium' customers, not just when it became a case of needs-must.

This is tosh.....
    Are you telling me that Waterville, Ballybunion, Mount Juliet, Doonbeg even Killarney were looking after Joe public? Balls. Their prices and attitudes were and are as stiff as ever. Paddy Golfer was and is welcome everywhere, but at a price.

Ya some places are still very steep. I think Tralee is €180 a round

Re-read your post.

Newsflash...we're in a recession. Premium products are now available at non premium prices. Places like L'Ecrivain etc now have early bird menus because they've embraced the reality of Ireland today. The Old Head is simply doing the same. If the Old Head hadn't been so restrictive back in the day, it would have attracted the lowest common denominator and then not have been as attractive to its target audience. This hardly justifies what amounts to a boycott on your part! And BTW, wishing to avoid "Paddy Golfer" or Grange Castle merchants doesn't make someone a golf snob. The sad fact is that during the boom years, standards in golf declined because of an influx of "Paddy Golfers". The more people that play the game the better in my view, on condition that they maintain the standards of the game.

When I said Paddy Golfer I just meant 'Irish' as opposed to someone you perceive to be a knacker golfer.
    Mount Juliet may be a premium course but it was always available to play at reduced rates, evening, winter etc.
    A lot of other premium courses have local memberships.

I am not boycotting the course.
    Let's say I have X amount to spend on playing golf somewhere.
    I could let the fact that they wanted me to bend over and take it (in some style) in the good days influence me or not... I could have afforded it then, I can better afford it now but personally I'd much rather give Pat Ruddy 60 quid and play the European Club. That's a personal choice, not a boycott.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭the anser

There is never going to 'equality' in golf, there will always be courses pitched at what they see is the higher end of the market and will charge accordingly- or what they can get away with. If you like the look of the course and get the urge to play it you can generally work out a way of getting a round in.....you really have to forget the 'working class hero' crap but also ignore the inverted snobbery that goes with some of these places and enjoy the course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭CaptainPendulum

the anser wrote: »
    There is never going to 'equality' in golf, there will always be courses pitched at what they see is the higher end of the market and will charge accordingly- or what they can get away with. If you like the look of the course and get the urge to play it you can generally work out a way of getting a round in.....you really have to forget the 'working class hero' crap but also ignore the inverted snobbery that goes with some of these places and enjoy the course.

+1 It's not like it's a private course (like so many in the States). It's a free market...if you have the funds & desire to play it's there to be enjoyed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭ccmp

Ignored this thread after it started due to the amount of negative sentiment. Glad to see that some other people can see what a fabulous experience playing golf at the old head is. Regarding prices, Waterville Tralee etc were charging and still continue to charge > €100. Haven't heard any talk of boycotting these courses.

ccmp wrote: »
    Ignored this thread after it started due to the amount of negative sentiment. Glad to see that some other people can see what a fabulous experience playing golf at the old head is. Regarding prices, Waterville Tralee etc were charging and still continue to charge > €100. Haven't heard any talk of boycotting these courses.

having lived abroad in the states and australia. most golfers seemed to talk bout the old head as it been hugely advertised overseas only....when times were good they jacked their prices up and didnt realisitically cater for us irish golfers....now they are on their knees looking for the cash to save face..... plenty of other golf courses id rather see than one that has been advertised as the *GEM of Irish Golf*...
    I've heard your not even able to drive into place unless you got a booking.....please!!!!!!or has that changed?????

having lived abroad in the states and australia. most golfers seemed to talk bout the old head as it been hugely advertised overseas only....when times were good they jacked their prices up and didnt realisitically cater for us irish golfers....now they are on their knees looking for the cash to save face..... plenty of other golf courses id rather see than one that has been advertised as the *GEM of Irish Golf*...
    I've heard your not even able to drive into place unless you got a booking.....please!!!!!!or has that changed?????

What's wrong with that?! It's private property, plus there are issues with tree huggers etc protesting about losing access to the headland.

I've played pretty much all of the top Irish courses, and though I freely admit that the Old Head isn't top from a pure golf course perspective, it's right up there as an experience. In my view, the views are the best in Ireland and the greens are as good as anything in Ireland.

What's wrong with that?! It's private property, plus there are issues with tree huggers etc protesting about losing access to the headland.

I've played pretty much all of the top Irish courses, and though I freely admit that the Old Head isn't top from a pure golf course perspective, it's right up there as an experience. In my view, the views are the best in Ireland and the greens are as good as anything in Ireland.

i'd be all for keepin em hippies/hacks out but strictly not letting you inside the gate...it aint augusta!!!! not letting interested golfers in if only to see around clubhouse/proshop....please...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭mr.mickels

I remember that, living not too far from the club, and I think the fees went as high as 250, or I recall being told it was 1000euro for a teetime regardless of if it was 2,3 or 4ball!!! They didn't allow any Irish members in the early years. You would want a very calm day, I imagine the wind makes golf a struggle out there

Played here today. It was stunning. Some of the holes are just amazing looking. I wouldn't say it's unreal hard course or anything but it was calm today, on a really windy day I've no doubt it could be very demanding.

As the Old Head is not GUI affiliated or there was no signing in does this mean that the cards are not returned to your club. So is there no .1's back or cuts or relevant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭THEIRISHMOB

I really don't understand this whole post.
    If it was €1600 a round, what does it matter... its a free market.
    If you want to play it ..pay it..if not piss off.
    There are 400 other golf courses to play.
    I personally wouldent pay over €100 for a game of golf.(one exception Agusta).
    If Old Head was €800 a round people would still pay it.

I paid €60 for the open day and felt it was worth it. Got lucky with the weather being so good, on a bad weather day it may not be as enjoyable.

Would be interested to see what scores came in, not sure they publish any place. Might ring later and see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

aster99 wrote: »
    I paid €60 for the open day and felt it was worth it. Got lucky with the weather being so good, on a bad weather day it may not be as enjoyable.

Would be interested to see what scores came in, not sure they publish any place. Might ring later and see

I played there too yesterday Aster. Very lucky with the day alright. It was my 3rd time playing it and both times previous i was just as lucky!!:)
    I suppose it wasn't that windy (for a seaside course) but there was still a stiff wind there. The 9th in particular was playing straight into the teeth of it. Fairways were lush and the greens had been forked and sanded about 2 weeks ago so were not as quick as they might be at other times. Really enjoyed it though. I had a good front nine (19pts) but came apart a bit on the back 9(12pts) playing off 12. Didn't hear any scores other than our own group which were 31, 29(8h/c), 25 & 25(both 19 h/c). If you ring them for the scores could you post them up?

PS.If there is a more spectacular course in the country I've yet too see it!!

Pic of me teeing off on the 18th with the 17th fairway & green in the background.

[IMG]file:///C:/Users/denis/Pictures/Old%20Head%202011/Old%20Head%2018th%20tee%20shot.JPG[/IMG]

AAARRRGH, internet connection playing up, I have 3 or 4 pics and I'll post them when I get sorted........:o

If you can get up some photos that would be great.

I haven't rang yet to check scores, I must do that later today.
    In our group there was 34 pts (11 hcp) , 32 pts (19 hcp), 36 pts (9 hcp), N/R (20 hcp)

The play was very slow, took us 5 hours 20 mins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 wannapress

38 pts won on Tuesday with 36pts for runner up.Some interesting posts about the club "on their knees" begging for play now.They offer good gui rates for societies and these open days in April ,early May and October making it affordable for people as well as filling up the quiter times of the season.At the end of the day it is open for 6 months and always sold themselves as a high end golf experience .On the access issue they certainly were very private when it came to seeing the course/shop if you were not playing but over the last few years i and many friends have had no problem "getting in for a look at the shop" as long as i dressed apropriatly (no jeans etc).Personaly im happy certain people wont darken its door because then i have a better chance of getting a game for 60 quid:)

Just outta interest what type of prizes do they offer for these open days?

Asfar as I know first prize was a 4ball voucher for Old Head. Not sure after that. Will get them pics up but it'll b a few days cos connection is very slow here. Will do it from work tuesday

Old Head pics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭boz13

does anyone know if they are still having open days in old head? if so how do you get a tee time? contact them directly or online?

I think they might be on until the end of May, not sure though. Booking done over the phone.

Thanks for that will give them a ring 2moro!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

boz13 wrote: »
    Thanks for that will give them a ring 2moro!
    Let us know what they say as I'll be down in Kinsale next week and might play it if I can get a tee time

rang old head today and tomorrow is final day of open days they still have tee times available for anyone interested. i shagged my back last nite playing 5 a side so cant play:mad: