Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

100km in about 50 days - Tour De Cure

• 17-03-2011 5:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭

Hi guys. Im going to be doing the above - reakon its around 50 days away, problem is I havent cycled properly since novrmber due to flu, snow and then injury. Ive never cycled more than 50km either. I was thinking from this weekend doing saturday and sunday same distance each day starting at 30km per day going up 5km per day each weekend. Any advice / plan? Thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Evening mid-week spins of about two hours when the clocks go forward on 27th March, and a longer spin on a Saturday. If you miss the Saturday then you go on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭aquanaut

To break it up a bit? - cool. Probably a good idea, forgot about the clocks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

Aqua,
    When I am trying to get back in shape, I stand for every hill.

Kick it into a higher gear if need be, but don't sit.

Stretch for 20-30 mins before and after.

Eat 2 cooked eggs within the first 1/2 hour of stopping.

Ride for three days and rest for one.

You'll be flying it!

Slan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭JacksonHeightsOwn

Doing a ton for your first time sounds alot more daunting than it actually is

I read up on a training plan for the Wicklow last year, and the guy that wrote the article was saying you should really only concentrate on doing hours on the bike, rather than distance

The hardest thing is just being comfortable, as in getting a sore back or legs, so do try and do a good few longer timed spins before hand, don't worry if you don't do a 100k before the day, trust me, if you can do 80, then 100 is not much further, just keep grubbing on the bike, because if you get a hunger knock, then you'll struggle to go another kilometre after it

I'm not some super cyclist but to put the hunger knock into perspective for you, I regularly do up to 100km with my club spins, one day last summer me and a mate cycled to howth from our homes in Tallaght. The two of us forgot our money and never brought food, I got the knock in drimnagh, so usually a 20 minute cycle from Tallaght, that 20 minute cycle took me over an hour to do, and it was bloody horrendous!!!

With a decent level of fitness, and a full belly, you'll be grand!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭aquanaut

This is pure gold - thanks lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Rallymad

Hi just wondering whats the TDC like im thinking of doing it the 165k route just wondering am i aiming to high ive only been back on the bike since early jan started off slowly but would do 70 k on a training spin no bother and last sat did a charity run from cashel to waterford and cycled home 130k at avg 27kph in 4h 56m which i was delighted with but there wouldnt of been any climbs on that route just a couple of hills and looking at the TDC it there are a few with the time left and now the long evenings ill be able to train more what im asking is the TDC 165 route is down as expert will it be all racers or will there be a wide spread of capability,s or am i just asking for trouble with this level of route?

Rallymad wrote: »
    Hi just wondering whats the TDC like im thinking of doing it the 165k route just wondering am i aiming to high ive only been back on the bike since early jan started off slowly but would do 70 k on a training spin no bother and last sat did a charity run from cashel to waterford and cycled home 130k at avg 27kph in 4h 56m which i was delighted with but there wouldnt of been any climbs on that route just a couple of hills and looking at the TDC it there are a few with the time left and now the long evenings ill be able to train more what im asking is the TDC 165 route is down as expert will it be all racers or will there be a wide spread of capability,s or am i just asking for trouble with this level of route?

You'll be grand. Just get a bit of training in, and on the day make sure you eat enough and pace yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

I am far from a good cyclist, and to date I'm still a smoker. Last years TdC was my first proper outing of 2010, I doubt I had even cycled 160k by then and I did it no bother (7 hours including breaks start to finish I think) trust me if your on the bike now you may not come in with the first group but you;ll enjoy it and finish comfortably.
    There is a great atmosphere, seeing, chatting to and cycling with the living legend Roche will get the blood up.
    Last year I was finishing my prep when who walked over and started getting his bike set up beside me? Only Stephen himself, 'don't tell me you have you do that for your own bike' I said to him, 'ah I know how I like it set up he said' no doubt remembering back to the hordes of comely maidens who used serve his every whim, 'bye gone days', I'm sure he thought until he remembered the Audi RX8 he had just stepped out of
    [Embedded Image Removed]

far from over yet Rochie boy....

Anyway my point is its a great event and its one to enjoy, and no better enjoyment than sitting later thinking of your accomplishment!
    Don't think, just do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

I am far from a good cyclist, and to date I'm still a smoker. Last years TdC was my first proper outing, I doubt I had even cycled 160k by then and I did it no bother (7 hours including breaks start to finish I think) trust me if your on the bike now you may not come in with the first group but you;ll enjoy it and finish comfortably.
    There is a great atmosphere, seeing, chatting to and cycling with the living legend Roche will get the blood up.
    Last year I was finishing my prep when who walked over and started getting his bike set up beside me? Only Stephen himself, 'don't tell me you have you do that for your own bike' I said to him, 'ah I know how I like it set up he said' no doubt remembering back to the hordes of comely maidens who used serve his every whim, 'bye gone days', I'm sure he thought until he remembered the Audi RX8 he had just stepped out of
    [URL="http://www.google.ie/imgres?imgurl=http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_I-
    UoAfAL_Pw/S6oxyTRQA1I/AAAAAAAAAIc/CXOLwxChEyI/s1600/audi-R8-fast-and-furious-723561.jpg&imgrefurl=http://combinedca.blogspot.com/2010_09_01_archive.html&h=421&w=800&sz=65&tbnid=C67STccUxMvbPM:&tbnh=75&tbnw=143&prev=/images?q=audi+rx8&zoom=1&q=audi+rx8&usg=__DFx-GjMKp33FLSOqSNHKBRHWJt0=&sa=X&ei=ZXKSTdLBB4SChQeViaWNDw&ved=0
    CBoQ9QEwAQ"][Embedded Image Removed][/URL]x

far from over yet Rochie boy....

Anyway my point is its a great event and its one to enjoy, and no better enjoyment than sitting later thinking of your accomplishment!

Don't think, just do!

Your some spacer :D...in a good way of course!
    He's right OP, I'm doing the 100k kinsale cycle just cos of him!