Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Woman sells First spot in ipad 2 line...

• 14-03-2011 3:01pm
    Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭

http://mashable.com/2011/03/11/ipad-2-line-900/

Losing:
    Foote sat through an entire day of rain, had a stranger help himself to a box of doughnuts she was eating, and slept a total of 3 hours and 10 minutes in the time between when she got in line at 5 p.m. Wednesday and when she left it at 9:00 a.m. Friday.

Winning:
    After nearly 41 hours of waiting in line for the iPad 2 release at Apple’s flagship store in New York, she sold her number one spot for $900.

Oh dear Lord Jesus:
    She plans to buy tickets to a Lady Gaga concert with the cash that she earned for her trouble.

Compulsory euthanasia for that whole queue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

idiots...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭PrincessLola

LOL at some rich person paying 900 bucks on top of what ever an ipad costs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

At least she can afford to buy some new glasses now...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

KeithM89 wrote: »

...with even thicker black frames!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

KeithM89 wrote: »

be honest keith was it you that bought her spot? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Would be ****ing brilliant is both her and the person she sold the spot to were mugged. She loses the cash and they lose the iPad 2.

Come on criminal underworld, don't let me down.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

LOL at some rich person paying 900 bucks on top of what ever an ipad costs.

What about the twats flying in from Brazil and Belgium? Apple must piss themselves laughing at these people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

be honest keith was it you that bought her spot? :p

No

Sent from my iPad 2

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Victor McDade

Why on earth would someone pay so much just to have the first one? :confused:

Or intentionally go see lady attention-seeker?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

Basically she got 22 dollars an hour to stand there for 41 hrs...
    Meh...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

phill106 wrote: »
    Basically she got 22 dollars an hour to stand there for 41 hrs...
    Meh...
    LOL

Thats what I first thought of! :pac:

Now if she was ordinary working that in a job elsewhere, she might have at least got a night working rate too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

She plans on putting the money towards reconstructive surgery*

*quote may be untrue

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

The same thing with the PS3 if I remember, however I guess they were not saddos right.

All I can smell here is begrudgery against people who have the money to buy what they want and the sheer jealousy of Irish people bubbling below the surface.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Stinicker wrote: »
    The same thing with the PS3 if I remember, however I guess they were not saddos right.

All I can smell here is begrudgery against people who have the money to buy what they want and the sheer jealousy of Irish people bubbling below the surface.

You guess wrong, and you may need to see an ENT specialist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

this is only a good deal if she considers her time to be worthless

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

Queueing up to buy a friggin' ipad. Assholes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

rubbish, im one of those people who never leaves their iphone down, but queueing up for an ipad and paying 900 dollars to be the first is nonsense-no begrudgery about it.

Queueing up to buy a friggin' ipad. Assholes.
    The words your looking for is "Baaa. Baaaa..." :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭PrincessLola

Damn straight! I can begrudge all I like!

Just read somewhere they cost about 500 dollars. Thats half a grand just so you can feel smug about owning the latest apple rip off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

Is she gonna have to queue again for said Gaga tickets?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Tubsandtiles

This would make an awesome movie

not :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Procasinator

phasers wrote: »

A lot of people that are unemployed might find the opportunity cost of waiting in a queue for 41 hours quite small.

Some people sleep on the streets for free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

What kind of monster steals a womans doughnuts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Fúcking idiots the lot of them!
    I mean if you want an ipad, then by all means buy it, but i just don't get this whole queing up cos you just have to have it now attitude. It's a fúcking gadget, not a kidney, get one next week when there's no que you muppet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 894 ✭✭✭filmbuffboy

dont see what all the fuss is about re: ipad tbh. many people i know who have one lost interest after a few wks. its just a glorified itouch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Mexihalo

What kind of monster steals a womans doughnuts

a hungry 1? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

Jesus I clicked on the link before reading the full story and the first thing I thought that happened from looking at the picture of her was that someone beat the sh*te out of her and took her place in the queue for an ipad 2 :o:o

It was until I read a little further that I realised that her face was not assaulted during this whole story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭Sugarfree

Ugly Betty must be stuck for cash.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Are her eyes really that small or just very far away?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Forking out money for an iPad 2 is stupid enough.

Save yer dosh and buy a high-end decent laptop instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

Are her eyes really that small or just very far away?

Thats a bit harsh, they're a great bunch of lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 894 ✭✭✭filmbuffboy

900 dollars divided by 41 hours standing in line is roundabouts 21 dollars per hour. all the suffering for 20 quid an hour??? no thanks!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

iDiots!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

I have the money to get on a plane, fly to New York and book into a hotel and then go and buy a few iPads and then fly back. Do you think I'm going to line up like these clowns? Not on your life!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

Korvanica wrote: »
    idiots...

iDiots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Forking out money for an iPad 2 is stupid enough.

Save yer dosh and buy a high-end decent laptop instead.

you obviously don't get the tablet market at all ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Trevor451

Typical apple sheep :rolleyes:

Sc@recrow wrote: »
    Coming next from Apple... iPills!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Biggins wrote: »
    Coming next from Apple... iPills!

It tells you what's wrong with you before you get sick!

I have that already, I've called it "the wife". :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Sc@recrow wrote: »

It's too hard to see what's going on in the market with my thick-rimmed glasses........................they don't have any lenses in them :pac:

Anywho, next up for Apple...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭lil'bug

why oh why didn't some one just blast her with piss!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

She clearly realised anyone who's stupid enough to buy an iPad 2 is stupid enough to buy your place in a queue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

Trevor451 wrote: »
    Typical apple sheep :rolleyes:

Just on this.
    In car phone warehouse the iphone 4 costs more on the o2 350 minute tarriff than the 150 minute tarriff. I was simply informed by the assistant that nobody questions this and just shells out this amount for the device (for the 350 min tarriff).
    Can someone explain this?

Just on this.
    In car phone warehouse the iphone 4 costs more on the o2 350 minute tarriff than the 150 minute tarriff. I was simply informed by the assistant that nobody questions this and just shells out this amount for the device (for the 350 min tarriff).
    Can someone explain this?

reminds of a story about fools and money... think it ended "happy ever after..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

What about the twats flying in from Brazil and Belgium? Apple must piss themselves laughing at these people.

Some people might drive down to tesco for bottle water, i'd say some little guy in Africa is laughing at those "twats" as well

It all sorta depends how much $$$ you have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

phasers wrote: »

$900 for 2-3 days is pretty good, no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭s3129

if you have the money and you want something now, then why not.

and as for her waiting in queue and getting 900 dollars? im not working, I'd do it. Fair play to her for using the rich.