Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Japanese have road repaired in just six days after it was destroyed by quake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Squall19

Thats just unreal isnt it:D

Boys here would need 6 days just to get a plan together, then another few to put it down on paper.

Amazing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

If that was in Ireland they would just throw chippings on it. Problem sorted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Kudos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,593 ✭✭✭tossy

There are county council road workers the country over reading this thread and reeling in shock! You could have got 6 months good sun resting on a shovel 'mending' that road!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

erm... hope the earth under the road has settled fully!!

imaging if iarnrod eireann was staffed by japanese engineers and builders only. the viaduct in malahide that collapsed would've been back running after the weekend!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

And here we are, over 2 months since some cold weather and many of our roads actually look like we had an earthquake!:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

well and good if you live up or around leinster where 70% or more of the roads are very good, not counting the usual back roads

move down to kerry and cork and most of the roads are c0ck, and have been for about 30 years now.

thank f**k I dont live there no more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭branners69

Imagine how many cups of tea the Irish corpo would make rebuilding a road like that, at least a million!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Here we would have to do a 6 month environmental study to count how many snails or frogs were living beside the road before the earthquake hit :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Kinda crazy where the priorities lie - I didnt think they would value roads so much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Jesus that was fair quick. Fair play to them

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Just shows you how much of a joke road repairs are here.
    Takes them 5 days to fill a pothole nevermind rebuild a road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

WDP+one+man+hole.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Would've been better if they'd taken both pics the same, new one is further up the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

There's a good layer of tarmac laid down too. We be lucky with a few inches of the stuff.

Mc Love wrote: »
    Kinda crazy where the priorities lie - I didnt think they would value roads so much

Without roads you can't get rescue vehicles, supplies etc etc to the effected areas. Also Japan is such a wealthy country that you would immediatly think, if this is how quickly they sort out a road then just think how quickly they will recover from the whole thing. (material wise I mean)

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Would've been better if they'd taken both pics the same, new one is further up the road.

Looking at the green road sign in relation to the pylon behind it looks like exactly the same place to me.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

Without roads you can't get rescue vehicles, supplies etc etc to the effected areas. Also Japan is such a wealthy country that you would immediatly think, if this is how quickly they sort out a road then just think how quickly they will recover from the whole thing. (material wise I mean)

An incredible work ethic
    Here we had difficulty running two luas tracks parallel
    there the trains float on air

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

The main reason is that they absolutely 100% need those roads back in service a.s.a.p. to get emergency vehicles, food and supplies through.

It's a bit unfair to compare repair work on a major arterial motorway that is vital for supplies in an extremely densely populated country and a back road in Kerry.

There'll be plenty of unrepaired back roads in Japan for quite a while too. I've visited there before and it's a lot more higgldy-piggldy than you'd think!

As for Japan being rich, it has a worse debt to GDP ratio than we do and that was before the quakes and tsunami.

Public Debt:GDP 225.8% in 2010.

They think Japan could actually be the trigger of a big lot of re-thinks about Government bonds and might actually spur something on that might help Ireland's position enormously.

Solair wrote: »
    The main reason is that they absolutely 100% need those roads back in service a.s.a.p. to get emergency vehicles, food and supplies through.

It's a bit unfair to compare repair work on a major arterial motorway that is vital for supplies and a back road in Kerry.

There's two walls that haven't been rebuilt in Cork City since the flood of November 2009. Sure it'll be grand

Rodin wrote: »
    There's two walls that haven't been rebuilt in Cork City since the flood of November 2009. Sure it'll be grand

Cork City Council claims that's due to complete lack of money. However, Cork City Council also has a really bad track record on such issues. E.g. collapsing buildings that were never inspected etc etc

You can thank Biffo and the lads for prioritising Anglo over the lives of people in Cork. However, sure the idiots in Cork South Central voted 2 of them back in again and Cork North Central returned one!

I can only suppose that voters are quite happy with the concept of drowning so!

On the other side of it, in Cork, the NRA seems to have resurfaced the entire Lower Glanmire Road and the Carrigtwohil bypass without any fuss at all and it was done in a few days with almost no disruption at all.

So, it can be done in Ireland too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Looking at the green road sign in relation to the pylon behind it looks like exactly the same place to me.:confused:
    Second photo is a slight bit closer if you look at the dark green bush on right, much of the landscape on this side has been removed to allow for access, site vehicles etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Ah the county council

Two lads working and two lads leaning on their shovels and watching them.
    They are supervisors I suppose

To be fair I think they can be motivated to do good work like during the snow. It just takes overtime rate to get them going, maybe they feel they are underpaid

Cork City Council claims that's due to complete lack of money.

there was 50 grand available for a party after the all-ireland

Cork city Council are a bunch of useless numpties and lazy as sin. Where will the money come from to pay for the damage when the city floods again? AS IT WILL
    Their shortsightedness is truly astounding.

It seems the City Council + OPW are scratching their heads and convening committees about it.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2010/1228/1224286364586.html

It seems the City Council + OPW are scratching their heads and convening committees about it.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2010/1228/1224286364586.html

I've seen no sign of getting this fixed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,577 ✭✭✭✭Victor

All that demonstrates is that they fixed one section of road. That said, one of the dominant things about photos of damaged areas is that the roads were cleared quite quickly to ensure access.
    colm_mcm wrote: »
    Agreed, the group of trees looks taller in the second picture.

Of course, anything can be done in a hurry if you need to and have an unlimited budget. The world's largest office building, the Pentagon (604,000 m2), was built in 1 year, 4 months and 4 days.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Pentagon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭daelight

Not only are roads here built quickly, they withstand the following :

Earthquakes
    Typhoons
    -20 to +50 C temps
    Vehicular traffic

I have yet to see a pot hole on a road in Tokyo, am sure there must be but the roads are smooth as a bowling alley - that goes for tiny streets that are barely 3m wide as well.

Main reason is work ethic and getting the job done right. Its another planet compared to Ireland.

'Main reason is work ethic and getting the job done right. Its another planet compared to Ireland'

And if the job is done right, it costs less in the long term! Result!
    I totally agree. Ireland needs a kick in the arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Rodin wrote: »
    Ireland needs a kick in the arse.
    Privation in some sectors will give it that kick. EG CIE :p

I disagree
    Look at Network Rail in the UK and their poor safety standards, and the disaster made of privatising the Post Office, and the water companies

People just need a whip cracked once in a while, and not to have life so handy
    Ten men to dig a hole indeed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

The private sector isn't some holy grail of efficient and hard working staff.
    There are safety issues with what used to British Rail due to shortcuts taken and pressure put on staff

Japan's just a TAD more densely populated than Ireland

Just a tiny bit more complicated than the Red Cow junction or the Dunkettle Roundabout.

1965549217_3eb51214f4.jpg

A Tokyo junction system (with the buildings photoshopped out to illustrate how complex it is)

World%27s+Most+Worst+Incomprehensible+and+Intersections+Traffic+Jams+12.jpg

Comparing Irish roads to Japanese roads is a bit like comparing the M50 to a bog-road with grass growing up the middle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Comparing Irish roads to Japanese roads is a bit like comparing the M50 to a bog-road with grass growing up the middle.

But....they both have the same speed limit :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Roads are critical to everything. No roads, no supplies. No supplies, no people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

I blame the romans.

move down to kerry and cork and most of the roads are c0ck, and have been for about 30 years now.

I've been rolling around Cork on 18" wheels for the last 6 months, the roads are mostly fine.

Regarding the road in the OPs post, the Japs have more pressing issues to worry about, unless that road was essential for getting aid etc to homeless folk or was an access route to an airport etc it should have been moved down the list of priorities in my view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The council have been working on widening and resurfacing a stretch of road beside me now for 18 months. This really shows them up for the wasters that they are tbh. It doesn't matter that this road needs to be opened "ASAP". If it can be done urgently in six days, then there's no excuse for non-urgent repairs to take more than 6 weeks, never mind the 6 months which is typical for minro changes/repairs over here.
    Regarding the road in the OPs post, the Japs have more pressing issues to worry about, unless that road was essential for getting aid etc to homeless folk or was an access route to an airport etc it should have been moved down the list of priorities in my view.
    But...it's not like they have a team of ten people to do everything. If you have a roadbuilding crew whose job it is to build roads, then why not have them building roads. It doesn't matter that buildings need to be rebuilt - that's what you have builders for. It's a government, capable of carrying multiple tasks of varying priorities at the same time. This is the Irish problem, our Government does one thing at a time and ultimately nothing gets feckin done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭mickob16

That road could lead into a big town that needs infrastructure to get aid in and out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

If this was in Ireland it would have taken six months to repair. :

We had a small flood November 12 months past, a few blocks fell out of the quay wall, they are still in the river and the hole is plugged with sandbags.

Tis grand like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

Typical mail article.

Forget that people are homeless, imprisoned, and being poisoned by radioactive iodine- lets admire the work ethic and reminisce about the great days of the empire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

A part of the flood wall and path at Fitzwilliam Quay, Ringsend fell into the Dodder river about a month ago. Its all cordoned off and not a thing has been done yet to repair it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Viper_JB

pajo1981 wrote: »
    Typical mail article.

Forget that people are homeless, imprisoned, and being poisoned by radioactive iodine- lets admire the work ethic and reminisce about the great days of the empire.

It's not like there has been no articles about all that stuff already, I think it's good to read an article focusing on their ability to recover rather then pitying them.

Amazing what can be done when good people are put on a job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭Lurching

Ive been looking at those 2 photos for a while now. Im convinced the "second" photo was taken first. It doesnt take long for a road surface to look worn.
    The photo of the good road is taken some 20m further up the road than the other. The trees are a different shade (could be down to the light the day the picture was taken), theres a building missing in the background (although this could have fallen in the 'quake) and the road sign in the far distance was changed at some stage between the time the photos were taken.
    The joints line up in both pics, you can see an overlaid lap of about 500mm in the between the first lane and hard shoulder, which is in both pics.

Due to that much damage, the asphalt would have been completely removed and the subgrade fully re-graded. The 2 finished surfaces look too alike for this to have happened.

Just my opinion though. I still know the Japanese are a marvel in their engineering and work ethic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

Lurching wrote: »
    Ive been looking at those 2 photos for a while now. Im convinced the "second" photo was taken first. It doesnt take long for a road surface to look worn.
    The photo of the good road is taken some 20m further up the road than the other. The trees are a different shade (could be down to the light the day the picture was taken), theres a building missing in the background (although this could have fallen in the 'quake) and the road sign in the far distance was changed at some stage between the time the photos were taken.
    The joints line up in both pics, you can see an overlaid lap of about 500mm in the between the first lane and hard shoulder, which is in both pics.

Due to that much damage, the asphalt would have been completely removed and the subgrade fully re-graded. The 2 finished surfaces look too alike for this to have happened.

Just my opinion though. I still know the Japanese are a marvel in their engineering and work ethic.

What?! There's a separate Boards forum for such fanciful speculation.

I'm more inclined to believe that Associated Press are not party to a pointless post-earthquake conspiracy.

My understanding is that this highway is a major route into the region affected by the earthquake. I would imagine that it would have been a major priority to get it repaired as soon as possible.

BTW, what "building" is "missing"?

If you throw vast resources at a project because it absolutely has to happen yesterday. It gets done!

Cost is not an issue here, the contractors are possibly not even charging as they may be the Japanese Army Engineering Corps.

You're comparing abnormal dire emergency situations with normal day-to-day maintenance in a very small country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭radar0976

well and good if you live up or around leinster where 70% or more of the roads are very good, not counting the usual back roads

A sweeping and untrue statement about Cork. Oh by the way learn how to use the English language properly. It's "I don't live there ANYmore"!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

radar0976 wrote: »
    A sweeping and untrue statement about Cork. Oh by the way learn how to use the English language properly. It's "I don't live there ANYmore"!

Motorways aside, I think you'd find some support for this view. I had a regular run from Enniscorthy [bad bends aside too] one would clearly notice the difference in the road surface once one passed into Cork having been through parts of Wexford and Waterford.

Coming off the new smooth road from Waterford to new bumpy road in Youghal was spectacular and my van would be heaving up and down. Had to wake up and do some driving, much more tiring.

The Turkish road bypassing Ballincollig is great but we still have a lot of poor roads ~ OK there is the Motorway to alleviate this.

indeed, Japan cuts no corners! the buildings in Tokyo are quite amazing the way they are designed to withstand quakes.. a mag 6/7quake in dublin would do crazy damage, but it is relatively common there...

7-8-9 magnitude are the destruction ones.

radar0976 wrote: »

erm....have you driven around cork city lately? or around the county, and towards kerry and all that area.

seems not.

and english spelling. lol.

meh