Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Resident Evil Revival Selection

This is great news!
    I've played through 4 numerous times and Code Veronica but I'd definitely get these again...but, why, like REmake and Zero, don't we also get updated versions of 2 and 3?

I can imagine a lot of people wanting those games too!

But HD Resi 4 and CV...excellent :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Ha, I love how the "comparison" pic is the same photo with a massive blurry photoshop job on one half, it didnt look anything like that on the GC or PS2.

Great news though, although I want RE2 and 3 more than CV, 4 I've played loads of times but it'll be cool to play it again given its one of the best games ever made.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,282 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Just give us a remake of 2 already. It was the best game (imo) of the series.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

Ooooooh I didn't feel much love for code veronica x on the ps2 , was the dreamcast version better? 4 was Resi gold though. I also have a soft spot for Nemesis being as it was the 1st I played .............. Staaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrssssss :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,406 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Code Veronica on the PS2 wasn't a great conversion, it looked much better on the Dreamcast. Would love a remake of code veronica since while the 3D backdrops looked great at the time now they lack the atmosphere of the 2D backdrops of the other games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Now I don't feel so bad saying goodbye to my Wii (had pretty much all the Resi games that came out for it.....even The Umbrella Chronicles!). Hurray!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,920 ✭✭✭AnCapaillMor

Wonder will they totally upgrade code veronia and go the RE4 way, i loved the older RE games but that fixed screen\view used drove me nuts. and i second kiith on RE2, thoughts of the tongue lasher jumping through the interogation mirror again in hd is giving me goosebumps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭AndyKiely

What are ya buying? What are ya selling. Just to hear that on my 360 will be worth the price. Can't wait for these, was a lover a both of them. I love the idea of HD remakes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Here's a few HD shots of RE4. (Actually the second shot is from CV).

http://kotaku.com/#!5785229/your-first-look-at-resident-evil-4-in-hd/gallery/1

Looks pant-wettingly awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,920 ✭✭✭AnCapaillMor

Gah double post, and feck looks like the old style fixed screen for CV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,963 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

I'd say Capcom will see how well these sell before committing to other titles. Res 1 is already on PSN. I agree Resi 2 would just be unreal to play in a HD upgrade, actually don't mind that, remake the whole game in the resi 5 engine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

i dont want a remake of re4.... i want a remake of re 1 2 3... those were re games, not action advanture lolipop island that came from 4 and 5 ...

veronica is still solid game thought, even graphic wise... why to remake it?

do old ones, then i will be exited...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,270 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Cool, looking forward to this.
    I love that they're releasing HD collections these days. God Of War, Prince Of Persia, Sly, Tomb Raider & Splinter Cell are all out or coming out.
    Just give me a Jak & Daxter HD collection and MGS 1 & 2 HD on top of Resident Evil and we'll be sound.

Edit: Max Payne 1 & 2 as well, please.
    When your ready.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

Ah what ever about 5 being a pile of poo, 4 was a great game in its own right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,820 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

Dear Capcom:
    Find us some playable code for Resident Evil "1.5".

Thank you.
    The Internet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

krudler wrote: »
    Ha, I love how the "comparison" pic is the same photo with a massive blurry photoshop job on one half, it didnt look anything like that on the GC or PS2.

A 640*400 screenshot as well... I'd instantly dismiss that as a poorly made April fools if it wasn't a week and a bit early for that kind of carry on...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,406 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Lol te original game ran in 640x480 :)

So they are just upping the resolution? No sale Capcom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Gunmonkey

Heard you can get similar results by modding the PC version of RE4 with a fan made hi-res texture patch.

Also, will they reshoot the cutscenes as they were recorded in some god awfully low res and looked terrible (PS2/PC ones anyways).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭penev10

Like most I'd rather see RE2 remade but I suppose if this bundle sells well then Capcom will 100% do another (which will more than likely be 2+3, or maybe split up 2 and 3 to get more sales? 2+0 and 3+Outbreak?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,400 ✭✭✭Vyse

I'm not sure I really see the point of these remakes if they are not offering anything above and beyond the originals. I'm quite happy to re-visit CV on my Dreamcast or RE4 on my Gamecube. I mean a re-make after the original was released a little over 6 years ago??

penev10 wrote: »
    Like most I'd rather see RE2 remade but I suppose if this bundle sells well then Capcom will 100% do another (which will more than likely be 2+3, or maybe split up 2 and 3 to get more sales? 2+0 and 3+Outbreak?)

You see, problem is, that with re4 and Veronica you just slap bigger resolution amd you sorted. That's what they did with beyond good and evil. Did bigger resolution with same texture, slapped hd on it and here you go.

To remake re 1 2 3 they will actuolly need to do some work? Work to get money? Now this is non sence bull**** marketing plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭tonydude

Id love to see them redo the first for ps3 , was terrified of that distant footsteps noise in the later stages of the game, you knew there was a hunter in the area. Think the clip is from the wii remake

tonydude wrote: »
    Id love to see them redo the first for ps3 , was terrified of that distant footsteps noise in the later stages of the game, you knew there was a hunter in the area. Think the clip is from the wii remake

Was that a full remake of re1 on wii?!?! Why I newer heard of it... I did wrote of wii quite fast to thought. It looks amazing!

Damn this vid brought memories! I remember doing fast runs to get unlimited weapons. Or les then 2 saves to finish game. Can't remember reward it gives... The hulk gameplay. Resident evil a and b sides. Playing different characters on bouth. So it was like 4 stories. And they were all knitted brilliantly!

Psn could atleast put re and parasite eve games on psn marketplace... I would deffo buy them off!

Was that a full remake of re1 on wii?!?! Why I newer heard of it... I did wrote of wii quite fast to thought. It looks amazing!
    It was remade for the Gamecube so technically it works on a Wii. It's excellent. Graphics still stand up to this day (only played it again last year)

Damn this vid brought memories! I remember doing fast runs to get unlimited weapons. Or les then 2 saves to finish game. Can't remember reward it gives... The hulk gameplay. Resident evil a and b sides. Playing different characters on bouth. So it was like 4 stories. And they were all knitted brilliantly!
    Isn't that RE2?
    Psn could atleast put re and parasite eve games on psn marketplace... I would deffo buy them off!
    RE:Directors Cut came out on PSN yesterday. I think PE has been announced too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Gunmonkey

It was a remake they released for the Gamecube around 5 or 6 years ago as part of a 5 game deal between Capcom and Nintendo (even though most ended up on PS2). It got rereleased on the Wii 2 years ago along with RE0.

Parasite Eve was just put up on the USA PSN last week, dont bother waiting for it here as it was never released and they arent gonna go try get a market license for it nowadays. Squaresoft have hintd PE2 will follow "soon", but probably close to "The 3rd Birthdays" release.

RE1 has FINALLY come out on the EU PSN this week, but the whole series has been up on the USA and Japanese PSN's for YEARS (way to be several years behind the rest of the world SCEE *thumbs up*) now for cheaper and probably run better. Just get around $30 in credit from a web-code site and youll have enough survival horror games to last ya till sometime in the future.

Yes I was talking about re2, sorry :)

I knee something was fishy as I sow somewhere parasite eve and re games on psn web style yoke!!!! So we in Europe are just fudged in tue A?!

Can you expand on that thought with American account? Can I set up one? As I will deffo buy pe 1 and pe 2!!!!

parasite eve 2 was an excellent game , loved the cutscenes and will always remember the following

Ok back to res evil now :D

I newer got a chance to even finish second one... Now horrible story: back in my country I could get only jap version... Like moust of games I played and finished... Try finish rpg game with only remembering what simbol or chain of simbols do lol. I could not go pass desert town in eve2 as there was a safe to unlock, obviously I did not had a way to get code, as I had no idea what is it written all over the game...

I would live to come back to English version of eve2, but impossible to get... 200 dollars on amazon... Psn store does not have it...

Sorry for off topic.

impossible to get.

I have it, mint condition :D

tonydude wrote: »
    I have it, mint condition :D

Fancy selling it? ;) or atleast renting? God I hope it's english

sorry to tease m8 but its part of my keep sake collection, and yes its english

More Resi news!!! The Gaming Liberty are on the ball with their updates! New game gonna be release titled Resident Evil: Operation Racoon City

http://thegamingliberty.com/index.php/2011/03/24/resident-evil-racoon-city-announced-by-us-oxm/
    The game will be called Resident Evil: Operation Racoon City.
    • The game takes place in 1998, a time where Resident Evil fans already know what’s set to take place. The title lets you enjoy the series from a new perspective, as the men and women who are technically responsible for it all.
    • Rather than continuing the zombie slaying antics of BSAA agents, you’re taken back to the original outbreak “that underscored both Resident Evil 2 and Resident Evil 3: Nemesis.”
    • The game doesn’t require any crazy amounts of knowledge of the past titles or characters involved in the series. The title opens up to a “quartet of new faces”. Essentially, you’re playing as members of the official Umbrella Security Services squad.
    • Operation Raccoon City is a team-based shooter allowing four members of the USS team to destroy all evidence of the ongoing outbreak. Along with slaying the zombies, you’re looking to “kill pretty much every survivor possible”.
    • The gameplay is described as “dirty”, and the series will feel much darker than it has up to this point.
    • The game features three factions that Capcom has stated make up a “three-corner conflict”. The other two factions are the US Spec Ops, who are there to repel the USS, and the “bio-organic weapon monsters (BOWs) created by Umbrella.
    • The USS team is made up of the following characters: Vector, Beltway, Bertha, and Spectre. Depending on which character you choose, the responsibilities that you’re asked to do within your team will variate.
    • Hunk, first seen in Resident Evil 2 as a hidden character, is the inspiration behind the USS team.
    • “Whichever team you play on, you’ll be facing Umbrella-created horrors in between skirmishes with each other”.
    • Zombies in the game can sense you in three different manners: sight, sound, and smell.
    • A situation is described in the game where Vector cloaks himself to stir up previously slumbering zombies to use against the Special Ops military foes.
    • Quite a few scenarios in the game aren’t “all about headshots”. A quote in the article states, “It’s about shooting the other soldiers – manipulating the, making them bleed.”
    • The game will take you through a number of familiar areas if you’re a Resident Evil junkie who remembers your journey to Raccoon City.
    • Operation Raccoon City, depending on how you play the game, will give you the option to “change the history of Resident Evil”. Not only will you have the chance to meet and interact with various characters from the series, but you’ll even have the opportunity to kill them.
    • One of th mottos repeated to OXM throughout the demo was “Kill Leon”. It’s also stated that if you choose to represent in the game as the Special Ops team, that you’d more than likely have the goal of trying to save Leon Kennedy.
    • Slant Six or Capcom won’t reveal if any other characters will be playable in the title just yet, but it’d make sense to see quite a few big cameos.
    • The title will still see players relying on collecting herbs to heal from any attacks you may suffer. You won’t need to hoard any herbs, but they’ll still benefit you to collect them throughout the game.
    • “This is not a one-versus-one game where you’ve got one clip full of ammo and zombies on you. If you’ve ever thought of those times in an RE game when you thought, ‘I’d wish I had a big gun’, that’s what this game is. It’s not fair to give people big guns, then take all the ammo away.”
    • One of the pictures in the article showcases a zombie being used as a “meatshield”.
    • Operation Raccoon City allows players to earn XP for kills, with these points helping you survive the onslaught, and to help to encourage you to anihilate everything in your path.
    • The XP will allow you to earn new abilities, such as Vector’s cloaking skill, and new weapons.
    • Tyrants will most definitely be included in the title.

All nice, but is it re we wanted? It looks like mmorpg not horror survival....

What happened with isolation? One persom against the world?

I bet it will be
    Some coop bananza.... We all know how awesome coop was in re5.... Specially when you wanted to play alone.... Deep deep shiva... God I wanted to sodomise and kill her so many times...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,820 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

I, too, wanted to sodomize Sheva six ways to Sundays... and I haven't even played the game! :pac:

Sheva_Alomar_by_AnnaPredator.jpg

I love how this thread has quickly descended into talk of anal sex with Sheva...
    Totally would!

tman wrote: »
    I love how this thread has quickly descended into talk of anal sex with Sheva...
    Totally would!

Anal sex would be a compliment. The stuff I would want to do to here involves her suffering and death...

As for topic. They mention something about " I wish I would have bigger gum, " . I can't qoute it, but the way I see it, it might be even more Arcadisg version of re? They will remove such thing ass ammo altogether... I guess ne more counting bullets, looking for ammo. Running half dead, just becomes you want to save a fee herbs.... And no more keeping on bullet in case of big feck up... ;) . Damn I miss old re games :)

Will be mad to go through resi 4 again just for the trophies! Hope we get a release date soon.

Anal sex would be a compliment. The stuff I would want to do to here involves her suffering and death...

So rape and murder basically... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭CORaven

Actually looks class! Crap part of the game to show tho. Wonder how much this will be going for.

Is it just resolution increased? Or textures remade too?

As beyond good and evil hd is same game just with higher resolution...

Is it just resolution increased? Or textures remade too?

As beyond good and evil hd is same game just with higher resolution...
    Judging by the video the textures weren't great and don't look like they've been redone :(

Code Veronica will really suffer if this is the case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Testament1

Great news! I loved Code Veronica X on the PS2....I wasnt so much a fan of Resi 4 though due to them moving away from the traditional zombies. I'd love to see the first 3 remade for the PS3. Outbreak had some nice touches that I liked but the whole "episodes" nature of the game was pretty off putting to me.

Was wondering why Resi 4 looks so crap in the 360 video. It's based on the PS2/PC version which is missing a load of the graphical and atmospheric effects of the Gamecube version and also has vastly reduced polygon counts on enviroments and character models.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭CORaven

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    Was wondering why Resi 4 looks so crap in the 360 video. It's based on the PS2/PC version which is missing a load of the graphical and atmospheric effects of the Gamecube version and also has vastly reduced polygon counts on enviroments and character models.

So they are porting the pc version of the game to the 360, even though the pc version was a bad port of the Gamecube version to begin with... :/ Disappointing.
    I might just buy the GC version from Ebay for the Summer instead. I might be tempted to buy it for the 360 instead if it's cheap and has leaderboards for Mercs.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

sheehy83 wrote: »
    I'd say Capcom will see how well these sell before committing to other titles. Res 1 is already on PSN. I agree Resi 2 would just be unreal to play in a HD upgrade, actually don't mind that, remake the whole game in the resi 5 engine!
    It was the camera positions that made those games, doing that would wreck the game for me personally. Keep that engine away from the early RE games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Mr. K

Using the PC version is just silly, GC/Wii (sans motion control) all the way!

Retr0gamer wrote: »

Lol which one is improved? I watched video on phone and bouth looked meh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Mr. K

http://kotaku.com/#!5789056/the-past-present-and-future-of-resident-evil

Awesome trailer. The fact that they got DC Douglas to do the voiceover would suggest that Capcom aren't finished with him yet!

Lol which one is improved? I watched video on phone and bouth looked meh...

14 seconds in illustrates it the best
    On the GC you've got some gorgeous lighting effects which help create a genuinely creepy looking dark path
    On the PS2 you've got crap lighting and horrible washed out looking textures which really takes a massive bite out of the delicious atmosphere of the GC original