Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is the end of the world near?

• 12-03-2011 2:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5

Devastation in Japan, rebellion all across the Middle East, disasters elsewhere IS THE END NEAR?

Isnt it time to repent and accept Jesus as our lord savior before the hour of judgement arrives?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,551 ✭✭✭swiftblade

No

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

swiftblade wrote: »
    No

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭mann

Not just yet :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭Tahuti

It's too early yet.

I'm hedging my bets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Take a hop Godboy!

Anyone who posts in AH is beyond redemption!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 QuimWedge

No

No

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Domo230 wrote: »
    Its not 2012 yet

Yep. It's only 14:17.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Devastation in Japan, rebellion all across the Middle East, disasters elsewhere IS THE END NEAR?

Isnt it time to repent and accept Jesus as our lord savior before the hour of judgement arrives?

Not this guy again,why do you keep popping up with stupid threads that get locked?........troll alert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

I can see the headlines now "Enda Kenny new Taoiseach- World Ends"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

Yes it is OP, run away while you still can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

The world will never end unless those damn scientists keep digging for sh!t. Hard on colliders and mad things in our galaxy and all. All scientists listen up, we dont want you fecking around with everything. Your going to kill us all with your messin! Get real jobs and leave us the f*ck alone!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

Arnold Schwarzenegger still lives so no, we are not in any danger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

I thought I saw someone building an arc the other day so yes..yes its time to crack each others heads open and feed on the goo inside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Yes the world will soon be over leaving just a small few to repopulate the world

Most likely scenarios are:

- Pakistan just saying "we're f*cked anyway might aswell release the nukes"
    - Ice age / killer Heat waves / natural disasters
    - World wide famine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I can see the headlines now "Enda Kenny new Taoiseach- World Ends"

If the world ended who'd be around to report it???

Hard on colliders

I lol'd at that :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Cthulhu will protect me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

If the world ended who'd be around to report it???

Unfortunately, that's something we will never know!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Jesus Christ.

Not yet my child,but the time is near.

Have a great weekend my children,and peace be with you all :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

No.

You have got to be bloddy kidding me! Go away with that superstitious stuff.
    I live in a real physical world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,201 ✭✭✭amacca

Well, your god is omnipotent, omniscient, omnipresent

what you got to ask yourself is this....do you think his/her concept of time is in anyway similar to yours?

I mean near may not even be a godly concept...it may have already happened from gods perspective

near might be trillions of years etc

anyway if youv'e got some sort of foolproof early warning thingy...let me know......I'm going to get some beer from the offy and load up my AC-DC collection and have myself the mother and father of a farewell party.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭Tahuti

I laughed at who thanked the OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

NO!!

It's time to repent and accept the Giant Spaghetti Monster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

No

Actually that should be two No's since the OP posed two questions.

NO!!

It's time to repent and accept the Giant Spaghetti Monster.

Please tell me more

virgin al dente or avec bolognaise?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

amacca wrote: »
    I'm going to get some beer from the offy and load up my AC-DC collection and have myself the mother and father of a farewell party.

I second that minus the AC-DC bit:D

PARTY OUT CAUSE NO ONE NO ONE PARTIES LIKE ME!

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Actually that should be two No's since the OP posed two questions.

The good lord loves a nit picker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Help help, there's a monster under my bed, he says if I don't make him happy he'll lock me in his fire dungeon with is crazy brother!

tan11ie wrote: »
    I second that minus the AC-DC bit:D

PARTY OUT CAUSE NO ONE NO ONE PARTIES LIKE ME!

wait .... you said minus AC-DC

I'm really considering retracting my thanks and I never do that

AC-DC are the greatest band ever...fact!

I reckon god listens to them on his celestial iPod when hes going into work for a hard days being all powerful and stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭cabrwab

Ain't no god going to help you out buddy! You have posted in after hours, the dark one already owns your soul.

By dark one I mean darth vader.

I say sit back relax let it crash all around you, your only running from disaster anyway.

RichieC wrote: »
    Help help, there's a monster under my bed, he says if I don't make him happy he'll lock me in his fire dungeon with is crazy brother!

Did he say you could nibble on his vermicelli if you accepted him into your life?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

I reckon god listens to them on his celestial iPod when hes going into work for a hard days being all powerful and stuff

Oh i strongly disagree!!!!

God couldn't possibly own an ipod:D

The world will never end unless those damn scientists keep digging for sh!t. Hard on colliders and mad things in our galaxy and all. All scientists listen up, we dont want you fecking around with everything. Your going to kill us all with your messin! Get real jobs and leave us the f*ck alone!
    Sorry I was a bit hug over and what not here. I have nothing against scientists really I just think they're a little dangerous.

or mad even :pac:

oh..if only I could thank a thanks in the OP :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Yes,its time to reject Satan and all his works.

except his earlier, funnier stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,448 ✭✭✭Garseys

Just on your original post, The LHC hasn't done anything wrong. We've been colliding particles for years and anyway, they're only recreating what already happens in our upper atmosphere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

krudler wrote: »
    Yes,its time to reject Satan and all his works.

except his earlier, funnier stuff.

A hipster christian! Thats new. [Insert hippster kitty photo]

Ah blast the world with piss!

Garseys wrote: »
    Just on your original post, The LHC hasn't done anything wrong. We've been colliding particles for years and anyway, they're only recreating what already happens in our upper atmosphere.
    There was the chance of a black hole eating our planet or whatever it is they do. I know a lot of people were very nervous and couldn't sleep last year when they started fecking around with it. Shouldn't these lads be trying to help us and not be making nuclear bombs and black holes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

There was the chance of a black hole eating our planet or whatever it is they do. I know a lot of people were very nervous and couldn't sleep last year when they started fecking around with it. Shouldn't these lads be trying to help us and not be making nuclear bombs and black holes!

That is media fear mongering the sheeple and they all took the bait, and it's completely exagerated a little reading on black holes and the LHC from credible source would fix all that. For that to happen a star many many times the mass of our sun would have to explode in our solar system for a black hole large enough and to exist long enough to eat a planet like ours.

The LHC may creat a black hole but it would be so tiny if you only exist for a fraction of a second and do no harm to anybody or anything except maybe an atom or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Darius.Tr

That is media fear mongering the sheeple and they all took the bait, and it's completely exagerated a little reading on black holes and the LHC from credible source would fix all that. For that to happen a star many many times the mass of our sun would have to explode in our solar system for a black hole large enough and to exist long enough to eat a planet like ours.

The LHC may creat a black hole but it would be so tiny if you only exist for a fraction of a second and do no harm to anybody or anything except maybe an atom or two.
    I thought they already have created a black holy in LHC and nothing happened as it was so small, or are they only thinking of doing it? Theres nothing to be afraid off im sure they know well what they are doing and wouldn't do if it was dangerous...as for the end of the world, after these terrible accidents it makes me think that those people who "predicted" the end of a world could be right that something bad is going to happen in 2012...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

And he sings "kindly deeds, done for free"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

The Yellowstone Caldera has been bulging over the last few years. It's settled down a bit now but it does mean they know there's a fúcking HUGE magma chamber down there. It's too deep under the ground at the moment (around 10km) to cause an eruption but as soon as it manages to break out of that magma chamber into the higher one at 2-3km, we're all f*cked.

The caldera is 35*45 miles. That's a quarter of the width of Ireland and a tenth of the length of Ireland. It really is unimaginably huge.

For years, they looked for the volcano there and couldn't find it. They knew there had to be one but they couldn't find the crater. The only craters they could find were from smaller hydro thermal eruptions and geysers.

Then in the 80s, NASA took a detailed satellite photo of the Caldera, and discovered one of the most terrifying facts ever. The reason they could never find the crater in the park is because they were standing in it the whole time. the ENTIRE park - including yellowstone lake - the mountain range at one end all the way to the mountains at the other - is one humungous volcanic crater. At one point, the entire thing would have been a volcanic mountain. Can you imagine anything that huge? The reason it is now a gigantic pit in the ground instead of a mountain is because the last super eruption there 640,000 years ago was so effing explosive that it literally blew the entire mountain apart.

http://cgz.e2bn.net/e2bn/leas/c99/schools/cgz/communities/Geography/AS%20Geography/AS%20Revision/Earth%20Systems%20Revision/Characteristics%20and%20formation%20of%20extrusive%20landforms-tvl-media-5-quizX5Fid-z20051228114457152X2DhampsteadX2D14562X2D2-u-20051228114457152X2DhampsteadX2D14562X2D2-z-f.jpeg

^^^ That is how you get a volcanic caldera.

http://standeyo.com/NEWS/06_Earth_Changes/06_Earth_Change_pics/060302.YellowstoneMap.jpg

^^^ THAT is the size of the whole thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭ger vallely

'Armegeddon days are here.Islam is rising,the christians mobilising. The world is on its elbows and knees,it's forgotten the message and worships the greed.' Prophetic words of Matt Johnson in circa-1991. Look it up. It's all a bag of poop-ye live,ye die,that's it,get over it!Don't look to a fictional figure for redemption,just be good and happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭MiNdGaM3

If 9/11 and hurricane Katrina were a result of Elen DeGeneres hosting the Emmys, what the hell will happen to Ireland if David Norris becomes president!?:eek::P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Fozzydog3

japan/ new zealand = on the pacific ring of fire

middle east = hotbed of unrest for 1000's of years

both tragic but nothing new

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

can "the end" wait till I have my chinese tonight.....?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

Look who thanked the OP.

It's true :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Mammanabammana

But like don't we have to invent warp drive and be visited by Vulcans and go to other galaxies and meet the Borg etc etc yet? And that doesn't happen for HUNDREDS of years. Foolish thread is foolish. Look at the facts in future before you post threads like this OP. Make it so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Fozzydog3 wrote: »
    japan/ new zealand = on the pacific ring of fire

middle east = hotbed of unrest for 1000's of years

both tragic but nothing new

The Sky News type reporting is new though.
    Oh Feck, Murdock could be the AntiChrist....:eek: