Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Honda S2000 or EP3 Type R

• 25-03-2011 1:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19

I'm currently in the market for a new motor and am considering the EP3 Type R Civic and a Honda S2000.

I know they are pretty different in what they are, but still they're the 2 cars im intrested in...

My more sensible side is saying the EP3 civic. My madder side is saying the s2000.

I ruled out the DC5 integra as I just don’t like the boy racer image, whereas I don’t think the EP3 or the s2000 have that.

I just cant make my mind up (although I haven't driven either yet)...both are similar tax and insurance. Similar enough engines, although I know the 2000 is faster.

I'd have the S2000 but there's a part of me thinking id feel like a tool driving one (because of the roof) and the civic is much more subtle and nearly as much fun. And it has 4 seats. And I wouldn't have to worry about some asshole stabbing the roof. And it’s a good bit cheaper money wise (id only be able to push to an older cheaper S2000, whereas I could get a mint Type R ) But at the same time the S2000 will be more fun, I reckon driving through the mountains on a sunny day with the roof down would be epic.

Help me decide!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

You think too much about image and not enough about cars, ruling out the DC5 because of a stereotype is crazy.

Counting "looking like a tool" in the S2000 with the roof down is also crazy.

Who cares what people think!

Anyway, two very different cars, which one you pick will depend entirely on your needs/wants. If you have no requirements for FWD versus RWD, 4 seats versus 2 seats, hatchback versus convertible then just go and test drive both cars and see which one you enjoy the most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

If it was me i'd go for the S2000, you could get a hardtop for it if it makes you feel better!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

zero19 wrote: »
    If it was me i'd go for the S2000, you could get a hardtop for it if it makes you feel better!

There's one in my industrial estate (lucky bastard) and it just looks so nice, 10000 Civics could pass by my window and I couldn't care, but the Honda looks a class act. Especially with the hardtop.
    Forget bringing 4 people, the dogs and a big shop though.;)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,357 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

in order of preferance :
    1. DC5
    2. S2000
    3. Ep3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭STForSale

If you wear tracksuits even when not playing sports the DC5 could be the car for you, otherwise S2000 all the way ;)

Before the high horse brigade ride in, I will qualify this as Friday humor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

STForSale wrote: »
    If you wear tracksuits even when not playing sports the DC5 could be the car for you, otherwise S2000 all the way ;)

Before the high horse brigade ride in, I will qualify this as Friday humor.

Hilarious

S2000 all the way. I'm hoping my next car will be one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Exilim

Ye I think I went a bit ott on the image thing in my op, but i use my car with my job and I need to make a very good impression and I think arriving up to a client in a DC5 probably wouldn’t make the greatest first impression, that’s why it’s an issue for me. Away from the image issue though. I'm going to go drive an example of each and see what I think.

Why the hell are S2000's so expensive, €8k for a 12 year old car is the going rate...but I think that’s as they are so highly rated.

Exilim wrote: »
    Ye I think I went a bit ott on the image thing in my op, but i use my car with my job and I need to make a very good impression and I think arriving up to a client in a DC5 probably wouldn’t make the greatest first impression, that’s why it’s an issue for me. Away from the image issue though. I'm going to go drive an example of each and see what I think.

Why the hell are S2000's so expensive, €8k for a 12 year old car is the going rate...but I think that’s as they are so highly rated.

You could always go down the Accord CL7 Euro R route like I did.

Id love to, but the Accord is just to expensive to buy at the moment.

When im applying for insurance, the difference between an S2000 Roadster and an S2000 convertible is over a grand. Do you reckon they class the Roadster as the hartop version or if not what is the difference?

Id love to, but the Accord is just to expensive to buy at the moment.

When im applying for insurance, the difference between an S2000 Roadster and an S2000 convertible is over a grand. Do you reckon they class the Roadster as the hartop version or if not what is the difference?

No, it's just another proof of how wilful, random and nonsensical Irish insurances operate. And of their baseless hatred of all things topless.
    The Honda S2000 is a roadster, but they're all convertibles, so tell them it's a raodster and you'll be 100% correct and a grand better off.
    The hardtop is a bolt on roof, but that shouldn't make a difference, since it's a removable extra and not a permanet part of the car, otherwise you'd have to ring you insurance company and re-negotiate the price everytime you take the roof down.

No, it's just another proof of how wilful, random and nonsensical Irish insurances operate. And of their baseless hatred of all things topless.
    The Honda S2000 is a roadster, but they're all convertibles, so tell them it's a raodster and you'll be 100% correct and a grand better off.
    The hardtop is a bolt on roof, but that shouldn't make a difference, since it's a removable extra and not a permanet part of the car, otherwise you'd have to ring you insurance company and re-negotiate the price everytime you take the roof down.

Thats what i thought. Its crazy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

None of the insurance companies will quote me on the S2000 using the online calculator. When it comes to getting quotes properly (can't be arsed ringing around yet, as I'm not buying for several months), if the company refuse to quote me, is it worth asking for a supervisor/manager?

And also, will any companies throw a hissy fit if I re-insure the VW Polo and switch to an S2000 a few months later? I'm with AXA this year and will probably go with them again if the quote is decent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

A DC5 isn't seen as a boy-racer car :confused:

Be different and get a facelift DC5...not enough around ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭marvsins

if the company refuse to quote me, is it worth asking for a supervisor/manager?

Company has to quote you its the law. But nothing stoping them offering a quote of €5000 either
    And also, will any companies throw a hissy fit if I re-insure the VW Polo and switch to an S2000 a few months later? I'm with AXA this year and will probably go with them again if the quote is decent.
    Not a problem happens all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭Gregsor

A DC5 isn't seen as a boy-racer car :confused:

Be different and get a facelift DC5...not enough around ;)

I think they are heading that way if not nearly there already.

Facelift would be a good choice,still i'd like an Ep3 JDM Type R over the S2000 personally,but both are rare cars and i have owned two Dc5's and over 6 Integras so don't take my advice :pac:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭KylieWyley

I ruled out the DC5 integra as I just don’t like the boy racer image, whereas I don’t think the EP3 or the s2000 have that.

really!? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 colatube

This is the same dilema I'm facing. Currently insured with Aviva, on a bmw... but want to switch my policy over to a DC2. Do they have to cover you, if they don't normally insure this type of car? :confused:

KylieWyley wrote: »
    really!? :confused:

Your definition of a boy racer is a tad deluded

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭gary the great

It's that massive spoiler on the dc5 that gives it tIe boy racer look. THe s2000 is the better car,although the insurance would scare me.

I think it is well in proportion with the rest of the car,it is a race car for the road in all fairness and such parts serve a purpose,don't blame the car for Gods sake :).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

Not being a Honda fan, I don't know enough about the differences in speed/handling. All I know is, based on stereotypes, and the reaction that I got driving a similar kinda car, is that the Integra wouldn't be the right car if image/clients opinion matters for your job. I had an FTO GPX, and my work didn't tell me to get rid of it, but advised me that I should reconsider it if I want to be taken seriously by the people I'd have to deal with on a daily basis outside of work.

Aside from that, I'd choose the S2000 anyway, I think they're a deadly looking little car, and are pretty rare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭KylieWyley

Your definition of a boy racer is a tad deluded

deluded: a misled belief.

observation: the ability to notice things.

Hmmm let me see... Where I come from, the kind of dip****s you find in tracksuits - the guys with nothing better to do with their time than sit in their cars with the engine left running while eating junk food in the carpark outside fastfood establishments, drive around with other dip****s in convoys, cruise through town late at night at low speeds while their thunderous roar from their obnoxious muffler annoys the **** out of everyone, attempt 'drifting' around roundabouts only to hit traffic signs and destroy the stick-on go-faster bodywork they've shoved onto their cars - drive, amongst other types of cars, ep3s. They are usually white because that's so cool amongst the boyracer fraternity :rolleyes:

That is not to say that everyone who drives one IS a boyracer. Maybe you have or have had one and perhaps I have touched a nerve (sensitive much?). I was just pointing out the the OP that I, and a couple of previous posters here (yet you've chosen to ignore them), disagree with his opinion that the car is not seen as a boyracer car.

That is all,
    Good day to you, sir.

Hmmm let me see... Where I come from, the kind of dip****s you find in tracksuits - the guys with nothing better to do with their time than sit in their cars with the engine left running while eating junk food in the carpark outside fastfood establishments, drive around with other dip****s in convoys, cruise through town late at night at low speeds while their thunderous roar from their obnoxious muffler annoys the **** out of everyone, attempt 'drifting' around roundabouts only to hit traffic signs and destroy the stick-on go-faster bodywork they've shoved onto their cars - drive, amongst other types of cars, ep3s. They are usually white because that's so cool amongst the boyracer fraternity :rolleyes:

That sounds like a serious problem you have there in Galway,ever think of moving?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

I wouldn't view an EP3 as 'boyracery'...at all actually..
    Or a DC5, but as the prices of both come down, they will start to suffer, and eventually will suffer the same stereotyping as the EK9 & DC2.

I don't tend to judge the car itself, I tend to judge by what modifications are done, or the general overall appearance of the car. A standard DC5=not skangery. A badly modified DC5=skangery.

There doesn't seem to be too many EP3s around that are badly modified, I'm sure this will change over next 2-3 years.

That is not to say that everyone who drives one IS a boyracer. Maybe you have or have had one and perhaps I have touched a nerve (sensitive much?). I was just pointing out the the OP that I, and a couple of previous posters here (yet you've chosen to ignore them), disagree with his opinion that the car is not seen as a boyracer car.

That is all,
    Good day to you, sir.

lol

can we get over the image thing on this thread, i just wanna talk about the EP3 and the s2000.

Took an EP3 for a spin yesterday, and my God that was fun. Had a few problems with changing gear though, dont know whether it was me or the car though. i would be delighted to buy one, they're great fun. But im leaning toward the s2000 i think, everyone that has one seems to just love it...wish they were a bit cheaper though.

Im going to ring the insurance company 2mrw and see what the craic is for insuring an S2000 and try sort out this convertable vs roadster 1k price difference. Has anyone here got an S2000 insured? how much are you paying and is it classed as a roadster or a convertible?

Must say after driving the EP3 yesterday it had more than enough power, the s2000's extra 40bhp on top of the EP3's 200bhp would scare the ****e out of me i think :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn

draffodx wrote: »
    You think too much about image and not enough about cars, ruling out the DC5 because of a stereotype is crazy.

Counting "looking like a tool" in the S2000 with the roof down is also crazy.

Who cares what people think!

Anyway, two very different cars, which one you pick will depend entirely on your needs/wants. If you have no requirements for FWD versus RWD, 4 seats versus 2 seats, hatchback versus convertible then just go and test drive both cars and see which one you enjoy the most.

What he said.^^^ Try driving a civic as a daily on coilovers and exhaust as a cheap way to get track time.

I gave up wondering/caring what people thought right before i bought it. :D

Any one of the above cars handle very well and are drivers cars. Buy the car your happy to drive and enjoy driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

I heard the S2000 suspension is really nasty on Irish roads.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,357 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

attempt 'drifting' around roundabouts only to hit traffic signs and destroy the stick-on go-faster bodywork they've shoved onto their cars - drive, amongst other types of cars, ep3s. They are usually white because that's so cool amongst the boyracer fraternity :rolleyes:

who the hell tries to Drift a Front Wheel Drive Car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Testament1

kceire wrote: »
    who the hell tries to Drift a Front Wheel Drive Car?

Dinner trays for the win! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Enigma IE

I'm currently in the market for a new motor and am considering the EP3 Type R Civic and a Honda S2000.

I know they are pretty different in what they are, but still they're the 2 cars im intrested in...

My more sensible side is saying the EP3 civic. My madder side is saying the s2000.

I just cant make my mind up (although I haven't driven either yet)...both are similar tax and insurance. Similar enough engines, although I know the 2000 is faster.

I'd have the S2000 but there's a part of me thinking id feel like a tool driving one (because of the roof) and the civic is much more subtle and nearly as much fun. And it has 4 seats. And I wouldn't have to worry about some asshole stabbing the roof. And it’s a good bit cheaper money wise (id only be able to push to an older cheaper S2000, whereas I could get a mint Type R ) But at the same time the S2000 will be more fun, I reckon driving through the mountains on a sunny day with the roof down would be epic.

Help me decide!

I was in your exact position around 3.5 years ago, deciding between the EP3 (Type-R) and S2000. Both are outstanding cars and solid as a rock. I drove both before deciding, so I would suggest that if at all possible.

The S2000 is great to drive, back-end slides out and you can have great fun. Loads of power and great leather finish inside, certainly on the one I drove. The problem with S2000 is the practicality of the 2 seats only.

The EP3 Type R is also a great car. Brilliant handling, hatchback, so much more practical. They are a bit plastic'y' on the inside I found, the ride is bumpy enough, depending on the terrain, but it's a Type-R so you know what your getting.

I went for the EP3 in the end. I'd suggest breaking it down to Pro's & Con's for each car and just make a call on it, then try to find a clean example.

Good luck. I'm actually selling my EP3 now in the summer, served me extremely well, never had a single fault - or with any of my Civic's previously.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=66476214&postcount=1238

Cant see the pics of your car, might be just my browser here in work.

Yep i made out a list of pros and cons for each car....and that left me with an exact 50/50 choice. Insurance on the s2000 will be the dealbreaker though I think, going to try get some proper quotes later today. Fingers crossed.

if not ill have to make do with an Type R....its a hard life :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Enigma IE

Cant see the pics of your car, might be just my browser here in work.

Yep i made out a list of pros and cons for each car....and that left me with an exact 50/50 choice. Insurance on the s2000 will be the dealbreaker though I think, going to try get some proper quotes later today. Fingers crossed.

if not ill have to make do with an Type R....its a hard life :D

Good luck man, two superb cars, just try find yourself a clean example whatever you decide. I got my Type-R from the UK, I wasn't keen on getting a jap import.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn

Hmmm let me see... Where I come from, the kind of dip****s you find in tracksuits - the guys with nothing better to do with their time than sit in their cars with the engine left running while eating junk food in the carpark outside fastfood establishments, drive around with other dip****s in convoys, cruise through town late at night at low speeds while their thunderous roar from their obnoxious muffler annoys the **** out of everyone,

Ill give you that one they do exist and Darwin was wrong. The muppet element you refer to are the bane of the genuine car enthusiast who has to spend silly money to insure cars properly and do give certain epicly fun trackday toy cars a very bad name.

A performance car in my personal opinion is wasted without track time.
    attempt 'drifting' around roundabouts only to hit traffic signs and destroy the stick-on go-faster bodywork they've shoved onto their cars - drive,

You cannot drift a fwd, though there are plenty of other stupid things you can do.
    amongst other types of cars, ep3s. They are usually white because that's so cool amongst the boyracer fraternity :rolleyes:

The white cars are imported directly from Japan, Im not a fan of white but accourding to my ex who had a qualification of being from east Asia its a symbol of national pride to have a white car.

As for here i have no idea some people just like white

That is all,
    Good day to you, sir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,158 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Being an Ex-DC5 owner if i was to buy another Honda now, i'd have to pick the DC5 again..

The S2000 has the pose factor, not too common and is a lovely looking roadster style car...not v pratical though and i think the K20 engine in the Type-R's is more tunable and slightly more torquey...

CTR is understated, not likely to get you a 2nd look from the Gards...Though go for the import as its a better spec...

DC5 is the more practical of them all Imo..big boot, fold down seats so you can pack a lot into them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,391 ✭✭✭5500

Are you open to throwing in an Accord CL7 into the debate? They've dropped big time in price recently and are also a cracking car. I had an s2k and what got me in the end was the impracticality of it as a daily driver when I needed the extra space.

If thats not an issue there a cracking car, mine was an 01 on coilover's and I never found the ride overly harsh on our roads even covering a fair amount of the country. Dont be put off by people calling them twitchy or saying the earlier models are prone to finding ditch's, drive it sensible and you'll never have a problem, mine never caught me out but then again I didnt come out of roundabouts in the wet at 8k!

I'd buy one again without a doubt but it'd have to be as a second car, i'd actually love to buy my old one back if I could! If your buying a uk spec just give the car a good going over for rust, the majority of uk imports I saw when looking at them were rough. Also try and buy from someone who seems to be an enthusiast, theres a few up on donedeal at the moment that I know to have had hard lives and been thrashed and there not the cheapest for parts when things go wrong.

Either ways I dont think you'l be dissapointed with either choice between the two once its a clean one that you get.

Cheapest insurance quote for the s2k is 1800. Cheapest on the type r is 1050. So at this stage its a no brainer.

Didnt manage to solve the online quote price difference for an s2000 with travellers (roadster saloon S2000 is 1100euro and an S2000 convertible is 1800euro) as i cant find any brokers that have travellers as an underwriter. I rang 5 of the brokers listed on the travellers website snd they all told me they will only do a car quote if you have house insurance etc with them.

So looks like a Type R :)

i like the DC5 but looks wise its just not for me.
    Id go for an Accord Euro R but they're out of my price range. And id prefer the EP3 to the older accord type R. Cant wait to get one!

Cheapest insurance quote for the s2k is 1800. Cheapest on the type r is 1050. So at this stage its a no brainer.

Didnt manage to solve the online quote price difference for an s2000 with travellers (roadster saloon S2000 is 1100euro and an S2000 convertible is 1800euro) as i cant find any brokers that have travellers as an underwriter. I rang 5 of the brokers listed on the travellers website snd they all told me they will only do a car quote if you have house insurance etc with them.

So looks like a Type R :)

i like the DC5 but looks wise its just not for me.
    Id go for an Accord Euro R but they're out of my price range. And id prefer the EP3 to the older accord type R. Cant wait to get one!

insure.ie will get you a quote from Travellers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Guess you guys haven't heard of Keisuke Hatakeyama, not bad for an FWD.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F7NTrFr-RtU

An interview with the man if anyones interested

http://www.hondatuningmagazine.com/features/0504_ht_keisuke_hatakeyama_interview/index.html

Just to let you guys know the 1050 quote i got was for a Honda S2000 Roadster SALOON! Whatever the hell that is. After talking to the insurance company they said once the roof can come of its to be classed as the convertible, so the higher quote of 1800 applies...which means i certainly wont be getting the S2000.

in the end it was an easy way to make up my mind. i will certianly consider the car again in the future when im a bit older, with a couple of extra years NCB and hopefully more spare cash...maybe after the Type R.

Didnt manage to solve the online quote price difference for an s2000 with travellers (roadster saloon S2000 is 1100euro and an S2000 convertible is 1800euro)

That just drives me crazy.
    An S2000 is an S2000 is anS2000. There is no difference.
    It is a convertible. Invariably. Unless you have a custom built, one off special.
    Whoever quoted that is a gombeen, retarded, greedy and has no idea about cars what-so-fcuking-ever.
    An S2000 SALOON?
    Jesus, who did you ring?
    Bastard, Drivel and Bastard, car, farm and livestock insurances?
    It just makes you dispare.
    I remember in Germany a friend of mine when he turned 18 got himself a VW Kuebelwagen,

vw_kubelwagen.sized.jpg

when he rang the insurance company they said "yep, VW Kuebelwagen, that will be (insert reasonable amount of deutschmark here) per year".
    No problem.
    Try insuring that in Ireland, a team of experts would have to hold a conference lasting two weeks before quoting you 92135961235876214321 a year to insure it.
    And of course that amount would just be a random jumble of numbers based on absolutely nothing whatsoever.
    Just goes to prove that insurance companies here want everyone to drive 1.4 Toyotas.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭IrishZeus

Probably too late but I bought an S2000 last month after driving DC5, type R civics, m3 etc. Much preferred the look and feel of the S2000. Insured with xsdirect. (26, 3yrs NCB) for 1300EUR. (2000 excess but if you crash, you may aswell pay that yourself anyways)

If you don't get one this time, have a look down the road. Best and most fun car I've ever driven!