Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

stupid neighbours

• 14-03-2011 1:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭christinab89

hey everyone...
    so i need to vent a little haha so im posting it here because im really annoyed about it. i just moved to galway a month ago, and its been so lonely here for me so this weekend i decided to ask up a few friends and have some drinks and head out. i personally went to my neighbours on both sides and warned them that there might be a little bit of noise tonite and they both said "no problem" i woke up this morning with a note in my letterbox saying he was going to call the police and my landlord the next time this happens... i was like WTF i told you there was going to be some noise (and we weren't that noisey because i wasn't drinking)... are some people just so lousy gone? i thought i was doing the right thing (for once) and it turns out im still in the wrong... what do you guys think? is he just a crap neighbour or should i take my social life else were... even tho im in my own house?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Are you sure it was the one of the people you spoke with, that put the letter through?

Maybe it was a someone who didn't get the warning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

kick him in the face/blast with piss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

What time did ye finish up?

And in my opinion, people who communicate through notes are not to be taken seriously. If they felt strongly about it they would have knocked and spoken to you directly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭christinab89

yea positive because i seen him today and i said sorry again... and he signed his name and the end of the letter... ugh... he was so ignorant about it. instead of mabe knocking on the door and asking in a nice way...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

..cont.

Or they could be suffering from alzheimers.

Either way, winning move having a party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭NoHornJan

Depends how loud or how long the party was...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

hey everyone...
    so i need to vent a little haha so im posting it here because im really annoyed about it. i just moved to galway a month ago, and its been so lonely here for me so this weekend i decided to ask up a few friends and have some drinks and head out. i personally went to my neighbours on both sides and warned them that there might be a little bit of noise tonite and they both said "no problem" i woke up this morning with a note in my letterbox saying he was going to call the police and my landlord the next time this happens... i was like WTF i told you there was going to be some noise (and we weren't that noisey because i wasn't drinking)... are some people just so lousy gone? i thought i was doing the right thing (for once) and it turns out im still in the wrong... what do you guys think? is he just a crap neighbour or should i take my social life else were... even tho im in my own house?

Maybe one of the neighbours is just a real nark arse, he probably didn't hear any noise and just wanted to complain/ruin some ones day.

it finished up at 5am... (which is really late) but as i said, we werent that loud... if they decided to have a few people over in there house and if they warned me the night before then i would be cool about it... i dont know, it just seems he doesn have a sence of humor. and was a pussy for writing a damn letter instead of knocking and speaking to me...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Cowards write notes, assertive people talk to you directly
    The neighbour is probably bad mouthing you to everyone but is too timid to come discuss it with you

5am is late though which you say yourself

i would have ended everything ealier if he had of knocked and spoke to me.. but since he didn't i thought everything was cool... the other neighbour on the right hand side never said anything! ugh some people just need to get a personality and a humor

What has a sense of humour got to do with it?
    There is nothing amusing about being kept awake by your neighbours till 5am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭s3129

I used to have a neighbour who hated me and my friends, he was a young enough but just hated us..

Well anyway it was my friends 21st birthday and we were having a few friends over after the party in town, so we told him well in advance, explained it was her 21st and all that. He said no problem and thanks for letting him know, and we thought oh nice one maybe he isn't such a pr**k. . .

We hadnt gone back to the house after the party when a squad car arrived down followed by our land lord. Boll** next door rang them on us..

We did however get our own back..

Theres just them kind of un-fun un-normal people out there who can't stand to compromise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Apologise (maybe he has a baby in the house, maybe he had a pounding headache, maybe his wife was dying sick etc) and say you will try to keep it down a little in future. I'm sure he was young once too. If he accepts your apology, then he is cool, if he doesn't then fukk him (not literally) he is a cuunt. To be fair, all he did was drop a letter in your door (he probably thought that would be the least aggressive and assholey thing to do), so he is probably not that evil.

i know its not nice been kept awake till 5am... (obviously) but i would of ended everything if i had of known. they should of knocked on my door and spoke to me. if they did that than they would of gottin a nites sleep... it was just because i warned them and then they write me a letter the next morning... the next morning is no good, because they still lost out on sleep... telling me at the time would of been different... and like i said, if they warned me the day before (if they had friends over) then i would personally be cool about that. because they are respecting me and telling me in advance and if i thought it was going overboard, then i would have told them that nite!...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

sounds like he's just setting ground rules telling you that he's not going to accept partying all the time. best thing you can do is just tell him to go f-ck himself.

also he could have been nagged by his wife to complain too since he initially didn't mind.

best thing you can do is just be respectful and not forget that people have children and jobs also they should respect you too and realise that you might have a party every now and then

aaah yea your right. i deff wouldn't have a party every weekend or anything. i am pretty respectable when it comes to that... im here a month, and never once was there a bother, n i tot id do the right thing and warn them... obviously wasn the rite thing lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

It was probably your taste in music OP.

i know its not nice been kept awake till 5am... (obviously) but i would of ended everything if i had of known. they should of knocked on my door and spoke to me. if they did that than they would of gottin a nites sleep... it was just because i warned them and then they write me a letter the next morning... the next morning is no good, because they still lost out on sleep... telling me at the time would of been different... and like i said, if they warned me the day before (if they had friends over) then i would personally be cool about that. because they are respecting me and telling me in advance and if i thought it was going overboard, then i would have told them that nite!...

Maybe he didn't want to get out of bed in the middle of the night and go break up a party full of drunk people.

lol there wasn any music and yea maybe he didn't want to knock on a door knowing there was drunk people in here... maybe he thought a fight would break out (which wouldn't have)... no more friends up for me lol... and if they do, we better go somewhere else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭Shelli2

It's really hard to judge how loud your being when your in the middle of it all.

I'd knock into your other neighbour, just say 'hey, i know I told you in advance, as I did with the other side too, but he left me a note saying he's not happy. Just wanted to apologise in case you too were also disturbed'
    See what their reaction is, if they are cool and say they didn't hear much or whatever then you know the other guy is just being a dick. If they say, yeah it's cool, as I knew it was a once off but hope that noise isn't going to be very regular, then you know that maybe you were a bit too loud.

Also, your neighbour wasn't to know you weren't drinking. Your only there 1 month, so he doesn't know you that well. I certainly wouldn't knock into a party where people are possibly drunk, you never know what reception your gonna get.

Shelli2 wrote: »
    It's really hard to judge how loud your being when your in the middle of it all.

I'd knock into your other neighbour, just say 'hey, i know I told you in advance, as I did with the other side too, but he left me a note saying he's not happy. Just wanted to apologise in case you too were also disturbed'
    See what their reaction is, if they are cool and say they didn't hear much or whatever then you know the other guy is just being a dick. If they say, yeah it's cool, as I knew it was a once off but hope that noise isn't going to be very regular, then you know that maybe you were a bit too loud.

Also, your neighbour wasn't to know you weren't drinking. Your only there 1 month, so he doesn't know you that well. I certainly wouldn't knock into a party where people are possibly drunk, you never know what reception your gonna get.

yea your rite... im gonna pop into the other neighbour tomorrow and ask them and see what they say... i know we dont relise how loud we are when were having fun... and its deff not going to be a regular thing... i just didn't relise and i feel terrible about it... and i understand why they didn't come and knock on my door asking me to lower the noise level.. but im still annoyed lol.. maybe i shouldn't be. i said sorry to the neighbour who left the note today and he just kinda walked off and said " yea right, whatever" so i was kinda like SHIIIIT... maybe i shouldn't feel as bad as i do.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭Shelli2

yea your rite... im gonna pop into the other neighbour tomorrow and ask them and see what they say... i know we dont relise how loud we are when were having fun... and its deff not going to be a regular thing... i just didn't relise and i feel terrible about it... and i understand why they didn't come and knock on my door asking me to lower the noise level.. but im still annoyed lol.. maybe i shouldn't be. i said sorry to the neighbour who left the note today and he just kinda walked off and said " yea right, whatever" so i was kinda like SHIIIIT... maybe i shouldn't feel as bad as i do.?

By the sounds of things you did everything right. Once of party, warned both sides in advance, you weren't drinking so you know things certainly weren't out of hand. I only suggested calling into the other neighbour to put your mind at rest, once you know 100% that he's just bein arsey then you know where you stand with him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

hey everyone...

5am is very late and no matter how hard you try to keep the noise down it is not possible when there is a group of people drinking.

If he was a crap neighbour he would have called the guards but he has given you a chance.

he dropped a note in because you were probably in bed all day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭HoneyRyder

Thank gawd all my neighbours give me is pavlova :)

HoneyRyder wrote: »

Thank god I don't have neighbours so I can party as much as I want.

The joys of living in the sticks.

Shelli2 wrote: »

See what their reaction is, if they are cool and say they didn't hear much or whatever then you know the other guy is just being a dick.

Are the houses detached, semi detached, terrace?
    If semi detached, which neighbour?
    HoneyRyder wrote: »

Nice, I'm moving to Sweet Valley High.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭s3129

hondasam wrote: »
    5am is very late and no matter how hard you try to keep the noise down it is not possible when there is a group of people drinking.

If he was a crap neighbour he would have called the guards but he has given you a chance.

he dropped a note in because you were probably in bed all day.

By the sounds of it she wasn't extremely loud or crazy and is worried not to get off on the wrong foot with her neighbours, I'm sure she wouldn't bother posting if she had held a crazy party which kept everyone up all night.. She's entitled to have friends over and so what if it ran into 5am, its not a regular occurrence.

s3129 wrote: »
    By the sounds of it she wasn't extremely loud or crazy and is worried not to get off on the wrong foot with her neighbours, I'm sure she wouldn't bother posting if she had held a crazy party which kept everyone up all night.. She's entitled to have friends over and so what if it ran into 5am, its not a regular occurrence.

The OP is entitled to have friends over but the neighbours are entitled to peace and quite while the are trying to sleep.

group of drunk people are never quite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

hey everyone...
    Tell him to **** off, police wont do nothing!

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    Tell him to **** off, police wont do nothing!

why do you think that ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

hondasam wrote: »
    why do you think that ?
    Seen and heard a million stories about this, police cant do anything, they direct you to the council

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    Seen and heard a million stories about this, police cant do anything, they direct you to the council

No the don't and Galway is real bad with house parties because of the college and university. The tend to be quite hard on some of the party people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

s3129 wrote: »
    I used to have a neighbour who hated me and my friends, he was a young enough but just hated us..

Well anyway it was my friends 21st birthday and we were having a few friends over after the party in town, so we told him well in advance, explained it was her 21st and all that. He said no problem and thanks for letting him know, and we thought oh nice one maybe he isn't such a pr**k. . .

We hadnt gone back to the house after the party when a squad car arrived down followed by our land lord. Boll** next door rang them on us..

We did however get our own back..

Theres just them kind of un-fun un-normal people out there who can't stand to compromise.

The old club of Guinness ****e well moistened with piss in a plastic bag through the letterbox?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

IMO pre warning neighbours gives them more reason to kick off. I made this mistake once...

Knocked on the neighbours door to tell them we'd knocking down a wall the next day..
    Come 3 oclcok in the afternoon ya women knocked on the door giving out about the noise asking when we would be finished.....

I had litterally knocked the last bit down at that stage so I just kept going with the kango on our connecting wall for another hour or so just to be sure....

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭ch750536

1. Noisy is objective
    2. Late is objective
    3. You should always invite your neighbours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Ignore the prick. I have a neighbour like that. Called the police when my dog was let out and the dog warden as well. Some people just have nothing better to do with their time than cause hassle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭dolphin city

to be fair, you are only in there for a month. Your neighbours don't know you - they might think you do this all the time.

You also said that you said it would be a little noisy that night - the "party" in fact went five hours into the next morning. And believe me, drunk people might THINK they are quiet, but in fact they are not - they are quite noisy without realising it.

Maybe the letter was written because he didn't know you, and because he didn't know what kind of reaction he would get if he went to the house - he hasn't a clue who you or your friends are so why should he put himself at risk by confronting a pack of drunk people.

I know you think it is highly unfair that you mentioned to him that there would be noise, and therefore you should have free reign to do what you want because you "mentioned" it to him - WRONG.

if you are living there you do have to have some kind of respect for your neighbours - saying it will be a bit noisy that night is one thing, but carrying that on till the early hours of the morning is something else. Would your parents put up with it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Apanachi

ch750536 wrote: »
    3. You should always invite your neighbours.

heheh, that's what we always do (knowing well they won't come ;))

Having said that, if they did come, it would be OK, guess we're lucky with our neighbours (one of whom is a policeman ;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭skywalker_208

You said there would be a little noise but you had a party until 5am.
    If you were my neighbour I would have just called the Gardai.

There are plenty of pubs and clubs if you want to party into the early hours. A residential area where children are sleeping is no place for that carry on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭HooterSnout

This is shocking shocking stuff OP. Was it last night/this morning that you stayed up until around 5 am? And you're able to post this at 01.50 semi-coherently enough. What were you drinking? Rock Shandys?

OP said in first post they werent drinking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

You said there would be a little noise but you had a party until 5am.
    If you were my neighbour I would have just called the Gardai.

There are plenty of pubs and clubs if you want to party into the early hours. A residential area where children are sleeping is no place for that carry on.

Nothing to do with the Gardaí. They call as a courtesy but have no power unless some criminal activity is in progress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭skywalker_208

k_mac wrote: »
    Nothing to do with the Gardaí. They call as a courtesy but have no power unless some criminal activity is in progress.

Maybe but noise pollution is still against the law so before taking it further that is a step you are better off having taken to show you have exhausted all avenues.

http://www.askaboutireland.ie/reading-room/environment-geography/environmental-information/noise/how-to-deal-with-noisy-ne/

http://www.askaboutireland.ie/reading-room/environment-geography/environmental-information/noise/noise-regulations/domestic-noise/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭seafood dunleavy

Stupid sexy Flanders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭dolphin city

bluewolf wrote: »
    OP said in first post they werent drinking

wrong - the op said she invited people up for drinks - she actually said SHE/HE was not drinking - didn't mention the crowd she invited in tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

We moved into a house a few years ago and decided after 3 weeks we would have a bit of a housewarming party. I personally told all our neighbors 3 days in advance that there may be some noise and to call me or call in if it was too loud and id sort out straight away.. All was well...

Que the night of the party, our neighbor, late 20s, arrives home drunk off her face from town. Nearly falls out of the taxi and stumbles up to our door. She chats with my house mate for about 20 minutes about the area etc and says nothing about the noise, she seemed cool and even invited us to her next party.

Next day i get a call from the landlord saying she called and said there was someone up on her roof last night. No one was even outside at our party. She didn't even complain to us just called the landlord straight away... bitch...

Its seriously not cool when people go behind your back when you've said to contact you if there are any problems...

Landlord decided to kick us out because of it..

Que me calling the landlord back later to tell her to go **** herself as we had signed our lease already and her trying to kick us out so quick was illegal because 1. There was no police report / proof of the complaint. 2. There was a 30 day clause in the contract.

She said she didn't care... so i said our lawyer would be in contact and hung up.... ( one of the lads' mam was a property lawyer so we got her to give them a call..). Landlord called back later saying we could stay...

We partied on the roof at our leaving do....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

I'd imagine that you forgot to mention to him that it would be until 5am, I'd say he was expecting a party until about 11-12pm and then your group would head out to Supermacs or whatever people do in Galway.

I think the reason this guy is angry with you is because he secretly loves you, he thought you would be alone this weekend so he could accidently stumble over to your door with a bottle of wine, chocolate and lavendar scented candles.
    When you knocked on his door that day his face lit up like a the new york city skyline, that was until you informed him that you would be "having friends over" or what he heard in his head was "I'm going to get rogered up the bum by my big rugby friends". He was heartbroken, the rest of your words were all muffled and mute, he was having a mental breakdown right in front of your eyes and all you could see was a stone cold face staring tentatively back at you but the man's soul was non-existent at this point.

As you were making a bit of noise with your friends this so called stupid neighbour was across the hall weeping uncontrollably into his both hands then using his tears as a lubricant to blow his load all over a picture he had taken of you while you weren't looking. He hated himself for what you had made him become, he began to insert random objects around the room into his anus in seer anger. With every bit of laughter he heard across the hall another object was inserted into his anal cavity. He had half the Rugrats cast inserted by 3am, Tommy's head was turtle necking out! And after all of that you have the audacity to call him a stupid neighbour on top of that! Christina the boy was in love with you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Kill them, problem solved

Or possibly a little less drastic solution, get to know, perhaps invite them to the next gaff you have. If you invite all your neighboursto your gaff, then you won't have any complaints, because there will be no one left to complain.

If you have bastard neighbours though, revert back to killing them

Small print: Thou shall not kill thy neighbour, or sleep with their wives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭Nodster

Nextdoor neighbour knocked on my door at 2am on friday night, luckily enough I was still up playing the drums

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭GoldenBoot

I never understand people who have op pov.

what is the point of saying tn your neighbour that you have invited people over, its already in the works so um, dont plan on getting much sleep tomorrow night and if the house is a rockin there is no point comin a knockin or my drunk mate will decide to defend my honour by p1ssing through your letter box.

just have your party and the noise level should be adjusted depending on how long you plan to live there.