Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ratzinger apparently to visit Ireland in 2012

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

Fingers crossed Norris gets the presidency then.... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Give him a pint, show him the Cliffs of Moher and all that, as long as he's got the cash to pay for it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Oh f*ck yeah. That would be a bit wonderful!!:D

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

If we're not paying for it I won't mind, there is a "majority" of Catholics here. I suspect taxpayers money will be gong towards it though :(

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

If we're not paying for it I won't mind, there is a "majority" of Catholics here. I suspect taxpayers money will be gong towards it though :(

Am I the only one feeling that he had a look around Europe to find out who's in the most financial troubles, and then decided to add to them a little more on the basis that poor people are more likely to be believers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭oldrnwisr

Shenshen wrote: »
    Am I the only one feeling that he had a look around Europe to find out who's in the most financial troubles, and then decided to add to them a little more on the basis that poor people are more likely to be believers?

Well if he did then he's on to something. Just look at the USA. Anytime in the last 60 years that the economy has been sliding down the tubes the people have voted Republican and anytime there's been a boom they've voted Democrat.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Give him a pint, show him the Cliffs of Moher and all that
    Show him the Cliffs of Moher and give him a shove, more like.

Seriously though - the welcome he could expect would be mixed to say the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Let's get him fellas! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,792 ✭✭✭Mark Hamill

Get him and push him off the Cliffs of Moher

FYP

Dades wrote: »
    Show him the Cliffs of Moher and give him a shove, more like.

Seriously though - the welcome he could expect would be mixed to say the least.

You think better of the general public than I do if you assume that just because some priest were outed as rapists, and the church was found to have covered up for them, the majority of the population won't be cheering and throwing flowers if pope Palpatine should grace them with his presence...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Improbable

If it's confirmed, we should start a protest group. I know I'll definitely be going with a sign regardless.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭the culture of deference

I would love to perform a citizens arrest on him because of his crimes against children.

like peter tatchell with robert mugabe

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peter_Tatchell

I would love to perform a citizens arrest on him because of his crimes against children.

like peter tatchell with robert mugabe

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peter_Tatchell

4.—(1) Subject to subsections (4) and (5), any person may arrest without warrant anyone who is or whom he or she, with reasonable cause, suspects to be in the act of committing an arrestable offence.

(2) Subject to subsections (4) and (5), where an arrestable offence has been committed, any person may arrest without warrant anyone who is or whom he or she, with reasonable cause, suspects to be guilty of the offence.

(3) Where a member of the Garda Síochána, with reasonable cause, suspects that an arrestable offence has been committed, he or she may arrest without warrant anyone whom the member, with reasonable cause, suspects to be guilty of the offence.

(4) An arrest other than by a member of the Garda Síochána may only be effected by a person under subsection (1) or (2) where he or she, with reasonable cause, suspects that the person to be arrested by him or her would otherwise attempt to avoid, or is avoiding, arrest by a member of the Garda Síochána.

(5) A person who is arrested pursuant to this section by a person other than a member of the Garda Síochána shall be transferred into the custody of the Garda Síochána as soon as practicable.

(6) This section shall not affect the operation of any enactment restricting the institution of proceedings for an offence or prejudice any power of arrest conferred by law apart from this section.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Just how dedicated to protest are ye lads? :P

1224282865416_1.jpg

c_man wrote: »

As many various friends have informed me, despite my having a girlfriend at the moment, I couldn't be classified as 100% heterosexual. :rolleyes:

c_man wrote: »
    Time to drag up those Boards Matchmaking lists again! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Daftendirekt

Ha... Joke's on him! Everybody knows the world's going to end in 2012. :pac:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,427 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

And they're off!

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0314/norrisd.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,075 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Thoughts? No, not really. He doesn't deserve any of my time. If a Pope had any pull with a supernatural deity, he wouldn't need a bulletproof "PopeMobile", would he? :rolleyes:

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I'm totally voting for Norris now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭stingray75

aren't the Rat and Queenie's impending visits essentially the same thing for differing zealots....

they should come together...maybe we could all hold hands... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

I guess, you can't send him straight back when the plane lands? ;)

So we have to opt for the Cliffs of Moher :p

^^^ What about a really big sack?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭NecroSteve

Who's on for a national "Go Gay Day" if this yoke does pay a visit?

(Hetero here, btw).

NecroSteve wrote: »
    Who's on for a national "Go Gay Day" if this yoke does pay a visit?
    This guy:

z137906.jpg

He posts here a bit. :p

Dades wrote: »
    This guy:

z137906.jpg

He posts here a bit. :p

tumblr_lfrdph18C01qf8yek.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭ColmDawson

Yoo-hoo...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

I suspect taxpayers money will be gong towards it though :(

More taxpayers money the likes of which Michael Woods TD used to pay off the religious orders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Heard this on the radio earlier and my first thought was that I'll be outside protesting at the guy who told bishops to shut the f**k up about child abuse.

Considering there's ANOTHER Vatican related scandal in the Irish media now I wonder will teh people of Ireland welcome him?

Galvasean wrote: »
    I wonder will teh people of Ireland welcome him?
    I'm with Dave! above in hoping that President Norris will be doing the welcoming :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Wonder will he visit the north. Would be weird standing alongside Ian Paisley protesting at the same figure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Wonder will he visit the north. Would be weird standing alongside Ian Paisley protesting at the same figure

Maybe we could get them to stand in single file? Bullets don't grow on trees you know.

(I kid, I kid...)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Ambersky

Hmm Ratzinger the supporter and comforter of pedophiles and pederasts welcomed by Norris the man who draws a fine line between pederasty and pedophilia but has said he sees nothing wrong in an older man intorducing a youth to sex and who believes there should be no age of consent. Lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Has he applied for a visa yet? Bit presumptuous to just assume that we'll let him in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

goose2005 wrote: »
    Has he applied for a visa yet? Bit presumptuous to just assume that we'll let him in.

You think a German needs a visa to visit Ireland ? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

He has to be invited as head of a make-believe state. Can anyone actually see Gilmore inviting him?

The only reason he should be let into this state is to stand trial for aiding and abetting scumbags.

based on what our government has been saying in the past week, looks like PapaRazi may have some 'splainin' o do before he's let in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

based on what our government has been saying in the past week, looks like PapaRazi may have some 'splainin' o do before he's let in.

Why don't we let him in? Then kidnap and hold him to ransom to the Vatican State? That would help pay the costs of these scandals while also paying off a little of our debt. (Though hardly make a dent in it:()

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

It'll be interesting to see how many folks still flock to the streets waving little Pope flags and buying little commemorative Pope souvenirs that are no doubt crammed full of holiness.

Didn't stop the faithful in Britain did it? Of course there'll be thousands to see the chap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭sponsoredwalk

Sarky wrote: »
    It'll be interesting to see how many folks still flock to the streets waving little Pope flags and buying little commemorative Pope souvenirs that are no doubt crammed full of holiness.

They weren't little flags

IMG_7915.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭deirdre_dub

Looks like he is going to be here right at the start of Dublin's LGBTQ Pride week next year. ;):D I think the Pride parade should be rescheduled to the start of Pride week, and moved to Croke Park area. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

tumblr_lfrdph18C01qf8yek.gif

Is this a private joke?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭markfla

I think we should have a flying squadron of flying penises over the pope mobile like in the below video. A couple of hundred of them maybe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

I have to say a couple of things on this.
    I am a catholic. I go to mass now and again (once a month on average) and generally try to live my live in a good and moral manner (like most people). I believe in "something else" out there. I don't believe in the churchs teachings on a number of issues and believes its standpoint on homosexuality, abortion, contraception, celibacy and females in the priesthood are overly outdated and in some cases completely ridiculous.
    There are however many great priests in the church and many great community benefits that an active church going community can provide to the community at large.

I won't be welcoming the Pope to this country however.
    The recent events (reports last week), coupled with the reports in the past few years have really defined my views on the people who make the decisions and the coverups that have taken place in the church on many issues.
    The pope has a lot to answer for and I dont think the church has practices what it preaches at all.

Sarky wrote: »
    Full of holiness? Quite possibly.

167353.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

kippy wrote: »
    I am a catholic. I go to mass now and again (once a month on average) and generally try to live my live in a good and moral manner (like most people). I believe in "something else" out there. I don't believe in the churchs teachings on a number of issues and believes its standpoint on homosexuality, abortion, contraception, celibacy and females in the priesthood are overly outdated and in some cases completely ridiculous.
    There are however many great priests in the church and many great community benefits that an active church going community can provide to the community at large.

I won't be welcoming the Pope to this country however.
    The recent events (reports last week), coupled with the reports in the past few years have really defined my views on the people who make the decisions and the coverups that have taken place in the church on many issues.
    The pope has a lot to answer for and I dont think the church has practices what it preaches at all.

I really really dont want to go down this route....... BUT THE DEVIL COMPELS ME!!!!!!
    Going on your post above what makes you a Catholic?

kippy wrote: »
    I am a catholic.

Hmm..
    I go to mass now and again (once a month on average) and generally try to live my live in a good and moral manner (like most people). I believe in "something else" out there. I don't believe in the churchs teachings on a number of issues and believes its standpoint on homosexuality, abortion, contraception, celibacy and females in the priesthood are overly outdated and in some cases completely ridiculous.

Yep, not a Catholic.

I'm a Catholic BUT [insert list of things that make you obviously not a Catholic]