Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

M16A1 vietnam

• 10-03-2011 7:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭

Hey people im looking for an M16A1 the vietnam M16 and i cant seem to find one in Ireland. I have been looking round the place and cant find one unless i go to america/england. Anyone have any idea where you can get these so far my best option is e-hobby but im not sure about trying to take an airsoft gun into the country. Has anyone else imported guns or does anyone know where to get an M16A1??

Thanks for the help in advance! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Phil Taz

Not sure what its like to import it by your self, you could try asking one of the retailers like Eirsoft or MIA to order it for you, or try and put up a wanted add in the airsoft adverts section.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Firekitten

Firesupport and Landwarrior both have m16 'vn's. The m16a1 is an entirely different version, much later, used upto 1993ish.

Chances of finding a vn in ireland? low, only two really exist, TM, which is like finding a golden cowpat, and the g&p... but ireland doesnt like g&p ;) so check England.

Cannot recomend the g&p enough, amazing rifle. Perfectly accurate for that nam look. £230ish as well, not bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭TerrenceAnth

Firekitten wrote: »
    Firesupport and Landwarrior both have m16 'vn's. The m16a1 is an entirely different version, much later, used upto 1993ish.

Chances of finding a vn in ireland? low, only two really exist, TM, which is like finding a golden cowpat, and the g&p... but ireland doesnt like g&p ;) so check England.

Cannot recomend the g&p enough, amazing rifle. Perfectly accurate for that nam look. £230ish as well, not bad.

Im looking at the one on landwarrior looks pretty bad ass g&p aswell. You have one yeah did you run into any problems with it at all?

Yeah, recomended land warrior because they stock them :P

Nah, no problems, its fps is ok, (300ish) and its rate of fire is silly. only problem is running out of ammo too fast on auto... but like the real m16 then heh. Great gun, solideset build ive seen.

Firekitten wrote: »
    Yeah, recomended land warrior because they stock them :P

Nah, no problems, its fps is ok, (300ish) and its rate of fire is silly. only problem is running out of ammo too fast on auto... but like the real m16 then heh. Great gun, solideset build ive seen.

Only problem im seeing is that it says its 360 fps thats running over the 1 joule bar isnt it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Phil Taz

Bingo thank you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭johnny test

airsoftguns.ie have one for sale in limerick tm m16 vn

Head i seen it Johnny Hope he still has it for sale!

The new one is kinda shot out of my price range

Only problem im seeing is that it says its 360 fps thats running over the 1 joule bar isnt it.
    wont be, g&p imports are sub one J becaues they are made for the japanese market. they strictly enforce 1j, most clock 280-300 like TMs.

As for the second hand TM, i wouldnt touch that... they are utterly nasty creaky pieces of crap. (plus the barrel is literally a bit of pipe screwed on with a front sight and outer screwed to the other end, its a bodgejob and tm's first aeg)

Its so hard to deside ha id like the new one to be honest if i get it sent here and its under a J that will be grand just need to check my shipping price now :L

in blunt honesty, there is no contest, the g&P is FAR better than any other contender on the market. Full stop. Landwarrior will send it to ireland, so its win win.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭War Machine 539

SG Airsoft in Fairview have them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

If you want a vietnam era m16 you have two options; the m16 'vn' (which is the iconic one that everyone will recognise instantly as being from the period, or the m16A1 which did see service in the later years of the war.

So, for the m16vn you have a couple of options: TM (already mentioned for being creaky), Classic Army (Gandalf owns one and always used to swear by it), and G&P being the three main contenders. Of the three, the G&P one is the most accurate - right down to the trades.

For the m16A1, again there's a G&P & TM and at least two clone versions (Jing Gong & AGM) available; not sure about others but again I wouldn't be slow to recommend one of the G&P beasties as it stands. Yes the clones might be cheaper but a) good look getting one right now, b) the price of them isn't much lower than 'big names' right now, c) if you want an era-accurate version; see G&P, d) the Jing Gong & AGM versions have A3 bodies and RIS so are a mixture of m16 A1 & A3

There is also the XM177E1 & E2 carbine models as well. Again there are offerings from CA/TM/G&P and I would say again ... see G&P.

If you want to go down the gas route ( which I doubt at this stage, and have silly money to spend); Inokatsu are releasing an m16 vn& XM177E1 GBBR. They look the absolute mutts nuts, but so will the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Carentan Killer

If you cannot get the G&P one mentioned I can also recommend the Classic Army M15A1 (M16VN)

Which has the proper stying of the M16VN unlike the clone ones out there.

Here is some pictures of my CA M16VN taken awhile back
    http://s16.photobucket.com/albums/b4/carentankiller/CA%20M16A1%20Vietnam/?action=view&current=DSCF0885.jpg#!oZZ1QQcurrentZZhttp%3A%2F%2Fs16.photobucket.com%2Falbums%2Fb4%2Fcarentankiller%2FCA%2520M16A1%2520Vietnam%2F%3Faction%3Dview%26current%3DDSCF0885.jpg

it is a recent enough AEG so the gearbox in it is great no CA horror stories to report about it.

7mm Oily Steel Bushing Gear Box, high performance motor and metal hop-up chamber.

It has a Full metal receiver where the TM has an ABS receiver its go a proper vn style flashhider, the stock is correct also thinner than an A2 stock with a real nice feel to it a high quality nylon the handguard is also a high quality nylon and grip is the correct shape too and is also high quality nylon no cheap looking or feeling ABS on it.

It is also as solid as a rock no barrel wobble like the TM suffers from.

It has Armalite etched trademarks where the G&P has Colt AR-15 engraved trademarks.

The paint finish on the CA isn't on par with the G&P and has started to flake off its self over time mostly in the upper receiver area

This just happened from light use over time so CA didn't anodize the finish just painted and haven't applied a proper protective coat to the paint either.

Its the Only flaw in my opinion I see with the CA M15A1 Vietnam /M16VN

If a protective clear coat was applied when first bought it wouldn't happen when you buy a CA M16VN new but this might not bother some people if they like ageing their AEG's

CA went with a more steel grey finish (painted) to the M16VN seen in my pictures link above
    The G&P looks like its more a darker blued steel finish.

As mentioned the gear box is very good, solid out of the box and still going strong after about a year+ it has a yellow hopup dial and metal hopup unit.
    I haven't put any gearbox upgrades into mine yet..

Again a G&P gearbox would be more robust but the CA is very good 2nd best also.

I might sell my CA off eventually and pick up a WGC custom Bomber M16VN GBBr :D or wait for the WE M16VN when it finally gets released :rolleyes:
    I am more into GBB rifles these days I prefer them over AEG rifles :eek: so have been selling off a lot of my AEG collection and Buying WE GBBr's
    So far I have a WE KAC PDW, WE M16A3, WE Scar Tan, DB Custom Magpul M4 :D AGM M4A1, 2x Mac 11 gbb smg's along with a KWA MP7A1 (on its way to me soon :) )

On the short list of GBBr's to get soon
    WE G36C
    WE HK416
    WE AKM when released!
    WE L85A2 when released also ;)

I am a WE GBB fanboy I know :p but in my opinion the externals are top notch up there with G&P and VFC for external build quality.
    And as long as you get the Ratech upgraded versions of them and run on co2 mags you cannot go wrong - in my opinion

Inokatsu are unreal though - closest externals to real steel but I cannot see myself ever buying one as they are too expensive I would much rather buy 2 to 3 WE Gbbr's for the price of one Inokatsu - even though I would still love one :D:p Someday...

Any way back to my mini review of the M16VN get a G&P version if you can or go for a CA version if you can source one new or pick one up second hand.
    Stay away from the rest of the M16VN aeg's (TM and all the clones)

Kev

Hey lads you have all been a great help it looks like ill be looking into the G&P m16 iv been reading up on it and it does seem like the best gun for me to go for atm and its not punching a massive hole in my wallet!!!

Thanks for all the help lads!:cool:

I might sell my CA off eventually and pick up a WGC custom Bomber M16VN GBBr :D or wait for the WE M16VN when it finally gets released

'Bomber' are, I believe, a subdivision of G&P. Or at least are built using near exclusively G&P WA-GBBR parts. Also, the only (currently; and I've heard not a whisper of any more in the pipeline) available 20-rounder box mags available (Prowin) for m16s are WA tech, not WE. Granted, 30-round magazines were introduced towards the latter years of the Vietnam war but were not prolific in usage next to the original 20-round mags.

Hey lads you have all been a great help it looks like ill be looking into the G&P m16 iv been reading up on it and it does seem like the best gun for me to go for atm and its not punching a massive hole in my wallet!!!

Thanks for all the help lads!:cool:

You are welcome ;)

Good choice Terrence you just cannot go wrong with any G&P AEG's or GBB's for that matter or G&P Parts are all top notch too :)

Lemming wrote: »
    'Bomber' are, I believe, a subdivision of G&P. Or at least are built using near exclusively G&P WA-GBBR parts. Also, the only (currently; and I've heard not a whisper of any more in the pipeline) available 20-rounder box mags available (Prowin) for m16s are WA tech, not WE. Granted, 30-round magazines were introduced towards the latter years of the Vietnam war but were not prolific in usage next to the original 20-round mags.

Lemming they are indeed a subdivision of G&P ;)
    http://www.gp-web.com/en/productspop.php?pid=2359

If you go through G&P's website you will be very surprised with who they make parts and full pistols AEG's and GBB's for :)

The reason I mentioned WGC custom was they had them instock one a M16VN awhile back though if I remember correctly and they have also a M16A1 version instock

http://www.wgcshop.com/wgc2008/main/product_detail1.php?search_From=searchItem&item=GP-GBR-BMGBB08&search=special&rs=G%26P%20M16&catid=&cat=

http://www.wgcshop.com/wgc2008/main/product_detail1.php?search_From=category&item=GP-GBR-BMGBB08&search=special&rs=GP%20GBBRs&catid=76&cat=487

Yeah I hear ya on the mags I would love some prowin mags for my AGM M4A1 (wa clone) as a big fan of the 20 round vn mag over the longer stanag design.

But would truly love if prowin came out with 20-round WE co2 mags for my M16A3 which I have currently turned into a custom M16VN styled Magpul Sniper.

I do not have pictures taken of it at this time but it looks something like this..

M16VNMagpulSniperGBB.jpg?t=1299860891

All it needs is some 20 round vn mags (WE Co2) to finish it off.
    I guess I will have to wait until WE release their M16VN to stock up on 20 rounders :rolleyes:

Here is it is when I had it set up as a M16 Battle Sniper
    Pics

I have since put the vn hand guards from my CA M16VN along with the CA M16VN flashhider onto my WE M16

I think it looks great similar too a TM PSG-1 in overall shape (had one in the past) It feels very similar to a PSG-1 to hold also.

I was going to put on a PSG-1 style grip but not so sure now...
    I also have an ARES M16 tactical type GBB grip that I have here too that would look great on it,
    But I have decided to see if I can get an M16VN GBB grip for it WA type I suppose but modify it slightly to fit ;)

Kev

Yeah, Bomber have had an m16 vn and A1 model out for a while now, along with an XM177. The prices are not cheap, and I suspect, not far off what the final price of the Inokatsu m16/XM177 will be. So for about $200 more (roughly €145) you'll quite conceivably have the cash for an Inokatsu offering.

Edit: I'm basing pricing by working off the current asking prices of the Bomber GBBR (us$750) vs. the Inokatsu m4 GBBR (us$890)

Yeah, Bomber have had an m16 vn and A1 model out for a while now, along with an XM177. The prices are not cheap, and I suspect, not far off what the final price of the Inokatsu m16/XM177 will be. So for about more (roughly €145) you'll quite conceivably have the cash for an Inokatsu offering.

Edit: I'm basing pricing by working off the current asking prices of the Bomber GBBR () vs. the Inokatsu m4 GBBR ()

Yeah I guess you are right if I had the cash for a Bomber M16VN it would be best to keep saving/selling off stuff for the extra 145 or so and go for an Inokatsu m4 but would have to also be an M16VN to compare properly as thats what I would go for.

Where are you looking for pricing on the Inokatsu Lemming ehobby?

If I ever did take the plunge for an Inokatsu it would have to be the M16 variant over an M4 to be honest along the lines of an M16VN or maybe even the M16A4

As I already have the truely awesome DB custom WE M4 with Prime receiver so its as close to RS as possible Externally with all the internal upgrades that you can throw into a WE GBBr installed also and it has whatever is supposed to be steel externally and internally on the M4 too and runs on co2 real cap mags so truely perfect in my book so not really interested in the Inokatsu M4 over what I already have M4 wise.

Then again I would have to sell a lot of Aeg's /pistols to afford to shell out for the Inokatsu or even Bomber for that matter :eek:

But I guess its possible depends on whether its worth the loss of a nice part of the collection or not for 1 Inokatsu M16
    Saying that I have never held an Inokatsu M4/M16 so if I ever get the chance to that would make my mind up very quickly on the Want/Need! meter :D

Where are you looking for pricing on the Inokatsu Lemming ehobby?

Ehobby, Redwolf, and a few places like that. Mostly in and around the us$850-900 mark. I also checked Fire-Support who have it listed at £816, which sounds about right when you factor in shipping, customs, and then shop markup (whilst you can avoid shop markup, you are buying the lack of stress that comes with ordering & getting through customs yourself so it's not to be discounted).
    If I did ever take the plunge for an Inokatsu it would have to be the M16 variant over an M4 to be honest along the lines of an M16VN or maybe even the M16A4

Feast thine eyes
    ;

m16vn_thumb1.jpg
    xm177_thumb.jpg

Ehobby, Redwolf, and a few places like that. Mostly in and around the -900 mark. I also checked Fire-Support who have it listed at which sounds about right when you factor in shipping, customs, and then shop markup (whilst you can avoid shop markup, you are buying the lack of stress that comes with ordering & getting through customs yourself so it's not to be discounted).

Feast thine eyes
    ;

m16vn_thumb1.jpg
    xm177_thumb.jpg

They do look unreal! :eek: A Really great realistic finish on them!

Any Idea Lemming when they are supposed to be released?
    Do you have any Inokatsu GBB rifles yourself?

Any Idea Lemming when they are supposed to be released?
    Do you have any Inokatsu GBB rifles yourself?

Meant to be sometime this year, but god knows when. They've got an m16A4 that's on their website so that must have come between the m4 and these in the release schedule (was the first I'd heard of the A4).

Don't own any Ino' gbbrs myself (yet) although I have been eyeing up the m4 sopmod. Lack of funds tends to get in the way of that purchase though :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Could also do what I did

Get a G&G M16, replace the housing with G&P M16VN era body and front end, realise that your impulse buy was simply because of Tropic Thunder.

Then watch your rifle, vastly superior to any other in its category, sit there on adverts, watching the dozens of " I want an M16VN" threads a month that arise, and still watch my rifle being overlooked

**** you nammers

Meant to be sometime this year, but god knows when. They've got an m16A4 that's on their website so that must have come between the m4 and these in the release schedule (was the first I'd heard of the A4).

Don't own any Ino' gbbrs myself (yet) although I have been eyeing up the m4 sopmod. Lack of funds tends to get in the way of that purchase though :p

Yeah ehobbyasia have the M16A4 advertised but its showing out of stock
    http://shop.ehobbyasia.com/other-gun/gas-blow-black-rifle/inokatsu/inokatsu-m16a4-m5-mtw-super-version-gas-blowback-rifle.html

Yeah the sopmod does look great! but I will try to save up what I can and go for the M16VN myself.

I hear ya there on lack of fundage ;)
    I sold off my TM L96 OD to go for a WE G36C as I was after one for awhile... but then spotted the KWA MP7A1 on Adverts and jumped at that! (Magpie Eyes Syndrome :eek:)
    MP7 is Awesome BTW not much recoil about the same as a KSC/HFC Mac 11 but it Feels totally real to hold! A really nice heavy weight GBB smg very high quality and rock solid build.

I thought you owned an inokatsu? was that an M60? which version?
    I just got the Gunfire/A&K M60VN its awesome but probably not as realistic as an inokatsu but awesome none the less!
    Vietnam goodness you just cannot beat it! :cool:

Pics here of my M60VN with Aidan's (defenderdudes) M60E4 :D
    CIMG1631Large.jpg?t=1300016003

CIMG1622Large.jpg?t=1300016003

And back on topic.. :)

TerrenceAnth any luck with sourcing a G&P M16VN for yourself?

Edit
    TheDoc wrote: »
    Could also do what I did

Get a G&G M16, replace the housing with G&P M16VN era body and front end, realise that your impulse buy was simply because of Tropic Thunder.

Then watch your rifle, vastly superior to any other in its category, sit there on adverts, watching the dozens of " I want an M16VN" threads a month that arise, and still watch my rifle being overlooked

**** you nammers

Ouch Doc :( that sucks!
    Terrence now you have a choice of a
    vastly superior (m16vn) to any other in its category

G&G M16 with a G&P M16VN body = total win!

I would go for it myself Doc only that I am more into GBB rifles these days :o

I thought you owned an inokatsu? was that an M60? which version?
    I just got the Gunfire/A&K M60VN its awesome but probably not as realistic as an inokatsu but awesome none the less!
    Vietnam goodness you just cannot beat it! :cool:

I see your A&K m60 and raise you an Inokatsu m60 (full-steel version):

M60%20left%20side%20with%20ammo-belt.jpg

(with apologies to Terence for bringing the thread off-topic)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,502 ✭✭✭defenderdude

M60%20left%20side%20with%20ammo-belt.jpg

:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:
    runs for cover

simply incredible looking!

Totally Awesome Lemming Fair play to ya mate!
    I was looking at that same one online how much did that set you back?
    How long have you got it and it comes in that cool crate?

My M60 came with a back harness what did yours come with 3 of them? lol

I love everything about the A&K M60 VN apart from it not being heavy steel so I find it too Light! :eek: Its not that light really far from it but my Barrett M99 is heavier and my Kart EBR feels heavier also :rolleyes: :)

*Apologies to Terence also but at least we are still talking Vietnam era Airsoft :cool:

Much to the total hatred of The Doc towards us ....... Nammers :p:D

Totally Awesome Lemming Fair play to ya mate!
    I was looking at that same one online how much did that set you back?
    How long have you got it and it comes in that cool crate?

This crate? ;)

M60%20assembled%20with%20box%20%28front%29.jpg

I bought mine back in September 2007 from Fire-Support and I paid many pennies. At the time, the euro was appallingly bad against sterling so I ended up paying €1950 (w/ downgrade, shipping & battery).
    My M60 came with a back harness what did yours come with 3 of them? lol

The only way to carry one of these is either in your arms, or over your shoulder(s). And in any case harnesses, ABS, and aluminium are for pussies :p

This crate? ;)

I bought mine back in September 2007 from Fire-Support and I paid many pennies. At the time, the euro was appallingly bad against sterling so I ended up paying €1950 (w/ downgrade, shipping & battery).

The only way to carry one of these is either in your arms, or over your shoulder(s). And in any case harnesses, ABS, and aluminium are for pussies :p

Thats the Crate! ^ a proper way to receive an M60 in :D

WOW that is some amount of cash to spend out on an AEG but I bet you have gotten your moneys worth out of it over the years you have had it.

As for the harness totally agree only way to carry it is in your arms! the one that came with it will never be used.

But then again I traded for the A&K so Didn't have to feel the €1950 or there abouts whack to my wallet either for an Inokatsu M60 :P

Although I can understand why you would pay out for the Inokatsu M60 with it being all steel and as accurate as you can get without it being an actual Real Steel Machinegun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

In fairness I went and bought my vietnam kit and webbing all over again, but there is some slightly modified versions I got

The best loadout i ever had