Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who are we obliged to salute?

• 14-03-2011 2:15pm
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Following on from this interesting point in the thread on the prison warning shot:
    When the Gardai went to Bosnia for the first time, they were issued with the rank marking of a police lieutenant.,....
    Soldiers have to salute all gardai over the rank of inspector, and in ATCP, the senior garda on the escort/cp is in charge of the whole detail. The garda calls the shots. The only thing the garda can't do is tell the NCO were to put his troops.
    And FINALLY

When on garda/army ops, unless otherwise directed, a soldier must address any member of AGS as SIR.:D

I spoke to one or two members of the PDF who dispute this fact, one agrees, one disagrees... now im utterly confused, I was unaware of any need to salute members of AGS nor to call them sir....

Where in the Manual of footdrill (of which I have a copy to hand) does it mention in the section about saluting (page 59) does it instruct that soldiers shall salute members of AGS above the rank of Inspector? Only people other than military personel that it instructs us to salute are president taoiseach or govt members.

Is this something that is in dfr A16 maybe (which i dont have a copy of to hand)?

What about the sir thing?

Is this something similiar to saluting a member of equivelant "salutable" rank, in the service of a different military?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

Morphéus wrote: »
    Following on from this interesting point in the thread on the prison warning shot:

I spoke to one or two members of the PDF who dispute this fact, one agrees, one disagrees... now im utterly confused, I was unaware of any need to salute members of AGS nor to call them sir....

Where in the Manual of footdrill (of which I have a copy to hand) does it mention in the section about saluting (page 59) does it instruct that soldiers shall salute members of AGS above the rank of Inspector? Only people other than military personel that it instructs us to salute are president taoiseach or govt members.

Is this something that is in dfr A16 maybe (which i dont have a copy of to hand)?

What about the sir thing?

Is this something similiar to saluting a member of equivelant "salutable" rank, in the service of a different military?

I'll be honest - I don't know garda rank markings so if the top man himself approached me back in my service I'd have probably said a polite "hello".
    I always spoke respectfully to Gardai (and still do) unless I had reason to be otherwise,but I'd chew a brick as soon as I'd call a Garda "sir"

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

same here, always polite, never referred to them as sir or saluted them either!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭concussion

Inspector and above I believe, I'll see if I can dig up a reference. Easy to remember as they'll have red tabs, everyone of a lower rank is either a Sgt with stripes or a Garda without insignia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

When I was in the RDF I remember doing a particular Paddys Day parade (may have been my 2nd last one ever IIRC) and a Garda Superintendent (white shirt, not blue, and Sam Brown belt) took the salute on the march past. I remember a RDF Lt told me that Gardai above Inspector get salutes.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭IRLConor

concussion wrote: »
    Inspector and above I believe, I'll see if I can dig up a reference. Easy to remember as they'll have red tabs, everyone of a lower rank is either a Sgt with stripes or a Garda without insignia.

The insignia for the Gardai would seem to suggest a rough equivalence like so:

Inspector ~ Commandant
    Superintendent ~ Lieutenant Colonel
    Chief Superintendent ~ Colonel
    Assistant Commissioner ~ Brigadier General
    Deputy Commissioner ~ Major General
    Commissioner ~ Lieutenant General

Obviously there's no reliable way of comparing the two rank structures since the nature of the jobs differ but there's some amount of logic in treating Inspectors and above as rough "officer" equivalent given the nature of their jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭coach23

having worn both uniforms, I wouldnt call an Inspector the same rank as a commandant, a Lefty probably The only place a member garda is saluted is in templemore during drill, have never seen it happen anywhere else. a nod of the head and a polite 'super' ,'chief' of comissioner for anything above that suffices everywhere.

Technically an inspector isn't an officer, Super and up are officers inspectors are somewhere in between officers and working ranks if you get what i mean by that, the rank itself came from the first expansion of the force with new gardai taken in new Sgt's were needed the current Sgt's got thick when they realized they'd be on the same level as men they'd been in charge of for 10-15 years weren't happy about it threw their toys from the pram and a new rank was invented.

I don remember being told to salute above inspector when i had the green uniform on but to be honest not being used to the gesture the garda officer would get flustered and come across flustered

• Subscribers Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭IRLConor

coach23 wrote: »
    Technically an inspector isn't an officer, Super and up are officers inspectors are somewhere in between officers and working ranks if you get what i mean by that

I guess I'd personally (as neither a member of the Garda Siochana or Defence Forces) have interpreted it that way since the only Inspectors I've dealt with have been acting Supers and hence probably on the more senior end of that rank.

It's pretty fuzzy either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,052 ✭✭✭trellheim

It's not fuzzy at all.

DFR A7
    Officers of Garda Síochána.

62. Non-commissioned officers and privates will salute officers of the Garda Síochána of or above the rank of Superintendent when in uniform.

Members of Garda Síochána.

63. Officers of the Defence Forces when saluted by members of the Garda Síochána will properly acknowledge all such salutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭concussion

Thanking you. Salute anything with red markings, with the exception of a single red bar. Now...civil defence officers?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

It doesnt state which finger to use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,169 ✭✭✭rednik

Morphéus wrote: »
    It doesnt state which finger to use.

All, in a straight line, longest way up shortest way down.