Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good Friday sale of alcohol ban

• 10-03-2011 5:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭

It's coming up to that time again.

Therefore, the annual debate should be had.

What do we think? Surely we can all go a day without alcohol?

No big deal, probably a good thing, right? Bit of a break from the demon drink. Get in touch with your spiritual side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

Its especially easy for those who go the other 364 days without alcohol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Probably wont even drink that day but I'd like the option. Its just an inconvenience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Rename it liver detox day.

It'd give AH a bit of variety. Less "I'm so oppressed by Religion" threads and more "Nanny State" threads.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Its especially easy for those who go the other 364 days without alcohol.

the issue is not "going without", its that you cant buy it if you wished to.

op... just have the lads organise a rugby match between leinster and munster.

sorted...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

It's the national house party and buy twice as much drink as needed day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

The ban should be lifted, it upsets the tourists.

Ah herre we go! A few weeks early wha?

Personally, I support it as a SECULAR tradition, it's good to have a day that forces you to examine your relationship to drink (and even if you do the knacker drinking bit, it's an excuse for a "fight the powah" private piss up!)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

I go lots and lots of days with out alcohol. I choose them myself as an adult. I dont think the hand me down nonsense of goat herders in the middle east should influence state law.
    If Christians dont want to drink then fair play to them. Why does it have to be law?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Sisko

What if your not religious? I admit at least were not as bad as Iran, but still, such a law has to go. Its embarrassing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

It should be removed from law completely. Its a religious practice of one group, so why is it inflicted on the entire population? Its about time Ireland moved forward into the modern age. If Christians want to observe this day let them. To expect the rest of us to follow it is highly ignorant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

We used to have folks from various towns travel in on that day to buy booze off the wee shop I worked in, as we were the only ones selling alcohol.

Made a friggin mint! Crate after crate after crate. Back was near broke refilling the shelves all day long :pac:

Sisko wrote: »
    What if your not religious? I admit at least were not as bad as Iran, but still, such a law has to go. Its embarrassing.

Why does not being able to buy alcohol have to be a religious thing? Fairly seperate in my book.

There's people out there who can't make the decision not to drink(or take drugs, or shoplift, or thousands of other addictive compulsions) I reckon Good Friday should become a day to remember those people.

Or go knacker drinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Why the hell wouldn't I buy alcohol and get drunk on Good Friday...??

Oh yeah.... Ireland....

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

* sitting back and awaiting the inevitable "so feck off and dont have Christmas or Easter either ye heathens. This is a catholic country!!!*

any minute now..........:o

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Why does not being able to buy alcohol have to be a religious thing? Fairly seperate in my book.

There's people out there who can't make the decision not to drink(or take drugs, or shoplift, or thousands of other addictive compulsions) I reckon Good Friday should become a day to remember those people.

Or go knacker drinking.

i'll remeber them everytime i walk pass them while they are lying in the gutter...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 376 ✭✭edwinkane

Surely it's time for a member of the muslim community to take a case to the EU claiming unfair discrimination that he can't buy a bottle of sweet sherry due to a christian holy day.

Or go knacker drinking.

Im 40 years old. I can do any of that of my own volition.
    But we are not talking about what it could or shpould be. We are talking about what it is.

edwinkane wrote: »
    Surely it's time for a member of the muslim community to take a case to the EU claiming unfair discrimination that he can't buy a bottle of sweet sherry due to a christian holy day.
    Maybe its time for all religions to keep their religion in their own lives the way i keep my former fondness for Chris De Burgh and ukulele tunes in mine:o

Im 40 years old. I can do any of that of my own volition.
    But we are not talking about what it could or shpould be. We are talking about what it is.

Well then, why should we have bank holidays then? why can't we decide for ourselves the days off from work we can take and make extra money working during? Why should the State set down "These days are holidays"? Why not let our employers set feast days as they see fit? let the State say "employers, you must set X amount of days as Feast Days as you see fit. We expect you to give bonuses for every worker who works on those days and days in lieu and the day off for everyone else."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

I only drink a handful of times a year but i think it is rather absurd. Pubs like any other business should be allowed to sell alcohol if they so wish, its quite different from the 10pm/2.30 rules, at least they have some sort of sensible argument behind them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Maybe its time for all religions to keep their religion in their own lives the way i keep my former fondness for Chris De Burgh and ukulele tunes in mine:o

Exactly. If you want to practice religion, go away and do it in your own life. Religion should not be part of law anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,607 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

If it stopped being a special religious day, and became just a normal day, then I doubt very much my 9-5 office would be shut.

So I'm willing to take the inconvenience of having to buy my drink the day before for the super mega bonus of having the Friday off.

I quite like the day anyway, the ultimate 'nothing much to do but laze around day'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,599 ✭✭✭sashafierce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭farna_boy

Dave! wrote: »
    It's coming up to that time again.

Therefore, the annual debate should be had.

What do we think? Surely we can all go a day without alcohol?

No big deal, probably a good thing, right? Bit of a break from the demon drink. Get in touch with your spiritual side.

Does it? Really?

Is there actually going to be anything new brought to the discussion this year?

Or is it going to be the usual "I don't want the paedo's telling me what to do" vs "It's one day without drink. Are we really that dependant on alcohol?" vs "You're all going to hell if you drink on Good Friday".

Hmm I wonder...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

Although I used to be inclined towards keeping it. I honestly don't care if people want to drink on Good Friday as long as they are respectful and tolerant to those for whom Good Friday is a significant day of the year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

farna_boy wrote: »
    Does it? Really?

Is there actually going to be anything new brought to the discussion this year?

Or is it going to be the usual "I don't want the paedo's telling me what to do" vs "It's one day without drink. Are we really that dependant on alcohol?" vs "You're all going to hell if you drink on Good Friday".

Hmm I wonder...
    Yeah it has to be done brah

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Just buy extra the day before, not that hard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

They should change it to monday. There are not many good ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

Well then, why should we have bank holidays then? why can't we decide for ourselves the days off from work we can take and make extra money working during? Why should the State set down "These days are holidays"? Why not let our employers set feast days as they see fit? let the State say "employers, you must set X amount of days as Feast Days as you see fit. We expect you to give bonuses for every worker who works on those days and days in lieu and the day off for everyone else."

With the exception of some holidays like christmas (mostly for the sake of children and families) I'd much prefer to be able to work the bank holidays and then spend the extra days as I'd wish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

Its a stupid law that is a relic of the old ireland. Get rid of it.

Yeah it has to be done brah

Damn you, damn you to heck!

Actually, as Mod of the non drinkers, what's your view?

State mandated no-buy-drink day a good or bad thing?

I disagree. People should be able to share their faith freely. It isn't a "private" matter. Although I don't think we should legislate on the basis of any one given religion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Like hotels then? 20 days holidays, 9 bank holidays. By no means do you get bank holidays guarenteed off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I'm probably not going out tomorrow, no biggie. Is Good Friday tomorrow btw?
    But being anti-religion I understand why people want the ban lifted.

Well. The Scientologist community tell The State what bank holidays we should have dont they.
    No they dont.
    State law is State law. State law under the influence of a religious group is something else entirely.
    But thanks for making my prediction come true.

This has nothing to do with people gagging for drink or health but of a religion influencing law in a democrazy (Intentionla!)

Its not tomorrow. It's in and around 40 days time.

Damn you, damn you to heck!

Actually, as Mod of the non drinkers, what's your view?

State mandated no-buy-drink day a good or bad thing?

Don't try and drag me into this! Oh okay...

I just happen to mod that forum BTW, I'm quite fond of the drink myself :p

I think it should be done away with myself. Modern secular countries (as should be the ideal) should not have laws that are based on religious beliefs. There's no other benefit to this day of prohibition. There's no evidence that it has any effect on alcohol consumption in general, and anecdotally I think most people know that anyone who wants to drink will just go to the offo the day before.

I don't have a problem in principle with the government having a day of prohibition for some logical reason. Like if it were an 'alcohol awareness day', where a bunch of alcohol-related support groups, etc., got a bit of a plug and had money raised, then it wouldn't be an issue. But there's no benefit to this day, it's just a relic of the past.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

I like the day off, leave it as it is I say

This has nothing to do with people gagging for drink or health but of a religion influencing law in a democrazy (Intentionla!)

I don't mind this actually as long as the criterion for accepting legislation is based on merit. If a Muslim brings an excellent law to the Dáil on the basis of his Islamic beliefs, but it also abounds in merit, then I think that is fine. The same way in respect to any other faith or cultural group. Means of analysis is merit not which creed you follow. If elements of Torah law can be shown to be abounding in merit, I have no issue to oppose this rationally even if it is motivated by Judaism. If it is a good law it is a good law, that's all that needs to be said.

biko wrote: »
    But being anti-religion I understand why people want the ban lifted.

I totally thought it was tomorrow also, hence why I was gonna start the thread. Once I realised it's not for a month, I said feck it and started it anyway.

Cos that's how I roll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Sisko

* sitting back and awaiting the inevitable "so feck off and dont have Christmas or Easter either ye heathens. This is a catholic country!!!*

any minute now..........:o

Nah cause christmas was just stolen from other cultures/religions anyway so to call it purly religious in this day and age doesnt work. Not like christmas trees were in the bible were they? Christmas is a celebration of capitalism, or friends and family however you wanna look at it.

Oh and Easter is about chocolate.

So no religious people can't tell me to feck off from having a tree in my house or a chocolate egg. :pac:

irrelevant. many other countries also provide bank holidays. they in turn dont have their lisencing laws based on the reiligions people follow within their population.

Sisko wrote: »
    Christmas is a celebration of capitalism, or friends and family however you wanna look at it.

Keep that until at least the end of November :pac:

Oh, and I disagree but never mind we'll talk then :)

Wait, what?

Jeez GB, you're like McCarthy on about the commies.

D'you know what? religion in society is a thread in itself and needs to get a thread to itself.

Ghost Buster, do us a favour, start that thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

Would be a pity to loose the only state endorsed houseparty day of the year :pac:

Wait, what?

Jeez GB, you're like McCarthy on about the commies.

D'you know what? religion in society is a thread in itself and needs to get a thread to itself.

Ghost Buster, do us a favour, start that thread.
    Those threads don't tend to end well......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

biko wrote: »

Ye had me wondering there for a minute.

personally... i think they are downhill from the start, long before they get to an ending...

You expect this one to be any different? :rolleyes:

Nah not really