Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

opinion on mileage

• 23-03-2011 7:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40

hi all start back running in the morning after 2 weeks rest due to the minor calf injury,has anyone on here had this injury?it only happens when i increase my mileage up to 11 or 12 miles should i just start back at 5 mile again or go back to 8?kildare half is in 6 weeks.im not looking for medical advice just other peoples opinion or expieriences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Start with 5 miles and gradually increase to 8 miles over a number of days if there is no pain. The sudden increase in mileage is one of the reasons that runners get calf pains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 dodgyknees

cheers yflyer 5 miles tomorow followed by another 5 miler and then build on it from their ?i get this injury every year probably just have to live wiyh it..:confused:

I would hold back on the pace you would run these 5 mile runs. You'll probably be well rested and rearing to go. Gradually increase the distance you run and when comfortable at those distance(s), you can then increase the pace.

Keep well hydrated and do plenty of stretching exercises.

YFlyer wrote: »
    I would hold back on the pace you would run these 5 mile runs. You'll probably be well rested and rearing to go. Gradually increase the distance you run and when comfortable at those distance(s), you can then increase the pace.

Keep well hydrated and do plenty of stretching exercises.
    cheers yflyer i have been running this same route over 2 months now got this injury last year before the dublin half but did it anyway and was grand its just its always there in the background paranoid about it at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

I've had this calve trouble myself and you did the right thing by not running on it for two weeks. Have you had a look at this:

http://www.thestick.net/Articles/Calf_%20Heart_%20Attack.htm

I just follow this guys instructions, there spot on.

hi dodgyknee

Is that same route you run all the time on the road? If so, you should attempt to run on the grass and on offroad trails.

YFlyer wrote: »
    hi dodgyknee

Is that same route you run all the time on the road? If so, you should attempt to run on the grass and on offroad trails.
    no yflyer i used to run the roads upuntil this injury last year now i do 70% of my training on grass.

tunguska wrote: »
    I've had this calve trouble myself and you did the right thing by not running on it for two weeks. Have you had a look at this:

http://www.thestick.net/Articles/Calf_%20Heart_%20Attack.htm

I just follow this guys instructions, there spot on.
    finally someone knows what im talking about ,is this device available in ireland?thanks for your help tunguska..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Think I've this problem as well. Slight pull in the calf three weeks ago, stayed off for 2 weeks but calves were still tight. Did a small brick session and bang, calf goes again.

Will give the stick a go.

Presume cycling is fine while injured?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

dodgyknees wrote: »
    finally someone knows what im talking about ,is this device available in ireland?thanks for your help tunguska..

Absolutley. I know a lot of lads on here use the stick. I've seen it in various shops, I know runways on parnell street(dublin city)sell them.

nerraw1111 wrote: »
    Think I've this problem as well. Slight pull in the calf three weeks ago, stayed off for 2 weeks but calves were still tight. Did a small brick session and bang, calf goes again.

Will give the stick a go.

Presume cycling is fine while injured?
    id say cycling would be fine i have a crosstrainer and i use this for a week or 2 if i feel any twinge with the calf so cycling should be fine works for me anyway