Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sex on the Radio

• 23-03-2011 9:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭

I dont consider myself a prude but was listening to the radio on the way home from work and heard that Rhianna song about whips and chains and stuff and thought it was a bit much. Now I like a bit of raunch as much as the next man but "will someone please think of the children" as it were....

In fairness its not just Rhianna theres a few of them at it- Katy Perry, Lady Ga Ga (in fact it mainly seems to be female singers:confused:). I figure its the old trick of controversy = record sales, but its probably mostly young girls buying their music, right?

The offending Rhianna lyrics that made my monocle fall out and made me gasp ; "Why I never!!"

Cause I may be bad, but I'm perfectly good at it
    Sex in the air, I don't care, I love the smell of it
    Sticks and stones may break my bones
    But chains and whips excite me

So what do you think? Is music turning into porn or am I officially 'old' now that Ive complained about 'devils music'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

Prude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

heard this and my first thought was "oh rihanna trying to hard as usual, sticking this in your song will make it sell, i won't fall for this"

then 2 minutes later i was thinking its one of her more catchier songs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

Whips and chains always make me think of the children.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭fabbydabby

Every generation has its too much sex in music song.. it's nothing new. Remember sex on the beach by (was it) vengaboys? Or Horny in 1998 by Mousse T... Madonna was at it in the 80's ffs!

So stop being a prude and stop listening to shit music and your probalems will be solved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭u140acro3xs7dm

Ive no problem with the lyrics as such but i do have a problem with shít music like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

I bet you dropped your knitting needles with the shock :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Screaminmidget

The Video is banned in like 15 countries as far as I know, So just be grateful its only the radio ;)

Also, Get with the F*cking times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

Porn without audio just isn't worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

PK2008 wrote: »
    I dont consider myself a prude but was listening to the radio on the way home from work and heard that Rhianna song about whips and chains and stuff and thought it was a bit much. Now I like a bit of raunch as much as the next man but "will someone please think of the children" as it were....

In fairness its not just Rhianna theres a few of them at it- Katy Perry, Lady Ga Ga (in fact it mainly seems to be female singers:confused:). I figure its the old trick of controversy = record sales, but its probably mostly young girls buying their music, right?

The offending Rhianna lyrics that made my monocle fall out and made me gasp ; "Why I never!!"

Cause I may be bad, but I'm perfectly good at it
    Sex in the air, I don't care, I love the smell of it
    Sticks and stones may break my bones
    But chains and whips excite me

So what do you think? Is music turning into porn or am I officially 'old' now that Ive complained about 'devils music'?

Yes, you are old. But not old enough to remember a few Prince tracks that were considerably more out there than that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

It's shockin', Joe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

little kids wont understand the lyrics, older kids will be grand if their parents have the cop on to openly discuss all areas of sex with them, not such a drama then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭rebel10

To be honest, I think this was worse from back in the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Yeah you've got a point. When you're a teenager and schmad and all for 'sticking it to the man' (as the kids say), it's the best thing ever. But when you've got kids or close relatives who are young you suddenly start becoming the aforementioned 'man'. I almost wanted to cover up my little sister's eyes when we were watching Rihanna on the X Factor last year. Unfortunately, I was prevented from doing so because my movement was restricted by a raging erection.

But then again, I suppose rock and/or roll is better for teaching children about the birds and bees than any awkward parental 'chat' can do. I learned everything I know from Eminem, for example. Two dead prostitutes later and I think I turned out grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Guilty pleasure.

the song and the whips and chains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,226 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Sex on the radio is very painful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

The video is a bit much too.

I also don't consider myself to be prudish.. but the fact is that this stuff is marketed towards an audience made up mostly of kids. People get outraged over stuff like child beauty pageants and yet seem oblivious to the stuff being sold to their own kids

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

I also don't consider myself to be prudish.. but the fact is that this stuff is marketed towards an audience made up mostly of kids. People get outraged over stuff like child beauty pageants and yet seem oblivious to the stuff being sold to their own kids

Get off the internet, Grandpa... you're embarrassing me!!! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

Sex on the radio? I find all the knobs get in the way...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭u140acro3xs7dm

I just put it on mute and had a fap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Jeeze ...The Rolling Stones to name one band were spouting songs , 40 odd years ago with lyrics like '' she tried to take me upstairs for a ride '' ( Honky tonk womon )

How many kids have heard that on their daily/ saturday afternoons drives since ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

...So what do you think? Is music turning into porn or am I officially 'old' now that Ive complained about 'devils music'?
    Did you turn it off or stay listening to it?
    If you stayed, it seems you weren't that much offended. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

So what do you think?

i think rhianna has a fantastic arse that i would to bury myself in, conkers deep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

Biggins wrote: »
    Did you turn it off or stay listening to it?
    If you stayed, it seems you weren't that much offended. :pac:

I was too busy fapping

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

I dont consider myself a prude

Ive yet to meet anyone who does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭rebel10

There was nothing worse than being in a car with your parents and getting caught singing along to lyrics from a song the mentions the "filthy" word!:D Like this:

Can you imagine what the parents are hearing their 10 year olds coming out with now! "Chains and whips excite me.....":eek: Gas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

RichieC wrote: »
    Get off the internet, Grandpa... you're embarrassing me!!! :mad:

heh!

"I used to be with it, but then they changed what "it" was. Now, what I'm with isn't it, and what's "it" seems weird and scary to me."

And don't even get me started on the video's subtle references to the Illuminati =p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭gargleblaster

well to be fair there's more explicit music on the radio now. taking someone upstairs for a ride for example, from the rolling stones song, that doesn't come anywhere close to something like chris brown saying to get the condoms cause you know what time it is. and if you cant take it all, say when.

or that ludacris song where he's describing all the ways he's going to do whatever it is. i can't even remember what he says now. soemthing about a sex room. it's very descriptive. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭ChopShop

Pop music has become so smutty.

Bring back Mad....

Wait. Never mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

Feck that, the PMRC (led by women) in the 80s went loco over this, mainly men portraying women as sex slaves, now you have some munter bitch whipping tied up men. Have the PMRC said anything? **** that, hypocrites.

Also the song isnt offensive, Its for people who think being sexually adventurous is leaving the lights on. Theres FAR worse out there, its only on the radio because its "rihanna where ya aaaaah".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

Yeh, I guess it doesn't offend me it just makes me cringe to think that kids listen to it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭CD.

that song casts a new light on the whole "chris brown beat me" thing
    O.o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

CD. wrote: »
    that song casts a new light on the whole "chris brown beat me" thing
    O.o

well not really no. i got the crap beat outta me and didnt enjoy it, yet i like it rough in the bedroom. 'mazin' what consent can do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

A bit OT and I've gotten into this argument with mates before, but she's rotten looking imo.

Anyway, the real problem is such awful music reaching such a large audience. Pop music has really gone to the dogs.

St.Spodo wrote: »
    A bit OT and I've gotten into this argument with mates before, but she's rotten looking imo.

Wouldnt **** into a shoe and kick it up her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭gargleblaster

kona wrote: »
    Wouldnt **** into a shoe and kick it up her.

just a teensy bit ott don't you think?

what'd she kill your dog or something?

just a teensy bit ott don't you think?

what'd she kill your dog or something?

Prances around thinking shes wet , when infact shes a munter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

kona wrote: »
    Prances around thinking shes wet , when infact shes a munter.

She does no such thing; sure, isn't she well known for expounding on the virtues of her umbrella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

OP - pay no heed of Rhiana, that over exposed desperate dog would 'mount' a pavement for PR.
    In fairness its not just Rhianna theres a few of them at it- Katy Perry, Lady Ga Ga (in fact it mainly seems to be female singers:confused:). I

I wouldn't however, make the mistake of classifying Mr. Ga Ga as a female.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Its just a song, and not one that id pay any heed to the lyrics. They're not even that bad in fairness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

It's not "just a song" :rolleyes:

I heard Folsom Prison Blues by Johnny Cash on the radio when I was a kid, now I have to live here under a false name cause they are trying to extradite me to the USA on a Nevada murder warrant. I just wish someone had been thinking of the children when I was a lad.... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

It is 'just a song'. Its not a piece of music that will have any lasting impact. It will float around for a few weeks then be forgotten forever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Chris Brown says she is not all that into the rough stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I think that song and video may well be the most honest commercially produced pop song ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

FFS, it's not prudish to find it a bit distasteful when she has fans who are 10. Fair enough, she's not a teenager any more, but she could use music for sexual expression in a more subtle manner - something OTT like S&M (and I bet she's not REALLY into it) just seems forced and controversy-seeking. Yeah I know it's not gonna turn kids into sexual deviants and many won't even know what she's on about - but it just seems unnecessary. I loved Madonna when I was seven and she had a fairly in-your-face sexuality, but she wasn't marketed at seven-year-olds to be fair. Ditto Prince (most of his singles weren't particularly explicit anyway, bar the stuff off Diamonds & Pearls).

If a film producer made a really explicit music video for a non mainstream act - directed at adults anyway - they'd be slated by the red tops (see: Aphex Twin).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

IS this wan marketed to kids though? Just because they like her doesn't mean she is exclusively.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 406 ✭✭FesterBeatty

This has been around since 1935...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2ko2VXpW7_g

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭RosieMarie_91

That song by Rhianna is nothing i dont think compaired to the new Katy Perry one E.T now that is on about wierd stuff.

Saying that i can completly understand why someone could find it abit much because its a delicate subject :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭RosieMarie_91

:)And that Mousse T song is unreal its one of my favourite songs of all time. I remeber that been on the radio since i was a kid and i didnt have a clue what it meant but i used to sing along anyway because it was so catchy! lmao

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

By the time they're old enough to understand it, it won't effect them anymore. A 10 year old (or most 10 year olds anyway) wouldn't understand the meaning of the lyrics and would not put any pass on it. A 16 year old however would understand it (most anyway) but has probably heard/seen worse so it won't effect them in any negative way.