Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

dublins original colours

• 25-03-2011 9:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭

hey lads when the gaa started out first the dublin team wore navy and white and not the navy and light blue that they do now

anyone know why they changed
    i know the why but how about all those true blues:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Fr. Jessip

i heard that when the Dublin City council changes their colours the Dub GAA teams changed also?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,969 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

hey lads when the gaa started out first the dublin team wore navy and white and not the navy and light blue that they do now

some muppet put the original jerseys and shorts in the SAME WASH!!! - ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭tomaoo7

what makes a true blue:D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Id be interested to hear your reason..

In the old days the Dubs wore sky blue and white not navy so you have it arseways :D

The story goes Kevin Heffernan changed them from white to Navy blue to make the Dubs look bigger and more intimidating..Bill Shankly had changed the Liverpool shorts from white to red for the same reason previously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭denishurley

Two different reasons here given http://www.hoganstand.com/Dublin/MessagePage.aspx?PageNumber=0&TopicID=40110

In the old days every country had white shorts, I think Down in the 60s were the first county to change

Two different reasons here given http://www.hoganstand.com/Dublin/MessagePage.aspx?PageNumber=0&TopicID=40110

In the old days every country had white shorts, I think Down in the 60s were the first county to change

Hurlingdub has it right there. They were changed in the early 70's so they could be distinguished on TV from Kildare. Never changed them back.

Dublin City Council adopted the Dublin colours, not the other way around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,258 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Hurlingdub has it right there. They were changed in the early 70's so they could be distinguished on TV from Kildare. Never changed them back.

Dublin City Council adopted the Dublin colours, not the other way around.
    so kildare hold the reason for the hill shouting cmon ye boyas n blew???

ffs as a kildare man i apologise guys lol

Didnt Dublin wear a dark shade of blue when they played Tipperary on bloody Sunday? Tipperary unusually wore white with a green band. Grangemockler which is the birthplace of Michael Hogan went on to adopt these colours