Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

St Patrick's Day Plans

• 11-03-2011 11:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

Looks like the Paddy's day festival has come a long way since the days of a few tractors, army fellas stroking their weapons and American cheerleaders twiddling their batons.

http://www.stpatricksfestival.ie/index.php/events

Looks like a bit of craic, but the skyfest is in Wexford?

Anyway, whats your plan?

What to do on Paddy's Day? 74 votes

Drink
    0% 0 votes
    Drink
    54% 40 votes
    Drink
    21% 16 votes
    Atari Jaguar
    24% 18 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

What'll I be doing on Paddys Day??
    Still recovering from March 14th....:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

PK2008 wrote: »
    army fellas stroking their weapons

Ah now, that's not a nice thing to call their wives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

God I don't know. I might drink though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭wellboy76

Looks like the Paddy's day festival has come a long way since the days of a few tractors, army fellas stroking their weapons and American cheerleaders twiddling their batons.

http://www.stpatricksfestival.ie/index.php/events

Anyway, whats your plan?

Contrary to popular belief, St Patricks day is celebrated outside the Pale also :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Metallitroll

txt my foreign female frenz a 'wondrous pattie's day; ahr.. we are drinking'

then roll over n back to sleep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Im avoiding it. Our national holiday unfortunately is the day society's cockroaches come out of hiding :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭Sod'o swords

I'm specifically swapping shifts so i can be working then. It's a major meh day altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

wellboy76 wrote: »
    Contrary to popular belief, St Patricks day is celebrated outside the Pale also :rolleyes:

Thats the spirit, you guys matter too!!!

Just not as much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Won't be going to town anyways after last years 'celebrations'. Pubs jammed full of idiots,no nitelink and was puked on,challenged to several fights and had to wait with a passed out teenage girl at the nitelink bus stop (after i discovered it wasnt running!!) til an ambulance came,oh and then a 25e taxi home,no fúckin thanks.Maybe I'm getting old!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Metallitroll

It's a major meh day altogether.

its just one big blusterfúck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭Squirm

I'm going to head into town early with my little girl (will be painting shamrocks on her cheeks!) to see the parade and to go to the funfair at Custom House Quay. I think we might go on the Big Wheel at the Point (sorry... O2) also. Will pick up an obligatory Shamrock Shake from McDonald's at some point and then will have to get out of the city before it all decends into utter chaos and my child is exposed to a level of drunkeness, vomiting and pulic urination, fit only for the eyes of scumbags and college students.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

f*ck paddys day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

wellboy76 wrote: »

Is it yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭number10a

I just think it's sad that we have this illusion that this is one of the great national holidays of the world, and we'll have one miserable set of fireworks in the entire country, and not even on the day itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Watch Cheltenham.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

heading to tipperary with herself for cheltenham, drinking and shit like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

What do you mean by Paddy's Day - the day itself or the parade day?

Playing on some big stage thingy outside the Bullring tomorrow, going to the Parade on Sunday; playing in assembly on Tuesday, playing around the school on Wednesday (then hopefully seeing one of the best trad bands around, Beoga) and going to see the Dubliners on Paddy's day itself :D

Oooh trip on Monday = lie in. Sunday drinking :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

It's another day where the Irish are proud not to go to work and to just drink.

Thursday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

jese lads, ye all sound like great craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

Well i will be working.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I will be working

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Firefox11 wrote: »
    Well i will be working.

its going to be the first patricks day since 1996 that im off, not that i want to be

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Had to vote Atari Jaguar as there was no other option not involving drink.

The idea that everyone gets pissed on Paddy's Day is quite defunct.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭HoneyRyder

Pauleta wrote: »
    Our national holiday is the day society's cockroaches come out of hiding
    I'm specifically swapping shifts so i can be working then. It's a major meh day altogether.
    Pubs jammed full of idiots!
    Squirm wrote: »
    have to get out of the city before it all decends into utter chaos and my child is exposed to a level of drunkeness, vomiting and pulic urination, fit only for the eyes of scumbags and college students.

Would ye like some cheese to go with that whine? I suppose you guys have never been young or drunk before?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭HardyBuckFan

this will be my first time in dublin city for paddys day, last 3 was new york, melbourne and sydney so hopefully dublin will be just as good, can anyone recommend somewhere where no knackers will be, i'm tinkin of somewhere around harcourt st,

HoneyRyder wrote: »
    Would ye like some cheese to go with that whine? I suppose you guys have never been young or drunk before?!

They're still right though, regardless of whether they have ever had a drink in their lives.

Croke Park!

For the Club Finals!

Bitta craic I reckon :)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Im gonna Atari Jaguar the **** outta the Atari Jaguar. All day, all night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 pinta

Cheltenham. :cool:

What is 'Atari Jaguar' btw?

I will be getting to town (Galway) sometime before 12, straight to the bookies and meet a few friends, have a last minute read (though my horses will be picked well in advance) place my bets and into the pub before the first race at 1:30 and drink from then until closing, probably in a few different pubs and possibly even a club.

brummytom wrote: »
    What do you mean by Paddy's Day - the day itself or the parade day?

The parade is on Paddy's day.

What year was it John Duddy was boxing in NYC? I was in a bar in Queens and them telling me tickets were going for $1000. Askin' me do I want one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭xXxkorixXx

Heading to tipp with my fiance. looking forward to a great day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭paddydriver

I am going on the government jet to see my new mate Barack in DC..

Sure all ye saps voted me into this place; gotta go enjoy meself a bit:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

I will watch the parade on the tv followed by some sport :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

I'll be working what with it being just another weekday and all.

Dreading having to deal with all the pissheads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭yesno1234

Croke Park!

For the Club Finals!

Bitta craic I reckon :)

Same hopefully if I hve the cash. St. Brigits (home parish) playin in our first Club finals so will be some session win or lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

My main memory from last year was heading in on the bus (46a) at 2pm. There were about eight 14-15 year olds drinking at the back, of which 5 had gotten sick on the floor by the time I reached my destination, much to their amusement. Every time the bus braked it would stream down from one end to the other.
    The other passengers were horrified. Almost ashamed to be Irish that day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

I will be getting to town (Galway) sometime before 12, straight to the bookies and meet a few friends, have a last minute read (though my horses will be picked well in advance) place my bets and into the pub before the first race at 1:30 and drink from then until closing, probably in a few different pubs and possibly even a club.

I wouldnt recommend going near Galway city
    you saw how bad it was for Rag Week, imagine how bad it'll be on Paddy's Day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

going to get drunk in a field with my peers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Strolled in last year through Merrion Square where Goths were drinking and all over each other then on to Templebar surrounded by drunken foreigners and knackers being searched by Guards. Then on to the River where Americans painted Green were screaming at each other letting everyone know that they had never been so drunk.

Might head to Croker this year and watch the matches, usually a nice crowd around after in the Big Tree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Misty Chaos

Not really sure yet. Might head up to the city ( as In Cork ) and spend my day up there, probably drinking in some shape or form and hopefully be able to laugh at the pissheads as long as I don't end up being one of them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

sweet feck all, might go for a drive somewhere other than that spend time with the bf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Im one of the clowns who has to work it. Im off friday though so major session then..:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Ah Paddy's Day, worst day of the year in Ireland but best day outside it.

I plan to knock off work around 3pm and get suitably gee-eyed til the small hours with the rest of my fellow defectors. Booked Friday off work so tidy long weekend ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

I plan on doing my going out the night before, then I'm gonna spend the day inside in front of the telly avoiding the 1.5 million drunken idiots that will fill themselves to the brim with all manner of intoxicants in the name of "fun".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Reading through some of these posts I now realise what a pathetic nation of pissheads we truly are.

I love drinking but I have never made plans to head out for a day with the sole purpose of getting shítfaced.

What a sad was to celebrate something. :(

Thank fuk I'll be away from all this crap next Thursday.

studying loads