Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

a Veyron coming here again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭will1977

Id love to see him try and get insured on it !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭BigEejit

Article says he is worth €4million and he is blowing €1.5million on the car. Yikes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

BigEejit wrote: »
    Article says he is worth €4million and he is blowing €1.5million on the car. Yikes.
    Well if I was in his financial position I'd probably do the exact same thing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

If I was worth 4 million I'd take out a loan for 1 million and buy the last remaining

1965 Chrysler Turbine car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

It probably the cheapest car he will ever buy. Not going to lose alot on that I would think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

mickdw wrote: »
    It probably the cheapest car he will ever buy. Not going to lose alot on that I would think.

On the contrary, they become worthless. They have no real-world resale value at all. If it were a celebrity who bought it, a celebrity peer might pay something close to it for the sake of owning a car bought by a bigger celebrity.

Golf, does not move in these circles though.

gbee wrote: »
    On the contrary, they become worthless.

Why do you say that? How mcuh can one be got for now then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

mickdw wrote: »
    Why do you say that? How mcuh can one be got for now then?

About the same as a daysel octy i think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

On the contrary, they become worthless. They have no real-world resale value at all. If it were a celebrity who bought it, a celebrity peer might pay something close to it for the sake of owning a car bought by a bigger celebrity.

Lol at the sheer insanity of that comment.

If they are actually worthless where do i get one for free?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Hotwheels

Fair play to him, good to see people still buying cars like the Veyron

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

The police would be living n your backside driving around Ireland in a car like that. Who would insure you on it? Lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

None of ye watch top gear, apparently. Those guys buy super cars for tiny money and do silly things with them.

The fact is there is no resale value for these supercars. Simple. Just like a piece of art in the gallery being priceless, it's priceless because no one can afford to buy them.

Ye don't understand the rich either, they would not buy this car second-hand, there is no prestige in buying second hand period.

There is an exception as I've outlined. I frankly expected motor enthusiasts to know this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

a lot depends on how many are made it could be worth more than he paid for it in say 20 years time if there not many of them made and thousand horsepower cars go out of existance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭jamieh

Rory just tweeted to say the Veyron story is BS:

'Reports that I have bought a bugatti veyron are completely untrue! Where do they come up with this stuff!?
    Don't get me wrong, it's one of the best cars ever. But a million quid for a car? Really? Not for me!'

Looks like he's sticking with the matt black R8!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

jamieh wrote: »

'Reports that I have bought a bugatti veyron are completely untrue! Where do they come up with this stuff!?
    Don't get me wrong, it's one of the best cars ever. But a million quid for a car? Really? Not for me!'

Oh well thats enough so..:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭paddydriver

He just got his beloved R8 matt black'ed - that was supposedly his dream car.

Got the twitter post too and he is laughing it off. To be fair - he does seem like a down to earth guy (according to his twitter anyway:p).

He is late late next Friday I think so tubby can put it to him.

another well-researched sindo article.... a veyron in nordieland would be a waste in any case - doesn't have the roads of posability to handle it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

None of ye watch top gear, apparently. Those guys buy super cars for tiny money and do silly things with them.

The fact is there is no resale value for these supercars. Simple. Just like a piece of art in the gallery being priceless, it's priceless because no one can afford to buy them.

Ye don't understand the rich either, they would not buy this car second-hand, there is no prestige in buying second hand period.

There is an exception as I've outlined. I frankly expected motor enthusiasts to know this.

That is one of the stupidest posts I think I've ever read.

S.

None of ye watch top gear, apparently. Those guys buy super cars for tiny money and do silly things with them

They are normally buckets of dung that cannot make it half ways across the UK without blowing up. Some difference in that and a used Veyron.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,472 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

That is one of the stupidest posts I think I've ever read.

S.

i was going to respond to it but where do you start :confused:

You dont seem to know the difference between worthless and priceless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭gofaster_s13

Arent the Mclaren F1(original price £600,000 current price £2,000,000+), the Ferrari F40 and the Lancia Stratos worth more now than when originally on sale ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

glasso wrote: »
    another well-researched sindo article.

He must've threatened them too, cos they've taken it down. Morons.

dahamsta wrote: »
    He must've threatened them too, cos they've taken it down. Morons.

The standard of journalism is this country is pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

I'm actually glad - for him - that the story is fake. A budding young sportsmen blowing such huge wads of flash cash before he's started fulfilling his potential would be a disaster waiting to happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

Ironically, I was actually talking to the original Irish Veyron owner last night.

may have posted this before but i will post again anyway !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

VolvoMan wrote: »
    Ironically, I was actually talking to the original Irish Veyron owner last night.

Does he take it out?
    Any chance of seeing it down my way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

pburns wrote: »
    I'm actually glad - for him - that the story is fake. A budding young sportsmen blowing such huge wads of flash cash before he's started fulfilling his potential would be a disaster waiting to happen.

I hope it stays fake too. I don't think buying one of these things is proper for anybody other than an oil Sheikh or someone else so ridiculously rich that it doesn't matter.

I hope the R8 is the height of it.

staker wrote: »
    Does he take it out?
    Any chance of seeing it down my way?

It's not in the country at the moment I don't think. It's in the UK at the moment and he's planning to take it to Spain sometime in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

does anyone else think the Veyron is a little over hyped ? ( mainly due to TG I must say ). OK the thing proved shockingly quick in a straight line but on the track it was only mediocre - if any one of a stack of US built cars performed the same it would be scoffed at. As a technological tour de force should it not be lighting up the Nordschleife - not struggling to beat Skyline GTR's etc?

you are probably right but there is something very exotic about it i suppose the bugatti name for a start also i think it is so understated is probably why it works so well

The Veyron was never designed for the track.

I'm not suggesting the Veyron is an out and out track car, but nor are a string of road cars that are quicker than it. the track is a fairly good pointer as to the dynamics of the car.

RobAMerc wrote: »
    does anyone else think the Veyron is a little over hyped ? ( mainly due to TG I must say ). OK the thing proved shockingly quick in a straight line but on the track it was only mediocre - if any one of a stack of US built cars performed the same it would be scoffed at. As a technological tour de force should it not be lighting up the Nordschleife - not struggling to beat Skyline GTR's etc?

I totally agree. There is not one single thing I find appealing about it. It is ugly, heavy and hardly innnovative next to cars that have gone before like the McLaren F1. That car gained its title of " fastest car in the world" without the use of a gazillion turbos or numerous electronic aids to stop it sliding off the track.

Even the guy I talked to who owns one half regrets buying it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,908 ✭✭✭zom

Arent the Mclaren F1(original price £600,000 current price £2,000,000+), the Ferrari F40 and the Lancia Stratos worth more now than when originally on sale ?

With that logic, he should buy it, and all fans who wish him all the best, should be happy with it? Now paying 1.5M then it might be worth 2M?

zom wrote: »
    With that logic, he should buy it, and all fans who wish him all the best, should be happy with it? Now paying 1.5M then it might be worth 2M?

I don't think he'd ever loose money on it unless he wrote it off. Cars like this may dip in value for a while but will become collectors items to someone and at that point provenance would be a big issue. Imagine if Tiger bought one it would instantly be worth more than the new price. If RM bought it he could look at it as simply gambling on himself to becoming the next Tiger woods ! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

It's not in the country at the moment I don't think. It's in the UK at the moment and he's planning to take it to Spain sometime in the future.

Any idea how much it cost him to buy it? It was irish registered wasn't it? Some serious VRT on that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

I totally agree. There is not one single thing I find appealing about it. It is ugly, heavy and hardly innnovative next to cars that have gone before like the McLaren F1. That car gained its title of " fastest car in the world" without the use of a gazillion turbos or numerous electronic aids to stop it sliding off the track.

I don't get it either. Not particularly a McLaren fan but the F1 was much more significant. Not much bigger than a 911, relatively light weight, great handling. And it hit the big numbers too even though that was not what Gordon Murray et al were about. They simply wanted to produce the BEST supercar.

There are things i don't like about it - central driving position is a bit bizarre frankly and using gold foil a a heat shield is either genius or insanity - i'm not sure which! The looks are...OK...a bit soulless perhaps.

But, but....as an achievement and a driving tool it sounds miles ahead of the Veyron. Lets face it, a lot of people know about the Bugatti solely because it featured so prominently on TG and are simply parroting Clarkson...

hardly innnovative next to cars that have gone before like the McLaren F1.

Care to expand on that a little more?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

BigEejit wrote: »

1.5 million today, worth 3 million in 5yrs........not so dumb:cool:

Care to expand on that a little more?

What more is there to expand on? The F1 was a car that managed to be a lightweight, as well as the fastest production car in the world at the time.

The fact that they had to strap four turbos to two welded together VAG engines in the Bugatti and pack it full of overly complex and heavy technology is hardly automotive engineering progress in my eyes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Two completely different cars designed with two completely different design philosophies. I am not a huge fan of them but you have to give credit where credit is due. Put it another way, drive across Europe in a Veyron and watch the miles clock up. Then do it in a F1 and see how you feel!

Yeah, too much emphasis is put on whats fastest around a track.

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Two completely different cars designed with two completely different design philosophies. I am not a huge fan of them but you have to give credit where credit is due. Put it another way, drive across Europe in a Veyron and watch the miles clock up. Then do it in a F1 and see how you feel!

But why not buy a Bently Conti GT, a Ferrari 599 or a S63 AMG for a blast across Europe in a car that's fast enough to go as fast as you could possibly go. ( And the Ferrari would be bloody good on the track too ! ).

The F1 or F40 even were renowned as a fine drivers car - the ultimate track cars - real driving enthusiasts cars. They Veyron is just a nuclear reactor strapped onto a Mk1 Audi TT to make headlines.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,234 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

But why not buy a Bently Conti GT, a Ferrari 599 or a S63 AMG for a blast across Europe in a car that's fast enough to go as fast as you could possibly go. ( And the Ferrari would be bloody good on the track too ! ).

The F1 or F40 even were renowned as a fine drivers car - the ultimate track cars - real driving enthusiasts cars. They Veyron is just a nuclear reactor strapped onto a Mk1 Audi TT to make headlines.
    Not everyone would want an F40 or F1 (although I would)
    Personally, if I was sufficiently rich that I could comfortably buy a veyron, I would! And if I did, I wouldn't care what others who couldn't afford one thought.

Anyway, its a nuclear reactor strapped to a Mk1 Audi TT - woo hoo :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

As was said, it wasn't built as a track car. And yet the SuperSport did beat everything else around the Top Gear track.

Criticising it for using turbo's is stupid. All the quick Volvo's have turbo's, but I've never seen you knock them for it?
    Both those cars are designed with completely different design briefs. If you can't understand that then you never will.
    Besides, if you can afford a Veyron then go buy a V8 Atom for the weekend track kicks.
    The Veyron is awesome. No keyboard knocking it can change that. Nor can it change the fact that the 2 tonne car is 10 seconds quicker to 200mph than the McLaren F1...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭bladebrew

it is technically amazing, the running costs are fairly incredible, apparently £23,000 for tyres evry 2500miles, and a service costs £13,645,
    wheels and tyres are £29,000, not sure how true this is but i think it is a car that will only increase in value,
    and an indicator stalk from one cost more than my car did:eek:

and 11.7mpg is combined fuel economy,

if i won this weeks lotto i still wouldnt buy one,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

bladebrew wrote: »
    it is technically amazing, the running costs are fairly incredible, apparently £23,000 for tyres evry 2500miles, and a service costs £13,645,
    wheels and tyres are £29,000, not sure how true this is but i think it is a car that will only increase in value,
    and an indicator stalk from one cost more than my car did:eek:

and 11.7mpg is combined fuel economy,

if i won this weeks lotto i still wouldnt buy one,

I read that all four wheels have to be replaced at 7500 miles too! At £29900!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭mikeystipey

jamieh wrote: »

cheers for this! Took it as true, bloody Indo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭H8GHOTI

Anyone know what these tweets are about?
    What did the article say before they changed it?

This article is total bollocks!! I'll never do anything for the belfast telegraph again!! http://is.gd/6cbONa

I see the Belfast telegraph have edited the story. Still very sloppy journalism. Disappointing!