Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[Have Your Say] Boardsie PSN games nights

• 22-03-2011 6:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,761 ✭✭✭GothPunk

I've been thinking lately that it would be fun to set up a Boardsie PSN game night - there are plenty of Boardsies on the PSN every night, and many of us have a similar games library. I have many games that I don't play as often now but were a helluva lot of fun to play with my fellow Boardsies when the games were closer to their respective launches. It's natural for us to move on to the 'Next big thing' every so often... but let's not forget those gems we used to play together!

Many other forums have themed nights for their PSN community, so I would like it if people could post what games they would like for us all to play on particular themed nights. Would you like a MAG Monday? BFBC2 Tuesday? ... etc. This way you'll know at least one night a week you can jump on with some fellow Boardsies, or at least PSN message someone and know they're likely to play that game with you.

Post your on ideas if you have them! :pac:

==============================================================================================

Mod edit: Putting list of names in OP, easiest place to find and update

The list is as up to date as I can make it - Some PSN names I don't know.
    Boards name followed by PSN name.
    Where there is only one name, their boards and PSN names are the same.

1. Gothpunk
    2. PaddyBomb
    3. Grumpypants - Bubs78
    4. Kearneybobs - briankearon666
    5. F1ngers - Narnin
    6. WolfForager
    7. Desire - PSN??
    8. Beefy78
    9. That_Guy - That_Guy2799
    10. Klair88
    11. tonydude - Phoniexknight
    12. opcowner2007 - denny_mc
    13. johnny_ultimate
    14. NotorietyH
    15. Peadar_Rua
    16. RedXIV - redxiv2
    17. AIR-AUSSIE - jebuslives
    18. decnug
    19. Varik - Dreadaxe
    20. weiland79
    21. eddhorse - thorn19
    22. mrm - mraphex
    23. Nerdkiller1991 - Nerdkiller316PSN
    24. Grayditch - Snorkledork
    25. guil - guil07
    26. T-b0n3 - Adam-88-S
    27. MitchKoobski
    28. sheehy83
    29. aaronh007 - genisis87
    30. Sephiroth_dude - sephirothdude
    31. Clover - Rubber_Matt
    32. Korvanica
    33. BArra - Griefa
    34. leemurta
    34. penev10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭PaddyBomb

As I said in the other thread, really great idea Goth :). I've played in a few themed nights on the English PlayStation forums and they're great craic.

I'm just going to make a list of the games I have that have online and could work out. Obviously if no one else has them, we can't use them.
      Killzone 3
      CoD: Black Ops
      LBP2
      FIFA 11
      Red Dead Redemption
      ModNation Racers
      BF: BC2
      MAG
      Uncharted 2

Maybe we could even have a certain day where we could go onto a game over 2 years old and play it like Killzone 2, Metal Gear Online, Socom Confrontation, GTA IV, Rainbow Six, etc.

There's a few PSN games that we could have tournaments on too if enough people have them. Worms, Hustle Kings, etc.

Looking forward to this, lads :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,084 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

Yea great idea, im finished college in 3 weeks and will be hoping to be getting in many's a solid night gaming. Will be on also in the next 3 weeks but just cant guarantee any night.

Crysis 2
    Killzone 3
    MAG
    Need For Speed Shift 2

Should all be options from Friday on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,923 ✭✭✭kearneybobs

Great idea Goth.
    • Killzone 3
    • MAG (willing to repurchase it since I traded it in ages ago after playing it for months.) And the digital version is on special offer right now on PSN
    • Assassin's Creed 2:Brotherhood
    • Uncharted 2

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,681 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

GothPunk wrote: »
    Many other forums have themed nights for their PSN community, so I would like it if people could post what games they would like for us all to play on particular themed nights. Would you like a MAG Monday? BFBC2 Tuesday? ... etc. This way you'll know at least one night a week you can jump on with some fellow Boardsies, or at least PSN message someone and know they're likely to play that game with you.

Post your on ideas if you have them! :pac:

Good idea. :D

CoD: Black Ops
    Red Dead Redemption
    BF: BC2
    MAG
    Uncharted 2
    Dead Space 2
    PaddyBomb wrote: »
    Maybe we could even have a certain day where we could go onto a game over 2 years old and play it like Killzone 2, Metal Gear Online, GTA IV, etc.

Haven't played MGO in a while.
    Stealth DM was a bit of a laugh.:D
    Have KZ2 and have never played it..:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,532 ✭✭✭WolfForager

Uncharted 2
    BFBC 2
    MAG
    Killzone 3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Desire.

Great idea! I only have Fifa 11 and Black Ops though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

Anyone got Warhawk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

I'm in. :) Good idea Punk.

That_Guy wrote: »
    I'm in. :) Good idea Punk.
    Might be a good idea to list the games that you have/want to play online, seeing as nothing is set in stone as to which games are going to be played.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭Klair88

anyone play guitar hero or rockband?! i have the drums and guitar and can never play online with anyone, can do expert on guitar and hard on drums

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,761 ✭✭✭GothPunk

I'd also like your opinion on the inclusion of newer games in these 'Games nights'. I see people have listed COD:BO and Fifa 11 - these games are both the biggest selling games of 2010, and also have their own sub-forums on Boards. I feel like we shouldn't include these games as my aim was to provide a way for people to play games that no-one else plays anymore - whereas it's pretty easy to find someone to play COD:BO with.

On the other hand though, I would like these games nights to be a good way to strengthen the community here so I don't want to exclude people by excluding the only games they have from the nights. Maybe a good way around it is to have a 'new games' night on Friday or Saturday where we all get together and play the newest game? I get the feeling though that we would probably all be online and play it together anyways?

Maybe I'm taking this all too seriously but I just want to make sure we include as many people and as many games as we can, but still retain a nice structure to it.

Seeing as how people are listing a lot of games, perhaps we should pair games together? Monday could be MAG and Red Dead Redemption, Tuesday Killzone 2 and Uncharted 2 and so on? Looking at everyone's games, I don't think we could only have 7 games a week, but 14 games a week might work? Here's an example of what I mean:

Day|Games
    Monday | MAG/Red Dead Redemption
    Tuesday | Assassin's Creed Brotherhood/Uncharted 2
    Wednesday | Warhawk/Burnout Paradise
    Thursday | Gran Turismo 5/BFBC2/Rock Band
    Friday | New release/COD:BO or MW2
    Saturday | Killzone 3/Modnation Racers
    Sunday | Killzone 2 or MGO etc/LBP(2)

Perhaps it makes more sense to have each list change every month, or every two months, and only include 7 games for that month? My reasoning for this would be that some games are difficult to get back into or get good at, so we might like more time to get good at the game (e.g. Warhawk). We'll also need to prune games from the list that become less popular or people feel that they would prefer to play a different game on that day from now on. We could get people to vote via poll or in the thread what they want the next game to be.
    Maybe we could even have a certain day where we could go onto a game over 2 years old and play it like Killzone 2, Metal Gear Online, Socom Confrontation, GTA IV, Rainbow Six, etc.
    Sound! These are the sort of games that I hope get represented. We could have an 'Oldie' night or something, and choose an older game to play, and maybe a different one every week, month or something like that?
    There's a few PSN games that we could have tournaments on too if enough people have them. Worms, Hustle Kings, etc.
    I think a good idea might be to encourage people to play a PSN game before or after a few rounds of MAG etc? I know I like to cool down after an intense few matches by playing something a bit more 'simple' - Worms or PixelJunk Shooter 2 and games like that would fit that bill.

I'm all for a Worms tourney anyways, as I know I will kick all of your butts! :pac:

I think a good idea might be to encourage people to play a PSN game before or after a few rounds of MAG etc? I know I like to cool down after an intense few matches by playing something a bit more 'simple' - Worms or PixelJunk Shooter 2 and games like that would fit that bill.

I'm all for a Worms tourney anyways, as I know I will kick all of your butts! :pac:

Bomberman.

Beefy78 wrote: »
    Bomberman.

They don't call me PaddyBomb for nothing. Excellent download for the PSN if anyone hasn't got it.

That looks really good Goth. Maybe we could start off with MAG or BF:BC2 as a few of us have it and then when more people start joining in get the other games involved in the week?

I'm posting the games I would like to play in a separate post as the above post is already a monster read. :P
    • Killzone 2/3
    • Uncharted 2
    • Dead Space 2
    • Burnout Paradise
    • Gran Turismo 5
    • Warhawk
    • Red Dead Redemption
    • Dead Nation
    • Fat Princess
    • GTA IV
    • MAG
    • Medal of Honor
    • Motorstorm Pacific Rift
    • Peggle
    • PixelJunk Shooter 2
    • LBP/LBP2
    • Tetris
    • Worms/Worms 2 Armageddon
    • WipEout HD

That's not all the games I have but I doubt anyone wants to play White Knight Chronicles, Spelunker HD or Lead and Gold with me. :pac:
    Beefy78 wrote: »
    Bomberman.
    I didn't even know Bomberman was on the PSN store. Is it any good? (By which I mean that version - I mean come on, it's Bomberman!)

I didn't even know Bomberman was on the PSN store. Is it any good?

I've only played it a couple of times but it's Bomberman and is therefore great. I've not had any problems getting an online game which is the main thing with a game like that (ie it isn't a one player game obviously)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,532 ✭✭✭WolfForager

Never played GTA or RDR online, sorta intimidated to start now! Playing with ye lovable louts will probably be the best way to start :D

I'm not a massive online gamer but I really enjoyed GTA and RDR online. The free play element of both allows you to get some practice in before anything too serious.

I'm well up for 'Posseing Up' in RDR!

Just after (re)purchasing MAG on PSN for the grand total of €15 in preparation of this.
    Not too sure if I want any of the DLC/packs. Hmmm. Any recommendations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭tonydude

Just after (re)purchasing MAG on PSN for the grand total of €15 in preparation of this.
    Not too sure if I want any of the DLC/packs. Hmmm. Any recommendations?

Has it improved any bit, i didnt like the game play and couldnt really get into it which is a first for me , €15 is a gud price though

Ive the following to play
    Killzone 2 & 3
    Resistance 1 & 2
    Red Faction
    Gran turismo 5
    Battlefield Bad company 2
    Black Ops
    Red Dead
    GTA4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭_DMac_

hey guys

first time posting in the ps3 boards section. i have had a ps3 for years and never really bothered using it online. using it a as media center mostly. anywho the op sounds like a great idea so if ye wouldn't mind i would like to jump into a few games with ye and see what the craic is like :)

i have the following:
    mag
    Socom Confrontation
    Blops
    MW2
    medal of honor
    gta4
    r6v2
    Killzone 2

i have others as well but they arre all i can put my hands on at the mo. psn is denny_mc

chat ye later :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

May as well stick my PSN and list of games up.

PSN: That_Guy2799

Games:

Resistance 2
    Call Of Duty: Black Ops
    Gran Turismo 5
    Homefront
    FIFA 11
    MAG
    Killzone 2 (3 is on its way in the post... I hope ;))
    Madden NFL 11
    Fight Night Champion
    Hustle Kings (I think that has online....)

Soon to have Crysis 2 also.

EDIT: I suck at online games. I'm just there for the banter. :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,019 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Don't have many PS3 shooters (*insert 'very-unPSmod statement about how the DualShock is awful for such things' here*) but would be up for some boards evenings on the games I do have. LBP2 ones particularly - have neglected that a little! Also, Portal 2 co-op in April would be great, although I am only getting the PS3 version because it comes with a free Mac copy :P

I'm getting the PS3 version, as I really wnat it on PC, but it'll be nice to have it on PS3 too.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,019 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

I'm getting the PS3 version, as I really wnat it on PC, but it'll be nice to have it on PS3 too.

Considering it is going for 49.99 on Steam for the download copy alone, I think it only makes sense to get the PS3 version if you can!

Is MAG worth the 15 euro while it's on sale actually? Always been a bit weary about it for some reason...

I really enjoyed MAG all those months ago when I first picked it up. Can become quite the clusterf*ck at times but enjoyable. I traded it in all those months ago when it was getting really busy with loads of games coming out fast so I decided to get a good bit of trade-in value for it while I could.
    At that price I think it's definitely worth it.
    I have heard that a lot of the patches that were released in the mean time since I traded it in have really made the game even better.

Since you're not a major fan of FPSs with the Dual Shock I'm not quite sure if it's up your alley though.
    There is a trial (4Gb download) that you can download that basically allows you to play the game up to level 5/8, I think. See if you like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,509 ✭✭✭NotorietyH

Sounds good! Have pretty much all the games GothPunk listed aboveand would add most of em to my list.

I'll add Bad Company 2 to my list,

I'll be picking up Crysis on Friday and the SOCOM beta is pretty fun too so I imagine I'll be adding that to my list too. Portal 2 co-op is another possibility. I suppose my preferred list would be

Assassin's Creed Brotherhood
    Bad Company 2
    Killzone 3
    Crysis 2
    MAG
    SOCOM beta
    Rock Band 3
    Marvel Vs Capcom 3
    Need For Speed Hot Pursuit

There's probably a few I'm forgetting too!

Just picked up a set of TurtleBeach PX5s so itching to try them out onine now after being on a bit of singleplayer spree lately! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭Peadar_Rua

Im in 100%

Suggestions are

AC Brotherhood
    NFS Hot Pursuit
    Burnout Paradise
    Wipeout HD
    Gran Turismo 5
    Blops
    Killzone 3
    Killzone 2
    PES 2011
    Street Fighter IV
    Marvel V Capcom 3
    Resident Evil 5
    Dead Space 2
    GTA IV
    RDR

So what is the next step, will the suggestions be tabulated and some sort of a roster posted?

Peadar_Rua.png

Peadar_Rua wrote: »
    Im in 100%

Suggestions are

AC Brotherhood
    NFS Hot Pursuit
    Burnout Paradise
    Wipeout HD
    Gran Turismo 5
    Blops
    Killzone 3
    Killzone 2
    PES 2011
    Street Fighter IV
    Marvel V Capcom 3
    Resident Evil 5
    Dead Space 2
    GTA IV
    RDR

So what is the next step, will the suggestions be tabulated and some sort of a roster posted?

Oh yeah, add Marvel Vs Capcom 3 and Need For Speed to my list too!

Peadar_Rua wrote: »
    Don't worry, I have Excel and I'm not afraid to use it! What I've done is make up a simple table with how many mentions a game has - so when a person listed that game or mentioned it as something they wanted to play, it received one vote. (So if you're reading this and haven't posted, hit that 'Post Reply' button and let us all know what you want to play!) I haven't counted my own posts as I don't want to bias it with games I have. Based on that list, the most popular 9 games in descending order are MAG, KZ3, COD:BO, BF:BC2 and Red Dead. Uncharted 2, Killzone 2, GTAIV and Assassin's Creed Brotherhood are next, all share the same amount of votes. If I exclude KZ3 and COD:BO based on their popularity/new release status, we have 7 games to start off with.

However, I think PaddyBomb's suggestion that we start off with just a few games and then build from there would be best - once this gets going we can add more games and decide how we want to do it. So maybe we can start with MAG, BFBC2 and Red Dead? (This may mean me purchasing BFBC2 :pac:). Sunday, Monday and Wednesday to start? 8-11PM?

Eventually I want to work in more old games than new, and not just have shooters represented. But we have to start somewhere!
    hey guys
    Thanks for posting opcowner, I was hoping that we would get some Boardsies like yourself who haven't played with the PlayStation forum regulars before. It's much more fun playing with a group of similarly minded people!

I haven't counted my own posts as I don't want to bias it with games I have.
    Eh, your vote is as valid as ours Goth. Throw your votes in there.

Edit: Goth. Your friends list is full :(

with MAG, BFBC2 and Red Dead? (This may mean me purchasing BFBC2 :pac:). Sunday, Monday and Wednesday to start? 8-11PM?

Sounds good to me. If it gets you to pick up battlefield I'm all for it! Those nights are the nights that suit me best too. I sold my copy of Red Dead, but I'm all for the other 2. Playing Socom beta made me want to try MAG again.

It would also be handy for people to add their PSN into their signatures for easy of adding.
    Mine's in ma' sig.

Those days and times suit me grand, I'm well up for it now. I'll be on from 8 most nights apart from nights when there's football on, I'd usually be on when they're over though.

So regards MAG, what faction will we be? I've gone through SVER and nearly finished Raven, so I'll more than likely be buying one of them new player slots and starting from level 1 with you lot.

Those days and times suit me grand, I'm well up for it now. I'll be on from 8 most nights apart from nights when there's football on, I'd usually be on when they're over though.

So regards MAG, what faction will we be? I've gone through SVER and nearly finished Raven, so I'll more than likely be buying one of them new player slots and starting from level 1 with you lot.
    How do you actually buy a player slot? Anytime I try to click into it from wthin the game I get sent to the PSN store with 4 options, none of which are an additional player slot.
    Currently on Valor. My one and only character.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Hey :D Only get to play the odd time, but would def be up for this?

Have only really started online play in the last while.

Games I've got that have multiplayer would be:

RDR
    AC:brotherhood
    MAG
    Lead & Gold
    LBP
    Street Figher IV
    Tekken 6
    Wipeout HD

PSN ID must be this thing:
    redxiv2.png

Cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭AIR-AUSSIE

Great idea would definitely be interested.

Count your games too - You're people too...:p

Also, as suggested, drop Black Ops and KZ3 - for the moment.
    Let's play some older games.:D

Can you rig the vote to include MGO...:p
    See what I did there? ;) Stealthy

I can't play wednesday(work), but the other days suit me.

May I suggest that the game(s) that get the most votes be the one(s) we kick off with as more people would be involved.

So, going by the early votes they would be - MAG, BF:BC2. (I've excluded Bl. Ops and KZ3 from the vote(as mentioned above)).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭AIR-AUSSIE

My games I'd be interested in playing would be:

Battlefield BC2
    NFS hot pursuit
    GTA IV
    GT5
    Black ops
    MW2
    MW1
    LBP

Don't have MAG but would be interested in getting it if I had a good group of players to play it with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭Peadar_Rua

Just got MAG on PSN feic it, decent price why not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭decnug

Great idea. I got
    MAG (Raven)
    BFBC 2
    Homefront (anyone else got this? Multiplayer is pretty good)
    psn : decnug

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,561 ✭✭✭✭Varik

While the Socom beta is going on it'd be good to give that some extra time for the next while, i'm tired of getting shot in the back or sniped while playing alone.

Varik wrote: »
    While the Socom beta is going on it'd be good to give that some extra time for the next while, i'm tired of getting shot in the back or sniped while playing alone.

Only bad thing about the Socom beta is there is no party mode. If 8 of us wanted to play together we'd have to just try join one person's game and hope we all get in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭weiland79

I'm just not feeling the beta at the moment. I have a feeling i'm going to prefer co/op sp. 4 friends in a fireteam taking down an objective.

I actually dug out SOCOM 1 last night and had a quick play through. Still a great game,kinda reminded me of Splinter cell actually. My fireteam clad all in black,sticking to the shadows the 'Phut Phut' sound of my HK/SD as i take a Tango down.
    I really like the pace of it which i hope hasn't been changed for the new game. Although i remain pesimistic, even the name and how it's written Special forces screams sell out to me.

Sorry just realised this isn't the SOCOM thread :o:)

Eh so yeah totally up for boardsie nights

I've only recently discovered BFBC2 and it's Vietnam DLC so I'm totally down for this.
    Don't have MAG but it seems it's cheap on PSN so may pick it up this weekend.
    KZ2-KZ3
    MW2
    I don't have BLOPS for Playstation but seen as you guy's are so awesome i may double dip on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭eddhorse

Great idea Gothpunk, I look forward to you kicking my ass some more.

Tetris
    Mag (To be purchased)
    Warhawk
    Killzone 2
    LBP
    Pixeljunk Shooter 1 (2 to be purchased)
    Motorstorm 2 Pacific Rift
    Uncharted 1/2
    Resistance 1/2

PSN ID Below.

How do you actually buy a player slot? Anytime I try to click into it from wthin the game I get sent to the PSN store with 4 options, none of which are an additional player slot.
    Currently on Valor. My one and only character.

Go directly to the store (not in game), type "slot" in search and it will be there as the top item.
    However it costs €0.99 per month.

I'm with Raven(reached lvl 60 with SVER).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭mrm

Yeah I like this idea!

Games I have are:

BF:BC2*
    Uncharted 2 (unfortunately lag issues on TDM but not on other modes)*
    MW2*
    Killzone 2
    Resistance 2
    Bioshock 2
    Red Faction Guerrilla
    Wolfenstein
    Dirt 2
    Borderlands

* have done some online already with these games but not with any of the rest yet. I am also sh1t at online!

PSN id: mraphex (PSNglish for 'cannon fodder')

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭Nerdkiller1991

Here's the game's that I would be up for:
    • Blur
    • Split/Second
    • WipEout HD
    • Warhawk
    • Lead and Gold
    • Unreal Tournament 3
    • Resistance 2 co op
    • Borderlands
    • Crash Commando
    • Red Faction Guerrilla
    And my ID.

Nerdkiller316PSN.png

So if we're going to be playing any one of those game's, I'm in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

MMMMAAAAAGG. Super idea, GP.

So is Mag Sunday or Monday, fellas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Also Resistance 2 co-op would be off the hook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭guil

psn is guil07, i have
    MAG
    KZ3
    GT5

what faction is it gonna be and what can ya do about the party, i'm nearly sure ya can only have 8 in a party but if ya create a clan and everyone joins, ya can use the clan deploy function and put everyone in the same game