Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are your thoughts on an Irish man joining the Parachute regiment?

• 21-03-2011 8:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭

In this day and age, what are your genuine (good/bad) opinions on this?

Take into consideration that some can't get into the PDF and have no other military options. Being in the army is all they've ever wanted and they've been given an oportunity by the British army, more specifically the Parachute regiment?

Lets say if it was your friend or your brother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

I would say go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,736 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Take into consideration that some can't get into the PDF and have no other military options. Being in the army is all they've ever wanted and they've been given an oportunity by the British army, more specifically the Parachute regiment?

Oh God I can see where this will end up.

Personally I'd have no problem with anyone joining any army, it's up to them

IBTL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭spider guardian

Whatever man, we all have free will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

Entirely your own decision. If it's what you want to do then go for it. Don't let what other people think hold you back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Silent Runner

I know about its bad history here, but you have to draw the line somewhere. It would seem those men were not order to do that, and the situation was not so clear cut as some people would make it out to be.

I would like to come back home to Ireland some time after my service, but it could be dangerous if someone found out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭ReacherCreature

You've answered the argument from a neutral point of view. If the person in question want to join an army no matter what, they won't mind too much of what force it is. Unless of course, they're an ardent nationalist and have history at the front of their mind.

Personally I wouldn't mind it. You said if it was your friend or brother, I would be hugely supportive. From a military point-of-view, the Parachute Regiment is a fine fighting force and they'd be joining a force which can be massively rewarding I'm assuming.

I know about its bad history here, but you have to draw the line somewhere. It would seem those men were not order to do that, and the situation was not so clear cut as some people would make it out to be.

I would like to come back home to Ireland some time after my service, but it could be dangerous if someone found out.
    Why can't you come back? I mean, its not like nationalists are going to be bitter towards you.

KeithAFC wrote: »
    Why can't you come back? I mean, its not like nationalists are going to be bitter towards you.

Well you just never know...

I'm not looking for support, I would like to know how people genuinly feel about it. Back then was bit of a different story, whats the mood these days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Irish Neutrality is not stranger to the idea of individual citizens joining foreign fighting forces. I say good luck to them, and hope they are doing something they believe in.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Most 'nationalists' I know have seldom set foot outside their own town.

Don't let their bitter and twisted opinions influence your decisions.

Go for it.

I'm sorry I didn't when I was younger.

That incident was many years back and much of the members are probably out of rank now, barring officers who have been promoted since. The current Parachute Regiment are not blood-thirsty Irish killers.

I think it depends on your attitude. If you flaunt it and are openly, sickeningly pro-British and forget your roots, you'll attract attention. Just keep your head down, do your service and continue on your life.

I'm not looking for support, I would like to know how people genuinly feel about it. Back then was bit of a different story, whats the mood these days?

It's going to vary from age to age. I'm 21 years old and I would have no problem. This is coming from someone who studies history and I'm keyed in on the issues. What transpired in the past was an appalling and disgraceful act that caused rupturing in the North's society and something the Parachute Reg. want to forget I'm assuming. Times have changed.

It seems to be a pretty strong aim of yours, don't deny your dream, it will be exceedingly tough but go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,575 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

A mercenary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Bear in mind though that you'd probably not want to live in certain areas in the North such as Derry and Belfast(Ballymurphy) without keeping completely shush about your past. Also the Paras have such an appaling reputation among (even moderate) northern irish nationalists, if you consider the bloody sunday march consisted of around 15 to 30 thousand people thats a lot of people (and more likely these days there children) that may still bear personal antoganism

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

A great career, see the world, & a healthy pension too . . . .

I'd say go for it.

A mercenary

Would you hold the same belief if the OP was looking to join the French Foreign Legion or the US military?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,942 ✭✭✭20Cent

Why would anyone want to join the army, particularly the british army!!
    They are starting a new war every other week at this stage. You don't get to pick which one you go to so if your sent off to kill or torture some poor fecker in some country you never heard of you have to go. Then if you make it back forget any help with PTSD or anything better than basic medical help.
    The Paras are particularly well known for being evil bstards.
    I'd look for a different career.

20Cent wrote: »
    Why would anyone want to join the army, particularly the british army!!.

Irish can become officers in their army, which is how I'm entering.

The family members of bloody sunday have moved on from that now anyway.

To serve, it's a job, something different, to fight. List goes on.
    They are starting a new war every other week at this stage.

So much wrong with that sentence that it collapses massively.
    You don't get to pick which one you go to so if your sent off to kill or torture some poor fecker in some country you never heard of you have to go.

Aside from 'torturing some poor fecker', it's obvious that soldiers don't get to choose where they go. They're sent. Orders. They're fundamental to the existence of armed forces. So do you want a job but not work, and get your paycheck?

The North aside, how so?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

Why is this even in politics and why do you need anyone anyone else to endorse your decision.

Enjoy your killing.

karma_ wrote: »
    Why is this even in politics and why do you need anyone anyone else to endorse your decision.

Enjoy your killing.
    Sort of line as to why he made the thread to be honest.

karma_ wrote: »

I'm not looking for endorsement, I'm not sure if it should be in politics but I wasn't sure what to put it in. Biased opinion in military section, politics section will be opinionated so that's why I put it here.
    I'm not looking for support, I would like to know how people genuinly feel about it.

I'm not looking for endorsement, I'm not sure if it should be in politics but I wasn't sure what to put it in. Biased opinion in military section, politics section will be opinionated so that's why I put it here.

Throw up a thread Silent Runner, there's been a few around about Irish fighting in the British Army or looking to join. There's some members of the defence forces there too so you'd be getting a good and insightful opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,575 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Would you hold the same belief if the OP was looking to join the French Foreign Legion or the US military?

Yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭Utrinque Paratus

The Parachute Regiment are the British armies most elite infantry regiment and spearhead the UKs most elite rapid reaction brigade.

I would say well done that man.

Still wanna join, lol.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pFSpNmjU84c&feature=related

Thank God nowadays we have HUPRA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

All I'll say is go for it and don't give a flying shít for the opinion of any armchair Republican or the likes. I plan on joining the RMC after my undergrad and thankfully I can say from the vast majority of people all I've gotten is support.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Irish people have been joining other armed forces, and especially the British forever. So I'd say go for it. But if you are yours come from a very anti Brit area. You might want to take that into account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

isn't that the regiment that partook in Bloody Sunday? Why not try the French Foreign Legion or get a green card and join the USMC?

Well you just never know...

The Irish Army sometimes train with the British army and some regiments have trained in Ireland, but never the paras. given their track record for killing Paddies it is little wonder.

They are starting a new war every other week at this stage. You don't get to pick which one you go to so if your sent off to kill or torture some poor fecker in some country you never heard of you have to go. Then if you make it back forget any help with PTSD or anything better than basic medical help.

which is great if you looking for adventure. tough titty if he loses his legs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Well , it's just another regiment and Irishmen north and south of the border, of all persuasion have enlsted in it since it was formed so another one joining up aint going to make much difference .

Fuinseog wrote: »
    isn't that the regiment that partook in Bloody Sunday? Why not try the French Foreign Legion or get a green card and join the USMC?

As scummy as the entire group were who shot on Bloody Sunday, I wouldn't label the whole regiment consisting of 1000s of men, 29 years on from the event as scumbags as well. I'd assume he wants to join the Paras due to the fact they're paratroopers which isn't straight away trained if you join the FFL or USMC like it is for the Parachute regiment, instead it can be a lengthy enough process not everyone will have the chance at.

To serve, it's a job, something different, to fight. List goes on.

So much wrong with that sentence that it collapses massively.

Aside from 'torturing some poor fecker', it's obvious that soldiers don't get to choose where they go. They're sent. Orders. They're fundamental to the existence of armed forces. So do you want a job but not work, and get your paycheck?

The North aside, how so?

To serve? Who? The Queen, David Cameron!! BP, Exxon Haliburton?
    To fight, I hear Gadaffi is hiring then, otherwise seek mental help if you want to fight and kill people for oil.

We get it, you hate the war and all involved. I suppose you support the idea though of letting the Taliban run riot through Afghanistan denying basic civil rights to women censoring the public and being hellbent on killing everyone who doesn't follow their way of life?

I was meaning both the 'army' and the 'British army'. Read the post properly.

The question is still valid.

RMD wrote: »
    We get it, you hate the war and all involved. I suppose you support the idea though of letting the Taliban run riot through Afghanistan denying basic civil rights to women censoring the public and being hellbent on killing everyone who doesn't follow their way of life?

Hate the war. Most of those involved probably have good intentions but to think its to liberate people from the Taliban is naive.

You're dodging my question though, what should be done? A full scale immediate evacuation allowing the Taliban to take control back in a matter of weeks / months and allow the abuse to continue? If the sole focus was oil they'd be avoiding Afghanistan and focusing on the other oil rich countries of the region. I don't agree with the war, but as a potential soldier with no say in how it's run, I might as well go there if I'm deployed there with the intention of improving the lives of non-radical Afghanis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭cyrusdvirus

Overheal wrote: »
    Irish Neutrality is not stranger to the idea of individual citizens joining foreign fighting forces. I say good luck to them, and hope they are doing something they believe in.

Somewhere on the internet, there's a GIF of a head exploding. And not after an injection of 5.56mm ammo, but out of frustration.

IRELAND IS NOT FREAKIN NEUTRAL!!!!
    We have a policy of non alignment.

To be truly neutral you need to be able to defend yourself.... and the RAF are the ones who we'd turn to if there was ever a situation where an aircraft needed to be escorted in our airspace.

As for the OP, feck the begrudgers, if you want to join the para's, join them. They are regarded as one of the better regiments in the BA, and if you feel you can do it with the best, then why the hell not?

RMD wrote: »
    You're dodging my question though, what should be done? A full scale immediate evacuation allowing the Taliban to take control back in a matter of weeks / months and allow the abuse to continue? If the sole focus was oil they'd be avoiding Afghanistan and focusing on the other oil rich countries of the region. I don't agree with the war, but as a potential soldier with no say in how it's run, I might as well go there if I'm deployed there with the intention of improving the lives of non-radical Afghanis.

You don't agree with the war but would go anyway?
    Thats my problem with joining the military, if you could be sure that force was only used as a last resort or for honorable purposes then I suppose it would be good to join. But it is not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 groundshaker

Aye mate, good regiment to join the Para's. Would have liked to join them myself, but for a number of reasons I decided not to. Happy enough going to the micks myself though. Best of luck there, you'll need it!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

A mercenary

bahahahahahahaha!!!

Go for it man, I dont think there are many people who join any army even their national one, without some intention of earning a few bob.

I met a few paras and commandos a short while ago in a competition. Great blokes the lot of them, you'll be well accepted and dont be afraid to come home, that day is long gone and quite frankly a pile of horsesh*t. Anyone who tells you otherwise, well just ignore them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭paul75

go for it
    we're protected by the british military in any case so in essence you'd be serving us well.
    Neutral, non alignment Ireland is another way of saying we'll let the brits protect us - just another one of the many shameful irish contradictions. Let the british and american soldiers die to prevent the spread of islamist lunacy and to protect the supply of oil, without which we'd be in an even bigger mess than we already are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Where are you from? If the North, it may be wiser to join another countries regiment, depending on what "side" you come from.

If from the Republic, off ya go, and have fun.

As for the hippies here: they'd love it under Taliban rule.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Rawhead

There is no point in trying to say that the Parachute Regiment doesn't still evoke strong feelings in this country, especially among a certain generation. As much as lads here will tell you that no one cares, that is just not true. I doubt anyone would say anything to you (most will be frightened of you anyway) but I wouldn't lead the local Paddy's day parade in my maroon beret either.

The reality is that spear tip units like the para's have a huge amount of aggression instilled in them and that is what makes them so effective.
    Condolleza Rice said "You don't send in the 82nd Airborne to walk kids across the road to school"

You have a wonderful opportunity and you will see combat so why not go into combat with the best possible group of people you can. You are as likely to see combat in a logistics outfit as a light infantry unit these days and if I had the choice of being surrounded by truck drivers or hard charging paratroops when the **** hits the fan, I know which one I would choose.

Good luck. Feet and knees together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

That regiment should have been disbanded considering the shame it brought on itself in the north(Bloody Sunday and the Ballymurphy massacre the obvious examples)

Have fun fighting for a foreign country and a regiment with that past.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭LondonIrish90

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    That regiment should have been disbanded considering the shame it brought on itself in the north(Bloody Sunday and the Ballymurphy massacre the obvious examples)

Have fun fighting for a foreign country and a regiment with that past.

The parachute regiment has one the most illustrious pasts of any regiment in the British Army in fairness. North Africa, Normandy, Italy, Arnhem etc, they were everywhere during the second world war.

They are also one of the most respected and feared infantry regiments in the world at the moment too.

To say they need to be disbanded given the integral role they continue to play and the proud history they have, is rather over the top.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭PatsytheNazi

The parachute regiment has one the most illustrious pasts of any regiment in the British Army in fairness. North Africa, Normandy, Italy, Arnhem etc, they were everywhere during the second world war.

They are also one of the most respected and feared infantry regiments in the world at the moment too.

To say they need to be disbanded given the integral role they continue to play and the proud history they have, is rather over the top.
    I see you mention North Africa, Normandy, Italy, Arnhem .

North Africa - were getting their ar$es kicked by Afrika Korps until along with the Americans, Aussies, Kiwis etc they eventually managed through vastly greater numbers to beat them.

Normandy - when they were racing with the rest of the British army to see who could get into " the little ships " in 1940 ?

Italy - manage to murder some unarmed civil rights people there ?

Arnhem - yeah, where they lost to the Germans unlike the American Airborne Division who succeeded in holding their bridges - only to have to withdraw as the Brits messed up ?

" One of the most respected and feared infantry regiments in the world ? " Seems those who were on the recieving end of their attacks weren't too fearful or respectful to them.

80747146.jpg

NarrowPoint-79.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭cyrusdvirus

One of the most respected and feared infantry regiments in the world ? Someone forgot to tell these boys.

Image: http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_NE-72ZXux-g/SzMkFZqD7CI/AAAAAAAAMLA/d-s43Kp58co/s400/IRA.jpg

Image: http://i722.photobucket.com/albums/ww226/marketmade/80747146.jpg

Ah Patsy..... i wondered how long it'd take you to get here.

Not going OT with you, so lets just leave it at this, One was an illegal terrorist organisation that hid behind a civilian façade, the other patrolled in full view, in full uniform, and didn't hide.