Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what hurler would you buy?

• 22-03-2011 11:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭

what hurler would you transfer to your county if you could?

zxcvbnm12 wrote: »

Have to Michael Fennelly is a handful to deal with. Big strong powerful man and a class hurler. Other then him, Patrick Horgan has an edginess about him but the guy has also superb skills. Conal Keaney is quality. Eoin Larkin is a top quality and clean hurler who i have always admired. If you could bottle youth and give it to Ciaran Carey, John Fenton or Eddie Keher you'd gladly do it and not to forget DJ or Christy Ring.

EDIT: On reflection, Christy might need more then bottled youth :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭dirtyden

zxcvbnm12 wrote: »

Joe Canning

dirtyden wrote: »
    Joe Canning

oh yeah him too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Have to Michael Fennelly is a handful to deal with. Big strong powerful man and a class hurler.

Yeah, I think that he would be a huge addition to Galway if he were to "sign" for us. Another player I would like to see playing for Galway is Tipp's Brendan Maher - a very skillful hurler with probably his best yet to come (which is frightening when you think how good he was last year)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭pierrot

Kojak wrote: »
    Yeah, I think that he would be a huge addition to Galway if he were to "sign" for us. Another player I would like to see playing for Galway is Tipp's Brendan Maher - a very skillful hurler with probably his best yet to come (which is frightening when you think how good he was last year)

Maher's just broken a bone in his ankle in his front yard yesterday, out for three months :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Yeah, bad news for tipp alright. But he is still a class hurler who would be a serious addition to any team.

He'll be back by the time Tipp get to a Munster final or an All-ireland quarter final, if they go the qualifier route again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Screaminmidget

Any Of them!!! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

I'd take Eoin Larkin. Think he's a player who would bring a lot to the Galway team.

Outside of Galway I'm sure most counties wouldn't mind grabbing Joe Canning.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,195 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

I'd Take Joe Canning or else John Mullane. Padraig Maher would be right up there too,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Without doubt Cha. He's a great hurler and gets away with just enough to influence matches in KK's favour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Clare need a goalscorer (along with numerous other positions :() so i'd take Lar Corbett.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

A fullback so probably P. Maher of Tipp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

flahavaj wrote: »
    A fullback so probably P. Maher of Tipp.

Got there before me.

And a forward who can score points from play. Noel McGrath would do nicely :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭zxcvbnm12

it wud have to be tommy walsh for me.he has the whole lot.canning wud be a close second and third wud be a toss between mullane,corbett or the two eoin kellys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 xxgaaxx

lar corbrt :):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,507 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

I'd probably go with Noel McGrath, fantastic player. Joe Canning would be great either (minus a few of those extra pounds though)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Gael85

Tommy Walsh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Conal Keaney, or Dotsy O'Callaghan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

Henry Shefflin.

I don't think Kilkenny would have got all the all Irelands they have without him. Look at what happened them last year when he went off injured.

To stand out so much in a team of sublime hurlers shows the calibre of hurler he is. A class apart!

Canning a close second

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,195 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Not much point in buying him now, still out injured, you might get 2 good years out of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭JB81

Tommy Walsh and Joe Canning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

I'd buy a mended Ken McGrath.

But seriously I'd settle for a decent full back, not even a brilliant one, a decent one would do.

I always thought Waterford could have done a lot more if Sean Cullinane had been only about 20 years old in 1998.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭evillive

i'd make room in the Tipp team for the Sheff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

adrian522 wrote: »
    Not much point in buying him now, still out injured, you might get 2 good years out of him.

He'd do fine for us here in Limerick. Sure we need him for only the one game a year ha:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Sir Graball

deisedevil wrote: »
    I'd buy a mended Ken McGrath.

But seriously I'd settle for a decent full back, not even a brilliant one, a decent one would do.

I always thought Waterford could have done a lot more if Sean Cullinane had been only about 20 years old in 1998.

Waterford have potentially a great full-back in Noel Connors

Tommy Walsh would have to be top of transfer list

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

I'd rather die, but if he was a Tipp man I'd prob like him... Tommy Walsh.

If not Michael Fennelly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭deisedude

Waterford have potentially a great full-back in Noel Connors

Tommy Walsh would have to be top of transfer list

Connors is a great cornerback but lacks height to be an option for full back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭BOND747

Brick Walsh would do a job for any team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭jkbrackens11

BOND747 wrote: »
    Brick Walsh would do a job for any team

Until he has to mark Noel McGrath

BTW, don't see why everyone would want to buy Joe Canning. Has unreal ability but his influence last year means he still has to prove himself as a senior for me.

I'd have to agree. If i was to take one young forward at the moment it would be Noel McGrath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭MfMan

Careful, or you'll have the Galway Taliban on your case!

Was his first big Senior c'ship match v Cork not proof enough? Or his 3 club titles? Fitzgibbon Cup? U-21 AI medal? How many ways does a player have to prove himself at adult level? How many ways has Noel McGrath (for e.g. ) done this?

Conal Keaney is quality.
    vicwatson wrote: »
    Conal Keaney, or Dotsy O'Callaghan

Dear God, where are ye getting Conal Keaney from?.
    If he wasn't an Ex footballer with a rep nobody would even know who he was such were his performances this year(and afaik he's only in since this league)

Awful player who can't even take a free.

In a thread where you're talking players from ANY county he shouldn't even get a mention tbh, wondering is it because of his football rep and general lack of familiarity most have with the Dublin team.

If the thread was even ''who would you take from Dublin'' he'd be well down the list.

Liam Rushe is by far their best player, McCrabbe's free taking is up there with the best.

MfMan wrote: »

Was his first big Senior c'ship match v Cork not proof enough? Or his 3 club titles? Fitzgibbon Cup? U-21 AI medal? How many ways does a player have to prove himself at adult level? How many ways has Noel McGrath (for e.g. ) done this?

Both great hurlers but Noel Mcgrath has been more consistent at Senior Intercounty than Joe

If he wasn't an Ex footballer with a rep nobody would even know who he was such were his performances this year(and afaik he's only in since this league)

In a thread where you're talking players from ANY county he shouldn't even get a mention tbh, wondering is it because of his football rep and general lack of familiarity most have with the Dublin team.

If the thread was even ''who would you take from Dublin'' he'd be well down the list.

Liam Rushe is by far their best player, McCrabbe's free taking is up there with the best.

Have you watched any Dublin league games because it sounds like you havent. If you did you would see he has been a revelation for Dublin and was comfortably their best player against Tipperary and Waterford.

Granted he is nowhere near best hurler in Ireland but not many are and your remarks are very disparaging given his recent performances

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭MfMan

deisedude wrote: »
    Both great hurlers but Noel Mcgrath has been more consistent at Senior Intercounty than Joe

Again, perhaps debatable. No doubt that McGrath is a fine player, but I'm sure like all players, lesser seasons await. One thing about JC is that he may seem to be having a quiet game but when at the end of the match you total up his contribution it adds up to quite a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Id take up a new hobby if i was you, maybe something like stamp collecting might be more your pace???

He has been Dublins standout player in this years league campaign, Im assuming you only saw the Galway game where yes he uncharacteristically missed a few frees, but he had been sick all the week leading into that game and probably shouldnt have played. And no he didnt just start playing hurling this year :rolleyes: And btw I would have Gary Maguire and Joey Boland ahead of Liam Rushe as Dublins best player.

Again, perhaps debatable. No doubt that McGrath is a fine player, but I'm sure like all players, lesser seasons await.

Do you think he has peaked at 20??

On the other hand due to hes physical build and continous injuries it is very possible we have seen the best of Joe, I agree with you he has incredible power, accruacy and hands but he will struggle with he's feet. The list of achievements you named out are all incredible but they were all at a level that is just that fraction slower than inter-county senior hurling and its at this level he will struggle for pace and opposition defenders will be able to bottle him up, he will still be a very fine hurler but I dont think he will reach the legendary status.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭BOND747

Until he has to mark Noel McGrath
    If i wasn't from Tipp Noel Mcgrath would have been my pick too. Brendan Maher is another one that would be hot property if there was a transfer market

Id take up a new hobby if i was you, maybe something like stamp collecting might be more your pace???

He has been Dublins standout player in this years league campaign, Im assuming you only saw the Galway game where yes he uncharacteristically missed a few frees, but he had been sick all the week leading into that game and probably shouldnt have played. And no he didnt just start playing hurling this year :rolleyes: And btw I would have Gary Maguire and Joey Boland ahead of Liam Rushe as Dublins best player.

You're assuming wrong. I saw him in more then just the Galway game, and he was the same in each game.
    Missed **** loads of free's and hit loads of wides from play.
    He's no better then any of our half forward line who don't deserve mention in a best in the country thread.

I never said he started hurling this year.... I think it was quite clear I meant in relation to the county team :rolleyes:

Pretty sad then to try quash my Rushe suggestion at the end, you just have to have the better opinion in every sense, even though Rushe is by far and away their most skilful player.
    On the other hand due to hes physical build and continous injuries it is very possible we have seen the best of Joe, I agree with you he has incredible power, accruacy and hands but he will struggle with he's feet.

Maybe you should take up stamp collecting :rolleyes:

You try to big up a player who has had a few average league games scoring the bulk of his total because McCrabbe is injured, yet talk about JC like he hasn't even played at Senior even though he's into his 4th year now.

Ya sure what's power, aerial ability and accuracy worth :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

Awful player who can't even take a free..

Wrong. Keaney made a name for himself before he got near Dublin senior football team

Rushe is a little inconsistant and is not Dublins best player by a long shot. Boland, Gough, Hiney, Daire Plunkett and McGuire are all ahead of him
    deisedude wrote: »
    Have you watched any Dublin league games because it sounds like you havent. If you did you would see he has been a revelation for Dublin and was comfortably their best player against Tipperary and Waterford.

Granted he is nowhere near best hurler in Ireland but not many are and your remarks are very disparaging given his recent performances

He has been Dublins standout player in this years league campaign, :rolleyes: And btw I would have Gary Maguire and Joey Boland ahead of Liam Rushe as Dublins best player.

Agree. Average players dont do what he done in the league. He missed a few frees against Galway but I have yet to see any top player not to have an off day. I always felt that Keaney, David Henry and Shane Ryan should have stuck with Hurling.
    Keaney has been outstanding for Ballyboden even while playing Intercounty football. His touch is getting better and while he might not be the classiest player in Ireland he is a very effective player within the Dublin squad and hopefully this year will see make a big contribution as Dublin push for a breakthrough and beat a top side in championship hurling, (Cork, Tipp, K.K, Galway, Waterford)

Back on topic. I would love to see someone like Tommy Walsh play for DubliN, and in case he was feeling a bit lonely I would bring up Cha Fitz for a bit of company

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

Richie Power for me...surprised he hasn't been mentioned already

So one championship match is enough to prove someone nowadays? Get real.

Senior inter-county performances is where the top players are judged on. Joe has unreal ability but yet to prove himself for me.

McGrath has proven over the last 2 years that he can perform. His ability and vision is ridiculous and has terrorised many an established player with far more experience.

He also showed serious form for his own club in 07 when they won the Munster final and lost out to Portumna in the AI semi and scored 2 goals that day also. He also has 2 minors and an u-21 All-Ireland.

At the minute there are quite a few players ahead of 'Big Joe'.

Again, perhaps debatable. No doubt that McGrath is a fine player, but I'm sure like all players, lesser seasons await. One thing about JC is that he may seem to be having a quiet game but when at the end of the match you total up his contribution it adds up to quite a lot.

Wasn't adding upto a whole lot last year when Farragher was hitting the frees for Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,507 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

At the minute there are quite a few players ahead of 'Big Joe'.

So, who would you buy for your county? :)

It would probably be Tommy Walsh.

A half back line of Walsh, O Mahoney, P Maher would be unstoppable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭BnB

I'd probably go with Noel McGrath, fantastic player. Joe Canning would be great either (minus a few of those extra pounds though)
    Agreed - Without a remote shadow of a doubt, I'd buy Noel McGrath.

He has it all, skill, bravery, vision, a natural forward.... and most importantly compared to a lot of players mentioned in this thread..... youth..!!!! All going well, 10+ years of quality hurling ahead of him.

If hurling was professional, a player of his age, who has already proved himself on the big stage, would be priceless. Skoda would have to be shiftin' a quare load of Octavias for Tipp to hold onto him.

My second choice would be Tommy Walsh. Absolute Class Act - Still only 27 years of age.

You're assuming wrong. I saw him in more then just the Galway game, and he was the same in each game.
    Missed **** loads of free's and hit loads of wides from play.

He's no better then any of our half forward line who don't deserve mention in a best in the country thread.

I never said he started hurling this year.... I think it was quite clear I meant in relation to the county team :rolleyes:

Pretty sad then to try quash my Rushe suggestion at the end, you just have to have the better opinion in every sense, even though Rushe is by far and away their most skilful player.

Maybe you should take up stamp collecting :rolleyes:

You try to big up a player who has had a few average league games scoring the bulk of his total because McCrabbe is injured, yet talk about JC like he hasn't even played at Senior even though he's into his 4th year now.

Ya sure what's power, aerial ability and accuracy worth :rolleyes:

The part in bold is a lie and id check my stats if I was you, he is by far and away Dublins top scorer this year with double what Ryan O Dwyer, the second highest has scored.

What has Rushe been the most skillfull, in your opinion, got to do with anything, there is more to Hurling than been skillfull, I would say that Pa Burke is the most skillfull hurler I have ever seen and he has yet to start a championship match for Tipp. Whereas 'Bonner' Maher has zero skill but was hugely important in Tipp winnning last years AI.

You are discounting what Keaney scores from frees but you dont seem to apply the seem criteria to JC, and 4 years?? Hasnt hurled this year, was shocking last year and got one of the softest All stars ever in he's second year, he's not even the best hurler in he's own family to be honest.

The part in bold is a lie and id check my stats if I was you, he is by far and away Dublins top scorer this year with double what Ryan O Dwyer, the second highest has scored.

Well you obviously have, you link the source so as I can't find any stats online. But from memory he missed a good few free's and hit a few wides from play.

Off course he's top scorer, he's the free taker ffs... and not a very good one either.
    What has Rushe been the most skillfull, in your opinion, got to do with anything, there is more to Hurling than been skillfull, I would say that Pa Burke is the most skillfull hurler I have ever seen and he has yet to start a championship match for Tipp. Whereas 'Bonner' Maher has zero skill but was hugely important in Tipp winnning last years AI.

It's got everything to do with it, why do people say Messi is the best player in the world?... hardly for his defensive skills :rolleyes:
    Being a good defender in any sport is more about reading the game, bravery, anticipation.
    But to be a good attacker you need a lot more. Nobody dreams of being a defender when they're growing up.

Most skillful hurler ever and he's yet to play senior... you really do overly love the Tipp players.
    Unsurprising how Canning who has won all bar the senior county at the age of 23 and who nearly single handedly beat Cork has more to prove then a young Tipp player and an ex-footballer unproven at even a Leinster final.

You are discounting what Keaney scores from frees but you dont seem to apply the seem criteria to JC, and 4 years?? Hasnt hurled this year, was shocking last year and got one of the softest All stars ever in he's second year, he's not even the best hurler in he's own family to be honest.

For starters I'm discounting Keaney purely in terms of ''One of the best in the land'', if you think a comparison between him and JC is even worth considering you're not worth arguing with.
    On free taking ability alone it's a no contest and that's all stars and medals aside.

This year?... the championship hasn't even begun, leagues count for nothing.

To say Canning is one of the greats is premature and I've always agreed with that.
    But to say Canning has something to prove at Senior is down right stupid and thankfully you're not giving out the All stars(a Tipp 1-15 I'd imagine).... but sadly you're not picking the Tipp team :(

Most skillful hurler ever and he's yet to play senior... you really do overly love the Tipp players.
    Unsurprising how Canning who has won all bar the senior county at the age of 23 and who nearly single handedly beat Cork has more to prove then a young Tipp player and an ex-footballer unproven at even a Leinster final.

But to say Canning has something to prove at Senior is down right stupid and thankfully you're not giving out the All stars(a Tipp 1-15 I'd imagine).... but sadly you're not picking the Tipp team :(

I'd agree that Pa Bourke is more than likely the most skillful player on the panel. He may not start this year but a very good play and many players on the panel have said he has the best touch and greatest skill of them all.

You think Canning has nothing to prove? Would you be happy with the performances he put in last year to continue for his career?