Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

tv3 documentary

• 17-03-2011 8:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭

Just seen an add there on tv3 for a documentary its called the truth about irish bloodsports. its on tuesday at 10 if anyone is iterested

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

just seen it the add didnt give away much but its deffinitly anti from what i can gather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭Remmie 223

Just seen an add there on tv3 for a documentary its called the truth about irish bloodsports. its on tuesday at 10 if anyone is iterested

Cheers for the heads up. Most likely anti. I have it sky + st just in case it's of any value

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭mixerbarcoe

just seen it the add didnt give away much but its deffinitly anti from what i can gather
    yeah didnt give much atall.this is what it says on the rte guide website.
    New series. Henry McKean ventures into the world of rural pursuits, meeting the people involved, and hearing the views of animal welfare demonstrators hoping to ban them. He begins by visiting a hare coursing club in North Kerry, and joins members of the Laois hunt as they prepare to set out on the trail of a fox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭round tower huntsman

i'd expect it to be pure anti propaganda but i hope im surprised and its fair and balanced. but when they use the word blood sport you know they angle they're coming from:mad:

why do they always film mounted hunts when talking fox hunting?? by far and away there's more foot packs in ireland the mounted, they should film a foot hunt club, then folks would see that most hunters are just working class ordinary folk that love their hounds and their hunting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

as are most mounted pack followers too these days rth;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 477 ✭✭davidk11811

I'm sure the general public will eat up the whole "poor foxes are innocent and it's unfair to shoot them" line that's usually dished out with these biased opinions. I bet they wouldn't think that if they saw a fox eating a "cute" newborn lamb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

I'm sure the general public will eat up the whole "poor foxes are innocent and it's unfair to shoot them" line that's usually dished out with these biased opinions. I bet they wouldn't think that if they saw a fox eating a "cute" newborn lamb.

i'm sure it'll be the same old story,poor foxes,poor deer poor feckin everything! Just another excuse for the anti gang to whinge about stuff they dont know about. I had a heated exchange with one of those types on wednesday night in the pub(where all good irish debates start) and it was head wreckin! Last thing i need is some twat telling me it's wrong to kill and eat animals and calling me cruel for enjoying my shooting. I wouldn't mind but he wasn't even in our company! Just decided to butt in and tell me and my shooting mates how evil we are. He didn't take too kindly when i pulled him on his nice leather boots made from a cute dead cow! Enjoy the country life lads,just in case it doesn't last much longer! Just in case any anti types are reading, i nailed two big fat dog foxes today...

Longranger wrote: »
    i'm sure it'll be the same old story,poor foxes,poor deer poor feckin everything! Just another excuse for the anti gang to whinge about stuff they dont know about. I had a heated exchange with one of those types on wednesday night in the pub(where all good irish debates start) and it was head wreckin! Last thing i need is some twat telling me it's wrong to kill and eat animals and calling me cruel for enjoying my shooting. I wouldn't mind but he wasn't even in our company! Just decided to butt in and tell me and my shooting mates how evil we are. He didn't take too kindly when i pulled him on his nice leather boots made from a cute dead cow! Enjoy the country life lads,just in case it doesn't last much longer! Just in case any anti types are reading, i nailed two big fat dog foxes today...
    And the worst of it is all these anti-hunting folks aren't all vegetarians! I've seen some videos on the net of how much abuse pigs, cattle, sheep, lambs get and it's horriffic. Me thinks a clean shot to the head is less cruel/painful then hanging a living pig upside down by its legs and repeatadly kicking it in some cases. Saw it on liveleak.com and words can't even describe it which is why I can't understand how people who will be eatin' rashers in the morning are against hunting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

The coursing crowd think this is the canines testicular matter.
    I have a funny feeling that they will be a mite disappointed,as it seems to be the same shower who did Irish gangland!!!Sensationalism and hyperbole aplenty.:rolleyes:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

But to be honest, as it stands, I don't really agree with mounted hunts. I don't know much about them which is why I don't look down upon anyone who does it. Now correct me if I'm wrong but this is what I heard from a lad before. When they dig out a fox they shove him in a bag (alive) and later on in the day they let him run off "free" with a twenty beagles behind him, which usually ends up in charlie being mauled to death, now I've been in a situation where 3-4 dogs have surrounded me (not in a friendly way) and it's not somewhere I'd like to be for long. Now I might be totally wrong which is why if I ever get the chance to go on a mounted hunt, then I'll go. For then I can give an unbiased opinion about this.

that's the biggest load of bollox i have read in ages the moon is made of green cheese and the earth is flat you know too :rolleyes:
    But to be honest, as it stands, I don't really agree with mounted hunts. I don't know much about them which is why I don't look down upon anyone who does it. Now correct me if I'm wrong but this is what I heard from a lad before. When they dig out a fox they shove him in a bag (alive) and later on in the day they let him run off "free" with a twenty beagles behind him, which usually ends up in charlie being mauled to death, now I've been in a situation where 3-4 dogs have surrounded me (not in a friendly way) and it's not somewhere I'd like to be for long. Now I might be totally wrong which is why if I ever get the chance to go on a mounted hunt, then I'll go. For then I can give an unbiased opinion about this.

landkeeper wrote: »
    that's the biggest load of bollox i have read in ages the moon is made of green cheese and the earth is flat you know too :rolleyes:
    Fair enough, what goes on then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭TippFan77

And the worst of it is all these anti-hunting folks aren't all vegetarians! I've seen some videos on the net of how much abuse pigs, cattle, sheep, lambs get and it's horriffic. Me thinks a clean shot to the head is less cruel/painful then hanging a living pig upside down by its legs and repeatadly kicking it in some cases. Saw it on liveleak.com and words can't even describe it which is why I can't understand how people who will be eatin' rashers in the morning are against hunting.

Killing an animal humanely for meat is not the same as badger baiting or hare coursing. Have you ever seen livestock slaughtered? It's not a pretty sight, but neither is it torture. I'd take the captive bolt pistol any day over cancer, stroke, or any other means of departure from this earth that I can think of.

But just harrassing an animal out of its wits as in coursing or carted staghunting is another day's work. I've been reading about this guy who had a Near Death Experience, he was told by this shining being on the "other side" to go back, his time hadn't come yet...and he had this terrible vision of all the suffering he had caused to animals. "Give it up, turn your back on cruelty" the voice said. He was able to instantly appreciate how wrong all his bloodsport activities had been and could feel for a split second the terror of all his victims. Scary stuff, it certainly made me think. I like hunters and coursers as human beings, they can be great craic in the pub, but what they do to animals I respectfully submit is not for me. When you stand shivering and alone on the brink of eternity and the final judgement, you see things differently.

well for a start beagles are for harrier packs that hunt hares on foot .
    fox hounds are for foxes and if a fox is dug (it has to be on request of the landowner) then it is humanely dispatched the moment it's uneartherd with a humane dispatcher .
    what you are talking about 'may' have happened in the past but these days hunting has to be compliant with hunting guidelines
    i'm no great advocate of foxhunting either as i regard it as an ineffective ineficient method but comments like yours are ill informed

landkeeper wrote: »
    well for a start beagles are for harrier packs that hunt hares on foot .
    fox hounds are for foxes and if a fox is dug (it has to be on request of the landowner) then it is humanely dispatched the moment it's uneartherd with a humane dispatcher .
    what you are talking about 'may' have happened in the past but these days hunting has to be compliant with hunting guidelines
    i'm no great advocate of foxhunting either as i regard it as an ineffective ineficient method but comments like yours are ill informed
    Yeah, now I have absoloutely no problem with lamping or hunting foxes on foot. Like I said, it's not cruel to kill a fox with a clean shot. I did a little research and I did in fact find a video where a fox was dug out and shoved in a bag alive and mauled by beagles, which I'm sure is old fashioned and not what happens the majority of time but it wasn't something I enjoyed watching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

TippFan77 wrote: »
    When you stand shivering and alone on the brink of eternity and the final judgement, you see things differently.
    A nice leather coat would keep you warm there.

Seriously, this thread is close enough to the line without needing to go jumping around the place and bringing in Near-Death Experiences (or, as the medical community tends to call them, oxygen starvation induced hallucinations) and religion. This is a hunting forum. The question of whether or not hunting, carried out in accordance with the law and best practices, is ethical is off the table. It just is. If you can't accept that, you need to have that debate elsewhere because it's been done here over and over again, and we've had enough of the same old tired argument.

Stick to the original topic please folks.

Yeah, now I have absoloutely no problem with lamping or hunting foxes on foot. Like I said, it's not cruel to kill a fox with a clean shot.

I whole-heartedly agree. I never saw the point of galloping around the countryside on a horse with a pack of hounds chasing a fox or a deer. Now,I'm not saying anything against people who do it,whatever floats your boat and all,but shouldn't hunting be more about learning the habits and characteristics of your quarry,stalking them and being a good enough shot to take them down quickly,cleanly and efficiently. I take my hunting quite personally and if I am going to kill something I want to do it right. Just my two cents...

lads you obviously know nothing about hounds and hunting. do you think hounds find and kill every fox they find? hunting with hounds isnt some sort of bloodbath. it takes alot of good work from a pack to catch a fox,most get away or have to be accounted for by the terrierman. there are strict rules that must be follwed when a fox is dug. hounds must be called away from the hole,fox must be killed using a gun or human dispatcher, no live foxes are thrown to hounds.
    there's lots of skill and knowledge needed to hunt hounds and when the kill does happen it is very quick,foxes arent mauled slowly to death. a fox hound kills its fox like a terrier kills a rat,a couple of shakes and its curtains. a good fox will escape any pack, foxes that are caught by the hounds are mostly old sick ones or young foolish ones.
    as for the nonsense bout bagging a fox im not saying it wasnt done by some idiot but its not a practice i've ever heard anyone doing. tbh if your hounds need you to bag foxes for em then you've the wrong hounds.
    im hunting foxes all my life, killed plenty with the shotgun and killed plenty with lurchers or hounds. a good hound or lurcher will kill a fox as quick as the shotgun and with dogs there's no fear of a wounded fox getting away,he's either killed or he escapes unharmed.
    there's pros and cons to every way of hunting and killing foxes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Never thought much of hunting with hounds myself and i have to say i thought it was different but that discription you just gave is something id really like to see. I think its just very easy to put an anti spin on that way of hunting because to someone looking at it for the first time it must look like mayhem goin on. any good videos of fox hunting with dogs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭virminhunter

Killing an animal humanely for meat is not the same as badger baiting or hare coursing. Have you ever seen livestock slaughtered? It's not a pretty sight, but neither is it torture. I'd take the captive bolt pistol any day over cancer, stroke, or any other means of departure from this earth that I can think of.

But just harrassing an animal out of its wits as in coursing or carted staghunting is another day's work. I've been reading about this guy who had a Near Death Experience, he was told by this shining being on the "other side" to go back, his time hadn't come yet...and he had this terrible vision of all the suffering he had caused to animals. "Give it up, turn your back on cruelty" the voice said. He was able to instantly appreciate how wrong all his bloodsport activities had been and could feel for a split second the terror of all his victims. Scary stuff, it certainly made me think. I like hunters and coursers as human beings, they can be great craic in the pub, but what they do to animals I respectfully submit is not for me. When you stand shivering and alone on the brink of eternity and the final judgement, you see things differently.

apart from the mumbo jumbo ghost stories, a hare is a flight animal as is a deer, 10 minutes after they've been chased their back to normal its just life for them, what they were designed to do.

Y'know..I cant see even how carted deer hunting is classified as a bloodsport anyway.I'ts not like the deer is killed or anything.
    Even the dogs dont bite and hold it . Now,compare it to a par force hunt in France where the objective is to kill the deer by stabbing it in full gallop with a special sword while being chased by a pack of hounds who will bite and hold if they can.Nor is the deer given any quarter if it takes even to the water and swims for it.
    Would give it to the French for horsemanship and knife skills,but that is a hunt in extremis.Maybe they should have alook at our European neighbours for better TV??

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

If its as bad as the one they did on the Corrib Gas then we're all in for it:(

Sparks wrote: »
    A nice leather coat would keep you warm there.

Seriously, this thread is close enough to the line without needing to go jumping around the place and bringing in Near-Death Experiences (or, as the medical community tends to call them, oxygen starvation induced hallucinations) and religion. This is a hunting forum. The question of whether or not hunting, carried out in accordance with the law and best practices, is ethical is off the table. It just is. If you can't accept that, you need to have that debate elsewhere because it's been done here over and over again, and we've had enough of the same old tired argument.

Stick to the original topic please folks.

NDEs defy those so-called explanations, as you'd discover if you researched the subject properly, but I won't go into all that here, in deference to your advice, though sometimes one does need to make reference to other sources and experiences. Your statement on the ethical question of hunting being ethical etc ("it just is") is your own opinion, Sparks, and far from "off the table".

You can ban people from this forum not accepting your opinion, but that doesn't make the agrument go away.

Cockfighting once accorded with the law, as did badger baiting and carted staghunting. That made them legal, not necessarily right.

I don't object to shooting, because its quick if done properly, and I don't condemn the coursing and badger baiting and foxhunting folk as people. I would merely advise them to consider how they will answer for their actions when their time comes to depart this earthly life.

I don't believe in Hell incidentally, as I can't imagine anyone could be so bad as to deserve that pubishment, even badger baiters. But yes, I have no doubt but that wanton cruelty to animals in "sport" will carry an afterlife price-tag. Hey, we'll all find out when the time comes. If I'm wrong, well...we'll see!

apart from the mumbo jumbo ghost stories, a hare is a flight animal as is a deer, 10 minutes after they've been chased their back to normal its just life for them, what they were designed to do.

Not if you do some serious research. I guess you'll find out when the time comes. I say being deliberately cruel to animals is going to cost us.

We'll wait and see, shall we?

Not if you do some serious research. I guess you'll find out when the time comes. I say being deliberately cruel to animals is going to cost us.

We'll wait and see, shall we?
    Now let's not get carried away and pretend the "animal gods" are going to come down and kill every one of us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

NDEs defy those so-called explanations, as you'd discover if you researched the subject properly, but I won't go into all that here, in deference to your advice, though sometimes one does need to make reference to other sources and experiences. Your statement on the ethical question of hunting being ethical etc ("it just is") is your own opinion, Sparks, and far from "off the table".

You can ban people from this forum not accepting your opinion, but that doesn't make the agrument go away.

Cockfighting once accorded with the law, as did badger baiting and carted staghunting. That made them legal, not necessarily right.

I don't object to shooting, because its quick if done properly, and I don't condemn the coursing and badger baiting and foxhunting folk as people. I would merely advise them to consider how they will answer for their actions when their time comes to depart this earthly life.

I don't believe in Hell incidentally, as I can't imagine anyone could be so bad as to deserve that pubishment, even badger baiters. But yes, I have no doubt but that wanton cruelty to animals in "sport" will carry an afterlife price-tag. Hey, we'll all find out when the time comes. If I'm wrong, well...we'll see!

You may take a moment, when you stand at the edge of the internet as to why you've just received a weeks holiday from this forum.

Hint, the answer may be in another moderators post above. Continued contravention of the charter has a habit of achieving this result. Feel free to ponder what God may make of it all, in a wider sense, in the fullness of time, and according to the bigger picture.

Back on topic please :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

I seen the ad the other night and from what I seen they are going to get lads who lets say may not be the sharpest tools in the box and air their comments

homerhop wrote: »
    I seen the ad the other night and from what I seen they are going to get lads who lets say may not be the sharpest tools in the box and air their comments
    Is there anywhere I can see the ad on the net? I never watch TV :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

homerhop wrote: »
    It's an unfortunately standard tabloid approach :(
    And if they can't find lads with more mouth than brains, they'll just edit the footage until it looks like they did.

Sparks wrote: »
    It's an unfortunately standard tabloid approach :(
    And if they can't find lads with more mouth than brains, they'll just edit the footage until it looks like they did.

They'll try to make all hunters out to be a bunch of murdering psychos and good old joe public will swallow every f#@*ing bit of it. Same old same old :(

Wonder is this the antis getting desperate??
    After all things havent been going their way for the last few months.

Green party gone along with their spokespeople,and proably wont be back
    effectively in Irish political life for at least a minimum of 15 years.
    [HINT good time to plant a" sleeper" in there now.:D]

FG/Labour more than likely to to repeal the stag hunting ban.This has them all in a tizzy,getting them attacking every pro stag hunting letter in the national media.

A proable crap programme on fieldsports with a 75% slant coming along now is methinks a bit to coincedential??:rolleyes:

yeah i think you could be right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭pugw

Is it on tv3 player cant find it?

it wont be on till this tuesday coming

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

TV3, Tuesday night, 22nd March, @ 10pm
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭jamesbrond

I never minded hunts before. I thought it was cool to watch them on the horses and all the cars chasing them along the roads trying to see where they come out next. It was exciting and an event.

But then a few years ago watching the local stag hunt, I could hear the hounds in the distance and looked down the end of our garden and the stag was there under a tree trying to get its breath back. It was full of blood from going over ditches and fences and in bits. It was also so knackered it was just about to drop dead. Eventually as the hounds got close it ran off again. I heard later it died of exhaustion. I filmed the poor thing and was going to send it to RTE, but was persuaded not to by my brother as stag hunting was about to be banned. If its repealed I'll send it off and put it on youtube. It really is distressing stuff and I have no doubt it would have an impact.

After that I cant watch a hunt ever again. If you must kill animals, shoot them, do it quickly. Dont chase and terrify the living daylights out of them, making their fear and misery last for hours.
    I even go shooting still with the old man. ITs the chase hunts that I have a problem with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

I have said it before when this topic pops up every year, the chasing of foxes on hounds is a social event nothing more, I have shot more foxes with the rifle and lamp this year on a Friday night than the local hunt has got in 10 years. In fact our fox drives on a Sunday with 3 terriers and a beagle cross have got more foxes than the local hunt.

Its a pity people cant leave the mounted packs alone, maybe if they didnt wear a red coat it would be more acceptable. On the class issue there are people of all classes who hunt on horse back, I know 2 teachers and their daughter who is in Secondary school, a block layer a couple of Farmers. Gone is the landed gentry argument a long time ago. However as a Kid I do remember that there where a couple of A holes among the horsey set in North County Dublin, but isnt that life you could argue the same about the GAA;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,682 ✭✭✭Kat1170

But to be honest, as it stands, I don't really agree with mounted hunts. I don't know much about them .

And therein lies the problem :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭thelurcher

I have said it before when this topic pops up every year, the chasing of foxes on hounds is a social event nothing more
    What a stupid thing to say in fairness.
    in fact our fox drives on a Sunday with 3 terriers and a beagle cross have got more foxes than the local hunt
    I've seen the gun packs in action - it's not to be confused with hunting though - not much skill or sport in using a 'bobbery' pack to flush a small cover surrounded by guns.
    I've also seen way too many foxes tumbled by a shotgun and run on - they're always counted as part of the bag - and rightly so because they are going to die - slowly but inevitably.
    So I agree with you that yes it is a better method of killing larger numbers of foxes.

What annoys me is that the clueless amongst us including some of the antis try and make out that shooting is less cruel and more sporting - that is most definitely not the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

In my opinion, be it terrier, hound, lurcher, shotgun or rifle, There all just different methods of fox controll!
    It really gets on my wick when i hear lads putting down or bad mouthing each others method of hunting, when we should be sticking together on these matter's!
    At the end of the day i think we can all agree on this, that we all want a quick dispatch, be it gun or hound, none of us want to see foxes suffer a long drawn out death!
    This is something the anti's don't seem to, or maybe don't want to understand!

thelurcher wrote: »
    What a stupid thing to say in fairness..

Why?:), They rarely get any foxes, so as a method of controlling vermin
    its poor. When I ask my friend why does he ride out, he says for the "Craic" and the fun of it, when you see them all hanging around the gathering spot drinking tea and sandwiches they look very happy...:) so why would the comment that its more like a social event be stupid:confused:

I agree with your other comments hence AAA is the only way:D

Eddie B wrote: »
    In my opinion, be it terrier, hound, lurcher, shotgun or rifle, There all just different methods of fox controll!
    It really gets on my wick when i hear lads putting down or bad mouthing each others method of hunting, when we should be sticking together on these matter's!
    At the end of the day i think we can all agree on this, that we all want a quick dispatch, be it gun or hound, none of us want to see foxes suffer a long drawn out death!
    This is something the anti's don't seem to, or maybe don't want to understand!

Nobody is putting down the method of hunting, i was merely pointing out that the mounted hunt around me anyway rarely get a fox, yet they are the ones that get the flack from the antis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

Nobody is putting down the method of hunting, i was merely pointing out that the mounted hunt around me anyway rarely get a fox, yet they are the ones that get the flack from the antis.
    Not directed at your post lad!
    Look back at some of the other posts, you'll see where im coming from!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Sonovagun

For those who are interested. You can ring TV3 on 01 4193333 to comment on tonights program! It's important we do so as this promgram is going to be a onesided anti view on our sport! You can also email TV3 at info@tv3.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

Starting now!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭tfox

ten mins in and I'm nearly switching off, what a tool, he's wrecking my head !!

Has anyone here ever felt sorry for a fox....? Only time I felt sorry for a fox was when it was injured or diseased and then I did the decent thing !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Programme is rather dull really, though I'd love to be your man in charge of all those hounds:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭BELOWaverageIQ

They are making sure that they get in as many names, addresses and car / jeep registrations on camera as is possible.!
    .... Or am I just being paranoid ?.....
    Their out to get me ya know :-))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭tfox

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Programme is rather dull really, though I'd love to be your man in charge of all those hounds:cool:

Fine pack alright !!

Such a sensationalist tool the presenter !!