Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I was being bit of an arrse last night, should I feel guilty?

• 27-03-2011 8:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭

I was well on the lash last night, I had four pints of beer and four gin and tonics in the space of four hours, I vaguely remember this. Anyways there was this girl at the party who has developed bit of an american accent since she's been over there a few times and I was taking the micheal out of her about it, doing yanky accents and stuff. Then she turned and stormed off, wasn't upset or anything. I normally don't be like this and feel bad that I egged her off over this.

But should I feel sorry? It was a wild party and all. She was very mean to me one night she was drunk which was ages ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

If you can remember all of this, you clearly didn't have enough to drink.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 245 ✭✭montane

effluent wrote: »
    I was well on the lash last night, I had four pints of beer and four gin and tonics in the space of four hours, I vaguely remember this. Anyways there was this girl at the party who has developed bit of an american accent since she's been over there a few times and I was taking the micheal out of her about it, doing yanky accents and stuff. Then she turned and stormed off, wasn't upset or anything. I normally don't be like this and feel bad that I egged her off over this.

But should I feel sorry? It was a wild party and all. She was very mean to me one night she was drunk which was ages ago.

The fact you had alcohol consumed shouldn't influence whether or not you feel bad about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Unless u want into her knickers forget bout it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

gin and tonic???

ghey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

That's all you had in 4 hours? You should feel ashamed

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

FatherLen wrote: »
    gin and tonic???

ghey

Gin and tonic is awesome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭effluent

To put it in perspective, I normally get drunk on only four pints

gin and tonic???

ghey

It's for the sophisticated type, albiet the type that was shout american accents in the smoking area

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

You should have drank twice that before you even left the house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Yes you should feel bad, I don't think it will ruin her life though, so forget about it unless you see her again... then apologise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭milehip1

fake accent syndrome victims deserve some shock thearpy to bring them out of it, you did her a favour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Oh right. Don't worry about it. My sister gets an American accent sometimes when she is drunk aswell and I just rake the piss outta her. Keep up the ridicule and you be grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

I was well on the lash last night, I had four pints of beer and four gin and tonics in the space of four hours,

Thats not a night on the lash. Thats a fukkin night-cap. Softy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

really annoys me when people come back from holidays and their two weeks away have somehow changed the way they talk..

milehip1 wrote: »
    fake accent syndrome victims deserve some shock thearpy to bring them out of it, you did her a favour.

In my defence this is her condition

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

If she was an Irish beour you done a good job

I salute you.

Now if it was a yank I suppose its a different matter, but feck it you might have been a bit pissed so what gives

milehip1 wrote: »

Its horrible, there is a woman that comes on to talk to ryan tubirdy on his radio show and i have never heard an accent like it. Sounds like a D4 american hybrid and its awful.

OP don't feel gulity - the depth of a persons personality is inversely proportional to how quickly they lose their accent when they go to america.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

Amateur OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Sh1t man you're a cheap date!!!!!

You're one of the reasons that pubs a closing down. 4 pints Sheesh, what an arse!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

I think that's the problem right there. You should feel guilty about getting drunk on four pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭seafood dunleavy

You should of left your micheal in her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

ghey

I should also mention that I am a fitness finatic.

Makes you more of a light weight to drink

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

Fart wrote: »
    ghey

Boo-urns. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭marxcoo

Christ. Good save.

Bitta light weight eh? :D

Ahh I wouldnt be too bothered. . . a bit of harmless slagging like. .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

She was just playing hard to get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

2 pages and no mention of the blasting thing,and you with 4 pints and 3 g/t's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭maxextz

RichieC wrote: »
    really annoys me when people come back from holidays and their two weeks away have somehow changed the way they talk..

think thats bad listen to this idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

cml387 wrote: »
    2 pages and no mention of the blasting thing,and you with 4 pints and 3 g/t's
    Tis the clocks going forward. Give it a day or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Bit of a light weight :eek:???????? My dog can drink more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭martic

Skip to 3.08 if she sounds like this then don't feel bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

gin and tonic???

ghey

Not so much awesome as Faaaaabulous!!

maxextz wrote: »
    think thats bad listen to this idiot.

Oh jesus christ :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭biscuiteater

think of it as training for marriage, it sounds like a normal night out for a married couple

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

GIN AND TONIC!?!?!?! :confused:

Do you wear brown sheepskin coats and sell used cars OP?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Not so much a ligtweight but totally sheltered.Dont feel guilty unless you have raped ,plundered and bottled a few guys until they are swimming in their own blood.So you slagged someone ,BIG DEAL.
    Live in the real world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭CL32

The amount of philistines on this thread who don't appreciate how refreshing Gin and Tonic can be is amazing. It may make aunties cry on the stairs at parties, but when you're too full of beer on a boozy weekend its the best plan B you can get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭Trooperboyo

It's amazing how quick some people apparently pick up an accent. My granduncle lived in america for most of his life and never lost the accent!

I was talking to a liverpool supporter earlier, could have sworn I heard a scottish tone there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭Sponsored RYAN

its only a bit of banter. if she cant take it then thats her problem!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

CL32 wrote: »
    The amount of philistines on this thread who don't appreciate how refreshing Gin and Tonic can be is amazing. It may make aunties cry on the stairs at parties, but when you're too full of beer on a boozy weekend its the best plan B you can get.

Its better to have them separate though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭round tower huntsman

no. any one that attempts/uses a mid atlantic american acent to sound like cool and stuff deserves nothing but piss taking.
    i just like totally hate that american way of talking and stuff:mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭CL32

Daegerty wrote: »
    Its better to have them separate though

True that. Me and a good mate have a rule, if either of us are out of the country, we have to bring back a bottle of gin we haven't tried before. I've had some of the most awful tack you can imagine, as well as some of the finest gin on the planet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Don't listen to the haters, Gin & Tonic is great and you don't have to be menopausal to drink it.

Also, that bird was probably a bit of a git and if you're not interested in dipping it in then you should tell her to get ta fcuk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

Getting worked up over something like that? Leave her off with her "American accent".