Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ministers to lose garda drivers, State cars

• 15-03-2011 10:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭

This probably on here already so delete if necessary

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0315/politics_transport.html

The Government this morning agreed new arrangements for the transport and staff support for ministers in line with the terms of the Programme for Government.
    Minister for Justice Alan Shatter has said the changes would produce substantial savings.
    Under the new arrangements, garda drivers and State cars will be retained only for the President, the Taoiseach, the Tánaiste and the Minister for Justice and Equality for security reasons.
    Ministers, together with the Ceann Comhairle and the Attorney General, will supply their own cars and civilian drivers will be hired, as has been the case for Ministers of State for some years.
    Official cars and garda drivers will no longer be provided to former T
    aoisigh and former Presidents, except for important State occasions.

This is great news
    I am warming to this Kenny chap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭zig

yea same here , the money saved is peanuts in the grand scheme of things but its still sending a message. Im still going to proceed with caution though because as far as I remember the first thing Cowen did was get rid of the Galway races Fianna Fail tent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭Vizzy

I welcome this.
    As already said the money saved will be tiny but the message is good.
    I reckon that we will save the cost of 20 drivers at say €50,000 each and the cost of the difference between a Merc and a Passat X 20.
    Just on a kind of sidenote,Manseragh( and I don't even like him) used public transport,mainly the train,unless a car was absolutely necessary.
    Hope the new lot will be forced to do the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

This doesn't save a huge amount of money in the grand scheme of things, but it sends a signal and a lot of people will be that little bit more willing to put up with difficulty because the government has shown some leadership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Just as Skoda offered the government 5 free superb cars for free for three months - the government should take them up on it seeing as they are only getting rid of the cars in June.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

I wish you guys would stop saying how little money this will save, the amount is irrelevant.
    Whats important is that steps are been taken to mend the unnecessary holes in govt spending.
    We should encourage this instead of straight away looking at the negative, it would seem that your damned if you do, damned if you dont in the eyes of the Irish public. No wonder FF didnt care what damage they did.

have you even read past the first line of each reply?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

zig wrote: »
    have you even read past the first line of each reply?

I have, but everybody leads with the negative.
    It seems that nobodys happy unless they're miserable. The savage eye skit had it 100% right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭Vizzy

Brendan,we may have gotten the sequence wrong in your eyes i.e negative befoe positive,but I think all are agreed that the move is the correct one.
    Personally I dont care if they save €1 or €1m as long as they break the "old order".
    It certainly makes it a bit easier for me to embrace some more pain if I know that those at the top are also feeling some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Brilliant news and it definitely sets a good example.

I'll bet Bertie is sweating now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

I suppose it's a nice PR stunt. I'd have liked reducing the number of Junior Ministers too. Car pooling wouldn't go a miss too.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

K-9 wrote: »
    I suppose it's a nice PR stunt. I'd have liked reducing the number of Junior Ministers too. Car pooling wouldn't go a miss too.

I'd hardly call it a PR stunt, it was one of their election promises.
    Now to see if they actually dissolve the Seanad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Tora Bora

Is there something about them now using their own cars and getting a milage allowance. Plus they will be able to hire their own private driver, and have tax payer pay for them.
    That will cost even more :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Tora Bora

What about our greatest ever leader Bertie:rolleyes: Did I not read somewhere, that he let his driving licence lapse:) Now this great patriot, is without a state car, and garda driver. That is terrible.
    Plus the poor auld sod, according to last weeks SINDO, is about to have ST Lukes sold out from under his anorak.;)
    He doesn't have a bank account:rolleyes:

SO how is this patriot, gonna live:P Will he live rough in one of our Coillte state owned forrests, which he is trying to flog to some China man for a few Remnbi's:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Tora Bora wrote: »
    Is there something about them now using their own cars and getting a milage allowance. Plus they will be able to hire their own private driver, and have tax payer pay for them.

My suspicion is that Junior Ministers would have an allowance for a driver and this will be similar.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

Why do ex taoiseachs get static garda security 24/7 on their homes. which costs us twice what the bloody car does.

I refer to Cowen Ahern, Bruton, Reynolds, and Cosgrave here. I also understand it applies to certain ex ministers of justice too. How much does that cost every year ?? Garrett Fitzgerald requested removal of this wasteful perk and his wish was granted. Fair play Garrett. Garrett also requested a Ford Galaxy car not a Merc...much easier to get in and out of at his age. However the main cost is the 2 Garda Drivers not the car itself.

This issue was reviewed a number of times in the past but this wasteful practice still continues.
    Speaking at the AGSI conference in Galway, Pat Byrne said it takes an average of 5 Gardaí to keep one post open on a 24-hour basis.

No change out of €300k a year.....EACH.... And we have to pay for their drivers who are not on 24/7 call :(

Ahern and Reynolds cost €175k each in Chauffeuring costs in 2009 and them both based in Dublin . :( It woulda been cheaper to hire the Monk and his skanger limos :D

That parasite Ahern cost around €300k Static + €175k Car + His €200k Leinster House office + his TD salary + his pension + expenses in 2009 alone :( The bulk of €1m spent maintaining that thing.

There is no reason why these security arrangements should apply to any of them save perhaps for Ahern and Cowen ....and that only because they destroyed the country on their watch and should fear the wrath of the victims.....us !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭Floppybits

have to say fair play to the new government on the steps they have taken since they came into power. It just goes to show how quickly they can change things compared to the twiddling and hand wringing that the last shower did over this.

Enda seems to have hit the ground running and I heard this morning that he has meeting with the US Treasury Secretary tomorrow to discuss the economic situation which was added at the last minute. It may not come to anything or then it again it could come to something. I believe that it is not that easy to get meetings with this person. But it does show that the man is serious, I think since coming in he has done a lot more good that clown and lendahand had done over the last couple of years.

I hope the rest of the cabinet now step up their game as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭BeeDI

Dilly O Wee, interviewed on nine o clock news last night. The skanger, with a straight face says, it should have been done long ago:rolleyes: He says the previous government was looking at it, but hadn't got around to it by the time they left office.
    How well they found time to pour half the nations wealth into the fianna fail Galway races tent ...... I mean the banks:( How ell they found time to launch the USC on people already struggling to keep afloat.

Good man Enda. Now let's see you find a way, to have the rotten bankers brought before the courts AFTER, minister Alan Shatter has had a chance to put a bit of manners on the legal system and capping the amount it can charge to defend these low lifer bankers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

but the state will now have an additional 20 odd gardai doing their jobs rather than being glorified chaffeurs.

this is great news and a postive step in the right direction, unlike FF's 'do as i say not what i do' attitude FG are showing some leadership and as my gran used say 'look after your pennies and the pounds will take care of themselves'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

Poor oul Bertie will have to get a taxi now when he is going to film his cupboard ads for the News of the World.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,050 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

The thing to do now is for constituents to contact their TDs, praise the government action and request further cuts to wasteful government expenditure. Let the politicians know we're happy with the measures and want to see more. They're not mind readers. FF profited from the apathy and lack of political engagement out there. Time to change that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

BeeDI wrote: »
    Dilly O Wee, interviewed on nine o clock news last night. The skanger, with a straight face says, it should have been done long ago:rolleyes: He says the previous government was looking at it, but hadn't got around to it by the time they left office.

yep 14 years was obviously just not quite long enough :rolleyes:

anyway good to see this - now a bit more off your salary and a few less juniors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/scores-of-garda-drivers-lose-plum-job-2581132.html

50 drivers on AVERAGE €77,000 salary! what is their left to say!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭femur61

I heard that they get millage and also allowance to pay a driver or car!

Idbatterim wrote: »
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/scores-of-garda-drivers-lose-plum-job-2581132.html

50 drivers on AVERAGE €77,000 salary! what is their left to say!

that should mean 50 extra gardai 'on the beat' in reality these guys who were drivers were winding down their time till retirement so will probably get cushy numbers somewhere.
    For argument sake those 50 gardai could be set up as a dedicated unit to tackle social welfare fraud or could be sent to work with CAB something worthwhile like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭manic mailman

yea same here , the money saved is peanuts in the grand scheme of things but its still sending a message. Im still going to proceed with caution though because as far as I remember the first thing Cowen did was get rid of the Galway races Fianna Fail tent.

Peanuts? If the Sunday Independant (or was it the Saturday Irish Times i read it in? - whatever) is to be believed, there will be savings in around €4 billion a year.

Regardless...the motive behind the action is welcome. Hopefully more in the same vein will follow.

Peanuts? If the Sunday Independant (or was it the Saturday Irish Times i read it in? - whatever) is to be believed, there will be savings in around €4 billion a year.

Regardless...the motive behind the action is welcome. Hopefully more in the same vein will follow.
    definitely a typo, 4 million as far as I know (alot of money but peanuts in comparison to the exchequer)

True but it is the principle of the thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭manic mailman

Ah right, sorry - i was thinking 4 billion was too much but the paper in question was in a recycling bin somewhere - effort of that :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭Welease

bamboozle wrote: »
    that should mean 50 extra gardai 'on the beat' in reality these guys who were drivers were winding down their time till retirement so will probably get cushy numbers somewhere.
    For argument sake those 50 gardai could be set up as a dedicated unit to tackle social welfare fraud or could be sent to work with CAB something worthwhile like that.

The link doesn't open for me.. but it sounds like more creative accounting..

If 50 drivers cost an average of €77K each, and you don't actually make the drivers redundant... then how do you manage to save €4 million Euro?

Welease wrote: »
    The link doesn't open for me.. but it sounds like more creative accounting..

If 50 drivers cost an average of €77K each, and you don't actually make the drivers redundant... then how do you manage to save €4 million Euro?

the gardai, if the meet certain criteria, are allowed to retire on superintendent pensions, otherwise if 50 gardai are allocated back to the gardai then that fills 50 positions that are no doubt lying unfilled within the gardai given the recruitment embargo.

my guess is that the gardai who get these jobs as drivers are nearing retirement and it had been seen as a cushy number to seem them through until retirement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭Welease

the gardai, if the meet certain criteria, are allowed to retire on superintendent pensions, otherwise if 50 gardai are allocated back to the gardai then that fills 50 positions that are no doubt lying unfilled within the gardai given the recruitment embargo.

my guess is that the gardai who get these jobs as drivers are nearing retirement and it had been seen as a cushy number to seem them through until retirement.

Thats irrelevant.. If you move a cost from one bucket to another, you don't save that cost..

Moving 50 gards into unfilled positions doesn't save €4 million when those positions were not going to be filled. The pay bill remains the same.
    Allowing all 50 to reitre (which is unlikely), would in fact increase the short term cost as they would be entitled to a lump sum payment and pension.

So where does the €4m saving come from?

Welease wrote: »
    Thats irrelevant.. If you move a cost from one bucket to another, you don't save that cost..

Moving 50 gards into unfilled positions doesn't save €4 million when those positions were not going to be filled. The pay bill remains the same.
    Allowing all 50 to reitre (which is unlikely), would in fact increase the short term cost as they would be entitled to a lump sum payment and pension.

So where does the €4m saving come from?

i'm sure if you're so intent on find out you could email your local td's to ask them if you disagree with everything on here, i doubt these figures were made up.

if all 50 gardai are to retire then the state will have to front load the costs associated with their retirement, but in the long run the cost of employing drivers for govt ministers will be far less than what it was prior to these changes.

if the 50 gardai moved back into gardai duty then it may result in the reduction of overtime currently being paid.

Either way, its a good move by the state whatever costs it saves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Head The Wall

We will also be paying the ministers travelling expenses and whatever they can pay for a civilian driver. I don't see this saving feck all really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Mac Man

We will also be paying the ministers travelling expenses and whatever they can pay for a civilian driver. I don't see this saving feck all really

The Ministers will get millage for the use of their car and other incidental expenses as are necessary. Will they have to pay for the vehicle insurance or will the State Certificate of Insurance Exemption apply. If they have to pay the car insurance it will be higher as the vehicle will be used for business. And if this is the case i am sure the loading on the policy will be high. again a refundable cost to the Minister and cost to the State. They will possibly get an interest free loan to help with the purchase of a car if necessary. The 2 drivers will be on the payroll of the Government department that the Minister is in (Public Sector Pay) As the vehicle is used in conjunction with the owners business are they liable for BiK tax ?
    In about 6 or 8 months some journalist will submit a Freedom of Information Act question relating to the costings of each Minister/car and the papers will have a field day telling the public that Minister X and Y got so many extra thousands in expenses. What will Joe Public say..." This was suppose to save money and look at all the extra expenses this shower are getting.
    Is getting millage and other expenses not more rewarding that having a Garda driver !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭keithcan

i'm sure if you're so intent on find out you could email your local td's to ask them.

Please no, please can we not get away from sending low level queries to TDs when in the next breath we'll be giving out yards that the same TDs are not dealing with big national questions and legislating.

Mac Man wrote: »
    The Ministers will get millage for the use of their car and other incidental expenses as are necessary. Will they have to pay for the vehicle insurance or will the State Certificate of Insurance Exemption apply. If they have to pay the car insurance it will be higher as the vehicle will be used for business. And if this is the case i am sure the loading on the policy will be high. again a refundable cost to the Minister and cost to the State. They will possibly get an interest free loan to help with the purchase of a car if necessary. The 2 drivers will be on the payroll of the Government department that the Minister is in (Public Sector Pay) As the vehicle is used in conjunction with the owners business are they liable for BiK tax ?
    In about 6 or 8 months some journalist will submit a Freedom of Information Act question relating to the costings of each Minister/car and the papers will have a field day telling the public that Minister X and Y got so many extra thousands in expenses. What will Joe Public say..." This was suppose to save money and look at all the extra expenses this shower are getting.
    Is getting millage and other expenses not more rewarding that having a Garda driver !!

And if/when that happens, then would be the time to get angry about it.
    Not now. Before we have all the information, before it has even happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Head The Wall

Well considering Michael Healy Rae gets around 500 Eu in expenses to travel up to Dublin for a meeting we have a right to be suspicious. It will vary where they will be travelling from but it sounds like it will save very little in the long run. We will see as you say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 EnufisEnuf

Hello

I'm looking for some help........I recently heard that the Ministers agreed not to have state run cars with drivers. Is there any truth in this.
    I also heard that the state were to be auctioned - but that in fact this has not happened and they are all actually in storage.

I've tried to google it to find out if there is any truth in these rumours.........anyone out there got some info??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

15/03/11

THE NEW GOVERNMENT has decided to cut back on ministerial transport arrangements, with all but three members of the cabinet being forced to supply their own cars from May.
    This morning’s cabinet meeting decided that only the Taoiseach, Tánaiste and Minister for Justice and Equality would still be given a State-supplied car with a full-time Garda driver – with all other members of the government having to stump up for their own cars in future.
    Other ministers would still be given drivers, under the new regime that takes effect on May 1, but the car will have to be supplied by the minister themselves – in line with the arrangements already in effect for junior ministers.
    Former Taoisigh – including Bertie Ahern and Brian Cowen – and former Presidents will also lose their automatic right to an official state-supplied car and a Garda driver, except when they are required in line with important State occasions.
    The President, Chief Justice and Director of Public Prosecutions are the only other people who retain a State car with a full-time Garda at the wheel.
    In a statement, a government spokesman said that those three, as well as the three exempted ministers – currently Enda Kenny, Eamon Gilmore, and Alan Shatter – required the use of a Garda driver for security reasons.
    The new moves will produce “very substantial savings”, the statement added, explaining that Ceann Comhairle Seán Barrett and attorney general Máire Whelan will also lose their full-time drivers and state-supplied cars, and will have to produce their own vehicles in future.
    In the case of the former Taoisigh and of former president Mary Robinson, the new transport arrangements come into effect in three months’ time.

http://www.thejournal.ie/cabinet-to-lose-ministerial-mercs-and-garda-drivers-2011-03/
    The Irish Times - Monday, May 2, 2011
    Ministerial perk of Merc with Garda driver ends

MICHAEL O'REGAN

THE MINISTERIAL Mercedes, which changed for voters over the years from being a sign of local status to one of excess, will cease to be a familiar sight in most constituencies from today.

It was revealed last October that providing State cars and Garda drivers had cost almost €11 million over the previous two years.

Fine Gael and Labour made pre-election commitments to reduce the cost involved, and Ministers were given until the weekend to sort out new transport arrangements when the two parties came into power.

With the exception of President Mary McAleese, Taoiseach Enda Kenny, Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore and Minister for Justice Alan Shatter, Ministers will provide their own cars from now on.

They will be entitled to mileage and to hire two civilian drivers paid for by the State.

The new arrangements are similar to those in place for several years for Ministers of State.

Former president Mary Robinson, and former taoisigh Liam Cosgrave, Garret FitzGerald, Albert Reynolds, John Bruton, Bertie Ahern and Brian Cowen, will also lose their State cars, although they will be entitled to official transport when attending State functions.

Chief Justice John Murray and Director of Public Prosecutions James Hamilton retain their official cars.

Mr Shatter, whose job it was to inform former senior office holders of the loss of the perk, has said the average annual cost of transport for a Minister of State, including drivers’ pay, was €120,000.

That contrasted, he said, with the estimated €280,000 it cost to provide senior Ministers with official cars and Garda drivers.

The 60 or so Garda drivers will be redeployed within the force and most of the vehicles in the car pool sold off.

Garda drivers worked hard and put in long hours while on duty. Some became a friend and confidante of the minister, while others had a tense relationship with their political boss, particularly in cases where the State car also became the family car.

The job was well remunerated, and Garda drivers who had three years’ service in the ministerial car pool in the last 10 years of service in the force could retire on annual pensions almost equal to those of Garda superintendents.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2011/0502/1224295868113.html
    Monday May 02 2011
    MINISTERS are rehiring their former garda drivers as civilian employees to continue ferrying them around, the Irish Independent has learned.

Most cabinet members will officially lose their garda drivers today as part of the radical cut in the ministerial car fleet.

The Department of Finance did not require ministers to advertise the €35,000 per year civilian driver posts, leaving ministers to make their own selections privately.

Several ministers are taking on former garda drivers who worked for them in the 1994-1997 rainbow coalition government.

These include Finance Minister Michael Noonan, Education Minister Ruairi Quinn, Transport Minister Leo Varadkar and Public Expenditure Minister Brendan Howlin.

Besides a salary of around €35,000, the drivers will also be entitled to their garda pensions, which are worth an average of around €38,000 to the 9,651 retired members of the force currently receiving them.

But they won't receive a second public service pension for their work as civilian drivers, under ministerial guidelines published by the Department of Finance.

Ministers have the option of buying a "ministerial Merc" out of their own pocket -- but Education Minister Ruairi Quinn is going for a more understated model. He is leasing a Skoda for his civilian drivers -- each minister has two -- to transport him around.

Other ministers have not yet finalised the contracts for their drivers.

This means Enterprise Minister Richard Bruton will have to take a taxi to Dublin Airport today to attend a conference in Holland.

Agriculture Minister Simon Coveney plans to use public transport or drive himself until he recruits his civilian drivers.

Savings

Ministerial guidelines give ministers freedom to hire whoever they choose as their civilian drivers -- although the appointments must be approved by Taoiseach Enda Kenny, Mr Noonan and Mr Howlin.

The Government's move to get most ministers to supply their own cars and hire civilian drivers is expected to reduce the cost to the taxpayer from around €5.5m to €3.5m.

The biggest saving is in wages -- two civilian drivers can be hired for each minister at an annual cost of €70,000 whereas the cost of two garda drivers would be around €154,000 per year.

Each civilian driver will work seven days on and seven days off.

The Government has also decided that former Taoisigh Brian Cowen, Bertie Ahern, John Bruton, Albert Reynolds, Garret FitzGerald and Liam Cosgrave will lose their garda drivers from June 16 -- except for "important state occasions".

The size of the state car fleet will shrink from 27 to six, with only President Mary McAleese, Mr Kenny, Tanaiste Eamon Gilmore, Justice Minister Alan Shatter, Director of Public Prosecutions James Hamilton and Chief Justice John L Murray retaining their official cars and garda drivers.

Up to 20 of the 54 garda drivers assigned to ministerial duties are expected to be retained for this work.

The Department of Justice said it would be a matter for An Garda Siochana to organise the sale of unwanted cars in the ministerial fleet -- some of which have more than 300,000 miles on the clock.

The fleet includes seven Mercedes, seven Audi A6s, three BMW 5 Series, four Lexus cars, two Toyota Prius hybrids, two Fords and one Citroen C6.

"The ultimate disposal of these cars is a matter for An Garda Siochana and is done by way of public auction the same way as it disposes of other cars in the garda fleet," a spokesman said.

- Michael Brennan Deputy Political Editor
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/ministers-rehire-exgarda-drivers-in-mercs-shakeup-2634926.html
    Eight months after the Government introduced new measures ending the use of ministerial cars for most of the cabinet it has emerged that none of the vehicles have yet been sold.

It is understood that the cars are currently being held in reserve and are being used as replacement vehicles for those still entitled to use state cars.
    The government introduced new measures in May that brought an end to use of garda drivers and state cars by most of the cabinet with the exception of Taoiseach, Tánaiste and Minister for Justice.
    The President, Chief Justice and Director of Public Prosecutions also retained their cars.
    Under the new measures, state vehicles would also be made available to former Taoisigh and presidents on state occasions.
    At the time there were 27 cars and 56 garda drivers and the government said the new measures would save €4m a year.
    Most of the garda drivers were redeployed and ministers now use their own cars and hire civilian drivers.
    Following a query last year the gardaí said a number of the vehicles would be retained to meet future needs with the remaining cars due to be sold at auction.
    Recently the gardaí said they would not be commenting further for security reasons.
    However it is now understood that none of the cars have yet been sold.
    There are still plans to sell some of them in the future but it is understood that they are worth only a fraction of their original price due to high mileage and fallen market prices.
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/0105/cars.html

Sunday January 15 2012
    Garda drivers formerly assigned to the ministerial fleet have been allowed to retire on significantly enhanced pensions afforded to them because of their roles, the Sunday Independent has learned.

It has been confirmed that in "recognition of all of the overtime and unsociable hours" they worked, the drivers received an additional ministerial allowance worth 40 per cent of their salary on top of their basic wage.

Crucially, this significant top-up allowance was included in the calculation of their final pensionable salary, at the cost of millions to the taxpayer over the lifetime of the pensions.

Drivers in the fleet occupied the rank of garda member and their maximum basic salary was €45,793.

However, according to information from the Department of Justice, the specific top-up allowance paid to members of the ministerial pool is 40 per cent of their salary.

As a result of the top-up allowance, retiring drivers from the fleet receive pensions equivalent to those received by retiring superintendents, whose final maximum annual salary is €82,183.

The fleet of drivers has been reduced significantly to 22 drivers who have been retained to detail the small number of office holders who are still entitled to protection. About 30 drivers went back into specialised units, mainly in Dublin, once the fleet was reduced.

The Government, on taking office last March, disbanded the fleet except for a small number of office holders including the President, Taoiseach, Tanaiste, the Minister for Justice, the Director of Public Prosecutions and the Chief Justice.

Former Taoisigh are entitled to the use of the state cars and drivers on request for special state occasions.

Ministerial drivers work a week-on/week-off roster Wednesday to Wednesday. During their week on they can accumulate a very large number of working hours and those assigned to rural office holders accumulate a very high number of miles within the working week.

There are six drivers assigned to President Michael D Higgins and the other office holders have two drivers each.

There are also a number of relief drivers who cover sick leave, annual leave and who will serve the former Taoisigh on big state occasions.

A host of luxury Lexus, Audi, Mercedes and Volvo cars used as the ministerial fleet by the previous Government remain under lock and key at Garda HQ in the Phoenix Park, eight months after being taken out of active service.

Back in September, it was stated that a number of the plush cars would be kept in reserve while the rest would be sold at auction.

However, no auction has yet taken place and there is a belief that the cars will be difficult to sell given the amount of miles accumulated during active service. No new cars have been purchased since 2009.

The Government repeatedly championed how it has saved €4.2m by reducing the size of the fleet but the figures quoted do not provide the full picture. Not one garda was sacked from his post, so the move to civilian drivers meant the taxpayer was hit for a further burden, not a reduced one.

Back in January 2009, this newspaper revealed how then-Taoiseach Brian Cowen refused to be chauffeured in a new €150,000 Mercedes S-Class because of "the changed financial and economic circumstances".

The State car languished unused for almost a year in a garage in the Phoenix Park. The top-of-the-range black Mercedes S350 was procured for his use the previous June, but believing it would send out the wrong signals, Mr Cowen declined to use it.

- DANIEL McCONNELL CHIEF REPORTER
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/axed-ministerial-drivers-allowed-to-retire-with-enhanced-pensions-2989317.html