Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ballybunion Half marathon 23/4/2011

• 24-03-2011 10:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 576 ✭✭✭

I was wondering if anybody ran this last year and, if so, what they thought of it?
    That was its first year taking place.

Heres the link to their website.
    http://www.runballybunion.com/course.htm

Strange that the difference between the price of the 10k and the is so much but it looks like its the only half marathon on that weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭dizzymom

Challenging course at the start but so scenic - thoroughly enjoyable, well organised, you get a nice tech t-shirt in the half marathon and it was chipped last year. It starts at the garda station in the town and goes uphill for approx 1.5miles (out towards banna i think) and then it levels off a bit, then it meanders up and down slight inclines with a fairly level second half, enjoyed it !
    As it was an inaugral event last year, it wasnt massive - I would say it will be much bigger this year! Good luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 576 ✭✭✭sarsfieldsrock

Thanks for the update. I was beginning to think that nobody from here had run it last year.
    Its a pity you make it sound so good as I have discovered that it is quite difficult to get to by public transport. Now I don't want to miss it.
    I'll probably wait until that week to decide if I am going to do it. Then I will talk myself into it.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭dizzymom

Hi there

I wil have to miss it this year cos its too near the GLR, hoping to run the full marathon. The ballybunion Half is an amazing course, challenging but so scenic, anyone who knows the area will say its a fantastic coastal town. I was surprised at how well organised the event was last year considering it was an inaugral event. I think more media coverage and advertising is needed.
    I do know that there is a regular bus service from limerick (summer months definately) and possibly bus service from tralee. You could ring bus eireann and see when the summer service begins. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Qwerty27

If you can make it that far then I would recommend the race. Did it last year, challenging course but especially after first 3 miles or so scenery is wonderful and you'll spend most of your time looking onto Shannon estuary. Last mile or so is down hill and all in all a very enjoyable race!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Minister B

I was wondering if anybody ran this last year and, if so, what they thought of it?
    That was its first year taking place.

Heres the link to their website.
    http://www.runballybunion.com/course.htm

Strange that the difference between the price of the 10k and the is so much but it looks like its the only half marathon on that weekend.

I went down to Kerry for this last year and really enjoyed it. The course was really scenic, it started in the town before making it's way across the tops of the cliffs to the north of Ballybunion which over looks a beautiful beach on the mouth of the Shannon. Half way through the race follows a more country route before turning to face the ocean again. Amazing course.

It's an expensive race but worthwhile. If you can make the trip you won't be disappointed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭corked

ya i ran it last year and really enjoyed it.
    A challenging course but worth it. Well organised too and still using the tech tee that they gave at the end.

Will be doing it again this year - see you there!

I'm surprised by the lack of action on this thread. Does anyone know if a similar crowd to last year is expected?

not sure really.... I'll be there.

Dont think its a good idea to start a race at 2pm - will probably melt if the heat is like today!

corked wrote: »
    not sure really.... I'll be there.

Dont think its a good idea to start a race at 2pm - will probably melt if the heat is like today!

Yea 2pm is an odd start time like the warrior run in Sligo. Maybe it encourages people to spend the weekend there.

Heat could be an issue alright. It's down for 18 C on Saturday.

Minister B wrote: »
    Heat could be an issue alright. It's down for 18 C on Saturday.

Eeek!! I was hoping for a personal best but to be honest it will be a tough at that temp.

What finish time you hoping for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭altercor

Sorry to jump in guys,

Im hoping to do it tomorrow too. Just a question or two:

Do ye know if they take entries on the day? (I have no credit card and they website doesnt take laser!)

Also, are there water stops en route?? No mention on the site and if it is hot it'll be madness not to have water out there!

Looks to be a beautiful course alright though..

A.

Hey Altercor,

Last yr there was plenty water stops and its in bottles too.
    Not sure about entry on the day - i'd say give them a shout on the contact us page:
    http://www.runballybunion.com/contact.htm

Corked

altercor wrote: »
    Sorry to jump in guys,

Im hoping to do it tomorrow too. Just a question or two:

Do ye know if they take entries on the day? (I have no credit card and they website doesnt take laser!)

Also, are there water stops en route?? No mention on the site and if it is hot it'll be madness not to have water out there!

Looks to be a beautiful course alright though..

A.

I reckon they will take entries on the day. Ring the number on the website. Failing that ring Iragh ti Connor the owners of that are the chief organisers, I'm sure they'll be able to tell u what the story is so ur not coming down just on spec.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭dub8

i did the 10k run as i was in the area anyway ! cracker of a day for it , lovely run , this event could have great potential if they upped there game a little bit as its a really scenic route ! hope the half marathon runners got more than a bottle of water at the finish line , didnt see any food of any sorts being handed out ! enjoyed it anyway , despite the hilly start !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Floodsurvive

Hi Dub8. I think you are a little harsh on the organisers. Each finisher got a good quality medal at the finish and all other goodies were given out back at the registration area. These included tech top, fruit, choc bars, isotonic and water drinks. There was also a complimentary BBQ with burgers, chicken and sausages. Overall very well run. Only my second ever run, but really enjoyed the senic route on the 10k, except for the killer hill at around 8K. The positioning of the ambulance at the top was appropriate :)

Well done BallyB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭altercor

Wow.. did i struggle yesterday! Been out injured for over a month and haven't done a whole lot of mileage. I found the half very tough. Was it just me in my unfit state or was it a slow course?

That's the negatives out if the way, on the plus side, what amazing place for a race! Organisers were so friendly. They let me use my girlfriend's entry (she injured herself two days prior) without any hassle. Just a quick change of name on the computer. Nice tech tee at the finish, plenty of food (I was too sick to avail) and a great atmosphere.

Well done organisers!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭dub8

ah , didnt go back to the registration area ! explains a lot , thought it was a bit strange all right ! have nothing bad to say about the organisers , but better promoted and the likes , it could be a huge event for them as its a great run! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 lucky14

This was my second Fun Run.And I must congratulate the organisers of this event,on a wonderful day.I found the whole experience to be very enjoyable apart from the heat.I struggled with heat during the 10k run.Everything was organised very well.Kilcooly's was an ideal head quarters afterwards.Great to chat to others re post run analysis.There was a mighty buzz there.Everyone seemed to be on a such a high!!The layout of the water,fruit and the bbq was great.A pity the live music started so late as it got very cold.And most of the crowd had dispersed after 5pm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭seedorf117

lucky14 wrote: »
    This was my second Fun Run.And I must congratulate the organisers of this event,on a wonderful day.I found the whole experience to be very enjoyable apart from the heat.I struggled with heat during the 10k run.Everything was organised very well.Kilcooly's was an ideal head quarters afterwards.Great to chat to others re post run analysis.There was a mighty buzz there.Everyone seemed to be on a such a high!!The layout of the water,fruit and the bbq was great.A pity the live music started so late as it got very cold.And most of the crowd had dispersed after 5pm

Great weekend, great race and great organisers!! Came 3rd in 10k happy enough :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 lucky14

That's brilliant Seedorf117.Congrats.That's a great achievement.No doubt you're delighted with yourself.good on you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Floodsurvive

34.25 for 10k is some time K Did you see that time when you finished. My time on the results page seemed 3 minutes faster than thought I had run.

I ran the half marathon & I thought the official result was a minute quicker then my watch, but I'm not complaining!

Ballybunion is unreal, does it ever rain there!? Race was organised superbly but one would expect that after paying €45 entry fee, nevertheless, congratulations to the organisers they did a great job.

What about the locals? I got oranges & cups of water in between water stations, which was a lifesaver in that heat! A big thank you to those kind souls!

Good job all round, top marks Ballybunion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭seedorf117

lucky14 wrote: »
    That's brilliant Seedorf117.Congrats.That's a great achievement.No doubt you're delighted with yourself.good on you
    thanks lucky! my time was 36.25, all the times on web are two mins faster just to clear up, horrible incline on first 2miles so def not a fast course!!

my 2nd yr doing it and must say that the orgainisation was very good.
    Plenty water stations, great athmosphere and the food after looked good at the hotel.
    Also great value for money.

I do think that the race should start at 10am - its a tough course and the added heat make it very challenging.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Squigs07

Great run but did anyone else notice that distance was not spot on? My GPS watch clocked it at 9.63k as opposed to 10K. Would explain beating my PB by almost 3 mins ;)

Friend running with me also used GPS watch with same result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 ninjacat1

Hi everyones time was out by 2 mins 10 sec. Times are corrected now. Both male winners in half had exact time so the were given joint first. seems like faulty chips or human error?:confused: