Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The moriarty report: Findings reveal massive corruption

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭yosemite_sam

There will be no prosecutions out of this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

I have a few questions on this (looked in Politics, cant see a topic)

1, How much did this sh!t cost
    2, What is the point of it now 14 years later

So the second mobile phone licence granted in Ireland was bogus. Does the cost of the tribunal justify this apparently irreversible fact....

? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

Nothing will happen to any of them.

Oh and wtf is the point of COMREG ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭invinciblePRSTV

So the second mobile phone licence granted in Ireland was bogus. Does the cost of the tribunal justify this apparently irreversible fact....

Hi Michael! say hello to Denis & Ben for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

Talk of the other mobile phone operators suing the state over loss of revenue. Could cost the state another few hundred million.

Ha....I had to wiki Micheal Lowry......about 10 minutes ago.

I want to know if this issue was of importance how the fcuk did it take 14 years and millions of taxpayers money to investigate?

And are ESAT even around anymore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭.E_C_K_S.

The time to complete and the cost of this report is just shocking. Cannot wait to leave this country and I feel sorry for others who can't for whatever reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Pretty disgusting behaviour. I hope he resigns or is sacked (don't know if that's really possible) from the Dail, and receives full criminal proceedings against him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

All large trials and legal proceedings ( Im aware this was not a trial) cost money. The only way this is going to be a waste is if the result of the findings isnt acted on. The state is going to be fined for the unlawful awarding of a telecommunications liscence. People need to be put on trial for this.

Because of this our reputation as a place of business has been tarnished. It will be further in the gutter if the people involved are not punished and the the system that fostered it remains the same.

Ha....I had to wiki Micheal Lowry......about 10 minutes ago.

I want to know if this issue was of importance how the fcuk did it take 14 years and millions of taxpayers money to investigate?

And are ESAT even around anymore?

cheap thrills taxpayers money isnt the only knock on effect this has. It will strongly influence peoples decision wheter or not to invest here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

The time to complete and the cost of this report is just shocking.

The cost is astronomical alright. Reading here on the RTÉ website that it would've been finished sooner had Charlie not been ill at the turn of the century.

Yeh, what depresses me even more though is that if the tribunals themselves were investigated I'll bet they were wasteful and corrupt inefficient as well :mad:

There should have been a reasonable timeframe for the investigation. The fact that it ran on for 14 years is outrageous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

The ones damned will be asking for a tribunal to be set up to look into Moriarty's handling of the tribunal, as they're all denying the findings. A feckin joke.

Also note the fact that the parties involved delayed the enquiry to a large degree thus adding greatly to the cost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Surely the unsuccesful applicants for the mobile phone licence can now bring a massive claim against the state ?
    steddyeddy wrote: »
    Hopefully prosecutions will follow. The law here in meaningless unless this is followed up.

Why should petty thieves be in jail if criminals like this can walk free?

Hardly the cops have bigger priorities. Like investigating some bloke who the tabloids reckon is growing his own dope.

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Surely the unsuccesful applicants for the mobile phone licence can now bring a massive claim against the state ?

Well spotted! They can can indeed. The state will also be facing a massive fine for this.
    Hardly the cops have bigger priorities. Like investigating some bloke who the tabloids reckon is growing his own dope.

Yes its quite the joke isnt it.

Denis O'Brien on the RTE news now :mad:

he had a Slight freudien slip for a second "I paid micheal lowry"

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0322/moriarty_background.html

How esat secured there liscence. Imagine if your a company executive reading this thinking about putting in a bid for a liscence from the state!

he had a Slight freudien slip for a second "I paid micheal lowry"

Noticed that too.

He looked stressed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

i'll tell you exactly what will happen

Lowry will get even more popular in Tipperary, his corruption has been known about for a long time yet he gets more and more popular

the inbred moron locals think it's the big bad Dublin media trying to smear their local hero and he becomes a martyr figure as he promises to fix the local potholes or get extra revenues for farmers

as long as people like that continue to vote for people like Lowry we get exactly the politicans we deserve

Mike 1972 wrote: »

They should be looking into all members of High society equally:P.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

The MoriorioriOARYoarioaroarioarioarihoaryoaryoriorioriarioriariariarty tribunal has finally come up with something?

About time. Those involved likely to die of old age one of these days, after the lawyers rake in another few million for themselves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

The people of Tipperary voted the guy in. What does that tell you about Irish politics. We are up there with the likes of Italy and Greece when it comes to the brown envelopes.

Also alot of what the Judge has stated is conjecture and you can be sure if a witness was giving evidence in his court he himself would not allow it. This has been the biggest waste of tax payers money since the voting machines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

http://www.thejournal.ie/tribunal-labels-lowry-an-insidious-and-pervasive-influence-on-esat-bidding-process-2011-03/

Hopefully prosecutions will follow. The law here in meaningless unless this is followed up.

Why should petty thieves be in jail if criminals like this can walk free?

Edit: http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0322/moriarty_background.html#video

Heres the video

the moriarty f**xing tribunal, lol

costing the tax payer about 100 trillion euro.. what a load of c0ck.

I remember this shoite was on the news and sad ass judges walking into court with 2 tonnes of, erm. tribunal documents..

only in Ireland....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

donfers wrote: »
    the inbred moron locals think it's the big bad Dublin media trying to smear their local hero and he becomes a martyr figure as he promises to fix the local potholes or get extra revenues for farmers

Inbred morons eh?

Bertie Ahern
    Charlie Haughey
    etc etc....yada yada

Dublin has more of their fair share of politicans with questionable ethics.. i dont see why you decide to now think because this man was elected in a rural area it becomes a rural problem - which by default leads to them being inbred

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Jonniealan

Well lets not make this a Dublin Vs Country thing these greedy self serving munkies exist in all parts of the Island, it is depressing when you here people still praising them on the news though. You cant help thinking that the Country will never change when people still find this sh*te exceptable.

That old bloke prasing him on the news had obviuosly sh*te for brains though ( and yes he has a Dublin counterpart no doubt )

I'd say thats teh nail in the coffin for that casino complex lawrey was involved in ( in a non profit capacity of course )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 825 ✭✭✭macroboy

all i know is the people of ireland are the fools..
    i heard apile of them ringing joe duffy today defending ben dunne..
    it was a horror of a show..ended by ben dunne saying sure whats wrong with making a few phonecalls..i have done it b4 to get people brain operations and the like...its not what you know joe its who you know..
    this was
    said ..without being challenged..and the show ended.

an utter disgrace..and most people were backing him up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

donfers wrote: »
    i'll tell you exactly what will happen

Lowry will get even more popular in Tipperary, his corruption has been known about for a long time yet he gets more and more popular

as long as people like that continue to vote for people like Lowry we get exactly the politicans we deserve

I didnt need to findings of the Moriarty Tribunal to know that Lowry was corrupt during his time as a Fine Gael minister, I suspect most of North Tipp didnt either.

Most people in Ireland probably voted for someone that was corrupt, the difference is that who they voted for wasnt caught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Can somebody please teach me something. What happened? Heard of Lowry. What did he do? What is it all about?

Basically a judge and his cronies have milked Ireland over the past 13-14 years to the reported sum of €150,000,000.00 to confirm what we already knew about Charles Haughey and Michael Lowery. Yet people are getting hot under the collar about a few hundred grand paid to these two politicians by private individuals while happy enough to pay the bigger crooks the people who have run this meaningless tribunal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

How corrupt was haughey?
    How corrupt was lowry?

How does it tie in here with this tribunal.

I think i need a history lesson on irish politics.

ilovesleep wrote: »
    How corrupt was haughey?
    How corrupt was lowry?

How does it tie in here with this tribunal.

I think i need a history lesson on irish politics.

Very

Very

Tribunal set up 13-14 years ago to tell us what we already knew. The tribunal has no legal standing and is full of conjuncture by the Judge with alot of assumptions on conversations between different parties. A cheaper and more effect method would have been to have CAB investigation and a proper prosecution in a court. This of course will not happen as we do not like prosecuting out politicians.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Ilovesleep wrote: »
    Can somebody please teach me something. What happened? Heard of Lowry. What did he do? What is it all about?

:DMarcus Burnett (Martin Lawrence) and Mike Lowrey (Will Smith) are best friends and detectives in the narcotics division of the Miami-Dade Police Department. One night, $100 million of seized heroin is stolen from a secure police vault. This is a major blow to Burnett and Lowrey, because it was the biggest drug bust of their careers. Internal Affairs warns Miami PD that if they do not recover the drugs in five days the narcotics division will be shut down.
    One thief, a former cop named Eddie Domínguez, is found dead at a hotel suite, shot to death by his boss, French drug kingpin Fouchet. Fouchet also kills an escort, Maxine "Max" Logan, who was hired by Eddie. It is revealed that she is also one of Lowery's ex-girlfriends and one of his major informants. The only witness to the crime is Max's best friend Julie Mott (Téa Leoni), who watched the crime from the upper balcony of the suite,

That's our Micheal lowry, think there's a sequel:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭James Forde

I keep thinking this says "The minority report"

bryanjf wrote: »
    I keep thinking this says "The minority report"

At least that one made a profit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭mankteln

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/images/2010/0927/1224279760768_1.jpg
    What a crook. I hope they ****ing suffocate him with that cake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Well ask the next FF rep you dump into.
    They allowed (WANTED TO) have this drag on as long as possible I suspect do they anyone involved with FF and any of their mates, could get away with as much as possible.

Of that I have NO doubt whatsoever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Happyman42 wrote: »

The difference is were Irish.....except for our bank accounts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Blobby George

Biggins wrote: »
    They allowed (WANTED TO) have this drag on as long as possible I suspect do they anyone involved with FF and any of their mates, could get away with as much as possible.

You haven't a clue what you're talking about.

LoL Go away troll.
    Yes, I know nothing about Fianna Fail. Not a clue.

Lol Go away troll.
    Yes, I know nothing about Fianna Fali. Not a clue.

Good lad. Someone refutes your point and you call troll. The classic shallow argument response. Carry on your crusade there and stock up on the tinfoil hats.

At least I bother my arse to do my research, protest against them, set-up a website, tackle them on Radio, TV and the nations press - and all as you would do, is have everyone here think, I do it as a person that don't have a clue!

I think we know know who's talking out of their arse. Keep talking please, your doing so well.

PS> If YOUR first response is just to insult and say (PRIOR to my additional comment) on someone's thoughts, that they don't have a clue. you really laid out a rhetoric structure to your many points! :rolleyes:

At least I bother my arse to do my research, protest against them, set-up a website, tackle them on Radio, TV and the nations press - and all as you would do, is have everyone here think, I do it as a person that don't have a clue!
    I think we know know who's talking out of their arse. Keep talking please, your doing so well.

Are you from Arkansaw? Anyway have you read the full report and have you followed the story closely or is this just another swipe at FF. Further, Lowry is an ex FG man, so what's your point exactly?

Well if you bothered to do your research, the limitation of what could be investigated were set down and structured so that the tribunal could only go where FF wanted them to go (reluctantly even then...).
    even then when things got to close to home, they drew the investigations even in closer and tighten their limit areas of investigation again!

...But hey, I bothered my arse to not just read the official state documents but other materials, reports, historical records and books written that, if one bothered also their arse, are easily available at your nearest Easons alone!

...Too much like hard work?

Well ask the next FF rep you dump into.

Do you know it actually crossed my mind that FF might be behind the timing of this. Pretty fortuitous isn't it!

A nice little ticking time bomb which detonates right as FG get inton power.

Business as usual in Irish politics....it fcuking stinks to high heaven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Well if you bothered to do your research, the limitation of what could be investigated were set down and structured so that the tribunal could only go where FF wanted them to go (reluctantly even then...).
    even then when things got to close to home, they drew the investigations even in closer and tighten their limit areas of investigation.

...But hey, I bothered my arse to not just read the official state documents but other materials, reports, historical records and books written that, if one bothered also their arse, are easily available at your nearest Easons alone!

...Too much like hard work?

It took the tribunal 14 years & €150m to reach a conclusion, i think the constraints placed on the tribunal were merited since it was taking the piss.

Why dont you focus on the outcome of the investigation rather than trying to turn this into a Fianna Fail bashing exercise?

What is really annoying me is what John Bruton did with the £50,000 and pretended like nothing happened until he and FG were pulled on it.

Do you know it actually crossed my mind that FF might be behind the timing of this. Pretty fortuitous isn't it!

A nice little ticking time bomb which detonates right as FG get inton power.

Business as usual in Irish politics....it fcuking stinks to high heaven.
    Well the report couldn't be stalled any longer once FF were really booted out, could it?

Its not just ONE person that is involved with it - and thats the point clearly missed with someone here.
    For a person to get away with what they did, they used modes of operation that were systemic and they had been using too, growing in corruption and powers for years. The question them arises why was such practises allowed and/or not curtailed forcefully - and who had most to gain!
    Lowry didn't walk into a bank and shout "Stick your hands up" or such like on his own.
    He utilised twists in the laws that were pre-existing and with the use of his mates, apparently from all sides, using a system that FF set-up (surprise!), to abuse the state and the people.
    Now Lowery by far was NOT on his own - he was just the unfortunate just to get caught this time! The proverbial escape-goat!
    Many books have been written so far about others that should be held up to such high - if not higher - investigation.
    Will we see that happen? I seriously doubt it. FF when to comes to some things, do it well.
    Sadly the things that they do well, is setting up systems that are very open to corruption.

Coincidence every time? :rolleyes: