Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Staggs/Lucan Gp?

• 21-03-2011 4:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,794 ✭✭✭

Anyone know what the course will be like, suitable for relative newbies in A4? From what I can see it's a very short A4 race - only 40kms?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

Lucan CRC Grand Prix March 26th: LCRC will host the Stagg Cycles/Lucan Grand Prix on Saturday March 26th. Races for A1/A2 , A3 , A4. Venue for the event will be the GAA club in Batterstown. Sign-On Time from 9.15am.

Not much more here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

I'll be marshalling :)

I'd say the races will be similar to the others in the area of late so IMO (as a newbie) newbie friendly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Lucan CRC Grand Prix March 26th: LCRC will host the Stagg Cycles/Lucan Grand Prix on Saturday March 26th. Races for A1/A2 , A3 , A4. Venue for the event will be the GAA club in Batterstown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,137 ✭✭✭buffalo

http://goo.gl/maps/LRt8 is the GAA club sign-on point.

Course will be relatively flat I imagine, not many hills or mountains in the immediate vicinity, and if it's only 40km, can't go too far!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Dura Ace

The Green Sheds circuit is being used afaik, which is about as flat as it gets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭amjon.

Dura Ace wrote: »
    The Green Sheds circuit is being used afaik, which is about as flat as it gets.

Is that the same loop as the Mic Lally/ Usher St. Patricks day race?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 413 ✭✭8kvscdpglqnyr4

How did you find out the A4 is only 40km?
    It's not worth travelling for 40km!

Can anyone confirm the A4 is only 40km?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭zzzzzzzz

amjon. wrote: »

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,794 ✭✭✭C3PO

How did you find out the A4 is only 40km?
    It's not worth travelling for 40km!

Can anyone confirm the A4 is only 40km?

From Irish Cycling!

"Race Distance: A+/A1/A2 4 Laps 74km with handicap for A2s (if numbers allow) A3 3 Laps 57km A4 2 laps 40km"

But I agree, 40kms is very short! I suppose if they are running seperate races it's difficult to make each race a decent length!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

amjon. wrote: »

That was the Dorey'd Forge loop. This is rumoured to be the Green Sheds route.

I have done this loop many times and have yet to see a green shed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭LCRC_BAX

Hi Everyone,

I can confirm the Green Sheds lap is being used. There will be a rolling start from Batterstown GAA Club so this will add another 10km in distance. The course is quite fast with one long drag on the main Trim Road and a few shorter climbs but nothing serious.

Regarding the A4 Race the reason this race is only 2 laps is due to us running 3 separate races and the need to keep the groups apart during the race - if that happens we must pull over the slower group. 70kms is usually the norm for a Saturday race and that limited the A1 race to 4 laps. If we combine the A3 and A4 then there would be some A4's not happy with that arrangement (esp on this fast course) so we made a call to give the A4's a separate race as is encouraged by CI. We will also be giving Stagg Cycles vouchers to the first 6 in the A4 race as cash prizes are not allowed.

I would encourage the A4's to come for the race as this is a safe beginners circuit & a great chance for a win, if you are Dublin or Meath based you could ride to and from Batterstown to make it a great days training / racing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭easygoing39

Good Info there LCRC_BAX!!Should help the club to get a high turnout of riders on Saturday.

Thanks easygoing39. We ride this circuit in our club league and we always do 2 laps, I can guarantee any A4 who turns up if you want a good workout ride this hard and you'll feel it in the legs after. The drag is less than 5km from the finish which is slightly uphill and very wide so anyone with the legs who's maybe not a great sprinter could go there for a shot at a solo victory :)

So is the finish around point "E" on the map posted up by "niceonetom"?Thanks in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

So is the finish around point "E" on the map posted up by "niceonetom"?Thanks in advance.

AFAIK the finish is closer to B on that map.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

These questions could be easily solved by putting a map on the website with the start and the finish on it.

Here's a map of the course!

scan0004.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭tawfeeredux

Not sure of the exact start point, but here's the course on mapmyride.

Finish line is 200m from the first roundabout at the M3 flyover and there will be a guy waving a black & white flag if you're 1st there :)

LCRC_BAX wrote: »
    Finish line is 200m from the first roundabout at the M3 flyover and there will be a guy waving a black & white flag if you're 1st there :)

Sure when the bell is rung there at the start of the last lap everyone will know the finish line!!

There will be a rolling start from Batterstown GAA Club so this will add another 10km in distance.

CLARIFICATION

The GAA Club is Blackhall Gaels GAA which is in Batterstown.

The race will start from the GAA Club gate, there is no neutralised zone in the race.

Also: Tea / Coffee & Sandwiches will be available after race at prize giving ceremony at the GAA Club.

Sign on from 0915, first race off at 1030.

Hope to see you all there!

If there's anybody still there at all I'll be happy:rolleyes:!

CLARIFICATION

The GAA Club is Blackhall Gaels GAA which is in Batterstown.

The race will start from the GAA Club gate, there is no neutralised zone in the race.

Is that the yellow pin or the blue pin?

http://www.blackhallgaels.com/new/php-files/viewpage.php?page_id=8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

buffalo wrote: »

Yellow. Big car park and a changing facility, white building. Can't miss it. You can check it out on street view.

I think anyway, it was meeting point for inter club 16km tt last year afair.

So the link I posted earlier then, excellent! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

Prob going to give this a go as my first ever open race. Hopefully won't get dropped too early. Nervously looking forward to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭levitronix

Since its your first race make sure you start somewhere up near the front will make it a bit easyer

levitronix wrote: »
    Since its your first race make sure you start somewhere up near the front will make it a bit easyer
    Cheers have done a couple of club league races so know the score with that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭pprendeville

kennyb3 wrote: »
    Prob going to give this a go as my first ever open race. Hopefully won't get dropped too early. Nervously looking forward to it

I'm with you there. First race also. Nervous as well but should be good craic as long as I don't end up on deck.

@kennyb3 - you couldn't pick a better 1st race - safe, fast and relatively flat.

Looking like the weather is going to be great too, hope to see a big turnout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭morana

looking forward to it myself...its a great circuit and the surfaces are great.

And it wont finish in a sprint!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭nomadic

morana wrote: »

Why do you say that?
    I'll be on my toes so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

morana wrote: »
    Hope springs eternal

The last left at the roundabout is a real bottle neck, that will hold back a bunch gallop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭morana

nomadic wrote: »
    Why do you say that?
    I'll be on my toes so.

stating it more out of hope really!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭Ryaner

This finished in a sprint of sorts in the A4. There was a crash involving around 10+ people about 1km from the finish which probably stopped it going all out.

One of those days were no one wanted to work either. Made an attempt off the front with some other lads but it lasted maybe a minute before they didn't want to do anything. Same thing with other groups, all either left hang a few metres out or pulled back.

Am raging i missed it couldnt slip out of work had the bike in the car ready to go :(

Thats a lot of crashes so far this year, just seen the results seen The Crunch was in the points 3rd A3 and i think Madone got 2nd A4 fair play savage going !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Well done to The Crunch and buffalo, 3rd A3 and 6th A4 respectively.

Really good race, very enjoyable and well organized. There was some mad bunch in the clubhouse who were taking part in some over exuberant cheering and flirting with the prize winners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭BTH

I was one of those caught up in the A4 crash. Bit of road rash but nothing serious. Two cracked helmets and a mangled wheel, and one hobbler, so got away lightly really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭JacksonHeightsOwn

I was one of those caught up in the A4 crash. Bit of road rash but nothing serious. Two cracked helmets and a mangled wheel, and one hobbler, so got away lightly really.

one of our lads, (st tiernans) broke his finger, plus his handlebars and an sti lever, he reckons it was some day ticket fella that caused it all, it seems to be the way so far this year, the day ticket lads are getting the blame

on a more positive note, another one of our lads got 5th in the A4's :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭BTH

Didn't see him. Nasty. There did seem to be a big line for the one days alright. One of the lads from Lucan organising it told me after that I'm too skinny to be racing a4 and should be a3. Might be better off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭Ryaner

one of our lads, (st tiernans) broke his finger, plus his handlebars and an sti lever, he reckons it was some day ticket fella that caused it all, it seems to be the way so far this year, the day ticket lads are getting the blame

It is always hard to figure out who is to blame for a crash, although there was a lot of people doing crazy things and moving left very fast without looking.
    I was ahead of the crash however, so I didn't see what happened.

I was really enjoying that ..... until I got dropped again! Exactly like the last time - felt fine but drifted towards the back of the bunch and then just lost the tow coming out of a tightish left hander and I just couldn't get back on! Still managed to average nearly 36kms/hr despite being out the back for half the race so not too dissapointed! I'll have to work harder to stay further up the bunch!
    Very enjoyable none the less!

And a rear mech ripped off too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

RPL1 wrote: »
    then just lost the tow coming out of a tightish left hander and I just couldn't get back on!

That's exactly the problems I have to overcome. Well done on the effort to finish. Last time out, I caught up with another fella and that makes the last couple of k easier.

Anyway, well done to all those that took part and the prize winners too. I hope all mends well after the A4 crash.

I enjoyed marshalling (a4) from the motorbike first time doing that so didn't know what to do/expect really but it's a great viewpoint for the race, you can see how all the breaks start and are chased down etc. Including one time seeing one lad putting in decent effort at the top of the bunch with a teammate in the break.

Hope I kept most of the cars etc out of the way for ye's and wasn't too much in the way.

I was the one who went down about a km from the finish (in the swords gear). Someone road right into the back of me, down i went and took a heap with me. Skinned to bits and quite sore - nice tyre mark on my back- but nothing broken (well apart from a few spokes and so on). Have road a good few club races and have never seen anything close to the mad maneuvours like some today. Loads of wheel overlapping. Was feeling good and thought the front would be safer but obviously not. No excuse for whoever rode into me on a wide open road.

@ ryaner - thanks a million for coming back to collect me

@ betterthanhoyte - hope that dropout is okay on the bike and you's got sorted after we left fairly sharpish. was seriously cold waiting around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭pprendeville

And a rear mech ripped off too!

Have had that happen to me too (rear mech getting caught in spokes after crash). Not nice at all.

Happy with my first race. Hope I wasn't going left or right without indicating. Got a puncture a few km from home and missed the spill. Maybe no harm.

Thought if a few people joined a decent break and were willing to put in the work, especially on any little drags, they'd be a winner in that group. Would only need 4-5 I rekon to pull away. Is it always like that in those flat races? People just holding out for the sprint finish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 421 ✭✭Kebel

@Idleater

That was you on the motor bike ? - you did a good job thanks and well done

on a more positive note, another one of our lads got 5th in the A4's :D

Sorry to hear about the finger and the bike damage, we were hanging around afterwards, and didn't hear any news bar a shattered helmet. I was just behind it to the right, I missed someone in red's head by about half a foot.

Your lad must've just pipped me to the line for 5th! :D Very happy with my first ever placing, and fair play to Staggs and LRC for all the prizes! :)

For anyone on Facebook I have uploaded photos from today, well done on some excellent racing!

http://www.facebook.com/album.php?fbid=566977261125&id=26402848&aid=2079664

RACE RESULTS

A1/A2 Race
    1. Martin Mizgayski - Wexford Wheelers
    2. Fran Gibson - South Dublin CC
    3. Sean Bracken - IRC
    4. Alan Galvin - Slaney CC
    5. Odhran Connors - Orwell Wheelers
    6. Mark Gill - On Yer Bike
    Fastest Rider: Craig Sweetman - Stamullen CC

A3 Race
    1. Caelan Murphy - Bray Wheelers