Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Animals on Motorway

• 10-03-2011 3:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭

m2.gif

NO ANIMALS

Does this mean all animals whether in a trailer or not? It's an interesting one. It'd be a hell of a place to have an accident with a load of cattle :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

had a bulling heifer on the motorway a few years ago , its no joke, no one would slow down , she was jumping the central reservation into oncoming traffic , had to get the guards to slow the traffic down... i dont know how some one wasnt kiilled that day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭LostCovey

Muckit wrote: »
    m2.gif

NO ANIMALS

Does this mean all animals whether in a trailer or not? It's an interesting one. It'd be a hell of a place to have an accident with a load of cattle :o

I've definitely been tailgated by animals on the motorway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

I'd say they are more referring to the boys with horses and traps;)

kay 9 wrote: »

The Amish?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

whelan1 wrote: »
    had a bulling heifer on the motorway a few years ago , its no joke, no one would slow down , she was jumping the central reservation into oncoming traffic , had to get the guards to slow the traffic down... i dont know how some one wasnt kiilled that day

Had a heifer attempt several times to get out over top of ramp and roof of trailer on motorway in middle of the night... scariest experience of my life, i kissed the ground when i got her home safe, daft thing was never in a trailer and she was hell bent in coming out over the top:mad: I was just picturing the carnage as cars passing me out at that time of night at 140-160kph

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Round Limerick, near the tunnel they have a picture of a horse and cart with a red line through it. It's probably for the locals who can't read.

Whelan I bet that was fun.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭J6P

Almost hit a deer on the M50 a few weeks ago.

Feckin unruly animals and their total disregard for the rules of the road:mad:

blue5000 wrote: »
    Round Limerick, near the tunnel they have a picture of a horse and cart with a red line through it. It's probably for the locals who can't read.

Whelan I bet that was fun.
    not really ....

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

J6P wrote: »
    Almost hit a deer on the M50 a few weeks ago.

Feckin unruly animals and their total disregard for the rules of the road:mad:

Wrong.
    Read the rules of the road.....
    Animals- automatically have right of way.
    Further- any human herding animals has the right to stop traffic to do so (it doesn't distinguish between a national route/motorway or linkroad)...
    If you damage your car by hitting an animal- you cannot claim on your insurance (well you can try- but strictly speaking you are liable, and if you read your contract- they don't have to pay).
    If you're unlucky (or insufficiently dilligent) that you manage to hit and animals in a national park (incl. the Phoenix Park)- there are a schedule of fines for hitting animals- all the way up to a 20k fine and/or 6 months in prison....... (Also note- the Phoenix Park is legally not a public road)......

An inability on the part of animals to read- is no impediment to their protection in the rules of the road (and elsewhere!!!)

smccarrick wrote: »
    Wrong.
    Read the rules of the road.....
    Animals- automatically have right of way.

I don't think this is totally true in the case of domestic animals.

If you hit an animal that is not under the control of the owner you can claim off the owner. If you can't, then I should cease paying the FBD insurance which covers me against claims arising from my livestock being hit on the road.

On the other hand if you hit a deer in the Phoenix Park and claim against the council for the damage to your car, you will get nothing except a bill for disposal of the deer carcass.

LC

i wish some of my neighbours would read the rules of the road, i used to bring the cows across the road and these people could not and wouldnot wait 2 minutes til i got cows over the road , used to send them up and down the road:mad: so i lost it one morning and i let a string of bold words out at one particular man -he rang my dad and complained of my language and that it takes him 4 minutes to get to work and i was slowing him down:mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭trad

They could be referring to llamas as well
    0002a438-314.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

whelan1 wrote: »
    i wish some of my neighbours would read the rules of the road, i used to bring the cows across the road and these people could not and wouldnot wait 2 minutes til i got cows over the road , used to send them up and down the road:mad: so i lost it one morning and i let a string of bold words out at one particular man -he rang my dad and complained of my language and that it takes him 4 minutes to get to work and i was slowing him down:mad::mad:

There's a layby along a road where I pen my ewes when bringing them in from the hill. No fences, it's all open ground. So we use the van and trailer and some sheep hurdles to form a large U to corral them. Usually goes well.

But, the odd time, we'll get some twat who just won't obey the signal to stop for a couple of minutes until we get the sheep into the U and close it. I am always hopping mad at them as if the sheep break, they're ten times as hard to set up correctly again to approach the U and then they know they can get away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

johngalway wrote: »
    There's a layby along a road where I pen my ewes when bringing them in from the hill. No fences, it's all open ground. So we use the van and trailer and some sheep hurdles to form a large U to corral them. Usually goes well.

But, the odd time, we'll get some twat who just won't obey the signal to stop for a couple of minutes until we get the sheep into the U and close it. I am always hopping mad at them as if the sheep break, they're ten times as hard to set up correctly again to approach the U and then they know they can get away.

Worse than that is if you're bringing sheep along a road for a couple of miles and a car comes up behind you and decides that he or she wants to pass out your 100 or so ewes. A lady did it to me once as I weas walking them back from a dipping tank 3 miles from home. I had a few delicate pedigree texel ewes at the time and they ran in front until they collapsed from exhaustion. I didn't find them until the whole bunch of sheep caught up. I wouldn't mind but she could have taken a turn off which would have brought her another road and out of the way of my sheep. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭ihatetractors

One Sunday last May on the back to Dublin on the M11, think just above Ashbourne. We seen a car with like a builders trailer with 5-6ft wire mesh around with a pie-ball tied into it. Clocked the driver of the car doing atleast 90 km/h!! MADness!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

reilig wrote: »
    Worse than that is if you're bringing sheep along a road for a couple of miles and a car comes up behind you and decides that he or she wants to pass out your 100 or so ewes. A lady did it to me once as I weas walking them back from a dipping tank 3 miles from home. I had a few delicate pedigree texel ewes at the time and they ran in front until they collapsed from exhaustion. I didn't find them until the whole bunch of sheep caught up. I wouldn't mind but she could have taken a turn off which would have brought her another road and out of the way of my sheep. :mad:

FFS
    What did she say / do when she realised she had ran the sheep til they collapsed?

FFS
    What did she say / do when she realised she had ran the sheep til they collapsed?

She kept going.

Followed her in the car and ate the living sh1t out of her. She was from Dublin and had bought a house locally - said she wasn't used to animals.

Her 16 year old son came down our road in a car the she had bought him for his birthday a few weeks later and took out several cows and calves that a neighbour was walking along the road and my neighbour believed that his life was saved by the telephone pole that stopped the car. A calf was killed outright and a cow had to be put down.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

I hope the pair of them had their licenses revoked. Thats shocking.

She kept going.

Followed her in the car and ate the living sh1t out of her. She was from Dublin and had bought a house locally - said she wasn't used to animals.

Her 16 year old son came down our road in a car the she had bought him for his birthday a few weeks later and took out several cows and calves that a neighbour was walking along the road and my neighbour believed that his life was saved by the telephone pole that stopped the car. A calf was killed outright and a cow had to be put down.

16? That could have cost them dearly, if people had so wanted...

How did it finish up?

16? That could have cost them dearly, if people had so wanted...

How did it finish up?

I understand that Mammy paid for all of his expenses. Guards weren't even called.

If it was my cattle he wouldn't have gotten away so easy!!

smccarrick wrote: »
    I hope the pair of them had their licenses revoked. Thats shocking.

At 16, he had no licence

I understand that Mammy paid for all of his expenses. Guards weren't even called.

If it was my cattle he wouldn't have gotten away so easy!!

Yeah, I gussed it might go that way. I would be the same as yerself, having put time and effort into things, not to mind the fact that yer man was nearly killed...

Did the incident / Mammy put manners on the offender?

No.

He had mammy's car out on the road a week later and drove it up the arse of a tractor.

They moved back to Dublin quite soon after that.

The Mammy said that her neighbours weren't very friendly!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

There is something in the deep recesses of my brain telling me about an animal bulling being in a different position to one straying or otherwise loose on the public highway.
    Did anyone else come across this?

our animal that was on the motorway was in heat - she was crazy- bull was other side of the motorway so one way or another she was getting to him:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Huey Lewis, Jennifer Rush and Frankie goes to hollywood were all right....... The power of love!:D