Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nine News: 'Hitchhiker' sculpture stolen from roadside

• 22-03-2011 2:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭

I saw this on the nine o clock RTE news last night,

Apparently it was made of bronze, worth about 30K and weighed a ton.

I wonder who would rob something this big and where it will eventually end up? :confused:

http://www.rte.ie/news/av/2011/0321/media-2928610.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

I took it for Dodgeball practice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Culprit had on an orange tee shirt and blue shorts and could be heard saying "cowabunga dude" as he skateboarded away from the scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Presumably for scrap metal? Oh look...

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/gardai-crack-down-on-illegal-scrap-collections-in-cork-498080.html

Pickaxes, slashhooks, horses..........nope no idea who could be involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

Can the bronze be melted down and sold?

If so please give details.............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

God I wonder who would do a thing like that... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

hmm, bronze aint cheap at the moment, or ever really..
    30k is probably as much as an ATM robbery. If you can quickly shift it as "scrap" its probably a pretty attractive heist.

ladies, lock up your sculptures!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Was it on a Motorway? Video is crashing for me so cant see it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

prinz wrote: »

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/gardai-crack-down-on-illegal-scrap-collections-in-cork-498080.html

Horses? :confused:

I didn't think there was any cow boys in this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Some pikey fecked the Fish With Balls by the River Suir on the Old Cahir ByPass too..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

No mention of capret or dodgy wii's though...might wanna hold back on the assumptions.;)

Gotta love the comments though 'have they nothing better to be doing for goodness sake how about going after some real criminals'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Yakult wrote: »
    Was it on a Motorway? Video is crashing for me so cant see it.

Few yards off it, yep

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

It's a puzzle...what sort of people would have an interest in metal and wouldn't be too shy about stealing...

....mystery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,430 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

ha i know the guy on the news was dying to say "knackers" but had to settle with "seems we have a problem with........er bronze stealers"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Not the first statue to go missing either. There have been a few more nicked from the sides of motorways in the last while. Been a spate of them in the UK too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

it was ugly anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Not the first statue to go missing either. There have been a few more nicked from the sides of motorways in the last while. Been a spate of them in the UK too.
    A good few years ago someone castrated the balls off the bronze stag on the M20 between Mallow and Cork, I wonder how much they got for the balls in a scrap yard. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

The spire will be next!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,837 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

jester77 wrote: »
    The spire will be next!

They're welcome to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

I'd say there's a 99% chance it was stolen by pikeys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

it was a hitchhiker statue?

was it asking for a lift?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Overheal wrote: »
    it was a hitchhiker statue?

was it asking for a lift?

Nah, that was the virgin Mary a few years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

TheZohan wrote: »
    It's a puzzle...what sort of people would have an interest in metal and wouldn't be too shy about stealing...

....mystery.
    A grizzled old prospector?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

humanji wrote: »
    A grizzled old prospector?

Could be, could be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

TheZohan wrote: »

....mystery.

Jane's Addiction? Not exactly metal but they sometimes displayed an element of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

How long before the statue of Phil Lynott disappears overnight...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

charlemont wrote: »
    Some pikey fecked the Fish With Balls by the River Suir on the Old Cahir ByPass too..

You mean the one which was moved by the County Council to in front of Cahir Castle, where it currently stands today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

Hitchhiker lifted from side of road. I'm sure there's a joke there somewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Standman wrote: »
    Hitchhiker lifted from side of road. I'm sure there's a joke there somewhere

...last seen on a Ryanair flight to Luton looking for a job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

:cool:
    karlog wrote: »
    I'd say there's a 99% chance it was stolen by pikeys.

so a 1% chance it came to life and fecked off on it's own :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Woulda took a few men with a consaw and a flat bodied truck. If anyone has seen a few men, they should alert the guards :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Irish Fire

http://thehelpfulengineer.com/index.php/2011/03/motorway-art-the-hitchhiker-gets-a-lift/

This is a picture...... Not that it looks like that now.........

Wonder when they'll take the ball at Naas?? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

seamus wrote: »
    How long before the statue of Phil Lynott disappears overnight...

They wouldn't get far.

The rockers in Bruxelles would batter them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

You mean the one which was moved by the County Council to in front of Cahir Castle, where it currently stands today?

I had no idea thats were it ended up, Why put it in front of Cahir Castle ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

SomeFool wrote: »
    :cool:

so a 1% chance it came to life and fecked off on it's own :)

Who knows we may have pikey wizards about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

He went to give guides to the galaxy.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

It got arrested for hitchhiking.
    Not allowed to do that on Motorways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

charlemont wrote: »
    I had no idea thats were it ended up, Why put it in front of Cahir Castle ?

Part of the renewal of the beginning of the Swiss cottage walk. They have lovely new steps going up towards the back of Cahir House and a few picnic tables under the trees by the river.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

IMO, they are doing us a favour, too many of these 'sculptures' are monstrosities and should never have been commissioned.

Value and scrap value are different, there'd be only a few hundred to about a max of €1,000 to be got from it as scrap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

I just seen a member of the Monasterevin Massive doing donuts in his souped up Honda Accord with that thing on the bonnet! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

It was left at the side of the road, that makes it fair game, just like telephone poles and road kill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭PrincessLola

chin_grin wrote: »
    Culprit had on an orange tee shirt and blue shorts and could be heard saying "cowabunga dude" as he skateboarded away from the scene.

He took the whole statue, not just the head..