Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

kileen castle

• 28-03-2011 8:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭

playing killeen castle in an open on thursday really looking forward to it.anyone play it lately ? are the greens lightening fast ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

Playing it on thursday too, played it a few weks ago and it was not too fast but boy is it long, a lot of fun with some very nice holes

J

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭thoscon

Playing it on thursday too, played it a few weks ago and it was not too fast but boy is it long, a lot of fun with some very nice holes

J[/QUOT

was it an open the last time u played it ? was it off blue or white tees ?

No it was not an open, we were doing their new yardage books and were testing distances and were playing off the blacks (back tips)

J

No it was not an open, we were doing their new yardage books and were testing distances and were playing off the blacks (back tips)

J

Are the yardage books done ? We played there sept 09 and at that time they had no shotsavers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭brousuka

Was there last September It's a classic Nicklaus course. I hope it can keep going in these times. Let me know have they opened the castle/hotel yet. The golf clubhouse and bar is super, beautiful surroundings. Greens are so undulating and a great test of golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭brousuka

brousuka wrote: »
    Was there last September It's a classic Nicklaus course. I hope it can keep going in these times. Let me know have they opened the castle/hotel yet. The golf clubhouse and bar is super, beautiful surroundings. Greens are so undulating and a great test of golf.

Oh! theres a par 3 on the early back 9 over water which is utterly fantastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭gary29428

How much is the open costing ye.

gary29428 wrote: »
    How much is the open costing ye.

€50..they are also doin a deal until the end if April 4ball €200

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭The_Architect

brousuka wrote: »
    It's a classic Nicklaus course.

A bit of an oxymoron in my opinion.

I liked it a lot though. My favourite amongst the eight or nine Nicklaus courses I've seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Just a great golf course, enjoy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

Anyone know if they are still on winter rules there? Or if lasers are permitted or not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭goodgolfer64

J

and rumour has it the place is closing after the solheim cup....only in ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

thoscon wrote: »
    €50..they are also doin a deal until the end if April 4ball €200

How do you get this €200 fourball price?. Do not see it on their website.

Btw anybody know any other deals like this in some of the better courses around Dublin?.

Leslie91 wrote: »

Btw anybody know any other deals like this in some of the better courses around Dublin?.

It was in the local paper last week....think it was only certain days during the week

Leslie91 wrote: »

just checked its on there facebook page,€200 for a fourball every thurs nd fri in march nd april part of their solheim cup awareness promotion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

just checked its on there facebook page,€200 for a fourball every thurs nd fri in march nd april part of their solheim cup awareness promotion

Tx for that, will try and get a 4ball together.

Are the yardage books done ? We played there sept 09 and at that time they had no shotsavers.

They should be available quite soon, a few faiwya shapes have changed recently so we had to redo some holes.

Played their open today and had a blast, played of the very forward tees which have not done before and it is a differnet course, although nearly a 1000 yards shorter than last time I played it was still testy. There was a big breeze and some very tight pins. I found the greens very slow, and was caught out for at least four, 3 putts but coming off links greens i should have known better. Had 33 pts that could have need 38 but really enjoyed the round. I love the course, which I am suprised at as these types of courses are not my general cup of tee.

J

They should be available quite soon, a few faiwya shapes have changed recently so we had to redo some holes.

Played their open today and had a blast, played of the very forward tees which have not done before and it is a differnet course, although nearly a 1000 yards shorter than last time I played it was still testy. There was a big breeze and some very tight pins. I found the greens very slow, and was caught out for at least four, 3 putts but coming off links greens i should have known better. Had 33 pts that could have need 38 but really enjoyed the round. I love the course, which I am suprised at as these types of courses are not my general cup of tee.

J

was defo a different course alright but i think they had to move them forward wit the wind it was very blustery.ive a high ball flight with my irons and it caused havoc with my shots
    greens were very slow caught me out alot aswell must have been sanded recently.
    i was surprised by the fairways i thought they wud be a bit better maybe i had higher expectations but i thought they were in need of a cut
    the fairway bunkers are torture to get out of id 28pts with 4 scratches off 12 and the scratches came from been in them feckin bunkers very hard to get out of..
    very slow to get round we teed off at 2.10 walked off the course at 7.20 fourball in front of us very slow they were a bit mad alot of the time 3 of them wud be on the green finishing off and the other lad would still be hitting of the fairway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

I have to say I was very disappointed with Killeen Castle yesterday. I'd played the course before, and it's a great track with a top class set-up in terms of facilities. But yesterday I paid €50 to play on greens that weren't even cut. They were genuinely worse than my local public course.

The ridiculously forward tees were an insult. A couple of tee markers were litterally on the ladies tee box! Yes, it was a rough day, and I agree with softening the course to make it playable for the general punters, but reducing every hole to a pathetic length showed a complete lack of golfing cop on. Fair enough, I hit it further than average, but I played the index 2 17th with a 5 iron and a wedge, and hit a pitching wedge to the par 3 8th, where I lashed a 5 iron from the proper tees a few weeks before. High handicap may struggle if the course is longer, but they're going down to Killeen Castle to play Killeen Castle, not a pitch & putt version of it. They know what they're getting into and that it'll be long, but that's what they pay their money for. Forward society tees would have been fine.

Then of course there was the Ranger who was sound and got us all off on time, but what he didn't mention that he'd slotted in an extra group that weren't on the timesheet (as we found out later from the guys themselves). Traffic ensued and we waited on every shot as one group was very slow. The Ranger appeared twice or three times, and did absolutely nothing. We all just sat there in traffic and it took 5 hours+.

The clincher was the fact that on an open day, with a relatively full timesheet, they had no resteraunt service - just sandwiches - and to compound this folly, they closed the whole bar/sandwiches etc as 5pm! There was lots of people on the sheet after midday, but they came in to a closed bar!

Look, times are tough, and I hate to be so negative on a course which I'd love to see get going and do well, but I felt I got screwed for my €50 yesterday - and I don't care what they say about the usual fee being €100+. Killeen Castle is an awesome place - I'm just annoyed I got such a crummy version of it for my money on that particular day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭GetInTheHole!

Played it myself on Sunday and was very impressed.

We played off the whites which were slightly more forward son a few holes but thankfully further back than some of the experiences above.

My initial impression from the entrance in and clubhouse was Wow! If you go there - you'll know what I mean!

The course itself was in great shape and the weather made for a great day's golf.

The only thing I could possibly say bad is that it does seem a bit open in places.

But to counter this - there are lots of strategically placed and difficult fairway bunkers. The approach lines into the greens though, are as good as I've played anywhere.

Booked in again for Good Friday with a different Fourball so hoping that it will play the same distance again.

I would recommend it to anybody though if you get a chance to play there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭Dero123

Played Kileen Castle yesterday, very impressed its in wonderful condition. It's going to look very well when the Solheim Cup is on if the weather is anyway good. The greens were like lightning and some of the pin placements were very tight to slopes and just over bunkers. The rough and tight fairways around the greens really test you

Had 34 points of 10 off the white tees was pretty breezy, highlight was a 5 iron into five feet on the par 3 16th. Kept making a mess of the par 5's for some reason and struggling just to make a bogey you really have to think your way around then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭dixiefly

Played it myself on Sunday and was very impressed.

We played off the whites which were slightly more forward son a few holes but thankfully further back than some of the experiences above.

My initial impression from the entrance in and clubhouse was Wow! If you go there - you'll know what I mean!

The course itself was in great shape and the weather made for a great day's golf.

The only thing I could possibly say bad is that it does seem a bit open in places.

But to counter this - there are lots of strategically placed and difficult fairway bunkers. The approach lines into the greens though, are as good as I've played anywhere.

Booked in again for Good Friday with a different Fourball so hoping that it will play the same distance again.

I would recommend it to anybody though if you get a chance to play there.

I also played on Good Friday - it was my second time there. Once again there is a wow factor. It is a fantastic course and clubhouse to match.

Did you notice the long narrow marks on a number of the greens? Itr seems like there was an oil leak from some of the equipment. Thankfully it has happened now and not the week before the Solheim Cup.

What do you all think of the deal that is being done with local clubs - 125eur for entrance to all days f the Solheim Cup and a round of golf - also entrance to the Ladies Open that is being held there. It seems like good value as the entrance tickets are transferrable.

Hope the place can have a business model that keeps it going after the Solheim Cup - there are a some rumours that it will just keep going till then. Really would be a shame if it was to close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 mcfc

J
    Any update on when the yardage books will be available?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,922 ✭✭✭suffering golfer

mcfc wrote: »

Played there yesterday and Pro Shop didn't have any stokesavers.

Excellent course but very long and greens are very quick. Reminded me of the Montgomerie course of Carton House but I think Carton house is a little easier. Killeen has a great setup but it is very very tough and long course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

disagree, played killeen castle the other day, its a long trek (due to the distance between tees) but we played off the whites (at 6,600) and didnt find it too bad....black tees go back to 7600 though.

Carton house (montgomery) is a much more technical track with much narrower fairways and gnarly rough.

I thought that it being two weeks before the Irish open that the course would be setup very difficult, but the fairways are wide enough considering and you'll pretty much always find your ball in the wispy rough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,922 ✭✭✭suffering golfer

disagree, played killeen castle the other day, its a long trek (due to the distance between tees) but we played off the whites (at 6,600) and didnt find it too bad....black tees go back to 7600 though.

Carton house (montgomery) is a much more technical track with much narrower fairways and gnarly rough.

I thought that it being two weeks before the Irish open that the course would be setup very difficult, but the fairways are wide enough considering and you'll pretty much always find your ball in the wispy rough.

Agree re the rough, but maybe because I had a off day but I found it tough, though in hindsight course management wasn't great, I was nearly aways driving with a 3 wood which while kept me in play, left me with very long approach shots (was afaid of going into rough but turns out I shouldn't be... and the bunkers in Killeen are very tough, way harder than Montgomie (one bunker took me four shots :eek: to get out of!!)

Nevertheless I did like the course, and would be love to go back and try it again, but for my money I prefer the Montgomerie...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭couerdelion

I played Killeen Castle on friday and as a self confessed hacker I thought I would chime in with my opinion/review.

I was out as a fourball with the handicaps being 22 (me), 16, 9, 8. The course was in great condition. The fairways were like carpets they were so soft and the greens were pretty quick, not lightening but quick enough.

The course was only marked on two tee boxes. One for the women (red markers) and one for the gents (white markers). The first few holes were fine teeing off from the Green or White tee boxes and I was really enjoying it and playing good golf, and then the fun started as nearly all the rest of the holes were hitting from the black tee boxes. For us all it stopped being a fair test of golfing skill and became a slog. A par 3 at 245 yards is no fun especially into the wind which was blustery enough on Friday.One of the lads has not scored below 30 stableford points in 3 years. He scored 20.

It's a beautiful course, but the walk between green and tee box was huge which made for a long day and a lot of walking. We tee'd off at 4:10 as it was the earliest we could get after members reserved tee times. unfortunately for the last 6 holes we were held up behind members which meant a 5 hour round and finishing as it was nearly dark.

Maybe we just don't have the skill level to be playing this course. I dunno. I would like to play it again though when I have the choice as to which tees I play off.

I played Killeen Castle on friday and as a self confessed hacker I thought I would chime in with my opinion/review.

I was out as a fourball with the handicaps being 22 (me), 16, 9, 8. The course was in great condition. The fairways were like carpets they were so soft and the greens were pretty quick, not lightening but quick enough.

The course was only marked on two tee boxes. One for the women (red markers) and one for the gents (white markers). The first few holes were fine teeing off from the Green or White tee boxes and I was really enjoying it and playing good golf, and then the fun started as nearly all the rest of the holes were hitting from the black tee boxes. For us all it stopped being a fair test of golfing skill and became a slog. A par 3 at 245 yards is no fun especially into the wind which was blustery enough on Friday.One of the lads has not scored below 30 stableford points in 3 years. He scored 20.

It's a beautiful course, but the walk between green and tee box was huge which made for a long day and a lot of walking. We tee'd off at 4:10 as it was the earliest we could get after members reserved tee times. unfortunately for the last 6 holes we were held up behind members which meant a 5 hour round and finishing as it was nearly dark.

Maybe we just don't have the skill level to be playing this course. I dunno. I would like to play it again though when I have the choice as to which tees I play off.

The tee box have changed recently to start the work for the solhiem cup. Personal I love the back tees as it turns it into a completely different animal altogether. Not a fan on the long par 3s though. ( not hitting the long iron well at the mo so that's probably why!) I joined last year and have to say the staff and members also make this course something special. Very welcoming club. Also the practice facility is second to none.

Final proofs are going through now, yardage books, flybys and iPhone App should be all ready soon.

http://youtu.be/PayBb7e7yrk?hd=1

J

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Played here today, beautiful golf course. Had 38 points playing off 14 which included 2 scratches. Fairways and greens were immaculate, we played all the par 5s off the back tees which made it more of a challenge. Other tees were well forward cause of minding tee boxes for the Solheim Cup. Long walk around to, logged it on my I phone at 9.96km from 1st tee to 18th green. If you've not played it yet, do.

Final proofs are going through now, yardage books, flybys and iPhone App should be all ready soon.

http://youtu.be/PayBb7e7yrk?hd=1

J

That video looks great. Can't wait for the iPhone app. Good stuff...

The app is in beta at the mo, has some nice features, like full scoring with auto stablford calculation, Flybys, yardage book, GPS measuring, live weather.