Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

cattle flying it at ennis yesterday

• 25-03-2011 10:50am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭

anyone there?
    seemed to be good trade for any half decent animal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

pakalasa wrote: »

ya i think i recognised that arab on the boat down around the ring yesterday :D..actually got in a row with an auld fella when running the cattle in thru shoot yesterday, first time i ever had any agro at the mart :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

ya i think i recognised that arab on the boat down around the ring yesterday :D..actually got in a row with an auld fella when running the cattle in thru shoot yesterday, first time i ever had any agro at the mart :rolleyes:

was in the mart about a month ago and the brother was selling a few cows , we decided we would give them a quick hose down as they got dirty in the trailer , anyways , oldish guy behind us was moving his cows along and said he would put his in for a wash with ours , to which i jokingly replied , ah , yours are not as dirty as ours , yer man starts screaming about how his are every bit as important as ours , a case of lost in translation

hearing aids , they should be made compulsory once you reach 70 :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

Cattle are outragiously expensive (if your buying)

Have over 200 to buy - god know whats going to buy them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭TankGuy

No reason why i want to know but how much would a cow cost to buy. Im an inner city dub, just wondering:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭dryan

what the hell is going on?
    absolute crazy prices in roscommon today.
    any kind of decent store cattle making from 550 to nearly 750 along with their weight.
    I thought last week was bad but this week took the pi55 altogether.
    (im also trying to buy a few.....)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Tora Bora

dryan wrote: »
    what the hell is going on?
    absolute crazy prices in roscommon today.
    any kind of decent store cattle making from 550 to nearly 750 along with their weight.
    I thought last week was bad but this week took the pi55 altogether.
    (im also trying to buy a few.....)

Nothing crazy about these prices. This is what is needed to be somewhere near commercially viable.
    The crazy prices have been the low prices of past 15 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

Tora Bora wrote: »
    Nothing crazy about these prices. This is what is needed to be somewhere near commercially viable.
    The crazy prices have been the low prices of past 15 years.

Do you go to the factory with many cattle?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

No reason why i want to know but how much would a cow cost to buy. Im an inner city dub, just wondering:-)

It varies but i'll give ya a nice round figure of €1000, somewhere around that. It all depends though; age, size, condition etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Tora Bora

Tipp Man wrote: »
    Do you go to the factory with many cattle?

I bring none to factory. What I am saying is the prices received by all men in the chain for the past 15 years has been way to low, to leave a reasonable margin.
    The prices attainable by the finishers from teh factories has been far too low. Consequently every other man in the chain is getting squeezed.

"Cattle prices are outrageous" - are ye living in Cookoo land!

How much does agri-diesel cost now?
    How much will silage cost to bale this year?
    How much is fertiliser?

Get used to it. If oil stays this high, so too will cattle prices!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

i was in tullow mart today and red lim bulls 370 kilo made 1000euros

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

pakalasa wrote: »
    "Cattle prices are outrageous" - are ye living in Cookoo land!

How much does agri-diesel cost now?
    How much will silage cost to bale this year?
    How much is fertiliser?

Get used to it. If oil stays this high, so too will cattle prices!
    Try telling that to someone that needs to buy cattle now only to find out that the arse has fallen out of the cattle trade when they want to sell them next year ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭dryan

Try telling that to someone that needs to buy cattle now only to find out that the arse has fallen out of the cattle trade when they want to sell them next year ;)

thats my point. Its a fierce chance to take. In the last 2 months, factory prices havent moved. yet, in the marts, prices have increased 150 - 200 euro/head in the same period. maybe the lads that are paying the big prices know something that the rest of us dont.

and by the way, good luck to the farmers that are getting the good prices.

That's the danger with summer grazing, isn't it.
    You have real ups and downs with it. If cattle prices move up at all over the winter months, you're left with a big price gap to fill.
    As they say down our way - "Who's making them dear only the farmers".