Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

turbo glanza question

• 11-03-2011 10:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭

what is the difference between a toyota glanza turbo starlet and an 'ordinary' 1.3 starlet. The turbo is more to insure?Why,Is it more than 1.3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

you need to have been in prison for atleast 6 months and sell drugs to own the 'glanza' version

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Alloys, electric windows and mirrors, air conditioning, standard car is around 85hp, glanza can be modified to twice that.

Normal starlet - slow
    Glanza - fast

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭MinnyMinor

Sitec wrote: »
    it has a turbo
    aren't :rolleyes: very smart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

nippy feckers the glanzas and the gt turbos.....
    easily modified and tweaked.... unfortuantely have a real bad rep as a bo racer car...

starlet... nuns car....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

The turbo should have the 'TRD' sunvisor. OEM equipment don't ya know :D

robtri wrote: »

starlet... nuns car....
    :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I smell troll...

MinnyMinor wrote: »
    The turbo is more to insure?Why,Is it more than 1.3

Forced induction, more power, car can go very fast :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

It is essentially the same engine fitted in both glanza V(turbo) and glanza s(non turbo) but the glanza V has substantially more performance and is also a much higher insurance risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

what is the difference between a toyota glanza turbo starlet and an 'ordinary' 1.3 starlet. The turbo is more to insure?Why,Is it more than 1.3

Did you know that quite a few Glanza's forget they have the turbo on the boat over? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

The drivers have destroyed the image of these cars. I wish I could look at them and say somthing more positive. Reliable car no doubt! Very hard to look at one without thinking the worst though. Hang around long enough and you will see someone with socks tucked in bottom on their trousers and swinging a bottle of coke coming along to get in it. You can't help but to consider the image if you were to seriously look at buying one. Although it will probably be the most reliable car you will ever own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Had a go of a few before. Not bad little yokes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

most of them have like 200000 miles now though

It is essentially the same engine fitted in both glanza V(turbo) and glanza s(non turbo) but the glanza V has substantially more performance and is also a much higher insurance risk.
    i now understand some are advertised with glanza for sale log book says 1.3 startlet,which is to cheat insurance. that was why i asked i wondered why the lie re log book

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭dax121

you can insure it as 1.3 and tax etc. you can even nct it without a problem. but come to a garda check point they will ask you what it is insured as. if u say 1.3 and non turbo. they could ask you to pop the bonnet and alot of guards now know what to look for to tell if its turbo. think traffic core are the ones to watch out for. if it turns out u have it insured wrong im sure the cop will tell u want u can be done for. some mite leave you away with it others mite not. as if its not insured as a turbo u lied to the insurance company and ur insurance is VOID. so BEWARE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

It was the case for years that lads were insuring them as standard 1.3's as in most cases the de-reg certs from Japan just stated they were 1.3 without mentioning turbo, there for when they got vrt'd here the irish log book only said 1.3 aswell.

A few years ago quinn direct copped on and began requiring anyone insured with them on a glanza/starlet 1.3 import to have it inspected by quinn to see if they were insured correctly! Alot of glanza's went up for sale suddenly around that time!:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

i wanted one of these for ages, spent nearly 6 months looking for an unabused one. none!

i could tell you stories to beat the band about ones i went to view that were supposed to be 'mint' :rolleyes:

i ended up in the vitz rs, and got a car that (is slightly less pokey) but actually turns heads and is still fun to drive, and i can insure for a fraction of the cost of insuring a glanza. i'd recommend them to anyone considering a glanza/ gt turbo but doesn't want 'that image'.

and whats all this '1.3 on the book' crack anyway? the 'book' only states engine capacity, not aspiration. so all glanzas should only be 1300 cc on the logbook (except for all those 5E conversions out there now), but should be declared as a turbo, because they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

andyseadog wrote: »

and whats all this '1.3 on the book' crack anyway? the 'book' only states engine capacity, not aspiration. so all glanzas should only be 1300 cc on the logbook (except for all those 5E conversions out there now), but should be declared as a turbo, because they are.

I thought most of the "none turbo on log book" were done by the original garage, so they would only have to VRT it as a normal 1.3 starlet and not a turbo glanza. Same with many other turbo cars, cant see the garages doing it so young fellas can "try" and get cheap insurance, their doing it to cut the amount of VRT they have to pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Testament1

dax121 wrote: »
    come to a garda check point they will ask you what it is insured as. if u say 1.3 and non turbo. they could ask you to pop the bonnet and alot of guards now know what to look for to tell if its turbo.

They shouldn't have a very hard time deciding if its turbo or not since a Glanza V engine looks like this:

Full?id=5343391

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Glanzas are brisk in a straight line but hate corners. Most have seen a ditch or two at this stage.

the most obvious give away for the gards should be (although it isin't set in stone) is that glanza V's have a bonnet scoop, whereas glanza S' only have a bulge.

but then the owners of both like to swap, so the S owners look like they have a turbo car, and the turbo cars look like they are non turbo. (or they switched to a front mount)

and all glanza bonnets now have to be black. because black is faster. always.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Easily Fixed
    Untitled_70.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The black bonnet is supposed to mimic carbon fibre.

bazz26 wrote: »

i know that. but it doesn't, all it serves to do is look really really ****. like they damaged the car and repaired it with whatever panels they could find. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭12gauge dave

the bonnet scoop has a very very valid reason for being there the top mount intercooler needs cold air and is fed it through this scoop as you drive!

i owned one for over a year prob my fav car to be honest never failed to start and never gave trouble either! as quick as b16 civics to 90mph
    cheap tax and not too bad on petrol

if buying check for smokey turbos as the turbos in them tend to have weak oil seals and try get one with a boost gauge and make sure it holds a e0.65-0.7 bar on high turbo

they are **** in corners but from the ek9s and evos ive owned starlet turbos are the funnest car ive owned to be honest:)

o ya in 2008 with 2 years no claims bonus with quinn i was paying 1300euro fully declared as a turbo at 20 years of age

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

I smell troll...

If you think someone's trolling, please report the post rather than posting on-thread.

@everyone - I think we've had our quota of "hilarious" answers now, thank you very much...

t

and all glanza bonnets now have to be black. because black is faster. always.
    why does black make it faster?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭Tomas_S

R u realy that stupid or just pretending?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Tomas_S wrote: »
    R u realy that stupid or just pretending?

Tomas_S banned for 24 hours for abuse.

all glanza bonnets now have to be black. because black is faster. always.
    bazz26 wrote: »
    i know that. but it doesn't, all it serves to do is look really really ****. like they damaged the car and repaired it with whatever panels they could find. :rolleyes:

let me be the first to say,

IN BEFORE THE LOCK :pac: