Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Same old, same old from Fianna Fail. Pathetic.

• 11-03-2011 1:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭

I see Fianna Fail are making a storm in a teacup due to the omission of a "Minister for Old People"; breaking with FF policy.
    http://www.facebook.com/michealmartintd
    A very significant omission yesterday by the Government. There is no longer a Minister of State for Older People. Niall Collins has a statement on this issue.
    http://www.fiannafail.ie/news/entry/6634/
    Posted on 10/03/11 by Niall Collins

Limerick County Fianna Fail TD Niall Collins has today accused the Fine Gael-Labour Government of ignoring the needs of Older People by not ensuring Ministerial representation for this important and growing group in Ireland.

"I was very surprised today that Taoiseach Enda Kenny and his Fine Gael-Labour government decided that older people did not deserve ministerial representation."

"This is a section of Irish society that has given so much to our country. It is also a growing group and deserves continued ministerial representation."

"I am proud that Fianna Fail in Government recognised that older people had specific needs that deserved ministerial representation and a voice within government."

"The new coalition government on only its second day in office has dispensed with this important precedent set by Fianna Fail. I believe it is a mistake and one that the Taoiseach and his Government should recognise and rectify at its next cabinet meeting," concluded Deputy Collins.

Yesterday, the storm in a teacup was due to the fact that the government were NOT breaking with Fianna Fail policy.
    http://www.facebook.com/michealmartintd
    Fianna Fáil Whip Seán Ó Fearghaíl has a statement on the Minister of State appointments today. The Government should be moving away from politics as usual instead we're getting more of the same
    http://www.fiannafail.ie/news/entry/6632/
    Posted on 10/03/11 by Seán Ó Fearghaíl
    Less than 24 hours after promising an end to “old politics”, the incoming government has abandoned one of its key pledges in relation to political reform, Seán Ó Fearghaíl TD for Kildare South and Fianna Fáil Whip said today.

Speaking on RTE’s News at One today Deputy Willie Penrose confirmed that the new Taoiseach Enda Kenny would be appointing 15 Ministers of State, abandoning Fine Gael’s previous commitment to limiting the number to a maximum of 12.

Responding to this Deputy Ó Fearghaíl said: “After telling the people that honesty is the ‘only policy’, it seems that Enda Kenny has reverted back to type with more politics as usual. The promised departure from broken pledges and ‘old politics’ appears to have been a false dawn”.

“It is disappointing that just a day after such effective rhetoric on new starts and 'fundamental change' that it should be abandoned in favour of old style politics and jobs for the boys.”

For all their waffle about reform this and that, they are trotting out the same old crap. God forbid they would formulate an alternative strategy to offer the electorate, it's simply Opportunism to the last.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

What good did a Minister for State do them when FF raided their pension fund ?

There's a word for Mehole Martin and I suspect the charter in Politics prevents me from using it.....so I'll just use the phrase "opportunistic useless condescending prat suffering from severe amnesia about who led us into this mess".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭hallelujajordan

Micheal Martin has promised to hold the government to account on the promises they made during the election campaign but also to support them on policy positions on which they were in agreement. .

As a Fianna Fail member that is exactly what I expect him to do . . . If Enda Kenny focuses on PR stunts like taking a bus to the Aras but ignores substantive issues like his promise to reduce the number of ministries then the job of the leader of the opposition is to call him on it !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭aftermn

Anytime the Shinners want to castigate the government on waste or failure to follow their programme I will accept the critisism.

No Fianna Failer, repeat, no fianna failer, has the right to critisise anybody for anything. Past performance and all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Micheal Martin has promised to hold the government to account on the promises they made during the election campaign but also to support them on policy positions on which they were in agreement.

That's not being argued.

What's being argued is that they're dimultaneously trying to make the Government look bad for both following said policy and for - er - not following it; it's a joke!

Of course, the fact that FF reformed nothing (and some lined their own pockets as a result of said lack of reform) is an irony which I doubt any FF member could spot.

Martin should just butt out; they had their chance to make Ireland a better place, and not only blew it, but specifically chose to do the opposite.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

aftermn wrote: »
    Anytime the Shinners want to castigate the government on waste or failure to follow their programme I will accept the critisism.

No Fianna Failer, repeat, no fianna failer, has the right to critisise anybody for anything. Past performance and all that.

This! FF should shut the **** up for the next 5 years.

Also did anyone hear that MM is going to put forward the son of Noel O' Flynn to the Seanad? I am glad actually as doing this **** will prevent any emergence of FF as a new party of ideas. Same ol same ol.

http://www.kenoflynn.com/index.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    What good did a Minister for State do them when FF raided their pension fund ?

There's a word for Mehole Martin and I suspect the charter in Politics prevents me from using it.....so I'll just use the phrase "opportunistic useless condescending prat suffering from severe amnesia about who led us into this mess".

Couldn't agree with that more.

Mr Martin reminds me of the mentality of those running the Scientology CULT when they refer to WW2 holocaust.
    The cult says the holocaust never happened the way the rest of the world has seen it and saw the evidence, the cult says that we are not seeing the truth and that the Jews were all to blame for such lies. They keep repeating this to the world and to themselves. They put out this trash of their twisted version of history into books. They keep saying this stuff repeatedly, over and over again to themselves - to the point where they believe it and to the point where they hope the rest of us will believe it too.

...But that still don't make it true!

Then we have Mr Martin...

Since day one of his selection to the head of the cult Fianna Fail, he has TOTALLY refused to see or accept the actions of himself and his cohorts in the previous years.
    He tells us (and was caught on camera even during the elections, when speaking to people on the streets, the cameras following him) that he disagrees (as is his legal right) with all our perspectives views on the actions of what FF has done.
    He disagrees that FF have done ANYTHING wrong.
    He disagrees that some of his fellow FF members are involved with the Golden Circle, the banks, property developers, the Drumcondra Mafia and he disagrees with everything that is listed here.

Clearly he is either trying to convince himself - or us - that all which we have gone through with them has been a lie, a dream or whatever miserable reason he can come up with.
    Many times he has been confronted on TV air since his selection to leader of FF and asked to explain what has gone on in his party - and yet again he espouses that we are all wrong, things never happened as the rest of us have historically recorded it, that basically FF are as pure white as the driven snow.

At this stage I firmly believe that hes either suffering from a serious mental issues and/or a self imposed mental block in regard to FF past

Or...

Like the one example of the Scientology cult, he's hoping that if he repeat his lying schite to the rest of the world long enough, over and over, again and again, it will be come truth.

Either way - and listen up the rest of Fianna Fail - until this head fool kops himself and recovers from his disillusions, stops with the lies or finally for once comes clean, then Fianna Fail will remain in the gutter of history where frankly with idiots like him leading it, it deserves to be.

As regards Martin giving out about our present lot in government and the old, he has a very short memory yet again (no surprise there!) as to how he and his cronies treated the elderly while they were in power, that I think the man is a 100% disillusioned mental crack-pot!

His giving out now about others is like Hitler daring to give out to England about how they might have mistreated one Jewish person!
    I put as much trust in his words as I would trust the lies of a multiple killer on death row in the states, trying to save his ass - and I see them in comparison to a scumbag that I might find hanging around dark alleyways up to no good, in that I value such words coming from either at no level whatsoever in trustfulness or any chance of honesty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭raymon

Fianna fail. Who are they ?