Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Major heroin dealer" beaten and warned to leave country or face death

• 16-03-2011 5:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

CIRA blamed for attack on man (20)
    DISSIDENT Republicans are believed to have carried out a violent punishment beating on a Clondalkin man.

The attack, which left the 20-year-old man with serious leg injuries, took place close to his home in the Dublin suburb last week. Gardai believe the Continuity IRA may have been behind the attack.

He was previously assaulted last January, after which a spokesman claiming to be from the Continuity IRA contacted the Herald to claim responsibility.

The call was made on January 18 and the same message was relayed again two days later, when a man told the Herald that the Clondalkin man who was the victim had a week to leave the country or he would be killed.

The caller stated that the man had been subjected to a punishment beating in January by members of the CIRA Dublin brigade. It has now emerged that one of the named men was attacked again last weekend.

Detectives at Clondalkin garda station are investigating the incident. It is understood that the man was beaten.

The targeted man has previously been issued with security advice by gardai, who are treating the CIRA claims seriously.

The alleged CIRA spokesperson claimed to the Herald that both men were major heroin dealers and that's why they were being driven from the country.

This is the second time that the dissident group has called the Herald to warn a target that they must get out of Ireland.

In a call last June, a man claiming to be from the dissident group said a bomb had been left outside the home of an alleged Dublin drug dealer.

A "partially exploded" pipe bomb was subsequently discovered at the property in Finglas.

http://www.herald.ie/national-news/c...0-2581482.html

I read this today and got thinking. Heroin dealers are scum, I say most will agree. How can they be combated? Its clear the state isn't doing enough and groups like the CIRA both north and south are attempting to capitalize on that with "community policing" in an effort to gain support.

What can the govt do to eliminate drug dealers? While I don't care about cannabis being legalized I don't think heroin ever should be. It is way too destructive of a drug. People know who these drug dealers are, the Gardaí sure as hell do, how are they still out on the streets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭NoseyMike2010

Druggies OUT OUT OUT!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Taking out the competition

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

I just want to say...

Hahaha gangsta' fcukas! :cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    What can the govt do to eliminate drug dealers?

Make kids study Requiem For A Dream and Ross Kemp's Extreme World Chicago episode in school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

What Fratton Fred says. I highly doubt this is any kind of ethical community policing, rather just getting rival drug dealers off their patch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

seamus wrote: »
    What Fratton Fred says. I highly doubt this is any kind of ethical community policing, rather just getting rival drug dealers off their patch.
    In all honesty I feel it is an attempt, certainly in the north, to "community police" in order to build support.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭Tahuti

It's much more likely that he didn't pay up when they tried to extort him.

The republicans are 'taxing' most dealers in the rougher suburbs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

let them all kill each other for all I care, cause that's what drug dealers do, is kill countless amount of people an get away with it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 400 ✭✭Im Only 71Kg

they should have just killed him.

In all honesty I feel it is an attempt, certainly in the north, to "community police" in order to build support.

apparently they help old ladies cross the road and rescue stray puppy dogs too.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 3,072 Mod ✭✭✭✭OpenYourEyes

I remember a similar thread last year basically coming to the same conclusion alright!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

I'm against capital punishment but violence is the only thing that some of these scumbags respect. I wouldnt shead tears over it.

Balfie wrote: »
    let them all kill each other for all I care, cause that's what drug dealers do, is kill countless amount of people an get away with it..

Thats grand till someone innocent gets caught in the middle.

Moving away for the whole militant republican thing, what can the govt do to combat drug dealers, even if it is just to prevent vigilantism?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭pockets3d

Quite an ignorant opinion there. Of course paramilitary groups have to do punishment beatings on career criminals when they force conventional police out of communities otherwise a community infiltrated by the C/RIRA would become a disgraced wasteland more than it already is.

Next you''ll say they threaten joy riders to ''get rid of the competition''.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

The CIRA don't deal drugs. Can't say I'm a fan of them, or RSF - But anyone who takes out a heroin dealer is worthy of a medal. I have no doubt that they removed him because they don't want any drug dealers supplying children drugs and ruining their lives, and not the more Sun Tabloid inclined headline of "taking out the competition".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Dead right. I absolutely support vigilante work like this. Police often have their hands tied by our sh1tty justice system so let people like those responsible take the necessary action.

Moving away for the whole militant republican thing, what can the govt do to combat drug dealers, even if it is just to prevent vigilantism?

Nothing.

The 'War on Drugs' has been an abject failure since it's conception.

Legalise them before more nasty derivatives such as crack and meth are invented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

While its difficult to have sympathy for a drug dealer, its also hard to support the CIRA if they are using pipe bombs to make their point because it really is only a matter of time before somebody either innocent or completely unrelated is hurt or killed during one of the CIRA's punishments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

He was beaten for either not paying money to them or else they want to drive him off so they can move another dealer in

There was nothing noble about this act

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Balfie wrote: »

I used to be of the same opinion 'til the likes of that Geoghan chap from Limerick was shot in a case of mistaken identity.

Tahuti wrote: »
    Nothing.

The 'War on Drugs' has been an abject failure since it's conception.

Legalise them before more nasty derivatives such as crack and meth are invented.
    I would favor cannabis being legalized, but heroin is so destructive its unreal.

take away the supply by investing in a credible border protection force.

Take away demand by not being so soft on end users.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

yea great, now stop fu*king spray painting your threats to junkies on hard working peoples homes you bunch of hypocrites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Declare open season on people who are reasonably suspected of dealing heroin with their pictures advertised and a small price on their heads. That would be a pretty effective measure I would think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭whoopdedoo

Taking out the competition

and those not willing to "donate" a sizable wedge of their finances to the cause

take away the supply by investing in a credible border protection force.

Take away demand by not being so soft on end users.
    Fred, go look at some of these end users they target, they are wrecks of human beings, all they care about is the next fix.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 825 ✭✭✭macroboy

you are right ..drug dealers are scum..now im off for a pint .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Tough one.

Sometime any stand against anti-social behaviour is to be tactically welcomed but opening the Pandora's box of letting thon nutcases impose justice is very worrying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

As a person who lives in one of these areas plagued by Drug dealers especially heroin and after all types of measures being taken and tried out,violently and non violently, I would say it has to go back to the social & economic education of the area and the young people who live there, and what also is very important is that we should look at the legalisation & control & distribution of drugs to take away the massive profits that these gangs can make,Everything has been tried in the global war on drugs from executions to life sentences to ampations of limps,yet the drug gangs still operate and get even bigger into more organised gangs,Take the prohibition away from it and let the governments organise & control it themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭whoopdedoo

dlofnep wrote: »
    The CIRA don't deal drugs. Can't say I'm a fan of them, or RSF - But anyone who takes out a heroin dealer is worthy of a medal. I have no doubt that they removed him because they don't want any drug dealers supplying children drugs and ruining their lives, and not the more Sun Tabloid inclined headline of "taking out the competition".

bahahahahaha! if you believe that you're so mistaken you must be one of the cira

He was beaten for either not paying money to them or else they want to drive him off so they can move another dealer in

There was nothing noble about this act
    I have yet to see any credible evidence that any militant republican groups deal drugs.

That said, seen as there is no mention of any codewords, it is not confirmed that this was the CIRA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I have yet to see any credible evidence that any militant republican groups deal drugs.

Not so much deal drugs themselves
    Just "tax" the ones that are there

I would favor cannabis being legalized, but heroin is so destructive its unreal.

There seems to be a certain demographic, in general, who become addicted to heroin.

Perhaps improve or remove the conditions that lead to it's use and abuse.

I had a couple of friends who were addicts, and I asked them both why?

Both replied, on separate occasions, 'To forget'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

pockets3d wrote: »
    Joyriders aren't selling anything of worth.

Don't know about smack but there's a fairly decent volume of rumour especially from people I would trust in the North and here. As in people in the communities in question.

I accept that it's hard to base a case on that but then again, it's certainly no stronger a case than you and your cronies on here saying it's not.

Plus if you are involved in money laundering, smuggling, robbery, extortion, murder and protection rackets, why not go the whole hog and control drug trade?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 730 ✭✭✭gosuckonalemon

The CIRA are just scumbags who extort money from drug dealers as well as sell drugs themselves.

They obviously have a reason to punish this guy, probably for money owed, and decided to pull a PR stunt in the garbage media.

Don't be fooled. The CIRA are worse that any heroin dealer. Not only are they involved both directly and indirectly in dealing they are also murderers.

stovelid wrote: »
    Don't know about smack but there's a fairly decent volume of rumour especially from people I would trust in the North and here. As in people in the communities in question.

I accept that it's hard to base a case on that but then again, it's certainly no stronger a case than you and your cronies on here saying it's not.

Plus if you are involved in money laundering, smuggling, robbery, extortion, murder and protection rackets, why not go the whole hog and control drug trade?
    In my experience RSF members tend to be the uber idealistic and principled kind, I assume CIRAs volunteers are similar. They go on about constantly about the working class(they are dedicated socialists) selling drugs doesnt fit their MO.

whoopdedoo wrote: »
    bahahahahaha! if you believe that you're so mistaken you must be one of the cira

Presumably you have evidence that the CIRA deals drugs?

Secondly, reported for such an asinine suggestion.

In my experience RSF members tend to be the uber idealistic and principled kind, I assume CIRAs volunteers are similar. They go on about constantly about the working class(they are dedicated socialists) selling drugs doesnt fit their MO.

Neither does killing working class people or becoming wealthy on cross-borderrackets but sure a MO is by definition a means and not an end.

Tahuti wrote: »
    There seems to be a certain demographic, in general, who become addicted to heroin.

Perhaps improve or remove the conditions that lead to it's use and abuse.

I had a couple of friends who were addicts, and I asked them both why?

Both replied, on separate occasions, 'To forget'.
    Thats a good point. High population density and lack of work, coupled with low education is not a good recipe.

The Provos were big into it in the eighties and nineties, just not in Ireland. They were wholesaling on the continent mostly.

Then they had their favoured dealers up North. The likes of Paddy Farrell, who died up in your town, was a massive source of funds, especially in the eighties/nineties.

And in Ireland the Provos stepped aside while the INLA did a lot of the wholesaling and retailing here. A neat little arrangement for both groups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

pockets3d wrote: »
    Quite an ignorant opinion there. Of course paramilitary groups have to do punishment beatings on career criminals when they force conventional police out of communities otherwise a community infiltrated by the C/RIRA would become a disgraced wasteland more than it already is.

no they threaten joy riders for the same reason they have in the past
    to frighten and control working class areas , lean on the locals , get them 2 do what they want or get a capping

EVERYONE knows that the CIRA are trying to muscle out RIVAL dealers ,
    the dept of justice , the garda , the government and local community leaders have all been quoited publicly saying the same ,
    dont try bull**** people by claiming they have nothing 2 do with it

they are as much freedom fighters as the smack dealers are.
    get use to the fact that they are scum and are supported by a tiny tiny amount of the population
    They have NO mandate to continue ANY operations , they are criminals just as much as the dealers are ,full stop
    how many got elected this time round ? Zero - says it all really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

dlofnep wrote: »
    Presumably you have evidence that the CIRA deals drugs?

Secondly, reported for such an asinine suggestion.

do you not read the Irish times / indo / hearld / sunday world / news of the world / rte / bbc NI / ??
    they cant all be wrong can they ?

will i also get reported for not agreeing with you ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Aren't the IRA more into protection rackets than drugs? They're great lads. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

what about them other fellas that were about for a while, direct action against drugs. have they gone away (you know)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭pockets3d

Joyriders aren't selling anything of worth.

Then what does the IRA have against them other than the same thigns they have against drug dealers? Namely criminals make the RA look bad and they have to ''police'' ''their own'' communites when they won't let the PSNI do it.

inb4 they don't have a problem with joyriders http://www.thejournal.ie/cira-building-up-its-paramilitary-strength-2010-07/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 905 ✭✭✭FUNKY LOVER

Not so much deal drugs themselves
    Just "tax" the ones that are there

ah the evening herald,such a credible source of information:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

Paparazzo wrote: »
    Aren't the IRA more into protection rackets than drugs? They're great lads. :rolleyes:

Yep, the republican brotherhood is still very active on that front. I wonder where the money goes .... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

There's plenty of evidence they are despicable people who do despicable things, though. And they support similar people through weapon smuggling. The guy who sells kilos of heroin is also the guy who'll be providing machine guns and semtex. Be they crime lords, Gaddafi family members, or former Soviet Bloc/East German money launderers.

Not everyone is Mr. Nice your local, friendly pot dealer.

dj jarvis wrote: »
    do you not read the Irish times / indo / hearld / sunday world / news of the world / rte / bbc NI / ??
    they cant all be wrong can they ?

I read some of the above. So perhaps you might link me to one of their articles that has evidence to support the accusations of rampant drug-dealing within the CIRA?
    dj jarvis wrote: »
    will i also get reported for not agreeing with you ?

No, but you will get ignored for being unable to read. I didn't report him for disagreeing with me. I reported him for accusing me of being a member of the CIRA.