Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Working with unbelievably boring people stories

• 23-03-2011 8:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭MLH1

Hard to believe it but I work with a guy who, without even starting a conversation with him tells me about the type of gravel that the irish Government import and from where to grit the roads!! for ten minutes..... yeah, eye contact ,,, yeah....(omg)...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

What kind of gravel do the Irish government import to grit the roads anyway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

So there I was standing outside the door minding my own business and...

OMG!!!!

Fella slept with ... and ... now ...

cheated on ... and now ...

... on Facebook!!!

... .... all over Facebook!!!!

so creepy ... stalker ... being stalked ... stalkers everywhere!

Paedophile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

MLH1! You're on boards? You never told me!
    You never let me finish the story about the gravel!
    Now the gravel you get outside the cities, thats the good stuff, they only use the old rubbish for the townies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Your not a member of the clergy called Dougal are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

I work with 100's of boring people.
    Durin work they talk about work,
    On break they talk about work,
    Lunch is mostly work related conversations,
    Nights out are mostly filled with giving out about work.
    Kill me....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭Ev84

MLH1 wrote: »
    Hard to believe it but I work with a guy who, without even starting a conversation with him tells me about the type of gravel that the irish Government import and from where to grit the roads!! for ten minutes..... yeah, eye contact ,,, yeah....(omg)...

The government imports gravel? WHAT THE F**K IS WRONG WITH OUR F**KING GRAVEL?????

You work with people so boring you thought stories about them on AH would be interesting? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

The ironing of this thread is delicious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

mconigol wrote: »
    The ironing of this thread is delicious.

creases coming out well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I work with massively boring people. They actually care about the machinations of.........work. They talk to me about work related topics, I try to feign interest and participate in the conversation but I just cant stop my eyes glazing over. When they're not trying to bore me to death with this drivel, they are whittering on about facebook and other lightweight fluff of the modern age.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭desaparecidos

Guill wrote: »
    Kill me....

Well if your such Mr exciting then change the ****ing topic.

Or maybe you have **** all else to talk about as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Agricola wrote: »
    I work with massively boring people. They actually care about the machinations of.........work. They talk to me about work related topics, I try to feign interest and participate in the conversation but I just cant stop my eyes glazing over. When they're not trying to bore me to death with this drivel, they are whittering on about facebook and other lightweight fluff of the modern age.

Me too, all the fcukers read is Heat and the Star.

I take to the shitters and blow a frustrated sheet of peppery shite all over the gaff to relieve the tension.

I love it when one comes back in and says "jaysus ,some fcuker has blown his guts all over the toileh" " Behharh get dem bleedin' cleanars to sorh ih ouh wha"

"Fcuker must have a dose whah"

Breaks me up every time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaawn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭this is arse

the girl next to me brings the various procedure documents related to the job and the company handbook home and reads them in the evening. she was recently awarded with a paperweight for her hard work and was going around showing it to everyone :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Gneez

the girl next to me brings the various procedure documents related to the job and the company handbook home and reads them in the evening. she was recently awarded with a paperweight for her hard work and was going around showing it to everyone :cool:

GREATEST MOMENT OF HER LIFE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Oh yeah, Im sure theres something in employment law that states every company must have one of these people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭ChopShop

Boring male workers seem to keep away from me because i can't be arsed feigning interest in their anecdotes.

Boring FEmale workers however tend to latch onto me because i feel compelled to be more polite to annoying women than annoying men.

These are the ones who aren't particularly bright, funny, or good looking, but have decided i might just be good enough to take home to the parents.

Yay?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

wernstrom! wrote: »
    Boring male workers seem to keep away from me because i can't be arsed feigning interest in their anecdotes.

Boring FEmale workers however tend to latch onto me because i feel compelled to be more polite to annoying women than annoying men.

These are the ones who aren't particularly bright, funny, or good looking, but have decided i might just be good enough to take home to the parents.

Yay?

But wernstrom! you are only a 6/10 at best. And that is on your good days (the days you wear those pencil skirts with the slits up the left side). And you aren't that interesting. You watch Gray's Anatomy and discuss it with people. I wonder as i hear you babbling in the background whether i could ever be truly happy with a woman who divests so much of her time in watching, analysing and being entertained by such drivel.
    Surely you can see my quandry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭DundalkDuffman

You know we're putting covers on the TPS reports now, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Ev84 wrote: »
    The government imports gravel? WHAT THE F**K IS WRONG WITH OUR F**KING GRAVEL?????
    It's slightly damp and the wrong colour.

There's no such thing as a boring person. Your clearly spiking them with the wrong drugs, ephedrine is the best one they don't know they're high but they just don't stop moving.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

It has to be something to do with the job youre in.I have never worked with boring people .But in saying that Id prolly rather it than coked up illegal emmigrants turning psycho at the drop of a hat.

eternal wrote: »
    It has to be something to do with the job youre in.I have never worked with boring people .But in saying that Id prolly rather it than coked up illegal emigrants immigrants turning psycho at the drop of a hat.

Bulls**t!!! I hang around with loads of coked up illegal immigrants and they don't mind at all when I drop my hat...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭Cybertron85

Daegerty wrote: »
    creases coming out well?

It's a Simpsons reference..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

i always thought they gritted the roads with salt not gravel as gravel would ruin tarmac surfaces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭ChopShop

But wernstrom! you are only a 6/10 at best. And that is on your good days (the days you wear those pencil skirts with the slits up the left side). And you aren't that interesting. You watch Gray's Anatomy and discuss it with people. I wonder as i hear you babbling in the background whether i could ever be truly happy with a woman who divests so much of her time in watching, analysing and being entertained by such drivel.
    Surely you can see my quandry?

Since i'm actually more like a 4/10, i'm flattered.

(and 4/10 may be self-flattery)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭wurzlitzer

What bores me is when I arrive in work, switch on the computer, and certain knobends are reading the RTE website, telling anyone who is around what is the latest news on the aforementioned site..

These people keep telling me news that I have already read that morning in the PAPER or heard on the RADIO....and expect me to respond to them as if they were Anne Doyle or Brian Dobson like they had created said news script...."No Way"

I am so battle weary
    The responses to the news rundowns are

1. Sometimes they get the look of I am working, no response at all and not even a lid bats...i continue typing
    2. or "I read that in the PAPER this morning" so F off and leave me alone, I am trying to work look.
    3. or really! and walk out of office to go to Loo or watercooler to avoid elaboration, and the force feeding of more details.

Bigger pet hate LIVE NEWS FEEDS

todays was Liz Taylors Death...
    The knob in the office who broke the news from the RTE website
    got said response back from yours truly "I know(and the world knew by then) I heard it on the RADIO" and the FO I am trying to work look.

They then proceeded to tell us all about Liz from wikipedia.
    OMG shoot me!

Attention seeking if you ask me

Coffee and Lunch breaks are for chats!
    Personally love the aul chin wag at breaks
    but there is always one who tries to out compete everyone else's weekends or lives....and it usually the LIVE NEWS FEED knob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭pablo-jericho

wernstrom! wrote: »

Yay?

Beggars can't be choosers... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Guill wrote: »
    Kill me....

Because they are sick of your f*cking gravel story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

I would rather listen about what sort of gravel we import than mediocre stories of the weekend or about the year they spent traveling around south-east asia and "Oz".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

wurzlitzer wrote: »
    What bores me is when I arrive in work, switch on the computer, and certain knobends are reading the RTE website, telling anyone who is around what is the latest news on the aforementioned site..

These people keep telling me news that I have already read that morning in the PAPER or heard on the RADIO....and expect me to respond to them as if they were Anne Doyle or Brian Dobson like they had created said news script...."No Way"

I am so battle weary
    The responses to the news rundowns are

1. Sometimes they get the look of I am working, no response at all and not even a lid bats...i continue typing
    2. or "I read that in the PAPER this morning" so F off and leave me alone, I am trying to work look.
    3. or really! and walk out of office to go to Loo or watercooler to avoid elaboration, and the force feeding of more details.

Bigger pet hate LIVE NEWS FEEDS

todays was Liz Taylors Death...
    The knob in the office who broke the news from the RTE website
    got said response back from yours truly "I know(and the world knew by then) I heard it on the RADIO" and the FO I am trying to work look.

They then proceeded to tell us all about Liz from wikipedia.
    OMG shoot me!

Attention seeking if you ask me

Coffee and Lunch breaks are for chats!
    Personally love the aul chin wag at breaks
    but there is always one who tries to out compete everyone else's weekends or lives....and it usually the LIVE NEWS FEED knob

Big campainger for HIV and AIDS was our Liz you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭wurzlitzer

Big campainger for HIV and AIDS was our Liz you know.

I loved her too! beautiful eyes

but someone reading stuff from wiki that I already know gets under my skin when I am trying to work...that was what the OMG was for.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

Well if your such Mr exciting then change the ****ing topic.

Or maybe you have **** all else to talk about as well.

Do i work with you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

There is not a single hardware store open after 9pm in Manhattan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Apolloyon

RichieC wrote: »
    There is not a single hardware store open after 9pm in Manhattan.

Be sure to let Monica know. In fact tell her repeatedly and with...

(BEAT)

...emphasis! I couldn't BE more happy for you!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭daddydick

I used to work with a guy on the Northside of Dublin City who would stand at the window and proclaim to the entire office which sort of plane was about to land in dublin airport, where it was coming from and what the flight number was. Jesus he was a boring individual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Does she have lots of highlighters and highlights everything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

I like to turn it back on them...
    make up the most boring story and talk in a monotone and watch as they get a dose of their own medicine.
    Just the look in their eyes as they glaze over and they desperately try to escape but no chance you boring bastards..I had to listen to your crappy story so you'll damn well listen to mine :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

I used to work with people in the public eye; some of them were "personalities".

I'd much rather work with the gritter guy any day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

ScumLord wrote: »

I can well understand how you wouldnt want damp gravel but the wrong colour???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭Funkfield

that is arse

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

People who don't shut the fúck up about their children.

FúCK OFF AND LEAVE ME ALONE!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Luxie

Thankfully I rarely speak to anyone here (much). It's how I roll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭this is arse

Luxie wrote: »
    Thankfully I rarely speak to anyone here (much). It's how I roll.

me too, i've only got one speed, Go fukk yourself...:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Luxie

me too, i've only got one speed, Go fukk yourself...:pac:

Some days I set myself a challenge not to speak to anyone whatsoever.

I'm feckin' furious when some poor unwitting gobshyte tries strike up a convo in the lift or wherever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Luxie wrote: »
    Some days I set myself a challenge not to speak to anyone whatsoever.

I'm feckin' furious when some poor unwitting gobshyte tries strike up a convo in the lift or wherever.

I actually walk up and down 4 flights of stairs every day just to avoid stuff like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

daddydick wrote: »
    I used to work with a guy on the Northside of Dublin City who would stand at the window and proclaim to the entire office which sort of plane was about to land in dublin airport, where it was coming from and what the flight number was. Jesus he was a boring individual.

Thats what you get for working in the air traffic control tower...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭clived2

Me too, all the fcukers read is Heat and the Star.

I take to the shitters and blow a frustrated sheet of peppery shite all over the gaff to relieve the tension.

I love it when one comes back in and says "jaysus ,some fcuker has blown his guts all over the toileh" " Behharh get dem bleedin' cleanars to sorh ih ouh wha"

"Fcuker must have a dose whah"

Breaks me up every time.

Bravo, Kudos to you sir.

Well I mean you really showed them... It is quite humorous to

think of the cleaners doing extra work because of your antics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Thats what you get for working in the air traffic control tower...

Not to mention he should have been following at on his computer screen rather than just out a window. So unprofessional.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

What kind of gravel do the Irish government import to grit the roads anyway?
    political gravel

Ev84 wrote: »
    ScumLord wrote: »
    InTheTrees wrote: »
    I can well understand how you wouldnt want damp gravel but the wrong colour???

He was joking mike ;) Damp gravel is no problem either, It can be dried out easily.