Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sell 04 car for scrap?

• 15-03-2011 11:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 554 ✭✭✭

My 04 Espace has engine trouble and garage have said its not economical to repair.

Can I sell it for scrap and would anyone know how much for or how to maximise what I can get for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Get a second opinion.

A new engine should be a grand or two, you'd find it hard to get a new car cheaper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Wantobe

Do you think so?

Garage said espace notoriously difficult to repair and that even if they did repair it they wouldn't give a warranty on the work as they tend to develop lots of problems when the engine is messed about with? The problem is an injector.

BTW its a renault garage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭David09

Get a second opinion by an independent garage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

If you do end up srapping it, I'll take it off you for the scrap value.

Is it a 1.9 dCi?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭dirtydiesel

Deffo get a 2nd opinion, finding it hard to believe just an injector problem could cost more than the value of the car to fix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Second opinion. Even if it will cost you extra now.

Imagine later this year you realise you scraped a car which could have been on roads for anather 10 years?

Thanks for all the replies.

Asked my husband again and he said he thinks the garage are right. A new espace engine is very expensive ( not just a couple of thousand) and secondhand/recon are difficult to fit as these engines have sensors all over and give a lot of trouble. A friend of ours worked a few years ago as a mech in a renault garage and he said it can be done but we won't get a warranty for the work and no one will want to buy the car knowing it's had this trouble. Basically don't want to throw good money after bad. Someone pm'd me a name of a place for a recon engine and I will ring them and see if they will guarantee their work but if not...:(

It's a 2.2DCI and I'm having trouble getting a quote for scrapping it. Rang a couple of places- one guy is coming to see it, but others won't even look at it unless I tell them what I want for it- but haven't a clue what its worth.

Probably worth loads to them for parts, its a 7 seater in good nick, but can anyone help on what to look for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

Just as a matter of interest, what's the mileage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Wantobe wrote: »
    Do you think so?

Garage said espace notoriously difficult to repair and that even if they did repair it they wouldn't give a warranty on the work as they tend to develop lots of problems when the engine is messed about with? The problem is an injector.

BTW its a renault garage.
    Not to put too fine a point on it, they don't sound trustworthy. Bring the car to a good independent; many main dealers are expensive, indifferent and, when pushed, incompetent.

Main dealers sell parts, the workshop is their way of selling more parts.
    You need to.talk to a specialist like ivi, main dealer would replace every part one by one with new ones till something works.

Get it out of the main dealer, remember their sales dept have an interest in you getting rid or the espace.and buying something else

All the lads you have gotten advice from sound like grade A apes, a decent independent mechanic with Renault experience would be well worth consulting. The comment about the sensors etc applies to all cars so I don't see his point at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Satanta

Probably worth loads to them for parts, its a 7 seater in good nick, but can anyone help on what to look for?

Look for another garage and a second opinion. I find it very hard to believe you would need to replace an engine because of an injector

Thanks for all the replies which have been very helpful. Still waiting on the recon place to get back but for now am forgetting about scrapping and am investigating other options.

I'm ressurrecting this thread as I wanted to say a big thank you to all the posters who took the time to reply.

I thought my car was scrap value only but having read the advice here I looked into three different routes. I asked another two garages about repairing it, I asked several garages about trade in value on it and I put it for sale, openly stating the condition. The most I could get on it as a trade in was 1000. The garages wouldnt state exactly how much to repair but said it could be anywhere from 1500 up to 2000 or more and they couldnt give me an accurate estimate until they broke the head and examined the engine. Luckily I was able to sell the car- a mechanic bought it to fix it himself. I sold it for 2750 at which price I was happy and I think the buyer was happy. Fair play to him if he can repair it and make a profit.

But for this thread I would never have tried selling it and probably would have sold it for scrap or at the most accepted a trade in.

So thanks again boardsies!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,638 ✭✭✭Turbulent Bill

The garages wouldnt state exactly how much to repair but said it could be anywhere from 1500 up to 2000 or more and they couldnt give me an accurate estimate until they broke the head and examined the engine. Luckily I was able to sell the car- a mechanic bought it to fix it himself. I sold it for 2750 at which price I was happy and I think the buyer was happy. Fair play to him if he can repair it and make a profit.

Just out of interest, was the mechanic who bought it one of the ones who examined it in a garage (and couldn't estimate the repair), or a 3rd party? I'd be pretty dubious if someone told me they didn't know the repair cost yet was still happy to buy the car with his own funds.

No, not at all- I advertised it on donedeal and a totally independent mechanic from up the country came down to buy it.