Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guard Dog and a dodgy house

• 25-03-2011 7:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭

I was out for a walk this evening and as I was on my way home I stopped my music as I approached a particular house that has a sign on the gate: "BEWARE OF THE DOG".
    Just when I was right at the gate I heard the sprinting of a dog approaching my direction and the old wooden fence was broken in several places so I knew it would be able to reach me. So anyway, I started to run as fast as I can and I made it. I looked back and the huge Rothweiler was standing in the middle of the road. Luckily it didn't continue to chase me or I was fecked!
    I'm not sure about this but is it not illegal to have a dangerous animal that is in no way restrained or enclosed. A child would be in trouble if they walked past the same house.
    The house also looks very suspicious. It is in the middle of the countryside and looks uninhabited. People come and go now and then but they don't seem to stay for too long. Why can't they just have an alarm installed? Or is the contents of the house possibly dodgy so they don't want to get the attention of the authorities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Your guess is as good as mine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

As far as I know it is illegal for an owner to have their dog out without a lead, seeing as the dog didn't bite you or anything I don't think anything would be done but you should get the owner to be aware of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

Maybe it's a beloved family pet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Paddy_B

There is no family in the house!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Paddy_B wrote: »
    The house also looks very suspicious. It is in the middle of the countryside and looks uninhabited. People come and go now and then but they don't seem to stay for too long. Why can't they just have an alarm installed? Or is the contents of the house possibly dodgy so they don't want to get the attention of the authorities.

Sounds like a case for Scooby Doo and gang.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

just because it looks uninhabited doesn't mean it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

So anyway, I started to run as fast as I can
    That was your first mistake. You might as well cover yourself in blood and pretend your a pussy cat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Daisy M

Why dont you post over in the animal and pet issues forum? Although dont be suprised if the posters there are more concerned with the dogs welfare than yours.

Rothweiler: 1 - 0 : OP

Man the fuk up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

I I'm not sure about this but is it not illegal to have a dangerous animal that is in no way restrained or enclosed. A child would be in trouble if they walked past the same house.

You assume the dog is dangerous?

Would you assume the same if it were a fag poodle?

Run or no running, if that dog were dangerous he would have chased you and eaten you like a mcnugget

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭murphthesmurf

You could try reporting it to the ISPCA or even the Gardai. If it can get out like that then there is the potential for it to do someone some harm. It may turn out to be harmless, but with such a powerfull dog it really should be secured within the garden.
    The owner would be screwed if it ever did bite someone. The 'Beware of the dog' sign in itself can be bad for an owner, as it implies that you have a dangerous animal. Therefore he knowingly has a dog which he believes may be dangerous and yet he does not have it secured properly.
    Bit of advice for anyone, never get a sign that says 'beware of the dog' as you are implying your dog is potentially dangerous. If it ever bit someone, whether they are trespassing or not, you would be in a position of possible liability. Best to get one of the signs that says 'I live here' with a picture of the dog or something similar. As this merely informs anyone entering your property that there is a dog in the property. It doesn't imply the dog to be a danger etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Maybe its a doggy house not a 'dodgy' house

Why dont you post over in the animal and pet issues forum? Although dont be suprised if the posters there are more concerned with the dogs welfare than yours.

Lol, you will prob be asked to remove metal objects such as belt buckles the next time you are in the area so as to reduce the risk of the dog choking on anything when he eats you alive. Also not to wear any deoderant or aftershave in case he develops an alergic reaction :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Jaysus OP I think it sounds like a case for the Famous Five and make sure they bring Timmy the dog with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

I was out for a walk this evening and as I was on my way home I stopped my music as I approached a particular house that has a sign on the gate: "BEWARE OF THE DOG".
    Just when I was right at the gate I heard the sprinting of a dog approaching my direction and the old wooden fence was broken in several places so I knew it would be able to reach me. So anyway, I started to run as fast as I can and I made it. I looked back and the huge Rothweiler was standing in the middle of the road. Luckily it didn't continue to chase me or I was fecked!
    I'm not sure about this but is it not illegal to have a dangerous animal that is in no way restrained or enclosed. A child would be in trouble if they walked past the same house.

You sound just like my neighbour. He's afraid of dogs too. Doesn't see why I need a Rottie. Real pain in the ass he is.

Anyway call the dog warden and tell them he's loose and they'll deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

You could try reporting it to the ISPCA or even the Gardai. If it can get out like that then there is the potential for it to do someone some harm. It may turn out to be harmless, but with such a powerfull dog it really should be secured within the garden.
    The owner would be screwed if it ever did bite someone. The 'Beware of the dog' sign in itself can be bad for an owner, as it implies that you have a dangerous animal. Therefore he knowingly has a dog which he believes may be dangerous and yet he does not have it secured properly.
    Bit of advice for anyone, never get a sign that says 'beware of the dog' as you are implying your dog is potentially dangerous. If it ever bit someone, whether they are trespassing or not, you would be in a position of possible liability. Best to get one of the signs that says 'I live here' with a picture of the dog or something similar. As this merely informs anyone entering your property that there is a dog in the property. It doesn't imply the dog to be a danger etc.

I was told by the guards that this is not the case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

It sound slike a serious drug ring... and they would have got away with it if it wasn't for the pesky OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

At least with a dog like that, the copper piping and wiring in the house won't be stolen by certain scrap dealers. I know of one house near me who's owner wishes he had such a guard dog after having his under construction house destroyed my such thieves..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

motivator382be0dc02c6426ac5b49c28db0d54637158665d.jpg

That is a very odd name for a dog.

super-rush wrote: »
    The gards prob wouldn't see it as an offence. It's not an offence. But if your dog bit someone and they decided to sue, it would make it much easier for them. The gards wouldn't use it against you but lawyers would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭bigmouth writes again

slap 'beware of the citizen' on the gate. no pedestrian should be in fear of a dog man... nor their owner, extension of emselves you see some circumstances? when they're so far gone you have to put 'em down.

its for the community. when you must take the law into your own hands and have have it dealt with - discreetly drop it some feed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

The gards prob wouldn't see it as an offence. It's not an offence. But if your dog bit someone and they decided to sue, it would make it much easier for them. The gards wouldn't use it against you but lawyers would.

Maybe. I'll take my chances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

CorkMan wrote: »
    That is a very odd name for a dog.

I don't know how to rename the attachment.:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

Maybe its Snoop Dog's Irish Holiday home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭Alice1

Dey is growing cannabis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭barbiegirl

Us animal lovers would point out that the op had nothing to worry about the dog was only objecting cause the music was turned off ruining his groove.
    Rotties are big, generally not dangerous unless in hands of idiots, but are on restricted breed list so must be well contained, and when out on lead and muzzled. Could we call the guards on the idiotic owner, rehome the rottie and get op some new running shoes and tunes

Try the crocodile dundee thing that he does when he holds out his fist with his thumb and little finger sticking out making that groaning sound.
    Think the best thing is if a few of us get together and do a stake out. We'll bring Barbie, she can take care of the dog for us and make the tea :D only kidding about the tea bit ;):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

If there is nobody about much he it was prob very hungry.... and in his mind you were his dinner :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

wild_cat wrote: »
    Maybe its Snoop Dog's Irish Holiday home.

Not quite yet. Add some pimps, bi**ches, hardco' G's, some crack cocaine and a couple of Mac 11's and we're set.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭bmarley

bet you won't stop next time..or maybe you will, to feed and pat..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

next time it happens stand your ground, and face the dog. If it leaps to attack you, grab both paws, one in each hand, and pull apart quickly. If this works correctly, the dogs ribcage should split in two.

Course if not you will be savaged, but think how cool you'll feel if it works!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭barbiegirl

Try the crocodile dundee thing that he does when he holds out his fist with his thumb and little finger sticking out making that groaning sound.
    Think the best thing is if a few of us get together and do a stake out. We'll bring Barbie, she can take care of the dog for us and make the tea :D only kidding about the tea bit ;):D
    Barbiegirl is a coffee and red wine girl. Happy to help with pooch so long as i get a chance tplay famous five :-)

barbiegirl wrote: »
    Barbiegirl is a coffee and red wine girl. Happy to help with pooch so long as i get a chance tplay famous five :-)

Barbies in then, who else. What about costumes? do you think we should have some? Shall we go with the usuall latex or something different? cos if its latex i'd better get down the gym, and go buy a banana.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Hmm??...isn't this from a Famous Five book or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

super-rush wrote: »

the garda are not that clued up on the finer points of civil law all respect to them etc