Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Talk about getting ahead of yourself. NIKE England SNAFU.

• 21-03-2011 3:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

I thought Engaland were very gracious in defeat at the weekend but there were a few who got carried away with themselves. Below is an internal Nike email:

Hi All

Following on from Barney’s note, this weekend sees the culmination of England’s most exciting 6 Nations campaign in recent years. Not only could England win the tournament but also the Grand Slam which bodes very well for the Rugby World Cup later on this year in New Zealand.

We have commissioned a special limited edition t-shirt to celebrate the England Grand Slam 2011, which we will give to the players when we win against Ireland on Saturday The t-shirt is inspired by the iconic English rose (like the kit) and 5K units will go into retail at the RFU & NikeTown London after the game.

In the spirit on owning sporting moments, we will also execute a burst of Digital Out-of-Home activity that will start right on the final whistle in over 20 of London’s most prominent underground stations through Digital Escalator Panels and Cross-Track Projections. This will be further amplified through large Transvision screens at Waterloo, Kings Cross, Euston and Charing Cross. This will run throughout the weekend until Monday night catching consumers after the game and peak rush hour times for maximum impact.

Finally, we have created an AV celebration piece that we will be pushing out to our PR & Retail over the weekend and the RFU will be posting it on their sites too. To view it please click on the link http://vimeo.com/21207620 password: 6NATIONS

Thanks to the whole team for working so quickly to pull this together and if you have any questions please don’t hesitate to ask.

Have a good weekend

Stephanie

Stephanie Ankrah
    Brand Marketing Lead- Sports Performance
    Athletic Training, Rugby, Basketball, Tennis & Livestrong
    Nike UK & Ireland, Filmhouse, 142 Wardour Street, London W1F 8DD
    +44 (0) 207 578 0500

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Bet Stephanie was red faced and cleaning out her desk this morning (and trying to stuff with 25 boxes of England Grand Slam 2011 t-shirts into her car).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Plazaman wrote: »
    Bet Stephanie was red faced and cleaning out her desk this morning (and trying to stuff with 25 boxes of England Grand Slam 2011 t-shirts into her car).

Did you watch the video? Comic cringe gold

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Plazaman wrote: »

What? It's pretty much standard to be prepared with t-shirts of the winners to give them after the game and the video is another way of advertising. The only part that makes her look foolish is saying "when we win" rather then if.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭trackguy

Thanks for the post! That video is brilliant!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

Everyone prepares for the possibility of a win if lucky to be in that situation. The event on Dawson St for the day after Cardiff in 2009 wasn't organised the day before after the final whistle.

England still won the Championship. Won't do their psychological mindset any harm at all with RWC in mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭theKramer

They've taken it down now :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

This goes on in every sport. The "when we win" part was just offering a support in confidence, nothing arrogant or presumptuous. Its just like a fan saying i think we will win. The t-shirts will go to a 3rd world country. There is a big market for these things as well. I would kill to have a New England Patriots Super Bowl champions XLII cap :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

France did somemthing similar didn't they?

france-champ_1600786c.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭andrewdcs

RTE / IRFU would have had the same prepp'd but it is funny. I particularly like the Ashton "Swallow Dive" which is comedy gold out of context.

"Here, do your dive thing"

"Ah no seriously"

"no go on it'll look great"

"Ok, Whee!!!!.. was that ok?..."

<muffled snickering> "ahem, yeah no... can you do it ONE more time..."

<repeat>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭TheInquisitor

Lads does anyone know where the video is or have a copy of it? Nike seem to be deleting it left right and centre to cover their embarrasement!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Keedowah

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oNxfwQSjfB0

Not long till this one comes down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭David900

In fairness, that is a pretty embarrassing video even if they had won the slam!

• Read this article before about what happens to the 100s of thousands of T shirts with "Superbowl XX... Winners" on them when that team actually loses!

Its all pretty cringey if it goes wrong!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭Nuigforce

that.............. was better than sex

ok, no , but it was still pretty good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Lol grandslam champs my ares :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭Trollhättan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Oh lord. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭leftism

Would Nike not consider selling those 5000 t-shirts in Ireland? I reckon they'd be gone in no time! Seems like a waste now that they've been manufactured and i'd say there's plenty of Irish supporters that'd love to get their hands on one, if only for comic value...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 kerrysdad

Reminds me of my Kerry 5 in a row T shirt from the early 80's !!!!

I thought Engaland were very gracious in defeat at the weekend but there were a few who got carried away with themselves. Below is an internal Nike email:

Hi All

Following on from Barney’s note, this weekend sees the culmination of England’s most exciting 6 Nations campaign in recent years. Not only could England win the tournament but also the Grand Slam which bodes very well for the Rugby World Cup later on this year in New Zealand.

We have commissioned a special limited edition t-shirt to celebrate the England Grand Slam 2011, which we will give to the players when we win against Ireland on Saturday The t-shirt is inspired by the iconic English rose (like the kit) and 5K units will go into retail at the RFU & NikeTown London after the game.

In the spirit on owning sporting moments, we will also execute a burst of Digital Out-of-Home activity that will start right on the final whistle in over 20 of London’s most prominent underground stations through Digital Escalator Panels and Cross-Track Projections. This will be further amplified through large Transvision screens at Waterloo, Kings Cross, Euston and Charing Cross. This will run throughout the weekend until Monday night catching consumers after the game and peak rush hour times for maximum impact.

Finally, we have created an AV celebration piece that we will be pushing out to our PR & Retail over the weekend and the RFU will be posting it on their sites too. To view it please click on the link http://vimeo.com/21207620 password: 6NATIONS

Thanks to the whole team for working so quickly to pull this together and if you have any questions please don’t hesitate to ask.

Have a good weekend

Stephanie

Stephanie Ankrah
    Brand Marketing Lead- Sports Performance
    Athletic Training, Rugby, Basketball, Tennis & Livestrong
    Nike UK & Ireland, Filmhouse, 142 Wardour Street, London W1F 8DD
    +44 (0) 207 578 0500

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭LAVADUDE

The video is embarrasing but it's the standard thing clubs/companies do. As they need to cash in quickly on their feel good moments and the need to have something prepared ahead of historic achievements.
    Here's Liverpool's bus from the 2007 European cup that they lost
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hJsJytkDjIc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Very clever piece of marketing by Nike, if they win then the ad is done and ready and if they loose then the ad gets ahem leaked and goes viral. Win win for Nike while the English get the blame for being cocky, masterpiece really!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

This happens all the time in the States and it's no big deal. Every Superbowl champion etc. has a victory t-shirt on before the trophy's presented which means the losers obviously had them ready as well.

Apparently the losers one's are shipped off to 3rd world countries. Maybe that's where these English ones will end up. So the next time you're on holiday in some remote part of the world, keep an eye out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

When spain won the chavball world cup didn't they wheel out special shirts too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Curious James

Just spotted this updated version of the Nike ad on YouTube, watch right to the end, very funny!!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zB5eu0EwK34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭Craig Dowling

oh that response is gold
    GWAN Paulie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭Sundy

Dont get the big deal with this really. Events and celebrations are always planned in advance but they generally dont get leaked.

In fact we would all be pissed off and complaining if Ireland won something and there was nothing pre-organised to celebrate.

Its not cockiness its just being prepared.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

The really embarrassing thing about that video is all the comments on Youtube along the lines of 'dem fuken english pricks, dat is so arrowgant, up de Irish' etc. etc.

Seems the Sinn Fein/shiny Celtic tracksuit brigade with their post-colonial inferiority complexes are latching onto this like manna from heaven. The same type of people who were protesting outside Croker a few years back :rolleyes:

God knows what non-Irish people reading the comments think of us :(

Sundy wrote: »
    Dont get the big deal with this really
    There isn't a big deal. Just sad that people will never bloody grow up over 'de brits'. Its like talking politics with Don Baker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭skregs

'dem fuken english pricks, dat is so arrowgant

God knows what non-Irish people reading the comments think of us

I don't know, but I know the non-English people watching the video are laughing their asses off.
    Its not scangers having a go against the Brits, its the world laughing at their misplaced arrogance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

The really embarrassing thing about that video is all the comments on Youtube along the lines of 'dem fuken english pricks, dat is so arrowgant, up de Irish' etc. etc.

Seems the Sinn Fein/shiny Celtic tracksuit brigade with their post-colonial inferiority complexes are latching onto this like manna from heaven. The same type of people who were protesting outside Croker a few years back :rolleyes:

God knows what non-Irish people reading the comments think of us :(

With their Celtic soccer jerseys on, surely the most ironic photo of the decade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

JustinDee wrote: »
    There isn't a big deal. Just sad that people will never bloody grow up over 'de brits'. Its like talking politics with Don Baker.

The Greeks found this **** so funny they invented it in the first place.

skregs wrote: »
    I don't know, but I know the non-English people watching the video are laughing their asses off.
    Its not scangers having a go against the Brits, its the world laughing at their misplaced arrogance

Its not arrogance though.
    Like our own good selves in 2009, preparations for being the possible champion of a comp are done before the match even takes place.

If it was the other way round, there would be far too many thin-skinned Irish kicking off as previous times at the likes of Jake White, Waz Gatland, Marc Lievremont or even the strange cartoonist who runs a rugby franchise of mercenaries in Toulon.

Its not arrogance though.

The e-mail that all this originated from had a line saying "when we win on Saturday" which caused most of the furore.

And it is arrogance. It makes sound business sense, but it's also hubris. Which is always funny.

And the only part that makes any of it funny is the fact it got leaked. Obviously there was an Irish guy working in the office.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭almighty1

Nevermind

Buceph wrote: »
    The e-mail that all this originated from had a line saying "when we win on Saturday" which caused most of the furore.

And it is arrogance. It makes sound business sense, but it's also hubris. Which is always funny.

And the only part that makes any of it funny is the fact it got leaked. Obviously there was an Irish guy working in the office.
    Do you know when the Dawson St homecoming in 2009 was planned? Was it "arrogant" of the IRFU to organise it early?

• Read this article before about what happens to the 100s of thousands of T shirts with "Superbowl XX... Winners" on them when that team actually loses!

Its all pretty cringey if it goes wrong!
    This happens all the time in the States and it's no big deal. Every Superbowl champion etc. has a victory t-shirt on before the trophy's presented which means the losers obviously had them ready as well.

Apparently the losers one's are shipped off to 3rd world countries. Maybe that's where these English ones will end up. So the next time you're on holiday in some remote part of the world, keep an eye out.

nope, they're not, read the above article I posted. It's entirely damaging to the local economies if "commodity dumps" are permitted.

Anyone crowning about "arrogance" is completely and utterly blind, if the roles were reversed, there's no chance whatsoever that the IRFU would be let away with not having a welcoming party / merchandise / tv spots.

The only embarrassing thing is that it was leaked. These are the kind of things that are best swept under the carpet instantly when the outcome isn't what's prepared for.

All those parties that are set for Senior Cup final days, and then the runners up aren't really in the mood for it, all those "great plans" for "when we win". It's absolutely not a feature of arrogance, or of certainty.

If we fail to prepare, we prepare to fail.

Simple

skregs wrote: »
    That's the whole point - surely you mean Nike's arrogance? Do you think that there were no ads made before Ireland's game with Wales in 2009? Or do you think they knocked them all up in a rush in the ten minutes after Jones' penalty fell short?

If Jones penalty travelled another metre, it would have been our Grand Slam ads that had been leaked, and clowns would be laughing at us instead of the English.

There's no evidence of English arrogance here - only marketing realities.

Edit: by the way, a few of 'the Brits' were playing in green the other day, in case you forgot. How arrogant were they?

The email also says 'could win'. Oddly enough, that phrase is ignored. That was a Nike internal email - noting to do with the RFU or the players - and they presumably see England as the 'Nike team'.

Still no evidence of 'English' arrogance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

I don't think it's arrogance on Nike's part. Perhaps the 'when we beat Ireland' part is but that's just one person. It makes business sense tbh. There were two two week breaks during the championship which meant that was plenty of time to get things done.

I'll still have a little chuckle at it though but I wouldn't put it down to arrogance or underestimating us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Ciaran-Irl

It is just people laughing at the leaked video. Will some of you ever stop taking **** so bloody seriously?

Ciaran-Irl wrote: »
    It is just people laughing at the leaked video. Will some of you ever stop taking **** so bloody seriously?
    Laughing at the unfortunate video is fine, if you find it funny. But if you read the comments that people are leaving on the Youtube videos - that is what is annoying me. Just clowns insulting 'de Brits' etc., 'up the RA', that sort of ****e :(

Do you know when the Dawson St homecoming in 2009 was planned? Was it "arrogant" of the IRFU to organise it early?

It is arrogance, saying "when we win" is pure arrogance. But like I also said organising in case of a win in advance was also the right thing to do. The two aren't mutually exclusive.

I've also said it was hubris, which I think would be more apt.

And I've not once laughed at England, they showed immense pride in the interviews they gave after the loss. I'm laughing at Nike, not the English team or fans.

Fair enoughski.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

I wonder if Italy had any plans after beating France.

Can imagine people frantically running around after the game.

"WE WON????"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

no big deal here really. Some woman in marketing said "when we win". She might know very little about rugby and was told (like everybody else) that England were hot favourites. As others have said, of course they had to plan for the win. It's not like johnson came out with it, of allbettere he knows better